Guitars Cheap guitars & Cheap amps, Bargain 'Em All. Cheap = Rm1500 below

gizmoduck
post Aug 2 2005, 10:24 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Jun 9 2005, 11:49 AM)

i somehow think that there are better models out there, maybe a canadian or states made guitar round rm500+ to rm600+???

DUDE! blink.gif Canadian made for 500-600!!!!? He'd better be a Canadian living in Taiwan man! hehe no way! Probabaly if A& Luthrie opens a China Workshop keke thumbup.gif

Acoustics? Go for Santa Cruz.. I've got both Santa Cruz and Yamaha F310 and even though F310 uses Indon Mahogany its not loud enough. but the neck is nicer than Santa and its branded! hehehehee... even if it IS a motorcycle brand. laugh.gif
gizmoduck
post Aug 3 2005, 09:04 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Aug 3 2005, 04:29 AM)
They do boat engines also... dunno if it helps though laugh.gif
heheher... hey anybody got Woh Fatt's number? Malas to actually go there.. Thinking of getting that Union Jack Supernova hehhe whaddya think guys?

If only I have 11K then I can get that Casino.. cry.gif And then I'll play "Get Back!" All day long hehe
gizmoduck
post Aug 3 2005, 12:41 PM

323 posts

where exactly dude? Sorry but not very techy heheherrrr...
gizmoduck
post Sep 6 2005, 01:07 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(ANGELING @ Sep 5 2005, 09:28 PM)
oh....thx for the info....but i still dun have much knowledge about that....after i start my lesson just i make my decission on amp......

how's the XS LP standard? how's the sound?
Yo Angeling, you said you like Slow rock? or Rock? then you're safest bet is a Tele IMO. An LP is not as versatile as some ppl think. But a Tele can get closest to that "normal guitar" sound you were talking about- Mexican Teles are beautiful and costs around 2K. Or you can always buy a Squire/SX Tele which I have had great experiences with. Teles are great for strumming and EXTREMELY versatile!

user posted imageuser posted image
gizmoduck
post Jan 9 2006, 10:28 PM

323 posts

Hello everybody!!!! biggrin.gif

Just dropping in to say how happy I am to have found an absolute gem. My guy has been talking non-stop about his friend who was a luthier, right. And this guy was an apprentice of some big nob in Canada or sumthin. So, he has returned to Malaysia and is currently producing ABSOLUTELY BLOODY BRILLIANT ACOUSTIC GUITARS!!! My friend took in 4 of 'em to help him sell them. There was also a second hand min Takamine on sale at his shop. I triep the Takamine first, great sound, deep bass and so on. But I wasn't gonna expect what happened next. I strummed an E' on this locally made guitar and I was shocked. It was georgeous. I felt like I was playing a RM5000 Taylor. The neck was smooth (slim), it was slightly small and light but the bass and tone was out of this world. I'm not really good at describig how guitars sound like. But once you play this baby, you'd know immediately that it was first class hand made sh*t..

The guitar goes by the name Free Man (the surname of his master I think - Freeman)
it retails at around RM1800 <--- worth every penny
spruce stika solid top, bindings etc.. gotta see it to believe it. I'll take pix and show u guys wub.gif
gizmoduck
post Jan 10 2006, 08:51 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Jan 10 2006, 01:20 AM)
that's great ! did you buy it finally ? if you could post the whole address in the music shop thread, we can try to advertise for this guy.
Aww Pix, I unfortunately, I dun have RM1800 lying around under my bed haha. But, if I do have money soon, I'm gonna get one for meself. Of course, I have to sell my other acoustics first. Dun wanna hav too many lying around the house lol.

I don't have the exact address, but if you are familiar with SS15, near Taylor's? there's a mini shopping mall in there. The store is on the second floor. Its not a big mall, so ur sure to find it. The shop also sells SXs, second hands, and does repairs. Its opened rather late, around 12 ish and the owner is simon. Check it out!
gizmoduck
post Mar 9 2006, 09:52 AM

323 posts

SX vs. Other brands biggrin.gif

Well, I have had the pleasure to have owned an sx, 2 epiphones, a squire and a fender. Sold the squire to get an sx, sold the epi les paul to get a fender.

The SX in my opinion is great way to acquire a guitar which would bormally be out of ur budget range. I have an sx Tele and tested an sx strat. in terms of sound they are both good and better than squiers cuz of the pickups (squier use bar, not seperate poles) but i would have to complain about the make tho. The neck doesn't feel as good as a squier, the fingerboard is not as smooth and u need to get it set up properly like he said. And the logo.. oh.. the logo...

Never tried the sx lp myself, but it looks good. dunno how the neck feels like tho. Squiers arent worth it unless u get the higher end ones which cost around 900+ those are better built and worth ur money. But then again at those prices, u might as well hold out for a nice mexican.

Epiphones, u gotta be careful with, some are made in China now and are sold at ridiculously high prices. 2.2k for a chn epi at yamaha shops!!! wtf!? 2.4 for a korean! a bit overpriced imho. At that rice u cud already get a Jap fender mail ordered to you.

oh well, thumbup.gif good luck with ur choice

gizmoduck
post Mar 9 2006, 02:57 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 9 2006, 12:18 PM)
Well, you can't really compare the Fender and the Epiphone....... both totally different styles of guitar.... Strats and Les Pauls are completly different guitars....

So you can't really say..."oh.... for the price of an Epiphone, I can buy a Fender!!".. Yes.... but does Fender make Les Pauls? Or SGs? Same can be said about Epis.... They don't make Teles or Strats...

If they both made the same type of guitars... then of course we can compare that.

And FYI.... most Epis are Korean/China made.... where else do you think they come from? Nashville???
Yes, I agree they are totally different types of guitars. However, what I did compare them on were the price, not the sound, make, looks etc. I said that for the same amount of money that you spend on an Epi Lp, you could get a Japanese Fender mail ordered to you. The connection I was making, as you can see, concerns the price, not the type of guitar. My point was that Epiphone guitars are, recently, extremely overpriced compared to a few years ago when they could be obtained at around RM1.7-RM1.9K at Woh Fatt. thumbup.gif

Yes, epiphones are not made in Nashville. Everyone knows that. No Sh1t. But there are two makers of Epiphones (factory, workshop watever) which are either in Korea and China. I have tested both and overall they are not of the same quality. Neither are the price the same (which explains the quality). As I remember, I mentioned the China Epis so that, if a buyer wishes to buy an epiphone, would check the label behind the neck/headstock to find out where its made. Esp for noobs. They dunno this stuff.

oh yeah, some epiphones are actually made in the USA. Prob not in Nashville but most probably on US soil eh? GOD SAVE AMERICAN GUITAR MAKERS! AND JAPANESE TOO!

gizmoduck
post Mar 9 2006, 05:44 PM

323 posts

lolx biggrin.gif

Me too, well, epi had me at the logo. I wish Sx could come up with a proper name or logo that doesn't make it sound like a casio calculator lol jk jk

Blacktrix, is ur bullseye Les Paul an elitist or just standard? If elitist, then its American, if standard, then its Korean. Btw, I saw one in Swee Lee, You are in for a treat... thumbup.gif Geourgeous!

However, the Gibson one in the glass walled room (which was filled with US guitars) was much better looking of course!!!
gizmoduck
post Mar 10 2006, 12:48 PM

323 posts

lol African, cuban, watever man! mahogany rulez!

Indonesian mahogany!!! wahaha!
gizmoduck
post Mar 10 2006, 12:52 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(dilin @ Mar 10 2006, 11:35 AM)

about the green statement, it makes me wonder how does SX get away with their prices compared to Squier's (better sound. Possibly better construction?).

The Squier Standard Strat, is the pups also bar type? I know the Bullet and Affinity series are, but the Standard's much costlier.

On the other hand, I've a Squier Bullet whose make is rather flawless, neck joint is good, fret dressing nice, no complaints about the construction.

just my 2 cents..
hi guy..

The bullet strats are actually not bad u know. My friend had one and he's been imitating John Mayer ever since. Annoying actually. Especially in terms of finishing. Like I said, SX wins in terms of sound (which I hope wat everyone is looking for) but not so in the finishing department. Necks are uncomfortable, woog grain looks cheap etc. All in all, I would get a squier standard. Those are particularly nicely made. but they cost 900+ some special metallic finishes can go up to 1k! ah well, the price we pay for the tools we love.. vicious really

gizmoduck
post Mar 15 2006, 04:08 PM

323 posts

Hmm.. that's odd, cuz my fren who opened up the guitar said otherwise. Its the squiers that use bar magnets but not SX. thats why the tone is so much brighter than squiers. Maybe its a new batch? U never know with these China guitars, the new Sx telecasters have strat headstocks (in their websites blink.gif )

This post has been edited by gizmoduck: Mar 15 2006, 04:12 PM

0.0233sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:13 PM