Peugeot 207, Peugeot 207

legendc
post Dec 3 2011, 01:26 PM

97 posts

So much of a review on the 207 . . . Well this are just my personal opinion

1. They giving 4K discount till year end. This is saving.
2. They giving 5 years free service and 5 years unlimited warranty. This is another saving.
3. What to expect more at this kind of price when the spec is better than vios and city? I feel its better than my vios for this price.
4. It's just another affordable car with tight budget.
5. Lets not talk about resale value as we don't even know what is coming up next as changes are fast.
6. Weather it's ugly or nice it is always up to personal preference.
~Battousai~
post Dec 3 2011, 11:46 PM

4,477 posts

guys i know why the exhaust/ outside smell is coming in

its coming through my aircon vent

it was raining and i off the aircond but felt cold air coming in and water droplets on my aircond vent..so confirm is the vent hole is not shut tight doh.gif

Cynox
post Dec 8 2011, 05:12 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(legendc @ Dec 3 2011, 01:26 PM)
So much of a review on the 207 . . .  Well this are just my personal opinion

1. They giving 4K discount till year end. This is saving.
2. They giving 5 years free service and 5 years unlimited warranty. This is another saving.
3. What to expect more at this kind of price when the spec is better than vios and city? I feel its better than my vios for this price.
4. It's just another affordable car with tight budget.
5. Lets not talk about resale value as we don't even know what is coming up next as changes are fast.
6. Weather it's ugly or nice it is always up to personal preference.
finally took delivery of the 207SV today noon. After short test driving from the showroom back home (around 25km), gear change down not that smooth yet, may need more time for the computer do adapt. The auto wiper, auto headlight and the stock HU with BT audio just blow me away - much much better than my 2005 VIOS and 2008 Grand Livina. thumbup.gif

White 207SV is just superb, the more i look at it, the more i fall in love with it. wub.gif Lucky that can change to White from Black initially ordered.

lowpro
post Dec 8 2011, 06:10 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Dec 8 2011, 05:12 PM)
finally took delivery of the 207SV today noon.  After short test driving from the showroom back home (around 25km), gear change down not that smooth yet, may need more time for the computer do adapt.  The auto wiper, auto headlight and the stock HU with BT audio just blow me away - much much better than my 2005 VIOS and 2008 Grand Livina.  thumbup.gif

White 207SV is just superb, the more i look at it, the more i fall in love with it.  wub.gif  Lucky that can change to White from Black initially ordered.
er, it takes a while for you to get used to the gear changes. if you are new to the adaptive system, it will be a bit jerky. this is very normal and common. the system will take some time to get used to your driving style and adapt to it. but once you are used to it, you will roughly know when to gently lift off the throttle to change up and how much to accelerate to induce one or two gear drops. just need a bit of time to get used to it. by the way, it will have a few occurrences of shift shock. no need to panic. it is pretty normal for the car. i've been driving it for close to a year and there is nothing that went wrong at all. so far, it has been good. you just need to know what are the inherent characteristics of the car.

also, if you're not used to the air cond, it has a heater (japanese normally cars don't have this) and is an automatic climate control system that sometimes blows hot air. here's how it works :

"About aircond yes it blows hot air. I remember I put the temp at 25c on a cold night and hot air is coming out from the vents. But it depends on the cabin temp. On a hot afternoon 25c will blow cool air."

"Re the aircon, its an automatic system. Once I went up Cameron during cold rainy season and even putting the aircon at 20 would result in hot air. It depends on the overall temperature."

"Yeah.. Its called climate control system. This car indeed has a lot of intelligent system ..."

"if the interior is colder than the temperature you set, the a/c will automatically blow warm air to match the temperatures. this is due to 2 reasons, it has auto climate control, and it has a heater function which the car will use to increase cabin temperature if you so set it higher than what is already experienced in the cabin. in cars without a heater (most japanese), the compressor will just shut off to warm the interior which takes longer than using a heater to do it. normally, the warm air comes from the centre right side vent."
MAD MAX
post Dec 9 2011, 01:39 AM

65 posts

i agree the gear change like that is normal...will get used to it after awhile
Cynox
post Dec 11 2011, 11:43 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

thanks, lowpro and MAX for the confirmation. The salesman did mention to us about the gear shift need some time to get used to our driving style.

BTW, how is the fuel consumption? so far on our first 1/2 tank, the average fc display at the central LCD is 12.2l/100 which i think is quite high or will the fc improve when the engine run in after 10k mileage?

Thanks. smile.gif
lowpro
post Dec 12 2011, 01:18 PM

180 posts

the FC is a strange thing. mine is quite high. about 10.3L/100km while my friend can get below 10L. i tried driving slow, changing gear before 3,000rpm, switching off air cond etc. but it is still there. will get it checked at my next service. due for 20,000km service already. but a year ago when i got it, was around 12! doesn't help that the car is very perky and keen to accelerate at the slightest prod of the pedal. the FC does improve over time though.

This post has been edited by lowpro: Dec 12 2011, 01:21 PM
MAD MAX
post Dec 13 2011, 12:49 PM

65 posts

when goin up Genting the temperature did pass 90 Celcius, is this any cause for concern?
lowpro
post Dec 13 2011, 02:43 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(MAD MAX @ Dec 13 2011, 12:49 PM)
when goin up Genting the temperature did pass 90 Celcius, is this any cause for concern?
no problem. for most oriental makes, the temperature boils after that but for peugeot, normal driving will normally show 90 but going uphill, it is normal to reach 100. even when u switch off the a/c and drive, it will sometimes reach 100 as well as driving in prolonged jams. as long as it does not exceed the red area, you are fine. the engines operate at a higher heat range.
MAD MAX
post Dec 14 2011, 09:28 PM

65 posts

hey lowpro...has your 207 experienced any **duukk duukk** sound when your turn the steering wheel?
lowpro
post Dec 14 2011, 11:09 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(MAD MAX @ Dec 14 2011, 09:28 PM)
hey lowpro...has your 207 experienced any **duukk duukk** sound when your turn the steering wheel?
had a bit of noise but it was fixed with some new technique they have at glenmarie. so far, it is ok and the noise has not come back. but mine was really not loud so it really didn't bother me. but when they asked me at 10,000km service if i want to fix it, i thought oklah. so far so good.
MAD MAX
post Dec 15 2011, 12:30 AM

65 posts

any idea what is the cause of the sound?
lowpro
post Dec 15 2011, 11:11 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(MAD MAX @ Dec 15 2011, 12:30 AM)
any idea what is the cause of the sound?
some part that needed extra lubrication in the steering column. seems they have some form of liquid film that solves it.
ken79
post Jan 24 2012, 11:30 AM

Hi Lowpro, good day ~ Can I just want to ask you something.

I actually got my 207SV 2 days ago before CNY, and would like to ask you something.

i) I also heard the 20-50kmh noise of the engine; seems not so smooth. Sounds like 'ngiiii ~ when step on accelerator... Are you hearing it when your car is new? I knew you didn't heard that when Wombok asked you the other day but your mileage is already 10 000km.. My mileage now is only 85km. Maybe because it's still new?

I havent asked Peugeout Malaysia yet; so just want to know what is your situation now?

ii) Also, did you hear some noise like wind sound when you driving around 60-80kmh? It's not that loud; but it's noticeable enough when you off the radio or the radio is less volume.

iii) Yesterday, when I start my car, I heard a screeching sound, seems like coming from timing belt/air cond belt. This happened after I wash my car; the day is also raining, and I didn't start the car for about 1 day. Before that never happened ( well, just 2 days old ) and today also no more this sound. Is that normal? Maybe the car is still very new?

Hope you can advise if you can ^^ I also have the active red color ^^ it's a beauty ~

Happy Chinese New Year 2012 !
rckh
post Jan 26 2012, 12:43 AM

For those still in the dark & for those who have bought the 207 sedan, I am sad to say that you have been rip-offed by Nasim. The 207 sedan is actually a 206 hatch - with a boot.
Read this link (somewhere in the middle that says Malaysian version) :

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peugeot_206

Just like the Mazda2, it is a stretched version of the hatch, which makes them out of proportion i.e longer but still as slim as the 206 Hatchback. And those similarly cheap looking & outdated 206 door handles. Nasim/Naza , just like Proton & Perodua, these guys have done it again. Blatantly, ripping-off the unknowing with re-badged outdated models & recycling them as though they are new models.

And the price for this CKD is far too much. Not to mention the poor QC when it is assembled locally. I am sure the quality would be very much better if they are imported CBU. But unfortunately, the sedan version is not even sold in Europe.
rahtid
post Jan 26 2012, 11:57 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(rckh @ Jan 26 2012, 12:43 AM)
For those still in the dark & for those who have bought the 207 sedan, I am sad to say that you have been rip-offed by Nasim. The 207 sedan is actually a 206 hatch -  with a boot.
Read this link (somewhere in the middle that says Malaysian version) : 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peugeot_206

Just like the Mazda2, it is a stretched version of the hatch, which makes them out of proportion i.e longer but still as slim as the 206 Hatchback. And those similarly cheap looking & outdated 206 door handles.  Nasim/Naza , just like Proton & Perodua, these guys have done it again. Blatantly, ripping-off the unknowing with re-badged outdated models & recycling them as though they are new models.

And the price for this CKD is far too much. Not to mention the poor QC when it is assembled locally.  I am sure the quality would be very much better if they are imported CBU. But unfortunately, the sedan version is not even sold in Europe.
sweat.gif agree! not to mention it is using a decade's old technology...
rtgs
post Mar 7 2012, 05:29 PM

Hi ken79, i'm peugeot 207 owner and facing the same problem too. Hopefully Lowpro can advice us on this issue.

Have a nice day ~
MAD MAX
post Mar 8 2012, 02:50 AM

65 posts

Hi..my engine got some timing belt(i think) sound when engine is cold...like "tak tak tak" fast rattle....especially when i lift off the accelerator and let it coast for abt 2-3 seconds...but once after engine warm redi sound not noticable.

any idea what could be the sound?
SkyGig
post Mar 23 2012, 04:29 PM

127 posts

I'm not trying to offend anyone here.It is just that i see alot of forumers criticizing more than praise about this car.And that holds me back for my decision to book for this car.Tested out Vios J,not that great after all,it's like driving a auto Myvi.Honda City iVTEC at least better than Vios(from my point of view) but pricey.PUG 207 haven't test drive yet but after going through the reviews by forumers,I felt less confidence.I hope I'm not being offensive but it is just my point of view.I know buying a brand new car is just like buying a brand new handphone(Even Iphone also got problem).No one can guarantee you sure got no problem.It is solely depends on luck.I guess...
cybermaster98
post Mar 23 2012, 04:43 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(SkyGig @ Mar 23 2012, 04:29 PM)
I'm not trying to offend anyone here.It is just that i see alot of forumers criticizing more than praise about this car.And that holds me back for my decision to book for this car.Tested out Vios J,not that great after all,it's like driving a auto Myvi.Honda City iVTEC at least better than Vios(from my point of view) but pricey.PUG 207 haven't test drive yet but after going through the reviews by forumers,I felt less confidence.I hope I'm not being offensive but it is just my point of view.I know buying a brand new car is just like buying a brand new handphone(Even Iphone also got problem).No one can guarantee you sure got no problem.It is solely depends on luck.I guess...
Take my advise. Stay away from the 207. I think its a poor choice for the price ure paying. Design is crappy and the rear seats has gotta be the worst in its class.

Whats your budget anyway?

20 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0270sec    2.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:21 AM