Working Life in Singapore V5
seantang
Mar 16 2011, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(saab900 @ Mar 15 2011, 02:29 PM) considering working in singapore, can i expect to get same nominal value in ringgit to SGD? i'm working in investment company in kl and getting > rm10k, so can i ask for SGD 10k and above there? For similar jobs (in terms of scope ie. front or back office, level of responsibility/impact and type of employer ie. bulge bracket/boutique/local/MNC/listed etc) - my general rule of thumb is S$0.8:RM1 to S$1:RM1. Having said that, if your skill and experience level warrants a RM10K salary in KL, your profile should be in some demand in SG. In that case, you should call up recruiters and enquire about that particular role and SG employer you're interested in. Gauge the salary levels for your set of skills based on the feedback from recruiters and then negotiate. This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 16 2011, 04:34 PM
crazy25kid
Mar 16 2011, 04:50 PM
Having said about salary, it also depends on how much you earn back in Malaysia and the salary range in Singapore. If you are underpaid in Malaysia, most likely you would expect an increase in the number right? As mentioned before by others, you need to know the salary range in Singapore and gauge where you will be in.
This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Mar 16 2011, 04:51 PM
Walaoeh!
Mar 16 2011, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(tailtwist @ Mar 15 2011, 10:54 PM) got so much meh? then i'm super underpaid liao...
TSwashabushi
Mar 16 2011, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Mar 16 2011, 05:24 PM) got so much meh? then i'm super underpaid liao...  Mine in between but my manager definitely super over paid liao
toughnut
Mar 16 2011, 08:43 PM
wanna ask those with experience,
if i bring in one new laptop from msia (in box), will the singapore kastam stop us? hand carry in via bus.
Chrisky
Mar 16 2011, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 16 2011, 08:43 PM) wanna ask those with experience, if i bring in one new laptop from msia (in box), will the singapore kastam stop us? hand carry in via bus. better dont, throw the box away n make it like personal used. I once carry a new LCD monitor in box thru n got taxed haha, stupid me
toughnut
Mar 16 2011, 08:55 PM
ouch... then need to left the box at my friend hse first haha. thanks for the info bro
wseng
Mar 16 2011, 09:12 PM

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Mar 16 2011, 08:52 PM) better dont, throw the box away n make it like personal used. I once carry a new LCD monitor in box thru n got taxed haha, stupid me  how did they calculate the tax amount ? you gave them the price ? according to 7% GST ?
Chrisky
Mar 16 2011, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 16 2011, 08:55 PM) ouch... then need to left the box at my friend hse first haha. thanks for the info bro no prob QUOTE(wseng @ Mar 16 2011, 09:12 PM) how did they calculate the tax amount ? you gave them the price ? according to 7% GST ? they wil tax 7% based on the price u declare... so if u got caught without any receipt, juz simply say an amount will do, but of coz dont be too ridiculous haha.
TSwashabushi
Mar 16 2011, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(Chrisky @ Mar 16 2011, 09:26 PM) no prob they wil tax 7% based on the price u declare... so if u got caught without any receipt, juz simply say an amount will do, but of coz dont be too ridiculous haha.  I also kena hi fi set before...but I said it is a free gift n pocket left 20ringgit then he no choice just offer me a hand written receipt amount of 20 n ask me pay
wseng
Mar 16 2011, 10:09 PM

QUOTE(washabushi @ Mar 16 2011, 09:58 PM) I also kena hi fi set before...but I said it is a free gift n pocket left 20ringgit then he no choice just offer me a hand written receipt amount of 20 n ask me pay 20 Ringgit ?? Singapore collect the 20 ringgit also ar ? macam case like kena tahan trafik police in MY haha .
Lester1987
Mar 16 2011, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 16 2011, 08:43 PM) wanna ask those with experience, if i bring in one new laptop from msia (in box), will the singapore kastam stop us? hand carry in via bus. to save the trouble, get someone to drive it in for you. when u are driving or riding in, the kastam check is just a procedure thing, they just look look and let u pass normally. PS : especially when u are driving a Malaysian car. coz in their mindset, they always things that those that can drive Malaysian car in are normally tourist or people that stays in Malaysia, why would they pay more money to buy stuff in Singapore. even when you bring something in, they would assume that its a used thing that u will bring out later because ur car needs to leave the country on a daily basis. This post has been edited by Lester1987: Mar 16 2011, 10:58 PM
Limjimmy
Mar 16 2011, 11:14 PM
Which is a good part time university that offer Master in Finance in Singapore?
Shinichi
Mar 17 2011, 12:42 AM
In Singapore, can we apply for new credit card using existing card with credit limit?
TSwashabushi
Mar 17 2011, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 17 2011, 12:42 AM) In Singapore, can we apply for new credit card using existing card with credit limit? They will still look at ur annual income + bonuses + allowances +overtime Or u will need to have minimum saving of certain amount Added on March 17, 2011, 8:57 amQUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 17 2011, 12:42 AM) In Singapore, can we apply for new credit card using existing card with credit limit? They will still look at ur annual income + bonuses + allowances +overtime Or u will need to have minimum saving of certain amount This post has been edited by washabushi: Mar 17 2011, 08:57 AM
Mackiddo
Mar 17 2011, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 17 2011, 12:42 AM) In Singapore, can we apply for new credit card using existing card with credit limit? now very simple, once they look at your cpf statement they know roughly how much you earn. If your cpf contribution hit the ceiling, means Platinum card for you This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Mar 17 2011, 09:16 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
Mar 17 2011, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(Limjimmy @ Mar 16 2011, 11:14 PM) Which is a good part time university that offer Master in Finance in Singapore? http://www.adelaide.edu.au/sg/future/programs/maf.htmlhttp://www.adelaide.edu.au/sg/future/programs/maccf.htmlmy current part time skool
Mackiddo
Mar 17 2011, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(wseng @ Mar 16 2011, 09:12 PM) how did they calculate the tax amount ? you gave them the price ? according to 7% GST ? 7% if you declared it and they said it's taxable. Probably 10X higher if you carry it thru the green lane and they charge you with failure to declare a taxable item (= smuggling). If not sure just go thru red lane and ask. I went thru the red channel once and declare to them I have a 3 month old 21" lcd monitor and they 'wave' me on, so it's not always bad to declare.
ahsia80
Mar 17 2011, 04:33 PM
anyone going back to PJ/KL tomorrow by car (for the weekend) ? if not, need to go Larkin take bus oledi...first timer hehe
Aloong
Mar 17 2011, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Mar 16 2011, 05:24 PM) got so much meh? then i'm super underpaid liao...  me too. but i think their samples are a bit bias. probably samples from big banks like BOA ML, JP Morgan, Barclays, etc. rather than DBS, OCBC or UOB kinda banks.