15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

-+♦+- LYN PROTON PERSONA CLUB V10 -+♦+-,

xandras
post Jan 9 2011, 11:30 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Jan 9 2011, 11:21 PM)
Eeeee sound when braking about 0~30 km/h. Still new car so fast worn out meh?

I can't see also, when touch the disc still ok wor.
=.= u're not supposed to touch the disc to check the brake pads. LoL. U touch the brake discs only when u wanna check the condition of the disc. Although yes, worn out brake pads could lead to disc wear, but for now for the brake pads, it's at the brake calipers. I don't know how to say... Need a pic of brake calipers to show u.. U can also check your brake fluid reservoir to see if your brake pads are worn. Usually, lower brake fluid in the reservoir means that its time to replace ur pads.

That's metal rubbing sound. If ur brake pads r not worn out yet, then there might be a possibility that the metal bracket for the brake pads are in contact with the brake disc. Just bring to tyre shop ask them to skim the metal bracket for u la. Or even better, ask them whats wrong with ur brakes as they can remove ur brake pads n check it..

Speaking of which, how's ur brake reservoir Zeng? I remembered u telling us that it's leaking?

This post has been edited by xandras: Jan 9 2011, 11:59 PM
xandras
post Jan 10 2011, 12:27 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(lkc185 @ Jan 10 2011, 12:09 AM)
hie guys,newbie here,just register myself yesterday,currently driving a proton persona iafm auto old version.
Welcome to LYN PROTON PERSONA CLUB, lkc185. Feel free to browse around. Oh, and what colour is ur persona?
xandras
post Jan 10 2011, 01:07 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jan 10 2011, 12:48 AM)
mine also got screeching sound alot. all started since i changed my brake pad to ceramic neo  mad.gif

now the brake pad made my discs uneven d. need to go skim and change new brake pad. even just to do for front and change pad to bendix MKT, it will cost me about 200+.
since it's just the sounds that's irritating but the brakes still can function, so now i just be patient a bit and change later. using my money for other stuffs now.
Honestly speaking, it's not advisable to skim ur brake discs. Wasting money only. Sooner or later ur brake discs will go uneven again. U changed ur brake pads to ceramic brakes? Then u'll have to pair it with better set of brake discs. Original discs suck la.. Senang senang can bengkok la ini la itu la.

I've tried driving in rain over long distance a few times, and I can tell u that heat/cold is another factor that may cause ur brake discs to be uneven. Countless of times it has been, after multiple brakings in rain while drivin long distance, the brake discs bengkok. One more thing, when ur brake discs are hot, NEVER splash water on it. Law of physics, the direct transition from hot to cold is never good for metal stuffs.
xandras
post Jan 10 2011, 04:27 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(khtee @ Jan 10 2011, 01:04 PM)
195/60 R15

Added on January 10, 2011, 1:07 pm

try checking your dipstick.. the other day they pour in all 4 litres of my shell helix ultra... i notice....it was too much!! had to go drain them out...:S
Offset la khtee... Not wheel size =.=

I need to change both my brake pads & discs soon. Zzz...

This post has been edited by xandras: Jan 10 2011, 04:29 PM
xandras
post Jan 10 2011, 09:19 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(muslayer @ Jan 10 2011, 05:11 PM)
Rotor so fast ar? Pad i can confirm, change u will have better braking power. Rotor so fast need to change?
rclxub.gif
LoL. Do you drive hard? laugh.gif

My rotor warped d. Confirm. Drive 1 time long distance in rain terus warped. Dono apa quality punya rotors.
xandras
post Jan 10 2011, 10:24 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Jan 10 2011, 09:43 PM)
LOL.. Ok mah.. they hopefully all they need to do is just change it once and it good forever.. Me also going in with a long list of stuffs to do after cny.. 
Brembo leh.. Like those in the china motorshow one.. hehe.. Mine i realised something was wrong when i e-brake from high speed and the tires were wobbling ..  sad.gif
U mean Brembao? Or Brombo? =D Don't care la. Stock pads & rotors sucks. Need to change A.S.A.P but no money yet cry.gif
xandras
post Jan 10 2011, 11:05 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(muslayer @ Jan 10 2011, 10:45 PM)
If under warranty, can go claim from SC

Added on January 10, 2011, 10:46 pm
Brake pad cheap only. Rotor also not so expensive. RM 300/= for both item.
F.Y.I., cheap brake pads & rotors also comes with shorter lifespan. What's the point getting something that's cheaper but lasts half as long compared to a better one?

And even if it's 300 bucks also I cannot afford. Salary not out yet sweat.gif
xandras
post Jan 10 2011, 11:48 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jan 10 2011, 11:07 PM)
Hmm means when i asked the worker in the petrol station to check for me while i was refilling my petrol is not a right way to do lar since the engine is still running. Okay, will have to do it myself them.. thanks for the tips notworthy.gif
Ur engine was running + u r filling petrol + pop up hood to check engine oil?? KaBOOM!! Recipe for disaster laugh.gif

Added on January 10, 2011, 11:49 pm
QUOTE(muslayer @ Jan 10 2011, 11:26 PM)
Bendix Metal King Titanium Around RM 120/=, did ask Rotor TRW OEM for Myvi RM 150/= only and Wira Brembo OEM RM 140 range....
laugh.gif RM140 for 1 side? laugh.gif

Added on January 10, 2011, 11:50 pm
QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Jan 10 2011, 11:19 PM)
That one Minbao lah.. lol.. Everything need money.. lol..
Rotors got so cheap meh?? But good rotors wor...
Dont want halfcut ones..
CNY coming ady.. Any plans to visit uncle lim to get angpau from him?
Uncle Lim won't give me angpau la.. He so stingy.. LoL. Maybe he will give me a few China gals to play with la.. But angpau.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by xandras: Jan 10 2011, 11:50 PM
xandras
post Jan 10 2011, 11:51 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(scattygirl @ Jan 10 2011, 11:19 PM)
Hi all, i just book my Persona B-line MT 2011 today.
I find out the rim is 15" steel. If i want to trade-in with 15" alloy, any good recommendation? or how much it will cost me?

Compare with 15" and 16" rim size, which one is better for persona?
I'll take the 17" anytime over that two laugh.gif

Added on January 10, 2011, 11:53 pm
QUOTE(muslayer @ Jan 10 2011, 11:50 PM)
1 pair  lo
U sure mou... I doubt it's that cheap la.. I wanna go for Trestor Advantage anyway wink.gif

This post has been edited by xandras: Jan 10 2011, 11:53 PM
xandras
post Jan 11 2011, 03:17 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(scattygirl @ Jan 11 2011, 11:58 AM)
17" so big, i just worry when goto hump, the tyre itself will hit the car body.
Rear tyres yes. Will hit. But u must see aso, Persona wheel arch is kinda big actually. Can fit 19"? (Citation needed) tongue.gif Im running on 17", no prob whatsoever..

Added on January 11, 2011, 3:21 pm
QUOTE(jasondotcom @ Jan 11 2011, 01:53 PM)
OR........ like me.... on 205 45 R17 tires... i am using 29psi still. (ya go ahead and shoot me all you want guys....tongue.gif) been using such air pressure on my previous cars with same tire config except that on a 16inch with no problems... for years. and its as comfy as the stock tires honestly. Those less than 45 series tires may need higher pressure. hell, this is just my opinion though. if u feel its best to have higher air pressure, then by all means go ahead. air pressure preference or recommendation is very highly dependent on driver's personal preference. some like it hard some like it soft. eventhough the tires are thinner, it does not look "flat" due to the thick and stiff side walls. so, rolling resistance is quite minimal as well.

just beware of big potholes though. usually ppl increase air pressure on thinner profile tires to generally protect them in a way... but i dun quite bother since it does not effect me at all. i do not want to ride on a stiffy ride while on thinner tires.

oh btw, smetimes i go off road with such tires as well... so u can imagine how much it does not effect me. tongue.gif
...off road with ur Persona? I would like to sue u for abusing Persona. LoL laugh.gif

29 ah? ? Never try before wor. I'm riding on around 32-35, depends when I need handling & when I need comfort lor.. If long distance like balik kampung, then I pump around 33 psi. If short distance like Uncle Lim's place or around town where swerving & cutting in out traffic is needed, then 35 lor..

Am on 215/45/17 wink.gif

This post has been edited by xandras: Jan 11 2011, 03:21 PM
xandras
post Jan 11 2011, 04:50 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(jasondotcom @ Jan 11 2011, 04:46 PM)
very hard to answer ur question. cuz its not specific at all. things like sizes, new or 2nd hand or recond and brand..... and type of designs etc....
Agreed. Could be anything between 2k - >10k, depending on made, tyres, design, brand, etc.
xandras
post Jan 12 2011, 12:44 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Jan 11 2011, 10:09 PM)
29psi!!!  icon_question.gif im going into epileptic shock..  tongue.gif  Nvm bro.. I know the roads over there.. My mom from sandakan.. 4WD rules those places..
Can fit 19", but the biggest rims with 4holes pcd 114.3 is  18" only.. Unless u mau custom made.. Sunway got the 18" 4H rims..  tongue.gif
Ayam brand Mackeral RM5.20 per can.. Rim size 1.25" only.. haha..
It shd be Taiwan made imitations. A good price indication for u is
16" rims Price starts around 900 for 4rims only
17" rims price starts around 1200 for 4 rims only..
To fit bigger rims u need to buy centre cone, if not ur wheels will vibrate gila babi kuat on high speed..
Tires depends.. Check tire ratings (its on the tire wall).. If u want good handling on wet roads get Traction with AA rating..
The higher the treadwear the better.. But doesnt necessarily means ur tire last longer than lower threadwear tires.
Anything else??
Got lah.. But its gotta be the softest rims ever.. Max load 25kg..  tongue.gif
Roger.. No probs.. just gib me call.. Same shell station.

Btw just collected the spark plugs today..  thumbup.gif
Poison for u all..
[attachmentid=1989986]
[attachmentid=1989991]
[attachmentid=1989994]
[attachmentid=1989995]
[attachmentid=1989996]
[attachmentid=1989997]

Looks and feel different.. Initial report, car very easy to start.. It needed like 4cranks to start.. Normally needs 6cranks.. But engine was warm lah.. Probably thats y easier to start.. But omg.. This gotta be the best mod so far.. Can really feel the improvements across all RPM.. 3k RPM above the smoothness is magical.. Xandras and jackyap84 sure gonna love it..  thumbup.gif FC cant tell lah.. I whack car kaw kaw on kesas after getting the spark plugs..  tongue.gif  This tank gonna be affected ady..
drool.gif

Zeng!!! when can I get my sparks & filter!!! Warghh

Added on January 12, 2011, 12:51 am
QUOTE(scattygirl @ Jan 11 2011, 11:36 PM)
I only know Ayam brand, I dunno other brand ....

I more prefer comfortable and handling average. Any tyre can recommend? and price too....
I don't want later change rim/tyre, like Ayam kena belih....
Bro, maybe u should tell us ur budget so that we can roughly estimate & give u a few better options? How old are ur stock steel rims & tyres? How many KMs?

This post has been edited by xandras: Jan 12 2011, 12:51 AM
xandras
post Jan 12 2011, 01:19 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(jhbey @ Jan 12 2011, 01:12 AM)
Is he bro or she sis?

Added on January 12, 2011, 1:14 am
Yah. A bit regret. But no budget. Cny near. No bonus yet somemore.
I not kena poison.. I early early already spread poison with the Denso Iridium.. I'mma cobra laugh.gif
xandras
post Jan 12 2011, 01:25 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(slater_iz @ Jan 12 2011, 01:21 AM)
Plug+air filter waaaargghhh!!!cant wait to get those...when want to start bulking for bendix brake pad?i f*ing hate this ceramic nao pad..b****ing louder than my boss..no grip oso..open the door use kaki brake like flinstone better!lol
Haha laugh.gif

Flintstone? XD Go cut a hole lah on the floor in front of driver seat... then use kaki brake.. laugh.gif

Bendix? We'll find comparison for brake pads first.. then only decide which one is better.. These are investments anyway, so might as well dump money on better stuffs rite?
xandras
post Jan 12 2011, 01:47 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(scattygirl @ Jan 12 2011, 01:40 AM)
I still waiting for my new car. 0kms. My budget is trade-in and add little money, hopefully less than 500. Is it possible?
...erm... Possible, if u're getting 2nd hand taiwanese 15 inch rims + using back your stock tyres + rubber valves + stock locknuts.

Erm... U may still be able to get a new set of 16 inch rims, but I advise u to raise ur budget a little bit to around 700 or so. The catch is, once u get ur car, go trade in ur steel rims + tyres. U might be able to get up to 1k depending on ur negotiation skills. That'll more or less cover ur rim price. Invest on better tyres, dont try cap ayam cap kambing cap lembu tyres, they're no good. Go for Falken Ziex if ur budget is low. Or u might consider the China brands as well, their tyre quality is getting better nowadays. The only drawback is the name, and u won't know if the quality is consistent throughout the lifespan of the tyres.
xandras
post Jan 12 2011, 02:03 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jan 12 2011, 01:51 AM)
you mean steel rim trade in can get up to 1k or the standard sport rim ?
I mentioned up to, and I mentioned it depends on ur negotiating skills. Shops in Rawang or Klang would happily take ur NEW stock steel rims for around 800-1000 if u know how to bargain with them. It's the tyres that they want anyway, not the rims. New standard sport rim should be able to trade in for around 1000-1200.

xandras
post Jan 12 2011, 11:41 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Jan 12 2011, 02:30 AM)
Let them drive my ride 1 time.. Sure poison kaw kaw..
TT time loh..  thumbup.gif Bring spanar too if u want to change it on the spot..  biggrin.gif
tongue.gif wait till i get a cheap price first.. But have to wait till next mth lah.. I also no budget ady..
So far Bendix Metal King is very good in most of the review..
Too less lah.. If u want a great deal.. Go to Rawang area.. kereta.info did a good comparison for wheels shop there and they provided the best price..
I thought in our car already got spanar? unsure.gif
xandras
post Jan 12 2011, 01:53 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Jan 12 2011, 01:33 PM)
Rapid stop the most expensive. But higher temp rating (550degree)
Trestor price cheapest. But not much review about it. Needs bedding in process.
Bendix, mid price range, sponsored Miss Hypertune so its one 'hot' pad.. And no bedding in time needed.. FnF stopping on plug and play..  biggrin.gif  A lot of reviews bout it too.. But dont know whether the review are biased or not..
But i dont think its able to reach down to the spark plugs there and unscrew it right? I dont remember seeing such a tool there..
TT Session No.2
Venue: Williams Corner
Jalan SS26/9 (same row as 7-11)
Taman Mayang Jaya
47301 Petaling Jaya
Date: Sat,15th Jan
Time: 8.30pm sharp.
Google Map coordinate 3.117008,101.604166

RSVP Pls!
1)ZenGTMM
2)Janick1437
3)xandras
I dono wor.. My car from 1st day till now haven't open the tool kit yet laugh.gif

Anyone heard of the brand R-Bach before? I tried it once last time on my Myvi, it was the brake pads that last longest compared to all others. Haha.
xandras
post Jan 12 2011, 02:19 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Jan 12 2011, 02:04 PM)
Is the stopping power good? Never heard of it though.. Although there are a lot of other brands like mintye (good in the start, after that not that effective) and ebc.. These brands are cheaper, but cheap stuffs not always good, and good stuffs not cheap.
Quite good if u ask me. The wear is also low.. Not that cheap. It was around 120 a pair the last time I asked.
xandras
post Jan 12 2011, 02:35 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Jan 12 2011, 02:25 PM)
Icicic.. But for the same price.. Bendix gives me peace at heart.. The power of marketing.  tongue.gif
Mega TT 2.0 going to become mini TT 2.0 ady..  cry.gif
Why don't we make it earlier or later instead? laugh.gif

15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0549sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:26 AM