Streamyx Streamyx Capping International Connections, Regardless of type of traffic or usage!

andy0212
post Nov 22 2010, 07:27 PM

132 posts

My package is 1Mbps but usually max speed about 180KBps

I got this same problem since last week no matter what IP range that I
get..
And since that time also I hardly get my usual good 115 IP
Now only can get 60.48 60.50

Connection to my seedbox server located at USA suddenly can't get more that 50KBps

Filehosting site such as Hotfile and Mediafire also can't get good speed anymore..

Livestream/Ustream also affected.. no more smooth stream..

But got no problem with Youtube...

This post has been edited by andy0212: Nov 22 2010, 07:29 PM
andy0212
post Nov 22 2010, 07:34 PM

132 posts

test hotfile just now.. 45++KBps rarely go more than 60KBps

woh.... unsure.gif

http://speedtest.tm.net.my/
DL 1572 kbps (196.5 KB/sec)
UL 436 kbps (54.5 KB/sec)

This post has been edited by andy0212: Nov 22 2010, 07:43 PM
andy0212
post Nov 22 2010, 09:19 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Nov 22 2010, 08:54 PM)
im affected too.. after midnight the speed will suddenly burst to full speed.
well atleast your speed back to normal during certain time.. as for me, this problem started since wednesday last week, and until friday last week, only once the speed recover at about 2am and back slow at around 2pm the same day.. haven't test during weekend because i'm away from home.. so later at about 2am i'll monitor the speed again..

QUOTE(pillowman @ Nov 22 2010, 09:01 PM)
this problem started exactly 3 weeks ago. Every night at 8pm sharp the routing will go haywire, local server shooting up from 30 ms latency to 300 ms. The speed / bandwidth get shaped to exactly 512 kbps and lower. I am using ping plotter and bandwidth meter to monitor this problem every night.

4 mbps user on 218/175 ip. Shooting email to tm with ping plotter and bandwidth graph. And yes, it returns normal after 2am, and the same problem will come back at 8pm sharp. Definitely the monkeys messed up the routing again.
your problem is the same as my friend's problem.. but he already got this problem since few months ago..
andy0212
post Nov 22 2010, 09:32 PM

132 posts

right now i'm trying to download two files.. one from my seedbox server, one from hotfile..

if both download is running, one of the files will be very slow; DL speed from seedbox + DL speed from hotfile = 50KBps++
if i stop one of the download, the other file will gain speed max to 50KBps++

i thought i can get atleast 100KBps for DL 2 files from different source >__<

so that means even if i DL 5 files from 5 different international links, I won't max my normal DL speed.. the 5 files will share the 50KBps speed.. sweat.gif
andy0212
post Nov 23 2010, 12:33 AM

132 posts

^i think your line is fine lah.. that's just the normal problem..
not capped like some of us.. we can't even get 100KBps..
andy0212
post Nov 23 2010, 01:30 AM

132 posts

okay it's almost 1.30am and now got speed improvement

compare to previous speedtest

andy0212
post Nov 23 2010, 11:44 AM

132 posts

just now round 11.30am the cap is back

andy0212
post Nov 24 2010, 12:30 AM

132 posts

Can report to SKMM eventhough I don't report to TM 1st?

I'm not in mood to call 100 yet coz sure they'll just ask me to do some unnecessary troubleshooting....
andy0212
post Nov 24 2010, 01:58 AM

132 posts

again after 1.30am, got a bit improvement but i still didn't get my normal speed T__T

max at only 100KBps++

andy0212
post Nov 24 2010, 08:43 AM

132 posts

^well my cap were lifted at about 2am..

let see if your report to TM really paid of.. wait until afternoon~~
andy0212
post Nov 24 2010, 09:02 AM

132 posts

oh hey.. it's only 9am and i'm back with a slow speed.. really can't predict when the cap is going to on/off...
andy0212
post Nov 24 2010, 09:25 PM

132 posts

so how much you guys think MCA JB total DL coz they also kena capped >__<
andy0212
post Nov 24 2010, 09:51 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Tsukishiro @ Nov 24 2010, 09:43 PM)
Really? I just ping to utusan.com.my and i got 600++ ms and sometimes a timed out.

Anyway, my SKMM report No: 0668/11/10
cannot compare ping vs throttle..
ping is just latency, i believe nothing to do with throttle...
andy0212
post Nov 25 2010, 05:45 PM

132 posts

sorry guys, while i agree on some points in the discussion, but it's not the purpose of this thread.. please proceed to broadband rant sink..

i hope to see some people post about improvement on their speed/progress from TM or SKMM regarding this international cap issue.. *touch wood*

This post has been edited by andy0212: Nov 25 2010, 05:45 PM
andy0212
post Nov 25 2010, 06:31 PM

132 posts

My average speed for international still 50++KBps but sometimes the speed randomly spike from 50KBps to 100++KBps.. compare to few days ago it will always less than 60KBps..

Currently trying to watching Starcraft2 GSL season 3 live from GOMTV with kinda acceptable stream, not as bad as yesterday.. already live for 30 minutes and so far so good..

So I'm not really sure if thats consider as improvement or not >__<

as for the speedtest, still quite the same as previous days

So I don't think I there's any improvement.. probably GOMTV stream bitrate is abit lower for today live.. or maybe because other pc in this house is not online..

This post has been edited by andy0212: Nov 25 2010, 06:41 PM
andy0212
post Nov 25 2010, 07:17 PM

132 posts

nobody know when will they restore the speed.. even their technical support don't even know cause of the problem..

i'll just wait for december to come.. if by december the speed is restored, can confirm they might be implementing monthly international cap.. but if still not restore, i dunno what to say..
andy0212
post Nov 26 2010, 12:45 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(relaxjack @ Nov 26 2010, 12:43 PM)
Anyone here who made complaints to MCMC received calls from them?
me.. 40 minutes ago..

QUOTE(nicky0322 @ Nov 26 2010, 12:45 PM)
bro, sorry to tell you that i am using my own server for private usage, not for sharing. =X however, you maybe can try BolehVPN as they might providing malaysia VPN server. try and ask them =)
lol.. TS is BolehVPN provider.... and he and his customer also being cap.. that's why this thread exist..

This post has been edited by andy0212: Nov 26 2010, 12:46 PM
andy0212
post Nov 26 2010, 04:39 PM

132 posts

hmm.. can TV3 aduan rakyat help us?

Membawa moto TV3 Ambil Berat, Aduan Rakyat bukan setakat memaparkan masalah-masalah yang dihadapi masyarakat tetapi permasalahan ini akan dicungkil dari segenap aspek dan didedahkan bagi mendapatkan jalan penyelesaian terbaik.

Antara masalah yang diberi fokus termasuk kerosakan harta benda awam, ketidakadilan dalam isu pengguna, kekurangan infrastruktur kepada golongan kurang upaya, pengangkutan awam dan perkhidmatan sektor awam.

aduanrakyat@tv3.com.my
andy0212
post Nov 26 2010, 11:56 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(vivre @ Nov 26 2010, 11:42 PM)
In summary, these are the key understandings that I still remember (not in order ya, coz I just wrote whatever came across in my mind, just got back from watching movie too, so started to forget some of the details):

a. YES and YES, TM has enforced the capped under the Fair Usage Policy. And he said he could not anything as it was coming from higher level - and the reason that was believed to allow TM to do so is because we have signed the form and there was FUP policy

b. It seems that the international bandwidth has been used up to the CRITICAL level, and prompted them to make this swift move.

c. This move is believed to be a 'strategic' move so that existing Streamyx users will migrate to Unifi (where the quota is real and stated upfront) unlike Streamyx which does not impose any quota.

d. Apparently, there is automated system where it monitors the bandwidth used on daily basis and enforce the speed cap across the user base, whenever the bandwidth is saturated. Unfortunately, this system does not monitor INDIVIDUAL usage, but rather as a whole. So, it does not mean that if you don't clog the bandwidth you are safe.

e. He believes that this cap is temporary while waiting for the Unifi subscriber's base to increase.

f. The cap is enforced based on the package (meaning to say 4mbps should be getting higher capped international speed thatn 1.5 mbps)

g. It seems that TM won't go public with this speed cap to take care of their reputation. (Remember when Unifi was launched with quota, the whole nation was condemning them, and later they retracted the quota 'temporarily')

h. The growing number of 'big-buffet-eater' (read: Unifi users) has something to do with 'running-out-of'bandwidth' effect that all of use are currently facing.

i. The word "Unlimited" in Streamyx ads refer to the access and not the bandwidth.

"d. He believes that this cap is temporary while waiting for the Unifi subscriber's base to increase."
that's weird.. this won't solve their bandwidth problem, but it'll give them more trouble... which is contradict with point :
"h. The growing number of 'big-buffet-eater' (read: Unifi users) has something to do with 'running-out-of'bandwidth' effect that all of use are currently facing."

damn TM is too greedy...

This post has been edited by andy0212: Nov 27 2010, 12:00 AM
andy0212
post Nov 27 2010, 12:09 AM

132 posts

but they also allow home user to subscribe BIZ5.. so if most home user prefer BIZ5, still the same bandwidth problem will happen..

and we talk about today, where Unifi don't have any cap yet... so why they just cap only Streamyx but not Unifi?

0.0500sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:56 PM