9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

How much is the Graphic Designer First Salary?, Around 2009-2011

wanobi
post Feb 23 2011, 01:52 AM

20 posts

It is suck to know that u working 13 hours a day and u earn 1800k per month..like my friends also..they ask u work like "hamba"

I got interview last week at some company in Damansara and they just offer me 1800k..how to life with living cost in Damansara?

Just my two cent..u can work with advertising field but stop after 3-4 years then u go for lecturer/start ur own business..just look out for experience only..
visualfoley
post Feb 23 2011, 03:03 AM

565 posts

u can get more than rm4k's like what my fren did.. for the first time he worked at malay mail and then he change to another design company.. and then after a while when he go back to malay mail.. his sallary almost rm4ks. based on its experience..
jady
post Feb 24 2011, 09:48 AM

-----camology-----
1,024 posts

Or go Singapore, they lack of graphic designer really. My friend work for 2-3 years already SGD4-5k monthly. Even part time get high salary as well.
SentryWarX
post Feb 24 2011, 10:55 AM

35 posts

In malaysia, if you really want to earn, you have to be one of the best,

you have to be that someone studios/firms die for, they want you so much they would even ask you how much you want as your salary.

In a different perspective, don't design for money, design because you love designing, when you have this mindset, you would definitely have a good portfolio.

I agree,

well i think a degree does help unless it's from a more unknown institution. besides your portfolio it depends entirely on how well you promote yourself. Because i remember for me...my friends and i all went for the same interview and i got the highest offer (no im not bragging) i just happen to talk more and smile more. At the end of the day, your experience counts too not only in the field of design. It's best to be a jack of all trades.

But as quoted, can't earn that much as compared to other countries. You'll have to do it solely because you enjoy designing. The effort and amount of time put in isn't worth the pay in my opinion - for Malaysia at least

This post has been edited by SentryWarX: Feb 24 2011, 10:56 AM
barista
post Feb 24 2011, 10:57 AM

I want to retire
883 posts

QUOTE(HuorElendil @ Nov 27 2010, 12:33 PM)
It really depends on the company or the boss man. Most of them treat graphic designers as 'unnecessary jobs' and give quite low salary coz they don't understand what we're doing. They feel that for us, it is a piece of cake, thus we do not deserve high salary.

Somemore Graphic Designer occupation is not regarded as Professional job in Malaysia, giving them more reason to not give high salary. This is the Malaysian's mindset nowadays and it's very depressing.

Spread the love of Graphic Design!! heh
Very depressing indeed. Why waste your brain juices over that kind of salary, often have to work late etc when others who are doing administrative jobs have easier work life and may be earning more.
visualfoley
post Feb 24 2011, 10:02 PM

565 posts

have u guys thought which company design the maxis logo? i heard it cost almost 2 mill.. was it true?
gunblade99
post Feb 24 2011, 10:19 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(wanobi @ Feb 23 2011, 01:52 AM)
It is suck to know that u working 13 hours a day and u earn 1800k per month..like my friends also..they ask u work like "hamba"

I got interview last week at some company in Damansara and they just offer me 1800k..how to life with living cost in Damansara?

Just my two cent..u can work with advertising field but stop after 3-4 years then u go for lecturer/start ur own business..just look out for experience only..
200% thumbup.gif Agreed, Im looking for lecturer position & in planing to start own business
visualfoley
post Feb 25 2011, 02:29 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(wanobi @ Feb 23 2011, 01:52 AM)

yes.. and u paid a lot to learn graphic design.. it iss noootttsss faiiirrssss..ssaaahh!
nick_chai420
post Feb 25 2011, 10:10 AM

graphic design is low salary, depend on the company...last time is RM 1000 only.......
but compare with multimedia, Multimedia is more high then graphic design.....

joePrints
post Feb 25 2011, 02:42 PM

20 posts

I have been working in graphic & printing for 5 years..

Now do my own business..

I give my salary 3k only..

Enough for normal life..

Business getting better.. will increase soon..
peace230
post Feb 25 2011, 05:55 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(joePrints @ Feb 25 2011, 02:42 PM)
I have been working in graphic & printing for 5 years..

Now do my own business..

I give my salary 3k only..

Enough for normal life..

Business getting better.. will increase soon..
yes some of my friends also like that, first work as printing...cos can easy to get freelance in (logo design, t-shirt design, brochure etc). Then when they got enough client already...they start soho first. then move to little company. rent machine & hire 1 ppl to help only. Work until 3am from monday to sunday.

If feel lifeless..u can like me...4 years changing many job...from DTP to graphic to ID to color consult....(not show off here). what i can say ..the salary r not what u prefer (designer..nama sedap...padahal tak berapa guna)....but u can learn new thing. I think i still young & can still change job again...when u getting old, hard to change to other fields, unless become boss.

"design r priceless"
visualfoley
post Feb 25 2011, 09:47 PM

565 posts

i wonder why they paid us so cheap.. dont they noe we need to think harder to get a very nice layout and composition..
B-Mecha
post Feb 25 2011, 10:46 PM

Mecha collector & Multimedia Designer
1,080 posts

design salary issue XD...

I believe experienced designer in this forum can share a lot more. Being a web designer for 4 years, the career path of designers are more or less the same in Singapore. To be honest, you won't earn big bucks working as a designer.

The career path of a designer is more or less fixed at 3 routes.

1. web / graphic designer > senior designer > Art Director
2. web / graphic designer > senior designer > Account executive
3. web / graphic designer > senior deisgner > Start own business (one leg kick / boss)

If you noticed, all 3 positions require project management and ability to propose marketing solution to client. Those position actually demand very little in depth technical skill (design, coding, photoshop, after effect etc). If you really want to be successful in the design line, make sure you are learning the right skills to be a manager, sales and solution provider (consultant). Even art director must have a very good insight of the marketing direction and capable to provide solutions.

This post has been edited by B-Mecha: Feb 25 2011, 10:47 PM
enter
post Feb 25 2011, 11:31 PM

vine vini vici
807 posts

graphic designer... no life... haha..
visualfoley
post Feb 26 2011, 12:41 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(enter @ Feb 25 2011, 11:31 PM)
graphic designer... no life... haha..
depends
Crackenoid
post Feb 26 2011, 11:54 AM

51 posts

I think RM1,500 to RM2,000 is the norm for GD nowadays.

Bcos academic qualification is nothing without creativity & working experience, so most company will pay a low starting salary, but after probation period and u have proven yourself to be competent at your job, then you can demand pay increase.

Use this time to gain as much on job experience as possible. Armed yourself with job experience, known the business inside out, networking and contacts, always ready to learn new things.

Be friendly to all people, have passion, have the right attitude, keep at it, and not give up.

Later, a good GD can be a Art Director, Creative Director, even design business owner. The sky is the limits.
TSd3by
post Feb 27 2011, 03:44 PM

18 posts

Wow, u guys really have a mindset in Graphic Design and Web Design field...

So, if you guys love to work as graphic designer or web designer, and you guys feel that the salary isn't what u expected, are you guys not always looking for open opportunity? as example try to always check in newspaper, jobstreet, etc whether there are got a new vacancy available with better benefits? and if you guys do that, how long usually will it takes to job process, like send resume, review portfolio, interview, got called, etc?

Do u feel that work not in a design/ advertising company will be better? because if u work in not adv, or design company, the time is much more stable, no OT etc? what do you guys think?
peace230
post Feb 28 2011, 01:00 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(d3by @ Feb 27 2011, 03:44 PM)
Wow, u guys really have a mindset in Graphic Design and Web Design field...

So, if you guys love to work as graphic designer or web designer, and you guys feel that the salary isn't what u expected, are you guys not always looking for open opportunity? as example try to always check in newspaper, jobstreet, etc whether there are got a new vacancy available with better benefits? and if you guys do that, how long usually will it takes to job process, like send resume, review portfolio, interview, got called, etc?

Do u feel that work not in a design/ advertising company will be better? because if u work in not adv, or design company, the time is much more stable, no OT etc? what do you guys think?
1) regard the job seeker..u can go to lina jobstreet, job DB, zen job...asia part time..& so on... (some job maybe good but far away where u live) u chose job, job chose u..

2) Interview- some boss maybe promise u what what what when interview...then after u work & get your salary..u know the true face of your boss. For some company..resume & profolio not importance, they just want u to solve their problem.(like handle machine or chat with client, not in term of idea). After interview, u may recieved call for second time (depend on the company). if u dun receive in 1 week or 10-15 days...means u r out of their list.

3) advertising company...(what u means) do u means advertising & design company only offer design & idea???..printing a brochure or booklet also can considered as advitise. & printing also can offer design. What i can said today...many design firm mix with production factory to survive in this Malaysia market....All In one...that y u r workload "bao shan bao hai"

4)OT & work time...OT only go for low incomer like production & dtp... mostly designer don't get paid of OT, but they some time also work later...(they boss r damn good in calculate). is depend on your. regard the time stable....answer : NO....(90%) soho & self boss exclud in this issue.

5) today toooo many ppl studies graphic...& graphic software tooo easy to learn & get.....but do they offer how many position like creative director in a year? What do u think?

This post has been edited by peace230: Feb 28 2011, 01:02 PM
hainur83
post Feb 28 2011, 04:44 PM

88 posts

not depend with boss la. not agree with that fact.

its actually depend on ourself. if we demand and know our abilities we should ask more.

from my experience, most of the designer is desperately looking for job that why we accept any offer by company.

also every company know that designer is easy come easy go. u tak nak u keluar, cari lain. :facepalm:

we should set a standard about salary. so sad la jadi designer.

wanobi
post Feb 28 2011, 07:13 PM

20 posts

yeah maybe we should have a standard salary for graphic designer..our job more to skill base

from my experience with my senior..some company pay u too low and working with long hours..

the result is u can't perform..yes we like to design and passionate towards it..but what is the meaning of passion when u almost eat nasi putih with ikan bills everyday + u pay ur PTPTN + car loan+ rumah sewa also ( if u live on your own lah )..some more debt with ptptn..

really will make ur morale down afterwards..i like to work long hours..that what suppose we do when we are still young..

another things is about the freelance work..i set my mind if they pay u about RM60-RM80 for doing any design..i spend it about 2 -4 hours maximum for that job...because i know that is nonsense if I stay all night just doing that..usually if client pay u low is becoz they are the middle man..who love "kerja atas angin" things..at the end of the day..these middle men actually asked a few more designer to design the same things..at last u can't even get paid but u doing that designs for hours..that how designer being treated..some client just pay half only (I kene a lot of times)

I think designer just good on its name only..even cashier at Giant or Jusco can earn RM 1500 per month if they working long hours..believe me..no stress no deadline..(just to compare fresh graduates paid only la bcoz cashier don't have any "cashier director" )

I heard a lot that even corporate companies also hire internal designer.. they pay u well though and u go back as early as 6 p.m..that is another alternative..

This post has been edited by wanobi: Mar 1 2011, 07:28 AM

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0464sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:29 AM