Smith Machine vs Free Weights., For Squats and Bench Press.

TSXalvin
post Nov 22 2010, 08:35 PM, updated 16y ago

163 posts

From Stronglifts 5x5:
Why You Should Avoid The Smith Machine. The Smith Machine looks the same as if you would do free weight Squats, but safer. It’s, however, different. Here are 3 reasons you should avoid Smith Machines:

Less Safe. Force your body into fixed movements patterns. This can cause knee/back injuries. And the fixed bar doesn’t prevent accidents.
Less Efficient. Build less strength & muscle since the Smith balances the weight. Expect Squatting less when switching to free weights .
Little Carry-over. Technique is different using free weights since you have to balance the weight yourself. You’ll have to relearn technique.
What are your opinions? I've been doing Free Weights, but recently I've switched gyms, and there is no more Power Rack and I don't have a spotter anymore. Will doing Smith Machines seriously affect my training routine or strength gains? Stronglifts always try to discourage using Smith Machines and now I'm worried.

xelrix
post Nov 22 2010, 10:45 PM

419 posts

u dont recruit your stabilizers as much when on the smith machine.
less muscle involved, not as compound as before.
tho ive read somewhere if u were training for quads exclusively, with the right footing, it is better than freeweight as u can focus on your quad without worrying about stabilizing.

yeah. dont understand why there is no squat rack in some gym.
if u dont mind restarting your squat abit, do it like me, learn to power clean and front squat that bar.
disadvantage is, i squat less as powercleaning even 1 1/2 of my bodyweight already makes me wanna puke, squating it for 5 rep is another story.
do these all over for 5 set is...
but the satisfaction, the ego boost ull get from people mirin your form. ah...
darklight79
post Nov 22 2010, 11:01 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Stabilization means shit to bodybuilding. And core strength is not a priority, again, if one is bodybuilding orientated.
IFBB Pros use both machines (including the Smith) and free weights as tools to means to an end. The free weight only hardcore mentality does not apply.
shiloong7081
post Nov 22 2010, 11:47 PM

928 posts

for me, using the smith machine doesn't feel as flexible and natural . there's little room for movement or adjustment.
iamyuanwu
post Nov 23 2010, 12:21 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Nov 22 2010, 11:01 PM)
Stabilization means shit to bodybuilding. And core strength is not a priority, again, if one is bodybuilding orientated.
IFBB Pros use both machines (including the Smith) and free weights as tools to means to an end. The free weight only hardcore mentality does not apply.
The smith machine squat is meant to be done similar to a leg press (except you're standing instead of lying on a bench/chair). Mainly targets the quads. And no, it is totally different than barbell squat. If you're more into athletics, smith machine squats is pointless.

If one does the smith machine squat using barbell squat technique, he is in for some wreckage.
Core strength might not be a priority, but squat is still a pretty usual exercise for BBer. However, I do I notice that advance BB'ers tend not to prefer it.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Nov 23 2010, 12:25 AM
TSXalvin
post Nov 24 2010, 12:05 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Nov 22 2010, 11:01 PM)
QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Nov 23 2010, 12:21 AM)
The smith machine squat is meant to be done similar to a leg press (except you're standing instead of lying on a bench/chair). Mainly targets the quads. And no, it is totally different than barbell squat. If you're more into athletics, smith machine squats is pointless.

If one does the smith machine squat using barbell squat technique, he is in for some wreckage.
Core strength might not be a priority, but squat is still a pretty usual exercise for BBer. However, I do I notice that advance BB'ers tend not to prefer it.
Actually I'm still unclear regarding the difference between strength training and bodybuilding. Are they not related? As you increase your strength, you build muscles as well, right?. I'm more interested in building a huge and lean body. Does Stronglift 5x5 suit me? Or are there other workout plans like 3x8 or 3x10 or I don't know how much sets and reps?
darklight79
post Nov 24 2010, 11:17 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(Xalvin @ Nov 24 2010, 12:05 AM)
Actually I'm still unclear regarding the difference between strength training and bodybuilding. Are they not related? As you increase your strength, you build muscles as well, right?. I'm more interested in building a huge and lean body. Does Stronglift 5x5 suit me? Or are there other workout plans like 3x8 or 3x10 or I don't know how much sets and reps?
A strongman/powerlifter, no matter how much he diets and does cardio, will never, ever have the level of complete muscular development of a bodybuilder.

For a bodybuilder, functional and core strength is secondary. It doesn't matter how much you lift, how much you look like you can lift is important. Pretty muscles popping out through our shirts and pants is what we want. Still.... doesn't mean we lift sissy weights. =) We just love looking good and looking like we workout.
TSXalvin
post Nov 24 2010, 10:55 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Nov 24 2010, 11:17 AM)
A strongman/powerlifter, no matter how much he diets and does cardio, will never, ever have the level of complete muscular development of a bodybuilder.

For a bodybuilder, functional and core strength is secondary. It doesn't matter how much you lift, how much you look like you can lift is important. Pretty muscles popping out through our shirts and pants is what we want. Still.... doesn't mean we lift sissy weights. =) We just love looking good and looking like we workout.
Okay, I get that part. But aren't the workouts the same? Don't Bodybuilders do Squats? Bench Press? Deadlifts? I thought compound exercises are the right way to build muscle mass, and seems like this strength workouts are the best compounds.
snowberry
post Nov 25 2010, 12:02 AM

504 posts

wats ur objective?

get bigger muscle?

i see ppl using smith machine for bench

and they still have freaking big chest smile.gif

i dun think it really affect much.

but up to individual
winkybear
post Nov 25 2010, 12:09 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(Xalvin @ Nov 24 2010, 10:55 PM)
Okay, I get that part. But aren't the workouts the same? Don't Bodybuilders do Squats? Bench Press? Deadlifts? I thought compound exercises are the right way to build muscle mass, and seems like this strength workouts are the best compounds.
Methinks powerlifter : bench, deadlift, squat. They do it all the time to increase the amount of weights they can carry on those exercises.

strongman : lift/flip stuffs, lift stuff to carry it a certain distance, etc.

bodybuilder: trains with hypertrophy as main goal.

darklight79
post Nov 25 2010, 12:35 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(Xalvin @ Nov 24 2010, 10:55 PM)
The conventional flat barbell bench press does NOT necessarily have to be in a bodybuilder's arsenal. Neither is the deadlift nor the squat. We train to make our bodies aesthetically pleasing to the eye. Being strong and not looking like we work out ----> not appealing to us at all, period. =) I know I like turning heads when I head out in public, so does Lady Vanity, her bf Ernie Tng, etc. Appearances first, functionality and strength, second. =P

Ahh... the narcissism. Lol...

This post has been edited by darklight79: Nov 25 2010, 12:36 AM
iamyuanwu
post Nov 25 2010, 02:01 AM

2,425 posts

Arrows indicate priority in training/workout and the eventual result.

Athletes (powerlifter, weightlifter, MMA fighter, ass-kicker):
Strength >>>>>
Size >>>>
Aesthetics (shape of muscles, etc) >

Bodybuilders:
Strength >>
Size >>>>>
Aesthetics (shape of muscles, etc)>>>>>

You don't have to choose only one and stay at that extreme choice forever. There's no rule that says you can't focus on core strength and athletic performance while wanting to look like a BBer.
If you're not a competing athlete or competing BBer, then you are free choose a goal which is in between that 2 extremes.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Nov 25 2010, 02:02 AM
chicaman
post Nov 25 2010, 11:03 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Nov 25 2010, 12:35 AM)
The conventional flat barbell bench press does NOT necessarily have to be in a bodybuilder's arsenal. Neither is the deadlift nor the squat. We train to make our bodies aesthetically pleasing to the eye. Being strong and not looking like we work out ----> not appealing to us at all, period. =) I know I like turning heads when I head out in public, so does Lady Vanity, her bf Ernie Tng, etc. Appearances first, functionality and strength, second. =P

Ahh... the narcissism. Lol...
+1
arekey
post Nov 25 2010, 11:40 AM

454 posts

QUOTE(Xalvin @ Nov 24 2010, 11:55 PM)
Bodybuilding is about training muscles, not lifting weights. You use the
weights and proper technique in order to target certain muscles or muscle
groups. Weights are just a means to an end. In order to do this effectively,
you have to isolate the muscles you are targeting. Remember how
often you have been told to lift something with your legs and not your
back? This technique deliberately brings as many muscles into playas possible
to protect you from injury. This makes sense if you are a piano mover
or a construction worker. But the task of the bodybuilder is very different.
You don't want to make the lift easier, you want to make it harder! You
want the target muscles to do all the work, with little or no help from other
muscle groups.

Good technique helps you to do this. So does choosing the right
amount of weight. Once you are using a weight that is too heavy for your
target muscles to handle, your body will automatically call other muscles
into play. That's the way your nervous system is designed. So the fact that
you can lift a weight doesn't mean you are doing the exercise correctly. You
also need to choose a weight that ensures that the target muscles alone are
responsible for lifting that weight.
How do you do this? One way is to start out lifting very light and concentrate
on how the muscles feel during the movement. Gradually increase
the weight. But if and when you get to a point where you can no
longer feel the muscles working as they did when the weight was lighter,
chances are you are working too heavy and need to back down a few
pounds until that "feel" is reestablished.

This post has been edited by arekey: Nov 25 2010, 11:41 AM

0.0243sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:50 PM