Guitars Cheap guitars & Cheap amps, Bargain 'Em All. Cheap = Rm1500 below

Reload
post Oct 7 2005, 09:05 PM

70 posts

A Floyd Rose locking-trem is incredibly fun to use, but also very hard to maintain. Intonation problems, bridge alignment, tuning...oh dear. (Don't even ask about drop-D or non-standard tuning.) It's reliable, but once something goes wrong, you're in for a world of pain. My first guitar had a Floyd Rose bridge, and my early experiences with it weren't fun. sad.gif

Do some research before you get one. It depends on what kind of music you want to play. Try www.jemsite.com and www.ibanezrules.com and look at the tech sections so see what kind of work a Floyd Rose bridge would need.

And always, ALWAYS test a guitar before buying. Not just the sound or the fretboard feel - strap it on, jump around. It should feel comfortable in every way. Don't buy it after testing it on your lap only to find that you don't like the headstock dip when you're standing up at home.
Reload
post Oct 14 2005, 08:10 PM

70 posts

I suggest you get one with a few built in effects, so you can experiment. I recommend the Line 6 Spider II 15. It's a bit smaller than what you're looking for (15W) but it sounds okay (if a little harshly digital) and with four channels and something like six built-in effects, it'll last you for a while. CK Music sells them for under RM800, I think, so it's affordable, too.

You could also try a Roland Cube.
Reload
post Oct 15 2005, 01:12 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Oct 14 2005, 08:29 PM)
Bring in the Valvetronix army! tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

I would pick the Roland Cube 30 over the Spider II any day. The Vox AD30VT is also worth considering. Strictly IMO so give these amps a test and judge.

Otherwise you can save up some more and get the 15-watt Laney LC15 tube-amp combo instead, then applying pedals to shape your sound.
Good point. I don't know why I forgot the Vox Valvetronix series, especially since I own the AD50VT. doh.gif

AD30VT is a little over-budget, actually, retailing for around RM900, but it's pretty good for a smaller amp. The 15-watt version exists, too.
Reload
post Oct 16 2005, 01:19 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Oct 15 2005, 09:38 AM)
how much u bought ur ad50 for?
AD50 was for RM1200. I was planning to buy the AD30, but the difference in sound quality was so huge, that when my dad heard it he gave me the extra money right away. biggrin.gif

Of course, for those who don't have such generous fathers, the AD30 is still a pretty good amp.

Reload
post Oct 17 2005, 02:24 AM

70 posts

For some some bluesey overdrive, try the Ibanez Tube Screamer TS-9 or the Boss Super Overdrive SD-1.

SD-1 is a third of the price of the TS-9, and is slightly edgier. I think Bentley has both for sale, so you can try them side by side there.
Reload
post Dec 1 2005, 12:27 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(superdav007 @ Nov 28 2005, 10:23 PM)
OK guys ive selected my chosen  guitars. I just need u guys to tell me this guitars are suitable for wat genre or wat songs. wats d pros & cons & state d prices if u can. thx a lot. I wanna play songs like solo's from santana & also rock music from linkin park.

GUITAR

1)Les Paul 56 Goldtop
2)Les Paul Classic or classic plus
4)Les paul Standard or standard plus (wats d diff anyway?)
5)Fender Stratocaster
6)Gibson SD series
7)Ibanez are good for rock i heard but are they good for Solo tunes & reasonable priced?
8)Schecter's
Your chosen guitars cover everything across the board. It's almost as if you just laid down a few random brands! tongue.gif Maybe you should narrow it down to two or three first. Think about things like price and availability. Offhand, though I'd say your Santana and Linkin Park inclinations lean towards a humbucker-humbucker guitar, so the Strat's going to go. Of course, Santana has a warm, mellow, vintage overdrive sound and Linkin Park is a heavy-distortion contemporary nu-metal... blink.gif

But seriously? If you're just starting out (and with these questions, you are) and have the cash to spare, buy a cheapish guitar that you like the feel of, to hell with the sound. When you're better, change the pickups or something. And don't forget a decent amp. You'll probably change your mind about what you like while you're playing, anyway, or at least your experience will let you make a more informed choice.

Reload
post Jan 13 2006, 03:27 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(ILFr @ Jan 13 2006, 02:26 AM)
Paiseh man.......as am in no position to review a guitar yet...hehe

Anyway its a Washburn X10 guitar i got it from SS15. S-S-H setup. 24F, black and the usual stuff. You can read the reviews from better players here ---> http://www.harmony-central.com/Guitar/Data...urn/X_10-1.html
i also got a Roland Cube 15 amp.
All for RM900.

Now i have a problem and i suspect is because of the cheapo Rm15 guitar cable.....when i set my guitar or amp to high tune, its giving a hell lot of hizzling sound, damn annoying! It gives the same noise even when i only plug the cable into the amp without connecting to the amp.....any idea? and any recommendation for a better cable if necessary??
Thankssss!
It might be your cable, yeah. It could be fine, but it's just picking up electrical interference from something. For example, if my cable is unplugged and lying on the floor, I get a whole lotta noise. Once I plug it in, it's fine.
Reload
post Mar 2 2006, 10:58 PM

70 posts

There's plenty of information comparing single-coils and humbuckers on the internet, including this forum, so try a search.

But seriously, there's not alot the members of the forum can do for you, because describing a sound through words is really hard. For example, if I told you that a single coil was bright and glassy, whereas a humbucker is dark and fat, would you really know what I mean? Your best bet: try a Fender Stratocaster (3 single coils) / Telecaster (2 single coils) and a Gibson/Epiphone Les Paul (2 humbuckers) - those are about as different as you can get. Same amp, same settings. Get someone else to try it for you if you're not confident that you can really get the tone from the guitar.

Or another way is to find out what your favourite guitarists use.

This post has been edited by Reload: Mar 2 2006, 10:59 PM

0.0190sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:03 AM