Streamyx Streamyx Capping International Connections, Regardless of type of traffic or usage!

ERTHK
post Dec 2 2010, 04:21 AM

If I'm not wrong, Comcast (the largest ISP in USA) was sued back in a few years ago because they totally blocked P2P activities from their subscribed users.

Comcast was later ruled "illegal" & ordered by US Federal court to remove such blockage.

I don't use any P2P software, nor do I play online gaming. I just stating some of my opinion as a normal user here:

If TM Streamyx ever dare to attempt to block certain online applications, then they are in for similar situation like Comcast. But they are not, they are just throttling down the bandwidth usage at the moment.

Which now leads us to another issue:

When ISP throttling down your bandwidth (FUP in which Streamyx stated), it must at least reach a reasonable minimum bandwidth requirement.

This is because certain developed countries already required their ISP to provide & ensure minimum bandwidth requirement (even during peak hours), depending on which package u are subscribed, you are entitled to be able to use the service under minimum bandwidth requirement set by government, even during peak hours.

For Streamyx 4mb, 2mb & 1mb users to consistantly getting <50kbps download rate from international servers is downright ridiculous.

I'm pretty sure those 30-50kbps download rates DO NOT meet any minimum bandwidth requirement (IF there's any requirement being applied by Government over ISP, we won't be suffering now)
ERTHK
post Dec 2 2010, 05:19 AM

QUOTE(siukeong7888 @ Dec 2 2010, 04:57 AM)
In US u can even sue the president for any offend but this is Malaysia dun forget , if u wanna sue someone make sure u got enough money to xxxxx , u know what i mean if not mayb end up u r the culprit  . Politic + corruption already make this country very very sick , why TMNET can goes against 2 million internet users and tell us " WE R CAPPING U YA " u ever think of this , the answer is very clear ( who is backing up TM ? Why ? no reasons ? ) figure it out yourself .

Government doesnt allow any other ISP cos they know for certain if there's another ISP which able to give good internet access and packages ( which a lot of company capable of , maxis , digi  etc  ) TM will go bankrupt  within days due to their " reputations " all this year  and there goes their monthly " pocket money " .

Actually we cant do anything but wait and " beg " that restore our connection , and when u ask why the internet damn fukup u have to ask yourself why u choose this government at the 1st place lol .
Of course I'm not going to sue Streamyx, on what grounds?? for bandwidth management? (I'm just pointing out the situations in other countries)

U don't have to remind me of how corrupt the situation is in Malaysia, that's why I always vote for the opposition & I will continue to vote for them in the coming election.

I didn't choose or vote for the current government, u are referring to other users in this case.

This post has been edited by ERTHK: Dec 2 2010, 05:20 AM
ERTHK
post Dec 2 2010, 06:32 PM

The current Bandwidth "throttling" tactic has to be one of the most "indegenious" idea coming out from TM Streamyx.

It's both naive & stupid at the same time, because they selectively throttle your bandwidth - meaning that u might be okay streaming videos from youtube, but you are in deep trouble trying to download anything from hotfile

You will not notice any difference until u want to get files off international servers, that's when u realize that your line has just been capped from downloading without any prior-notice from 10am in the morning until 2am the next morning.

I'm not going to wake up at 2am just to download a file, Streamyx should ensure guaranteed minimum bandwidth rate for me & not controlling how am I going to do with my provided bandwidth (Mind u though, this will cost TM Streamy a lot of money to upgrade their current system & I don't see that happening in the near future)

ERTHK
post Dec 2 2010, 08:31 PM

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 2 2010, 07:54 PM)
Does the IP reset during the transition from 'good' connection to a throttled one? Goddamn. Before I left work my download was at 150KBps for my 1mbps line, I knew it would be capped sometime around 8 or 9am, but I left it on anyway. When I came back I noticed my download failed and Steam asked to relogin because my IP address had changed. Not only can I not download at my paid for speed, I can;'t even bloody download anything when I leave for work.

I'm sick of them technicians calling me up everyday asking me how is the speed, should be send a technician over, we have reset your port, we will try changing your server, etc whole load of crap. Stop pretending to care TM. Just stop calling us to "follow up". It's wasting you easily-earned money. I've been calm when speaking to them, but when they call tomorrow it will be a different me.
I have been experiencing similar situation as well, on last Friday, my IP has been reset at least 10-15 times during "peak hour" & I'm not using any P2p or download accelerator.

Intially the download will start at "capped" speed around 50-60kbps, but then it will gradually drops after 10-20 mins, until it dropped to 0kbps & my download will failed. Unfortunately, that particular international server do not support resume, so I have to restart download from the beginning.

What a waste of bandwidth....

0.0503sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:48 AM