5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V8, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

lch78
post Nov 30 2010, 12:44 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Nov 30 2010, 01:39 PM)
so far so good..

BTW, I found a good tip from hardcore's blog (I think it's his blog).. I hate 2G because it's slow as hell, and HSDPA is speedy but makan battery.. Have now set my phone to 3G only (UMTS max 384kbps download speed) to see if it's good enough for me or not..

http://touristinparadise.blogspot.com/2010...-hsdpa-for.html
I tested this for one day. Found no significant difference between 3G and HSPDA on batt consumption. Besides I stay at 3G area more often than H. So not so useful for me though.
lch78
post Nov 30 2010, 12:45 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(KH Cheah @ Nov 30 2010, 12:48 PM)
I m on stock eclair n trying to update to froyo wth kies. But not able to. It gives me this msg: This device's version cannot be updated.
PDA: JF4
Phone: JF4
CSC:OLB
My kies is:1.5.3.10103_100_2 (is this the latest?)
Appreciate ur help.
The latest kies version is 1.5.3.10103.102
lch78
post Nov 30 2010, 02:13 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

I encounter a bug with speedmod k10A.

When I receive sms, I tried to pull down the notification bar from top but it just stuck above. Have to use menu>notification.

I guess it is time to go k10b tonight..
lch78
post Nov 30 2010, 02:55 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Nov 30 2010, 03:42 PM)
Wait until he release zipaligned version only try  tongue.gif
Doc has released JPO and JPA v9... so fast...

Added on November 30, 2010, 2:44 pm

not only on k10a, sometime will like this
I never encounter this behaviour before in eclair and stock froyo.
lch78
post Nov 30 2010, 07:27 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Nov 30 2010, 07:33 PM)
Anyone know what is this DiskCacheIndex that in our sdcard? Can i delete it?
I deleted many of those. Nothing happens so far.
lch78
post Nov 30 2010, 07:49 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(bwfc @ Nov 30 2010, 08:44 PM)
If anyone is still interested in the plain & clean voodoo from supercurio, he has just released Voodoo 5 - Stable Release Candidate 1. The linke is below.... flashed it on my plain official JPA... no issues and smooth...

http://project-voodoo.org/downloads/Voodoo...00-odin-pda.tar
Can this flash over speedmod kernel?
lch78
post Nov 30 2010, 08:04 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Nov 30 2010, 08:50 PM)
Remove your Speedmod lagfix before you flash. You will replace speedmod kernel if you flash Voodoo
Ok. Thanks.

What about the tweaks? Need to remove as well?
lch78
post Dec 1 2010, 08:44 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

I found a bug in speedmod kernel advance ULK tweaks which will cause your phone to run 100% all the time never sleep. Under advance ULK tweaks, there is a VM tweaks, if you enable this feature it will cause your phone to run all the time.

[attachmentid=1914523]

This picture above shows that my phone is running 100% of time for 9h++ which is exactly the time since I unplug. Battery drain was like 4% an hour during idle. My SGS had VM, Scheduler and Misc+Battery tweaks enabled. Before I enable the tweaks, it was like 2% an hour+ during idle.

I then off the VM option under advanced ULK tweaks, let it be idled for 10m, and this is the result I got.

[attachmentid=1914525]

lch78
post Dec 1 2010, 09:25 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Dec 1 2010, 10:11 AM)
lch78:

I also have the VM tweak switch on, but didnt get what u have.

[attachmentid=1914539]

that strange . rclxub.gif
hmm.gif strange indeed..

lch78
post Dec 1 2010, 09:45 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Dec 1 2010, 10:40 AM)
I wonder why you guys only enable 2 kernel tweak instead of all? Is there any issue caused by another 2 options?
From what I seen at Speedmod thread, it is recommended to enable all 4 tweaks...
I m just testing one by one.
lch78
post Dec 1 2010, 11:03 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Dec 1 2010, 10:11 AM)
lch78:

I also have the VM tweak switch on, but didnt get what u have.

that strange . rclxub.gif
This problem is gone in speedmod K10C from the feedback I got in xda forum. Going to flash to k10C tonight. icon_rolleyes.gif
lch78
post Dec 1 2010, 11:56 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Noob question here. Never use CWM recovery before.

Do I need to rename *cwm.zip files to update.zip to using CWM recovery "apply zip from sdcard"?

Or do I rename it to update.zip and reboot into 2e recovery to apply it or just apply update.zip from CWM?

lch78
post Dec 1 2010, 01:02 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(| K e e | @ Dec 1 2010, 12:59 PM)
no need to rename , just use apply from sd card , then browse ur zip file ..
Ok, thanks.
lch78
post Dec 1 2010, 01:53 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Dec 1 2010, 02:34 PM)
My SGS seems to unmount and then remount internal storage after booting. I usually see scanning media twice. It happens only after I updated to DXJPA. Is everyone's SGS the same?

None has replied this question yet. Anyone?
I've the same thing. Usually scanning before I key in unlock SIM code and another scanning after, which is longer than the first scanning time.

lch78
post Dec 1 2010, 02:07 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

I just flashed to K10C using CWM, so nothing to comment yet. hehe..
lch78
post Dec 1 2010, 07:04 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Dec 1 2010, 08:00 PM)
Has Samsung upgraded its official software to Froyo? Available for download yet?
It came out 2 weeks ago already. Now we are into various lagfixes and kernel.. icon_rolleyes.gif
lch78
post Dec 1 2010, 09:43 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Angry Birds Season is here: Free for Android..

http://us1.campaign-archive.com/?u=63b9f50...d=a0d8e36394&e=[UNIQID]
lch78
post Dec 1 2010, 10:26 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(KH Cheah @ Dec 1 2010, 11:17 PM)
I m abt to flash to froyo wth odin. But b4 I do tht, do I need to clear data first by entering the recovery menu? Wht to choose? Wipe cache partition? Wipe data partition? Wipe data/factory reset? Pls advise. Thnks.
I am not odin expert but if I were you, I'll wipe everything.

Of course back up your important data first. laugh.gif
lch78
post Dec 1 2010, 11:21 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(ijat91 @ Dec 2 2010, 12:08 AM)
thnx, i just found it after search it at xda. Nobod want join me to use k10c 500hz?? brows.gif  brows.gif
I am on speedmod k10c 500Hz since this morning. superbly smooth without lagfix +all tweaks enable.

After I test the battery consumption tonight, I ll write a review tomorrow. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by lch78: Dec 1 2010, 11:24 PM
lch78
post Dec 2 2010, 08:13 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Here is my review of speedmod k10c 500hz kernel after barely 20 hours using it. I installed thru CWM as I already installed speedmod k10a 500hz before i upgrade.

Ok, k10c is smooth like the days during eclair on Voodoo even though I have no lagfix install. But I do enable all the tweaks in advance ULK, including the CIFS support(even though I don't know what this is yet). smile.gif

Encounter no issues so far. GPS locks very fast and more accurate (sensor aiding on). WIFI connection very fast (I don't mean the internet speed here), stable, no disconnection what-so-ever. I have full animation enable. No experience of jerking between screens, booting time less than a minute with scanning media (I have over 300++ mp3, 300++ pictures and 20vids) done as well. Nothing I can complain about so far.

I do encountered one incident where when I opened and played fruit ninja, suddenly my touch was not sensed properly on the screen. I restarted the apps and it is ok already. Not sure whether this is related. First time encounter this behaviour.

The gallery bug is still there due to DXJPA problem, not speedmod. So I restart my phone before sleep to get rid of it so I can get a good gauge of the battery under k10c. Before I slept, I see the battery level is 99% and 6h30m later, when I woke up it is 94%. These are the parameters during my sleeping time:

WIFI = off; 3G = on; Location = on; GPS = on; sensor aiding = on; Received 3 emails (Through samsung push email). No weather and time widgets. NoLED =off biggrin.gif

1 thing I do notice is that with location on, the battery level drops faster (way faster) when you are moving/traveling than when u stay at same spot. Maybe you guys can double check this. When i drove to work, the batt level from 94% drop to 90% in 1h 20m with light usage. Now I am static and it haven't drop even 1% in 30m (wifi on)

Overall, I think hardcore really done a good job in tweaking the battery life and this speedmod k10c is the best solution so far I have experience with Froyo. Here are some screenshots of my battery stats:

[attachmentid=1916395] [attachmentid=1916396] [attachmentid=1916397] [attachmentid=1916398] [attachmentid=1916399] [attachmentid=1916400]
[attachmentid=1916401] [attachmentid=1916402]

This post has been edited by lch78: Dec 2 2010, 08:23 AM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0473sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:37 AM