King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Sharp always.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 2 2010, 09:01 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dedade @ Dec 1 2010, 09:53 PM)
Just check at Onking USJ for Sharp 40L550M & Toshiba 40CV700E.
This Sharp 40L550M tend to be more darker(quite dark) when showing astro beyond HD TVB series compare to others model like Toshiba 40CV700E & Samsung's LA40C530. Actually show unit only have Sharp 40L500M but the sells guy say both are same except USB input. Ask to Tune the color but they claim already higher color, not sure true or not.
The sells guy also say Sharp LCD tend to be darker because Sharp normally not have very high contrast ratio.

So want to ask is true Sharp LCD tend to be darker?
I think hor...all these shops are not trustworthy...somehow they tune the TV...they'll make the units they wanna push brighter and tone down the quality on other models they don't want to sell.

Ex: different source (composite vs HDMI...how to fight!! ), reduce contrast and brightness, dodgy source material (DVD/ Terristrial TV vs HD source) etc etc...all sorts of tricks.

My suggestion. Bring ur own source and material, ex: HD media player with a HD movie inside. Connect it via HDMI. And check their brightness, contrast and other colour settings.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 9 2010, 07:28 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(cs168 @ Dec 8 2010, 11:55 PM)
How much is LC-40L550M now? What the different with LC-40L650M and how much is this LC-40L650M?
LC-40L550M should be around RM2300 or less. LC-40L650M is more expensive i think, around RM 2600.

I just bought a LC-40L500M for RM 1.9K...smile.gif.....Difference between LC-40L500M and LC-40L550M is just the build in media player. Better save ur money and get a dedicated HD media player...

And LC-40L650M has the 100Hz function...not worth the extra money coz old Sharp 100Hz does nothing, no difference at all. The new Sharp LED 100Hz is good though.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 9 2010, 02:18 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 9 2010, 01:52 PM)
is 1.9k market price
i think its quite cheap!
it's the cheapest i can find. Market price is RM2k...or maybe more. rclxms.gif The Toshiba AV700e/CV700e can be bought for RM 1.8k only... nod.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 9 2010, 03:11 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Dec 9 2010, 03:00 PM)
All the RMVB im watching now is 720P la.. haha
Now all TVB drama i also go for 720p version as it is only compressed to 600mb+ per episod..Not bad.. Last time all 1GB per episod..

Added on December 9, 2010, 3:04 pm

Usually ppl day higher contrast ratio = darker picture it can goes..

Anyway those Contrast ratio cannot be trusted.. Korean n China brands usually label their LCD has higher contrast than those Japanese manufacturer..
Exactly...contrast ratio is a lot of bull, especially those Dynamic contrast ratio...LG rates their TV in 6 or 7 digits wan...crazy!!!

There is no industry standard to measure contrast ratio...at least the Japanese don't follow the Koreans and try to simply bullshit people...

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 9 2010, 03:12 PM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 10 2010, 04:55 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Dec 9 2010, 06:47 PM)
oh.. so where u bought urs?
mind to share?
PM Kevinc66

Added on December 10, 2010, 4:57 pm
QUOTE(hvaly @ Dec 10 2010, 04:38 PM)
Just bought the sharp LC550M, to my surprice ... the quality is better than what i expected

the price i pay is <RM2k for a shop in tmn sea.

Tested the PQ from unifi STB ... the TV channel is very good ~~
really out of my expectation ~~ thumbs up for sony

however when i try to pay latest mkv avatar(1080p/DTS/15.2 GB) using its USB ... just got video but no sound XD

playing RMVB files are awesome too
You bought from Kevin also? How much did u pay for it? Dang..i didn;t know the LC550M only RM 2K!!

Another plus of Sharp over Toshiba...Sharp has S-VIDEO in for ASTRO....Toshiba don't have S-VIDEO in anymore....so ASTRO will definitely looks better compared to the Toshiba AV/CV700E models.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 10 2010, 04:57 PM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 10 2010, 05:29 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(hvaly @ Dec 10 2010, 05:27 PM)
ya, when i bought at that shop surprise me too ..
at first i went to kevin shop but out of stock ... then just survey another shop .. cheaper than my favourite shop XD

the quality from LC550 really awesome .. at first i thought i bought an LED =.= .. it is so sharp and good PQ ... thumbs up to sharp ~ thumbup.gif

just the cons: the controller not so solid and too small  rolleyes.gif
Where is it?? Just want to know...
SUSMatrix
post Dec 16 2010, 09:29 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(colim98 @ Dec 15 2010, 10:25 PM)
thanks for all the feedback
now i feel like getting sharp LC500 too...

hi bro,
mine to share where to get cheaper or same price as kevin in case kevin shop out of stock?

if not convenient to reveal the shop, can pls pm me ...many thanks.

Added on December 15, 2010, 11:39 pmafter downloaded the sharp brochure....i think i want LC550 as it got few more or better features as compare to LC500

SRS Trusurround HD, Bass enhancer, USB, headphone socket and digital audio out...

so next question is where to find the best deal..tongue.gif
LC550M is good deal if u can find a good price. Hvaly found it for RM2k...dang!!!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 16 2010, 09:29 AM

0.0915sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:39 PM