Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone

hengguowei
post Dec 19 2010, 12:11 PM

Embracing Android since the demise of Symbian
4,475 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 18 2010, 07:45 AM)
for me 3 to 5 hours
So long? Mine charges in under 3 hours. for N900 smile.gif

Added on December 19, 2010, 12:14 pm
QUOTE(nicholas_oh @ Dec 18 2010, 02:52 PM)
noon guys...

any1 using prepaid here ???
i used to redeem RM 2 for online....
but the system used to slow response to me...
either after 15mins only activate or totally no msg send to me then causes me just wasted the 1hrs without surfing....

wanna ask any 1 experienced such thing ?

tq
Get another phone and tether the internet smile.gif
I'm using E90 which has a 1500mah battery to tether internet to my N900 biggrin.gif

Added on December 19, 2010, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Dec 18 2010, 08:28 PM)
i feel like subscribing to the data plan but i'm really afraid cause they don't tell you when you've surpassed the limit... so whenever I need it, i use the BB... because most of the time, my laptop is readily available...

aih.... maxis really knows how to get your money
Get the business plan data plan RM99 for unlimited usage but must be business plan larh smile.gif

Added on December 19, 2010, 12:23 pm
QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Dec 18 2010, 09:51 PM)
what I do is, I swap my BB card... I use celcom BB for my laptop... so if I feel like I'm gonna go off for a long time and I need it, I just take the card along for a quick swap if I'm going to online for a long time... my Celcom BB is at RM50 flat rate

Added on December 18, 2010, 10:41 pmby the way... I've been wanting to try out the app transmission but want to know what are the good local torrent sites that you guys download music/videos/movies/ from? can recommend?
Not allowed to share pirated stuff but for knowledge, torrentz.com is a torrent crawler smile.gif
I'm not sharing anything illegal smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Dec 19 2010, 12:23 PM
hengguowei
post Dec 31 2010, 10:24 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Dec 31 2010, 08:34 PM)
Kotak Memerang people... The best case EVERRRR... biggrin.gif

Want me to set up another bulk ka? brows.gif
hahah, the cable works perfectly but I think I won't be using it for a while coz Power Kernel causes some effects.
So, gonna reflash my phone and use it like a phone and some safer stuff. biggrin.gif
Oh, the other day I read in LYN that Nitdroid got some improvement is it? But when is it out for us to try? smile.gif

Added on December 31, 2010, 10:25 pm
QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Dec 31 2010, 08:54 PM)
how to view image when capture using FCam hmm.gif ?
As said above, slide to the top in FCAM and Check Autosave JPEG or something like this or you may install RAW Viewer to view the .dng files on your phone. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Dec 31 2010, 10:25 PM
hengguowei
post Dec 31 2010, 11:06 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Dec 31 2010, 10:50 PM)
talking about cable, ya..i juz cod the cble with eiraku..nice person.. but didn't have enough time to chit chat with him..sorry sifu...

hopefully there is a time for me to try this OTG thing.
baru je plan nk pakai original kernel ni lame2 ckit..haha
You can try it anytime but Power Kernel drains battery faster than default kernel and my camera wasn't working previously and the volume of speakers went funny as well. Only starting from middle up, it increased linearly but before that it's just very soft.
hengguowei
post Jan 1 2011, 12:03 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Jan 1 2011, 12:01 AM)
huhu from day 1st i got this phone, i already OC the phone using the fiasco method..
after quite familiar using x-term, than i switch to jakiman's method..

i din ever experience using original kernel & stock setting more than 1day... after 3month,barula merasa..haha

btw...beside OTG,nitdroid, is there any new thing to try on??

btw...hepi new years guyz...
preenv is a must. So u get lots of awesome games. For some reason, I'm like obsessed with Monopoly now biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Jan 1 2011, 10:02 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(fuadfadz @ Jan 1 2011, 12:48 AM)
any news about android 2.3?
I saw the video of N900 running 2.3 but don't know when is it out for us. I don't mind for it to take some time but hope when it's out, messaging and calls are supported... biggrin.gif

Added on January 1, 2011, 10:03 am
QUOTE(Ash @ Jan 1 2011, 09:19 AM)
Can somebody update the GPS guide with the installation guide for Sygic 10? Still stucked with outdated map for sygic 9 atm. Help will be greatly appreciated <3
I'm having the same issue as well sad.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Jan 1 2011, 10:03 AM
hengguowei
post Jan 1 2011, 01:49 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Jan 1 2011, 12:58 PM)
r u using Enhanced Linux kernel for power users (settings) and got that bugs?..
Nope. Mine is not Enhanced Linux Kernel. Mine was on the Power Kernel V46 giving me those bugs. My camera can't run and the battery drain like crazy when I watch video comparatively to default kernel.

I'm on default kernel now. Reflashed yesterday. smile.gif

Added on January 1, 2011, 1:51 pm
QUOTE(gyianz @ Jan 1 2011, 10:53 AM)
Happy new year everyone. and anyone has any idea on taking videos with stock camera application and crashing halfway then reboot?

Added on January 1, 2011, 10:57 am

messaging and calls not really fully supported
need to wait for improvements on ofono
And for Ofono, I think we need to wait for Meego right? If I didn't remember wrongly.

Mine got no crashing issue biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Jan 1 2011, 01:51 PM
hengguowei
post Jan 1 2011, 03:14 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Jan 1 2011, 02:24 PM)
no issues on default kernel or no issues on kernel v46:?
ive been getting lots of internal error these days.
kernel problem or hardware?

and yeah meego uses ofono
I have a hardware issue : My IR port is no longer working and that sux. Can't off McD/mamak television tongue.gif I will go to NCC when I have time and get it fixed...

Added on January 1, 2011, 3:15 pm
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jan 1 2011, 03:06 PM)
Installation method is similar to Sygic 9
But I get the Outdated Map message...

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Jan 1 2011, 03:15 PM
hengguowei
post Jan 1 2011, 10:31 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Jan 1 2011, 06:12 PM)
any one of these methods plays mkv...
mplayer - launch video from terminal

kmplayer frontend (uses mplayer)

smplayer frontend (uses mplayer)

Added on January 1, 2011, 6:14 pm
any camera would be able to pick up N900's IR output.

just point any camera at N900's IR and press some buttons in qtirreco.

you should see some faint light from the IR transmitter.

Added on January 1, 2011, 6:18 pm
guess what... that is the 100% exact golla case i am using now... haha.... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
For camera yes only for DSLR but my IR port on my N900 is no longer working sad.gif
sib can't play rite? I tried and can't play. Anyway, most of the .mkv 720p is too huge in size for the file system.

Added on January 1, 2011, 10:36 pm
QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Jan 1 2011, 06:37 PM)
sorry... but tried searching in multiple forums and there was no definite solution...
qtirreco or irreco... which one is best to control ASTRO? hehehehe

it'll be super cool if it could
Qtirreco is just an app. You have to download the scripts for specific electronics and till now, I haven't found any that would support control of Astro decoder sad.gif

Added on January 1, 2011, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Jan 1 2011, 10:30 PM)
i already installed sygic 10 on two phone...
both working perfectly...

maybe u didn't delete the old map b4 installing sygic 10...
Will try smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Jan 1 2011, 10:37 PM
hengguowei
post Jan 1 2011, 11:21 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Jan 1 2011, 11:11 PM)
hah. Wouldn't dare trying coz N900 is my main phone!!! biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Jan 2 2011, 07:50 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Jan 1 2011, 11:40 PM)
gonna wait till everything is very very stable
I really want the calls to function
I want the calls and messaging to function biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Jan 2 2011, 05:35 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(generalhwh @ Jan 2 2011, 06:15 AM)
sorry guys..i know this is the n900 thread..but i own both n900 and e71.this morning i cant send sms fr my e71.bt i can receive..it says memory full.close some applications and try again.hate this phrase damn a lot..any sifu can help me out here???

thx a lot....dun shoot me.i will juz delete this post if it is nt allowed to ask here.....
Close unused apps and free your ram with apps ie, soft ram blow
hengguowei
post Jan 2 2011, 08:59 PM

4,475 posts

Definitely not worth trying! biggrin.gif
Hope the final version will be done when Meego shares its part of Ofono over to Nitdroid! biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Jan 4 2011, 06:07 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(yweising @ Jan 4 2011, 05:27 PM)
All sifu, need your help, will the n900 getting very hot when sharing internet to other device like notebook thru wifi?
There's nothing wrong with ur phone. That's normal so don't tether internet for too long a time.
hengguowei
post Jan 6 2011, 07:44 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Jan 6 2011, 03:22 PM)
Gingerbread Sifu....

how do you fix the Small Keyboard thinggy?

Added on January 6, 2011, 3:28 pm1 more question...

How to we put in files to the Andriod via USB?

Thank youuu....

Added on January 6, 2011, 3:29 pm

If your moderate = Calls, once a while connect to Wireless/3G SMS..

Then can...

Brightness Low, Power Saving Mode.
Don't need low brightness lar, I use moderate sure can last 1 day...Now at college use for Evopedia(offline wikipedia) Word-To-Go, Copernicium (Periodic Table), and a little bit of browsing to FB when bored and engadget & a little bit of googling...It last me throughout the day alright. But I always have my Portable Charger as a backup though biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Jan 6 2011, 07:47 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jan 6 2011, 07:45 PM)
For the guys who ordered the OTG cables from me for BULK ONE, please pay up and PM/Mail me some sort of verification (pic of bank in receipt/screenshot) to receive your OTG cables pronto. It's been TWO weeks since the cables arrived already sweat.gif

If you are unable to pay in these coming few days, do PM me to inform that you can't (and I'll reserve your spot).

If not, I will start bumping BULK TWO guys up and give them the opportunity to pay and receive the cables faster - probably by the end of this week. As a result, you will be bumped down into BULK TWO in their place.
Not me right? biggrin.gif Your cable is awesome. Looks so cool and it works perfectly but I'm no longer using it coz Power Kernel got issue here and there tongue.gif
hengguowei
post Jan 7 2011, 03:47 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(Mr_T @ Jan 6 2011, 10:20 PM)
Dear All N900 users,
i just signed up a maxis data plan for my n900.
but my n900 cant connect throught maxis 3g internet, put my sim card on other phone and it works.
anybody can help and provide the setting to me?
the *100# setting doesnt work for me, thanks!!!
Can't give u like this coz the password can't be known.
hengguowei
post Jan 10 2011, 10:53 PM

4,475 posts

Can create a live disc for Linux Ubuntu biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Jan 16 2011, 12:55 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(MT-MT @ Jan 15 2011, 12:37 PM)
Need help..
Just sign data package n use it at my N900..what if i wanna use laptop to online, how this N900 act as modem?

Android and apple have one software call "whatapp" (hope i not remember wrong) can sms thru data network without charge my sms fee, maemo hav tis software? where can i get it??

If i'm new learner and know nothing for linux maema, but wanna start learn how to 'fully utilised' my phone, where should i start learn those command ??

thanks help smile.gif
Whatsapp doesn't allow u to sms for free ...all it does is it allow you to chat between other whatsapp users as well...which I think is pretty much useless because we already have Skype for that purpose plus voice call from skype biggrin.gif

Added on January 16, 2011, 12:56 am
QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Jan 15 2011, 08:11 PM)
using Joikuspot maybe??

for the 2nd one,  hmm.gif web2sms in repo maybe??
Web2sms won't work in Malaysia smile.gif Check the details smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Jan 16 2011, 12:56 AM
hengguowei
post Jan 25 2011, 09:19 PM

4,475 posts

[quote=vaizard,Jan 25 2011, 01:12 PM]
[quote=super_evil_alien,Jan 24 2011, 04:59 PM]

I don't see any reason to use converter if you use N900.
So far I can play almost all video format I wanted to play without converting then.That including some funny audio format.
Install MPlayer + SiB you should be able to play majority of the videos assuming the resolution is supported by N900.
[quote=gyianz,Jan 24 2011, 06:36 PM]
thats definitely true as i was converting the bootscreen video for my n900.
i downloaded in flv and changed to avi
resolution would go higher or lower dpending on the format
i am still surprised how the resolution could go higher. lol

sifu...
i installed sib n mplayer...
rename .flv file to .avi..
but can't play that video...

can play right now.....
need to play from SiB tongue.gif

[/quote]
Why did you rename the file. Some .flv has different container or something like this. Use a video converter and reconvert it into .flv format and transfer into your N900 and it will work smile.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0442sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:22 PM