126 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone

creative zn
post Dec 11 2010, 03:48 PM

Dark Souls II - You will die!
1,468 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 11 2010, 03:34 PM)
Ok.I'll say something bit don't start flame war.

For me N97 is "garbage" in term of smartphones.It has too much of issues simply not suitable for current time.
Your assumption is slightly wrong.N9 should be N900's successor.Majority of the review praised N900 but made comment that the OS need some revamp that suits average users.
Another prove that N900 is well received is even though it's widely known that N900 is a testing device there were a lot demand for it.

N9 or whatever Nokia called their MeeGo phone will definitely be a much polished product hardware wise & software wise compared to N97.But the million dollar question is will it be as polished as iPhone & Android based device?

I've included iPhone a s good device because no matter how much I dislike this phone I cannot deny that the OS feels really super smooth.

P/S:Did I mention that I feel iPhone is like high end Nokia 3310? laugh.gif

Added on December 11, 2010, 3:37 pm
Correction:Alleged spec.
Only Nokia know the real spec for now.
Not even Eldar Murtazin know much about this.
+1

agree with u. even thou N900 is just testing device, it is successful device after all and got demand world wide. with the maemo os an open source application, nokia is finally succeed to created so called "smartphones". and meego would be a complete or finish product of maemo, since the maemo is just a testing device.

and, yeah. N97 is kinda suck man. sweat.gif (ex N97 user) sorry if i offended other N97 users. but that is my feel about N97.
terryfoo
post Dec 11 2010, 03:50 PM

574 posts

so next year another new gen of n900 is coming sooon ?
aspire2oo6
post Dec 11 2010, 04:03 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Dec 11 2010, 03:48 PM)
+1

agree with u. even thou N900 is just testing device, it is successful device after all and got demand world wide. with the maemo os an open source application, nokia is finally succeed to created so called "smartphones". and meego would be a complete or finish product of maemo, since the maemo is just a testing device.

and, yeah. N97 is kinda suck man. sweat.gif (ex N97 user) sorry if i offended other N97 users. but that is my feel about N97.
the demand is not big enough thats why nokia let it go.
angrysnail
post Dec 11 2010, 04:04 PM

SuperStars
1,413 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 11 2010, 03:34 PM)
Ok.I'll say something bit don't start flame war.

For me N97 is "garbage" in term of smartphones.It has too much of issues simply not suitable for current time.
Your assumption is slightly wrong.N9 should be N900's successor.Majority of the review praised N900 but made comment that the OS need some revamp that suits average users.
Another prove that N900 is well received is even though it's widely known that N900 is a testing device there were a lot demand for it.

N9 or whatever Nokia called their MeeGo phone will definitely be a much polished product hardware wise & software wise compared to N97.But the million dollar question is will it be as polished as iPhone & Android based device?

I've included iPhone a s good device because no matter how much I dislike this phone I cannot deny that the OS feels really super smooth.

P/S:Did I mention that I feel iPhone is like high end Nokia 3310? laugh.gif

haha..totally agreed..N900 successor eh?..so hope nokia dun forget about they pre-decessor n900 after they release the N9..
for N97,just a big screen+qwerty compare to my 5800..
but that along time ago..not worth to compare..plus they are 1st touch phone from nokia i assume.. smile.gif
creative zn
post Dec 11 2010, 04:07 PM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 11 2010, 04:03 PM)
oh, really? hm.. thats why kinda hard to find N900 zitron set nowadays. sweat.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 11 2010, 04:09 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 11 2010, 04:03 PM)
It was never targeted for mass market anyway.
terryfoo
post Dec 11 2010, 04:16 PM

574 posts

if buy n900 now, is it too late ? worry about new OS or new gen of n900 coming soon on next year.......
kertas_a4
post Dec 11 2010, 04:19 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 11 2010, 02:15 PM)
Well,I'm back after 3 days.Busy picking up my parents from KLIA,got severe allergy till I cannot even type doh.gif & messing with my sisters iPhone 4.
5 minutes with safari is enough to tell me that microB is a better browser.Safari is a good mobile browser but it's no match to microB's site display.
Another 5 minutes was enough to tell me that as long as iOS remain in current "locked" condition I'll never buy/own iPhone.
Mind you,even my sister who's a doctor keep complaining about the darn OS limitation.Unfortunately most of her work related stuff/app only work with iPhone.
She asked me to jailbreak it after using it for 1 day.Steve Jobs,you phailed big time.

Back to Nokia site,I heard bunch of good stuff about N9.Seems like Nokia committed to release MeeGo device only when the OS is matured.This is big change from past experience with Symbian & Maemo.Seems like the UI will be something new & interesting too.From what I can gather it seem there is already prototype version with MeeGo 1.2 alpha version.1 of the feedback was very encouraging.

Simply said it's look the force is strong with Nokia now.Let the empire strike back.
i am so proud to own a n900. hope the final version meego can be installed into n900 + many more applications.

btw, i also wanna know what the widget name for sms counter and conversation? Anybody want to have Teh Tarik session for n900 user? tongue.gif
creative zn
post Dec 11 2010, 04:23 PM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(terryfoo @ Dec 11 2010, 04:16 PM)
if buy n900 now, is it too late ? worry about new OS or new gen of n900 coming soon on next year.......
is never been to late man. N900 is a darn good phone. plus, maemo 5 is kinda stable rite now. or if u wanna wait for meego, when the time it come, maybe got some glitch or bug with the OS and need to wait for an update firmware. IMHO, go with N900 dude.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 11 2010, 04:32 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(terryfoo @ Dec 11 2010, 04:16 PM)
You can buy N900 after 5 years there would still be a support from Maemo community.
Most of the Maemo based Internet Tablets depends on the community for the apps & updates.

There are 2 N810 users here & there are pretty happy with their device eventhough it's an old device.
zero_kbom
post Dec 11 2010, 04:52 PM

~I'll make you Miku Miku~
965 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 11 2010, 04:32 PM)
You can buy N900 after 5 years there would still be a support from Maemo community.
Most of the Maemo based Internet Tablets depends on the community for the apps & updates.

There are 2 N810 users here & there are pretty happy with their device eventhough it's an old device.
One of the quoted N810 user here icon_rolleyes.gif
Well lemme see, yup, I can't deny that this is a very old device, underpowered by today's standard and the lack of support from Nokia really frustrating
But the community behind this really great, and thats IMHO brings out the true power of these devices nod.gif

Using this tablet watching anime streamed from my lappie using Knots2, Typing reports using Abiword, Web browsing using Tear, MicroB and Opera, all been a delight for me. Heck, I've browse more here than my Nokia N8 to be honest. And currently online using it too, all from the comfort of my bed laugh.gif

Just remember one thing, "Its not technology, It's what you do with it". icon_rolleyes.gif
aspire2oo6
post Dec 11 2010, 05:03 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Dec 11 2010, 04:52 PM)
One of the quoted N810 user here icon_rolleyes.gif
Well lemme see, yup, I can't deny that this is a very old device, underpowered by today's standard and the lack of support from Nokia really frustrating
But the community behind this really great, and thats IMHO brings out the true power of these devices nod.gif

Using this tablet watching anime streamed from my lappie using Knots2, Typing reports using Abiword, Web browsing using Tear, MicroB and Opera, all been a delight for me. Heck, I've browse more here than my Nokia N8 to be honest. And currently online using it too, all from the comfort of my bed laugh.gif

Just remember one thing, "Its not technology, It's what you do with it". icon_rolleyes.gif
nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Andy214
post Dec 11 2010, 06:20 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Dec 11 2010, 03:48 PM)
+1

It's a great product with great OS, but let down by Nokia. If they just continue to work on it, improve it, etc. It'll surely turn out very special, different from the rest; but they decided to end it off. MeeGo is kind of different from Maemo, very different feel, more towards Android feel.

Anyway, despite all that, thanks to the community, the Maemo OS is still kicking and surviving, getting more and more features/functionality; Right now, I would say this N900 is being held back by it's limitation in terms of hardware, else it'll be even more kicking *ss...
firdzee
post Dec 11 2010, 06:28 PM

34 posts

LOL i still can i find the above sms counter ..... unsure.gif
Andy214
post Dec 11 2010, 06:34 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(firdzee @ Dec 11 2010, 06:28 PM)

LOL i still can i find the above sms counter ..... unsure.gif
Conversations Inbox widget.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Dec 11 2010, 06:35 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 11 2010, 06:37 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Dec 11 2010, 06:20 PM)
It's a great product with great OS, but let down by Nokia. If they just continue to work on it, improve it, etc. It'll surely turn out very special, different from the rest; but they decided to end it off. MeeGo is kind of different from Maemo, very different feel, more towards Android feel.

Anyway, despite all that, thanks to the community, the Maemo OS is still kicking and surviving, getting more and more features/functionality; Right now, I would say this N900 is being held back by it's limitation in terms of hardware, else it'll be even more kicking *ss...
However the developers said they will keep MeeGo a class above Android.
Although Android is also linux based but it does carry some limitation.Hopefully MeeGo don't have such limitation.
My biggest concern is the MeeGo team won't trade Maemo's power as desktop class OS for a fancy UI full of Android imitation.

MeeGo do have some advantage over iOS & Android.
MeeGo is basically an OS targeted to multiple devices(handset,media center,netbook,in vehicle assistance etc2)
In theory all version have basic structure of OS but the functions are programmed differently to suit the specific need.
So with theory it's very easy to port this OS to upcoming devices.
Once the OS is consumer I expect Nokia & Intel to promote this OS for every single devices.

In other case iOS & Android(at least till v2.3) actually only suitable as smartphone OS.For those who have used iPad & Android tablets you guys should know that the tablets are actually a giant smartphones.MeeGo hopes to bring a proper tablet functions(I've no idea what are the stuff that'll be added).
Andy214
post Dec 11 2010, 06:38 PM

3,308 posts

Btw, anybody here knows how to mark all messages as read? Sometimes when we are chatting with msn or skype conversations, there will be many unread messages although we have read all.

I'll need to scroll up and down multiple times or slowly so it marks as read, or from the Conversations Inbox widget, I can press on the icon on bottom left to mark each message as read.

Wonder if there is way to mark all as read or any code to do it in x-term.

Added on December 11, 2010, 6:41 pm
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 11 2010, 06:37 PM)
However the developers said they will keep MeeGo a class above Android.
Although Android is also linux based  but it does carry some limitation.Hopefully MeeGo don't have such limitation.
My biggest concern is the MeeGo team won't trade Maemo's power as desktop class OS for a fancy UI full of Android imitation.

MeeGo do have some advantage over iOS & Android.
MeeGo is basically an OS targeted to multiple devices(handset,media center,netbook,in vehicle assistance etc2)
In theory all version have basic structure of OS but the functions are programmed differently to suit the specific need.
So with theory it's very easy to port this OS to upcoming devices.
Once the OS is consumer I expect Nokia & Intel to promote this OS for every single devices.

In other case iOS & Android(at least till v2.3) actually only suitable as smartphone OS.For those who have used iPad & Android tablets you guys should know that the tablets are actually a giant smartphones.MeeGo hopes to bring a proper tablet functions(I've no idea what are the stuff that'll be added).
Yea, I read that MeeGo will be a totaly different class from those smartphone level OS, just like Maemo; My concern is the feel and design. Honestly, I don't find MeeGo anything like Maemo although it's said to be Maemo + Moblin; maybe it's a Moblin with some Maemo features? It gives the feel and design on Android instead, maybe because it's more of a Moblin blood, LoL! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Andy214: Dec 11 2010, 06:41 PM
lightastral
post Dec 11 2010, 06:41 PM

220 posts

still is the best phone that i have used to date.

give maemo5 a shot. to me the ergonomics is spot on. people say its abit thick but when youre typing on it or holding its feels good.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 11 2010, 06:45 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Dec 11 2010, 06:38 PM)
Yea, I read that MeeGo will be a totaly different class from those smartphone level OS, just like Maemo; My concern is the feel and design. Honestly, I don't find MeeGo anything like Maemo although it's said to be Maemo + Moblin; maybe it's a Moblin with some Maemo features? It gives the feel and design on Android instead, maybe because it's more of a Moblin blood, LoL!  tongue.gif
More facts should be out around February next year...

btw I noticed a strange bug for while now.
Lets say if I cleared all my recent calls now,there will be an indication of missed call at menu tab.
Anyone have the same issue?
gyianz
post Dec 11 2010, 08:29 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 11 2010, 07:45 PM)
More facts should be out around February next year...

btw I noticed a strange bug for while now.
Lets say if I cleared all my recent calls now,there will be an indication of missed call at menu tab.
Anyone have the same issue?
You mean in Meego? Im not using meego so im not sure
In maemo i seem to have this bug since SIFu brought it up
I had 3 miss calls and a message and my media player widget started playing songs when i approached to it
Anyone having this bug?

---MEEGO---
For me if the snapdragon can be overclocked (so far no success on google) then it would definitely surpass the n900's processor
If not then i still think n900's processor is still far superior compared to alot of phones
Unless the new Meego device would run on Intel's Moorestown which is 1.5Ghz (i think)
And i have written on my blog on some kinks that Meego stills need to iron out

126 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:52 PM