This ipad forum is so stupid!, Everything also merge into 1 thread

stringfellow
post Nov 30 2010, 02:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

That's the way it works here. If you're used to how it works in your previous Console Couch thread, don't expect the same mentality here. Here unnecessary threads are consolidated into one, and in your case, it is more of a single post importance than warranting a new thread.

Thread reported.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 30 2010, 02:35 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 30 2010, 02:44 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Because it is only a conversational thread, and not discussional, hence not requiring its own separate thread? The iPad Discussion thread encompasses all of these, and unless these contents are big enough to discuss, they get consolidated. Also, you said it yourself, it is speculation, and from history o how forum members here deal with speculations, they tend to either drive the expectation level to ridiculous heights or end up arguing with one another, all over "a speculation".
stringfellow
post Nov 30 2010, 02:45 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(sws @ Nov 30 2010, 02:42 PM)
Yeah, i think its really stupid too, especially when you those mod-wannabe show-off guy here in this forum. thread reported here thread reported there.  whistling.gif
Thanks, I've just reported you. What did you contribute to the forum today? icon_rolleyes.gif
stringfellow
post Nov 30 2010, 02:47 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 30 2010, 02:44 PM)
It this how things work and we should not work top improve it, but simply accept it? 

If this is how things work here, then all I can say is that lyn ipad forum really sucks...its so backward!!

Even my wardrobe is separated with drawers and compartments where I put my socks, underwear, t-shirts etc separately where i can get them instantly. 

Try searching for a ipad topic and all you get is "apple Ipad discussion thread V1, V2, V2 and in between there are a couple hundred of pages.  What year is this anyway?
Dude, it's how it's done here. You don't see me messing about how Console Couch is moderated, or how Kopitiam are handled, even if it annoys me to no end.

stringfellow
post Nov 30 2010, 02:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

See what you've done? You put in feces, you attract the flies. You put in non-discussional flamebaiting threads and post like these, you attract the trolls.
stringfellow
post Nov 30 2010, 03:05 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 30 2010, 02:50 PM)
How convenient to say that.  Why even have a ipad discussion thread?  Its not going anyway.

Added on November 30, 2010, 2:54 pm

Dude.  If things can be improved, why not?  Instead of showing your "tailou" attitude here "it's how it's done here".  It so sad too see we malaysian ipad owner have to live with such a "closed" minded mod in the best tech website for malaysian.
You're new aren't you? You're not here when things were left open at one time and it evolves into arguments, flaming and such before when moderation was simple and relaxed. You relaxed the "whoever can post whatever thread" stance, you get the first page full of threads that are duplicates and people who wants to find info, have to search to multiple threads. Imagine you post your TM question thread, and another 10 more post the same question on 10 separate threads, which thread should anyone who have the same problem should refer to when he want to fix his problem? Search through 10 threads of similar content and hoping you find the right answer in one of those 10 threads? Or is it better to have it in one thread, and point the person who ask these questions to that one thread using the "Search" function.

I dont give a flying rat's ass whether you think I'm showing my "tailou" attitude here or not, from the Console Couch section you came, you shown your "attitude" there as well, and it ain't pretty. What, you grow tired of that section and want to change how things are done here?
stringfellow
post Nov 30 2010, 03:08 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(sws @ Nov 30 2010, 03:00 PM)
Wait a sec, is he a mod in the 1st place? LOL.

So what if I did not contribute? I dont usually post much. I, just like others in this forum just cant stand your 'cocky' sort-of attitude.

My advise to you is to shut up and let the mod do their job, not posting just to get post count. Geez.
Funny thing is, the mod agree with me a lot of the time. I didn't say much though, other than reporting, and I'm sure that doesn't add to post count (the report that is), but even that you say I say much, and ask me "to shut up" whistling.gif.

stringfellow
post Nov 30 2010, 03:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(juicerer @ Nov 30 2010, 03:08 PM)
So your point is that you're moderating to eliminate repetition? If that's the case, how come the guy who started this thread's complaining that you've bunched his one into the 'discussion' thread? If it was truly a repetition, then there should be another thread of the same issue, and it should be combined THERE.
One of the reason, NOT the only reason. FYI, I bunched nothing, dont have the power to do so, although it looks like I've bunched someone elses panties from the looks of it.

His argument is about not being able to get answers to his questions SPECIFICALLY. He wanted answers directly to him, instead of posting it in a consolidated thread. He wants his voice to be heard specifically, answers to his questions quickly to him specifically, without having to portend with searching through a consolidated thread. If this is allowed to be, then what happens to the rest who acts like him and wants answers direct to them specifically and quickly? Answer: 10,20 repetitious threads of the same nature. Hence why the consolidated thread.

Most if not all the time, people who post these threads wanting answers SPECIFICALLY to their needs, would either disappear after their queries are answered, dont close their own posted thread, and leave the thread they make hanging until it is submerged by other new threads being made. IMO, this shows irresponsibility. You make the thread, you clean it up.

I shudder to think how the forum would look when 20 different members posted new threads asking why the iPhone only can hear sound from the left side of the "speaker" and not the other. Am I required to answer 20 different threads asking the same question? Because that is basically what you're asking the moderator here do.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 30 2010, 03:17 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 30 2010, 03:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 30 2010, 03:17 PM)
Yes, I'm new in this sub section. I'm not saying that there should not be any control.  But lumping everything into one thread?  The last time I post my opinion(review) on the ipad, it got merged to the general discussion thread. Then I discover that it is impossible to login to Tm Hotspot and post a thread here and it too got merge into the general discussion thread. If there is a Tm hotspot thread coming up in future, and you merge it into a thread for ipad Tm hotspot discussion, then its okay.  But merging every topic on ipad to 1 discussion thread is absolutely crazy.

When I first came to this sub-forum, i find it funny that almost all the thread are closed. I thought there are just very few ipad owners in malaysia.  Now i understand why.  I hope things will change here or I will never post here again.
Not all topics are merged. Topics that are relevant to specific issues like apps, accessories, travelling with iPad, and such are left to open. Also notice what the description says about the "iPad Discussion Thread"? It reads "Everything about iPad". App discussions are too broad to be lumped together into the iPad Discussion Thread, hence it has its own thread. So does the rest mentioned. Now, are you saying that your thread about "why cannot log into TM hotspot on iPad" is broad enough or have discussional volume big enough to warrant its own thread? After you found your solution to "why cannot log into TM hotspot on iPad", what would happen to it? Tutup kedai, tutup thread? With it being consolidated into the iPad Discussion Thread, your query AND its solution, lives on there for everyone to see, instead of having your own personal "Why cannot log into TM hotspot on iPad" thread and see it plummet to the last few pages of this forum section. Which one is better?

All this complaining and arguing, admit it, is because you want straight answers to your question quickly and specifically, right? What if others are facing the same problem, and wanting to find the answer to the problem you faced? They.still.have.to.do.a.fricking.search! So what difference does it make when your thread is consolidated into one, they still have to search for it, only now, they only have to search through ONE thread, instead of the ENTIRE subforum!
stringfellow
post Nov 30 2010, 03:33 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Nov 30 2010, 03:29 PM)
Sounds like improvement is not required... whistling.gif  whistling.gif
If letting people post 10 similar threads asking the exact same thing is your idea of improvement, then I guess it is not required? whistling.gif

There's a reason why threads are pinned, or why they hang around the front page all the time, it is because they attract lots of views and responses. Shouldn't you want your questions to be asked/posted here so that they get answered better? .rolleyes.gif
stringfellow
post Nov 30 2010, 07:13 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(kae_ae @ Nov 30 2010, 06:02 PM)
i actually dont agree with the whole single thread approach but it seems a status quo here so it more likely the mod keep to it otherwise have to implement board wide changes.

it does make info harder to look up but at least reduce lalang posters.

poor stringfellow, time dude 'wah, stringfellow so helpful one', now everybody bash him, lol (think u should just take up mod ship lah, at least none of these sarcastic buggers throwing snide remarks. i bet u were offered and prolly decline to for personal reason).
Like I said, virtual rep means zilch to me. Don't live my life based on that, more concerned with those I know in real life and what they think about me. In here, trolling is celebrated, and being ignorant is tolerated. So....

Those in favor of non-merging of threads would be glad to know that you got what you wish, they're stop merging/consolidating unless it's duplication or piracy-related. So go ahead, post them up the threads and questions you need to post.
stringfellow
post Nov 30 2010, 08:46 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Go open one now. What are you waiting for? They give you green light to do do already.

0.0198sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:43 AM