Working Life in Singapore V5

seantang
post Mar 9 2011, 12:16 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(kaikeikan @ Mar 8 2011, 11:47 PM)
Thanks seantang for the reply! Normally you are quite sarcastic so i'm afraid if my questions were too stupid haha. I remembered replying u seriously when you made sarcastic comments years ago ^^.
See... you've improved thumbup.gif

You asked specific questions, provided sufficient details and context to frame those questions and looked for answers that were not easily Googled or derived from common sense. Big4 experience is worth something after all.

seantang
post Mar 9 2011, 02:19 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Mar 9 2011, 01:46 PM)
in 5 months experience, I have to discuss with client in the end including the accounts I haven't done. And I have to know consol which my team leader did.. so many difference and I have to convince my client to follow my work. And the auditors' of the subsidiary is wrong to input name of firms and the amounts in debtors different with the classified aging..heex
Your point being?
seantang
post Mar 9 2011, 11:30 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Mar 9 2011, 11:01 PM)
it depend your senior let you growth or not. If in 5 months you are left to do trial and error and committed to learn lots then your 5 months exp will count.
If you've only worked 5 months, I'm sure what you've 'learnt' during those 5 months might seem like "lots" to you. In reality... it's not.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
In big 4, you can be a team leader although you work less than 1 year.
Sure, there are high performers and fast trackers in every organisation. But there is a huge difference between a candidate who was promoted within 5 months, and a candidate who has 5 months experience.

QUOTE(Materazzi)
Quantity doesn't mean quality.
True. Many years of experience doesn't automatically mean high quality. But too little experience like 5 months... unless you're exceptional (like you get promoted to senior), you're still working on stuff that even interns can do.
seantang
post Mar 10 2011, 12:10 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Mar 9 2011, 11:49 PM)
some people learn nothing in a year, some people loads in 5 mths..it reality it depends.
I would amend that sentence to the vast majority learn close to nothing in a year, exceptional people loads in 5 months.

As a hirer, you don't make decisions on 'depends'. You go with the realistic probabilities.

Like I said,... if you've got but little experience, whatever little you learn will feel like a lot.
seantang
post Mar 10 2011, 09:23 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(HoneyVee86 @ Mar 10 2011, 08:20 AM)
hi, i heard that we need to pay 20% duno what to SG Govt if we are working there, is this true?

It's true. Actually 20% duno what plus up to 20% other thingy.
seantang
post Mar 10 2011, 10:25 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Mar 10 2011, 09:59 AM)
like i said, it really depends...on that person
Actually, it depends on the person shortlisting your resume, conducting the interview and making the decision to hire you... or not.

seantang
post Mar 10 2011, 10:47 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Mar 10 2011, 10:35 AM)
youre repeating and concuring w my view now
Errr... no. If I'm not mistaken, your view is that somehow hirers will take the time and effort to perceive differences in the 'quality' of 5 months experience from different candidates.

My view is that they will just assume 5 months equals to zero. And in 99.9% of the cases, they'd be making the right assumption (not much margin of error for 'depends', really).

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 10 2011, 10:48 AM
seantang
post Mar 10 2011, 12:07 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Mar 10 2011, 11:48 AM)
i dont mean to be blunt....like i said, it depends....
Yup, no point continuing this if you and I have different understanding of what's being discussed.

seantang
post Mar 10 2011, 11:58 PM

6,624 posts

Anyone go to IT Show today? I got there at about 3pm and it was already quite crowded. Packed in some places on level 6 where the booths of the shops from Sim Lim and Funan were. Level 4 where the brand owners was less crowded.

I was looking for 32gb micro sdhc cards for my Tab and it was still too expensive... $90 for Class 4... three times the price of 16gb. Most places were selling at list price... nothing special. Only exception was Mega which was selling 40" Samsung full HD LED pure black TVs at $999. Almost went for that one.

None of the new Android tablets to be seen, and no sign of the iPad2. No unveils or first looks at all... way too much accessories.

My only purchase ended up being a ciplak AC charger & sync cable for the tab. Roundly, not much of a show, really.
seantang
post Mar 11 2011, 10:44 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 11 2011, 04:34 PM)
I thought the price for a 32GB micro SD was around 100++ at least.
Depending on which booth, Sandisk class 4 was $100-106. Kingston and Transcend class 4 was $86-95.

QUOTE(crapp0)
Ipad2 just recently announced in US so logically singapore wont get it so soon, wait around 3-4 months down the road for it to appear.
Apple had a booth there, I thought they would at least have a display unit.
seantang
post Mar 13 2011, 02:48 PM

6,624 posts

E-filing is when you submit your tax return online. Your company submits the equivalent to Malaysia's EA form online and everything gets loaded onto your online tax return. If you have no deductions etc, then all you have to do is logon and press "submit". This is for employers who participate in the Auto Inclusion Scheme (AIS).

I did e-filing for the first 2 years and then they sent me a letter that I was now eligible for No-Filing Service. This means that I don't even have to logon if I have no changes to make to the AIS tax return.

After your tax return is filed, it will be assessed by IRAS and then they will send you (mine is sent to my company) a Tax Assessment which details your tax payable for the year. It will give you a deadline to pay your tax payable.

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page.aspx?id=1448
seantang
post Mar 14 2011, 09:17 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Mar 14 2011, 08:55 PM)
aihh.. headache ar.. i just signed the letter offer with a bank in SG. the day i tender my resignation, my boss yumcha with me and told me he wants to retain me by relocating me to SG, of coz with a better offer.. i told him i already signed the LO but he said it is not an issue.. :/ am i subject to legal action if i turn down the offer which i already accepted?

anyone experience this before? icon_question.gif
Since your boss said it's not an issue, then it's okay.

Oh... just remind him to give you a letter of indemnity should the bank take action against you. Since he says it's okay, he shouldn't mind.

seantang
post Mar 14 2011, 10:25 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Mar 14 2011, 10:02 PM)
Noted from the list and saw some interesting deductible to ask:

1.  Expenses for public tranpost to work. I suppose its only applicable to taking taxi? Thos taking mrt/bus and pay by ezlink would not have proper receipt iguess.

"Examples of wrongful claims: Travelling expenses incurred to and from home and office."

If it's business travel, you would have claimed from your company already.
seantang
post Mar 16 2011, 04:33 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(saab900 @ Mar 15 2011, 02:29 PM)
considering working in singapore, can i expect to get same nominal value in ringgit to SGD? i'm working in investment company in kl and getting > rm10k, so can i ask for SGD 10k and above there?

For similar jobs (in terms of scope ie. front or back office, level of responsibility/impact and type of employer ie. bulge bracket/boutique/local/MNC/listed etc) - my general rule of thumb is S$0.8:RM1 to S$1:RM1.

Having said that, if your skill and experience level warrants a RM10K salary in KL, your profile should be in some demand in SG. In that case, you should call up recruiters and enquire about that particular role and SG employer you're interested in. Gauge the salary levels for your set of skills based on the feedback from recruiters and then negotiate.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 16 2011, 04:34 PM
seantang
post Mar 17 2011, 11:57 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 17 2011, 11:31 PM)
$76,500 annual income?  Let me know how easy it is.
Wasn't the CPF ceiling $4500 per month, and from this year $5000 per month?

seantang
post Mar 18 2011, 11:08 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(uglyducklai @ Mar 18 2011, 08:18 PM)
anyone have ideas about the biotech industry in singapore?im looking for management or marketing position in such sector, how is the job prospect for entry-level? gratitude in advance for any reply.
They have entry level management in Biotech companies?
seantang
post Mar 19 2011, 01:47 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(twentyfour24 @ Mar 19 2011, 11:49 AM)
hi all,
my aunt is sporean and if she want to add my name into her current property (e.g. HDB ).izzit possible?
FYI,im msian and not PR.
If you are not allowed to buy HDB, I doubt if you'll be allowed to own it though the back door. HDB will probably refuse to register your share in the joint ownership.

Your aunt can make you the beneificiary in her will to inherit the flat but I think HDB will hold the flat in trust while they give you a period time to sell it to someone who is eligible to own it.
seantang
post Mar 19 2011, 09:58 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 19 2011, 09:18 PM)
So a professional firm doesnt provide you with any housing options but a marine engineering firm can provide a condo for its employees?
They provide a condo for every employee?

seantang
post Mar 22 2011, 05:41 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(shoograd @ Mar 22 2011, 04:09 PM)
I kinda just found out that I will have the 'Assistant' tag in front (the job was advertised as Project Engineer) and they're paying me a pretty measly probation pay of $2200 although I have a Masters degree.

Just curious... with the master's degree, what is it that you can do that a bachelor's degree holder cannot?

seantang
post Mar 22 2011, 07:08 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(shoograd @ Mar 22 2011, 05:53 PM)
Well, if compared to a fellow fresh grad, I would have better specialised knowledge  (CAD, FEA and CFD if you're familiar with mechanical engineering) and a better understanding and exposure of an engineer's tasks (e.g. product design, project management)

In the context of the responsibilities and tasks, that a fresh engineer with no experience, will be allowed to do - what is the appreciable difference?

If I were the hiring manager, I wouldn't pay you more than your peers if you couldn't for eg. actually roll up your sleeves and design a product or manage a project better than them. And without experience and a track record, you can't prove that you can.

When you ask for more pay when all you have is an extra degree and no experience, you are basically asking the employer to pay an upfront premium for potential. They are not paying you just because you have a Master's, but for the potential represented by someone who takes the trouble to get one. However, you are in a field where a Master's is commonplace... and most employer's are not going to see a Master's as proof of your potential. You need to have a stronger selling point if you want more money.

And at $2200, I have to say that the person who offered you that amount doesn't see you as having even the equivalent potential to a bachelor's degree holder, much less a high potential worth paying a premium for. As a comparison, the SG Police Force hires fresh graduates with the minimum starting salary of $2650 for a simple pass bachelor's degree.

http://www.spf.gov.sg/career/so_salary.htm#top

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0488sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:57 AM