Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone

creative zn
post Dec 2 2010, 06:18 PM

Dark Souls II - You will die!
1,468 posts

QUOTE(one1002 @ Dec 2 2010, 06:13 PM)
reflash with the current firmware..look at the first page of the thread...

be sure to download the global version of PR1.3..(latest maemo 5 version) and latest VANILLA image...then just follow the guide on FP..
oh man. just update the latest firmware via OTA. doh.gif guess need to do Manual Update B in order to format everything. T.T

Josh_M
post Dec 2 2010, 06:21 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Dec 2 2010, 06:18 PM)
oh man. just update the latest firmware via OTA.  doh.gif  guess need to do Manual Update B in order to format everything. T.T
Yup u need to flash ur emmc as well.
jananan
post Dec 2 2010, 06:51 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Dec 2 2010, 06:09 PM)
just update to latest firmware.  biggrin.gif

btw, guys, how to format the N900 so it can be like factory reset or like new? bought it 2nd thou. still got data from previous user. just notice that *#7370# didn't work. sweat.gif

oh ya, if i format it back, does i need to update the firmware back? thanks. smile.gif
yeah, *#7370# is for symbian only

you need to reflash n900 with 2 images, one for the OS (fiasco image) and another eMMC image for user storage (emmc vanilla) to get rid of everything... a.k.a factory reset

This post has been edited by jananan: Dec 2 2010, 06:51 PM
creative zn
post Dec 2 2010, 07:28 PM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 2 2010, 06:51 PM)
yeah, *#7370# is for symbian only

you need to reflash n900 with 2 images, one for the OS (fiasco image) and another eMMC image for user storage (emmc vanilla) to get rid of everything... a.k.a factory reset
image? is it hard? btw, er.. can i just blindly follow Manual Update B at FP? kinda hard to understand, what image or sort of it. sweat.gif im noob with newer gadget. damn.

jananan
post Dec 2 2010, 07:31 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Dec 2 2010, 07:28 PM)
image? is it hard? btw, er.. can i just blindly follow Manual Update B at FP? kinda hard to understand, what image or sort of it.  sweat.gif im noob with newer gadget. damn.
yup, manual update B should do the trick (first time i check what is manual update B in front page ) blush.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 2 2010, 07:33 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Dec 2 2010, 07:31 PM)
yup, manual update B should do the trick (first time i check what is manual update B in front page )  blush.gif
Frankly speaking even I don't follow the FP method of flashing tongue.gif
creative zn
post Dec 2 2010, 07:45 PM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 2 2010, 07:33 PM)
Frankly speaking even I don't follow the FP method of flashing tongue.gif
have another option bro? i just need to format everything. thats all. al ready update the firmware OTA. doh.gif

now downloading 1st picture damn long. 190MB. 30kbps. wtf? laugh.gif

picture 2, vanilla nit download yet which is 250MB. rclxub.gif why i need go through this just to format the memory. T.T it will be nice if got some code like *#7370#. done in a minute. gosh. i loved the old time. tongue.gif
lightastral
post Dec 2 2010, 07:54 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Dec 2 2010, 07:45 PM)
have another option bro? i just need to format everything. thats all. al ready update the firmware OTA.  doh.gif

now downloading 1st picture damn long. 190MB. 30kbps. wtf?  laugh.gif

picture 2, vanilla nit download yet which is 250MB.  rclxub.gif  why i need go through this just to format the memory. T.T it will be nice if got some code like *#7370#. done in a minute. gosh. i loved the old time.  tongue.gif
its because you are formatting and installing an OS to a computer. not a phone.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 2 2010, 07:55 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

have another option bro? i just need to format everything. thats all. al ready update the firmware OTA.  doh.gif

picture 2, vanilla nit download yet which is 250MB.  rclxub.gif  why i need go through this just to format the memory. T.T it will be nice if got some code like *#7370#. done in a minute. gosh. i loved the old time.  tongue.gif
Use Nokia Software Updater.But it that fails you have go back to Manual Flasher.

Download the Maemo Flasher 3.5 tool from same site
Download the 1st image.
Rename to R.bin
Put the file in Program files\maemo\flasher-3.5 folder
Open Maemo Flasher 3.5
Turn off your phone
Keep pressing "U" on your keyboard while inserting the USB cable(make sure you plugged the another end at your PC!)
Copy paste this command at maemo Flasher 3.5 program -> flasher-3.5.exe -F R.bin -f -R

Your device will reboot after some time.

Up to you if you want to flash the internal memory aka eMMC

All this process is very2 similar.We have over 160 users & most of them agree that FP method made manual flashing really easy.

Why knowing manual flashing method important?
Because unlike any other phone in market N900 is software wise unbrickable.If there is something wrong with your OS a reflash should solve it.
99% of time N900's defect are hardware defect.

P/S:After few days in iPhone subforum,I can say for sure you'll never get this kind of help at that subforum.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Dec 2 2010, 07:56 PM
creative zn
post Dec 2 2010, 08:00 PM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 2 2010, 07:55 PM)
Use Nokia Software Updater.But it that fails you have go back to Manual Flasher.

Download the Maemo Flasher 3.5 tool from same site
Download the 1st image.
Rename to R.bin
Put the file in Program files\maemo\flasher-3.5 folder
Open Maemo Flasher 3.5
Turn off your phone
Keep pressing "U" on your keyboard while inserting the USB cable(make sure you plugged the another end at your PC!)
Copy paste this command at maemo Flasher 3.5 program -> flasher-3.5.exe -F R.bin -f -R

Your device will reboot after some time.

Up to you if you want to flash the internal memory aka eMMC

All this process is very2 similar.We have over 160 users & most of them agree that FP method made manual flashing really easy.

Why knowing manual flashing method important?
Because unlike any other phone in market N900 is software wise unbrickable.If there is something wrong with your OS a reflash should solve it.
99% of time N900's defect are hardware defect.

P/S:After few days in iPhone subforum,I can say for sure you'll never get this kind of help at that subforum.
whoa. you the man bro. thanks alot. will try flash it at midnight. celcom bb kinda suck hell rite now. thanks man. thumbup.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 2 2010, 08:04 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

So now we’ve got the best camera, the best browser in Maemo 5, one of if not the best display. Now I just want this in one device.

Don't we all?

http://mynokiablog.com/2010/12/01/video-no...r-battery-life/
zedscofield86
post Dec 2 2010, 08:08 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(zedscofield86 @ Dec 2 2010, 06:42 PM)
Hye, count me in as N900 proud user ya. Still new, but N900 rocks! I love it.. but battery drain like water.

Btw, can anyone help me. Im using nokia bluetooth,  BH-105. How to connect with this phone? Still cant after trying.. Can anyone help
lol..nobody help me
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Dec 2 2010, 08:14 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(zedscofield86 @ Dec 2 2010, 08:08 PM)
lol..nobody help me
Go to Menu
Tap "Settings"
Tap "Bluetooth"
Turn on your bluetooth
Tap "Devices"
Tap "New" & make sure your headphone/earphone or whatever you call it on.
After that just synch your headphone/earphone & it'll save your device.

So next time if you want to use your headphone/earphone all you have to do is turn on your bluetooth at your phone 1st & then turn of your headphone/earphone.
It'll be automatically paired.
jananan
post Dec 2 2010, 08:55 PM

Android
1,513 posts

by image, we mean os image. not a picture...

image is a compressed file containing all the files in the exact manner how its going to be written to the destination disk.
zedscofield86
post Dec 2 2010, 11:46 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 2 2010, 09:14 PM)
Go to Menu
Tap "Settings"
Tap "Bluetooth"
Turn on your bluetooth
Tap "Devices"
Tap "New" & make sure your headphone/earphone or whatever you call it on.
After that just synch your headphone/earphone & it'll save your device.

So next time if you want to use your headphone/earphone all you have to do is turn on your bluetooth at your phone 1st & then turn of your headphone/earphone.
It'll be automatically paired.
At last. Thanks sifu. But, my n900 cant find the device. Dont know why..
Andy214
post Dec 3 2010, 12:10 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(zedscofield86 @ Dec 2 2010, 11:46 PM)
At last. Thanks sifu. But, my n900 cant find the device. Dont know why..
Make sure your bluetooth device is on "pairing" mode.
For the BH-505, this is the procedure: Turn off your bluetooth device, hold the power button until it flashes blue.

zedscofield86
post Dec 3 2010, 01:02 AM

49 posts

[quote=Andy214,Dec 3 2010, 01:10 AM]
Make sure your bluetooth device is on "pairing" mode.
For the BH-505, this is the procedure: Turn off your bluetooth device, hold the power button until it flashes blue.

[/quote

Thanks.done pairing. Thanks for helping.
creative zn
post Dec 3 2010, 01:17 AM

1,468 posts

guys.. i found an error to flash and format my N900. using windows 7 32bit. is it true, it cannot work with windows 7? sad.gif

http://theunlockr.com/2010/04/02/how-to-ha...t-of-box-state/
zdentws
post Dec 3 2010, 01:21 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Dec 3 2010, 01:17 AM)
guys.. i found an error to flash and format my N900. using windows 7 32bit. is it true, it cannot work with windows 7?  sad.gif

http://theunlockr.com/2010/04/02/how-to-ha...t-of-box-state/
u check yr file download complete anot ?? im using wondows 7 32bit
creative zn
post Dec 3 2010, 01:25 AM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(zdentws @ Dec 3 2010, 01:21 AM)
u check yr file download complete anot ?? im using wondows 7 32bit
yes. all complete.

maemo flasher 3.5_2.5.2.2 exe 3.5MB
Image 1 190MB
Image 2 (vanilla) 250MB