QUOTE(lex @ Jul 29 2005, 11:15 AM)
Nopes... Modern HDDs is capable of 20MB/s to 70MB/s transfer rates. Downloading BT doesn't even come close to that speed (e.g. theoretical maximum from ordinary Streamyx connection is 100KB/s). Just make sure the HDD is always kept cool and have a good PSU. An AVR or UPS is recommended also. Do not overclock the PCI bus speed (which affects the IDE bus speed also) for stable operation.
BT will kill hdd faster as from theory coz BT require the owner to send n receive from time to time which every part is require only just few kb only..thus reading n writing in consequences will make hdd die faster. But nowadays BT already use the built in buffer which use RAM as temporary storage n stored data the hdd for a certain of amount.from my point to prevent hdd from bad sector -> do always full format the drive periodically to maintain the hdd.
to prevent from undetect -> use good psu, coz most of the time the board burn coz of over voltage n dun on off too offten.
on a hdd wif 24/7 will long lasting then on off frequently.
believe o not up to u , cos i repair hdd for few years, experience told me.
This post has been edited by lex: Feb 13 2006, 12:10 PM
Jul 29 2005, 04:42 PM
0.0153sec