124 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Bottom

CLOSED

WSL999
post Aug 9 2011, 10:18 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 9 2011, 10:07 AM)
Well for graphical works I would recommend you wait for better U2412M review, and see if the LED + IPS can beat U2311H in wide color range, and of course, viewing angle, etc.
If you can't wait, I would recommend U2311H for its already proven.
Fair enough.

Ok then I will have to wait since time does not permit. Where do I follow up with the review of U2412M and others?

Samsung SA series is almost perfect however a hefty price to pay.
wildwestgoh
post Aug 9 2011, 10:34 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(WSL999 @ Aug 9 2011, 10:18 AM)
Fair enough.

Ok then I will have to wait since time does not permit. Where do I follow up with the review of U2412M and others?

Samsung SA series is almost perfect however a hefty price to pay.
Wait for someone to post review links if any, or do a search (google, bing, whatever) on the web on any slight details, since it just release not too long ago, it'll take sometimes for the review to come out, 3~4 weeks at least. wink.gif
WSL999
post Aug 9 2011, 10:35 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 9 2011, 10:34 AM)
Wait for someone to post review links if any, or do a search (google, bing, whatever) on the web on any slight details, since it just release not too long ago, it'll take sometimes for the review to come out, 3~4 weeks at least. wink.gif
Ok! Thanks so much! By the time most likely the price will drop smile.gif
lkj
post Aug 9 2011, 11:57 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 9 2011, 07:21 AM)
My first time buying from Dell online, so would like to ask how does the status works? Do Dell usually commit later date but deliver earlier?

Earlier my confirmation email says by 11/8 will deliver, then today when I checked the online status it says 18/8 yawn.gif.

But for the status it is already 'in transit'? Point is, does Dell usually deliver earlier than committed date?
Usually, the order status update (in pictures) on the website is reliable. The dates given are a guide. Also, depends on stock availability. It's possible you'll get your item about 3 days after order, when there is ready stock.

This post has been edited by lkj: Aug 9 2011, 12:00 PM
owikh84
post Aug 9 2011, 12:45 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

U2311H - 1920x1080, 6-bit e-IPS
U2412M - 1920x1200, 6-bit e-IPS
U2410 - 1920x1200, 8-bit H-IPS
U2711 - 2560x1440, 10-bit H-IPS
U3011 - 2560x1600, 10-bit H-IPS

From U2311 to U2412M difference is u hv larger res at the same quality.
from U2412M to U2410 u got better quality at the same res.

This post has been edited by owikh84: Aug 9 2011, 01:49 PM
nocar
post Aug 9 2011, 12:54 PM

752 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 9 2011, 12:45 PM)
U2311H - 1920x1080, 6-bit H-IPS
U2412M - 1920x1200, 6-bit H-IPS
U2410 - 1920x1200, 8-bit e-IPS
U2711 - 2560x1440, 10-bit e-IPS
U3011 - 2560x1600, 10-bit e-IPS

From U2311 to U2412M difference is u hv larger res at the same quality.
from U2412M to U2410 u got better quality at the same res.
U got it wrong. The premium U2410, U2711, U3011 is using H-IPS while the cheaper U2311 and U2412 use e-IPS.
olcheong
post Aug 9 2011, 01:32 PM

167 posts

owikh84, ur info terbalik liao
owikh84
post Aug 9 2011, 01:52 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Edited! Was typing while eating nasi kandar just now lol.

Btw, i personally would choose U2412M than U2311H. Greater and more features with a nice price tag, lower than RM1k yo!
WSL999
post Aug 9 2011, 02:09 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 9 2011, 01:52 PM)
Edited! Was typing while eating nasi kandar just now lol.

Btw, i personally would choose U2412M than U2311H. Greater and more features with a nice price tag, lower than RM1k yo!
Haha you trying to confuse people. H & E IPS.

Does the milliseconds play a roll in the ghosting and other factor? U2412M is 8ms. Relatively high.

I called DELL and request for a quote, verbally can give me RM855 from RM899 subject to approval.

This post has been edited by WSL999: Aug 9 2011, 02:26 PM
owikh84
post Aug 9 2011, 02:31 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(WSL999 @ Aug 9 2011, 02:09 PM)

Does the milliseconds play a roll in the ghosting and other factor? U2412M is 8ms. Relatively high.
I called DELL and request for a quote, verbally can give me RM855 from RM899 subject to approval.

Well done bro, RM855 is another lowest point ive seen so far.

As for response time, u might wanna refer to this:

Response time is a tricky thing to measure, because marketing usually doesn't tell you everything you need to know.

At 8ms you're going to get about the same performance as an LCD TV. Generally, this is good: unless you're superman you're not going to see any ghosting, and tearing usually won't happen (and if it does you can also limit the games frame rate).

Here's what you can expect from various LCD response times:

12 ms or more - You're going to see a lot of ghosting with high speed images. The higher the response rate the more ghosting you're going to notice.
8ms - ghosting is virtually eliminated, although you may experience ghosting on lower end model LCDs.
5ms - ghosting is eliminated.
2ms - this is actually a marketing trick for 5ms LCD screens, although performance will generally be better than screens advertised as 5ms.
WSL999
post Aug 9 2011, 02:42 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 9 2011, 02:31 PM)
Well done bro, RM855 is another lowest point ive seen so far.

As for response time, u might wanna refer to this:

Response time is a tricky thing to measure, because marketing usually doesn't tell you everything you need to know.

At 8ms you're going to get about the same performance as an LCD TV. Generally, this is good: unless you're superman you're not going to see any ghosting, and tearing usually won't happen (and if it does you can also limit the games frame rate).

Here's what you can expect from various LCD response times:

12 ms or more - You're going to see a lot of ghosting with high speed images. The higher the response rate the more ghosting you're going to notice.
8ms - ghosting is virtually eliminated, although you may experience ghosting on lower end model LCDs.
5ms - ghosting is eliminated.
2ms - this is actually a marketing trick for 5ms LCD screens, although performance will generally be better than screens advertised as 5ms.
Thanks for the information above. Really nice and thoughtful of you bro.

As for the U2412M Ultra Sharp series is generally better and clearer than the typical 24'' in market right? Ultra Sharp is market as premium tacts right?

Gosh, hope I'm not asking too many silly questions
celciuz
post Aug 9 2011, 02:48 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(WSL999 @ Aug 9 2011, 02:09 PM)

Ehh? I didn't know can actually do that sad.gif. Already paid RM899 for mine sigh...
WSL999
post Aug 9 2011, 02:58 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 9 2011, 02:48 PM)
Ehh? I didn't know can actually do that sad.gif. Already paid RM899 for mine sigh...
We are customer also known as end-user. We deserve the right to push and demand for further discount from the price stated in the website. Normally I'll say 'we're looking into long term business and repeat sale' this term normally work for most of the time. But have to twist and turn faster when meet with 'old snake' 'Lau She' smile.gif

I got most of the items for my company at very good price. I will squeeze every drop of 'juice' out from the orange. Then round up the figure to 'GG' them. biggrin.gif
owikh84
post Aug 9 2011, 03:10 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(WSL999 @ Aug 9 2011, 02:42 PM)
Thanks for the information above. Really nice and thoughtful of you bro.

As for the U2412M Ultra Sharp series is generally better and clearer than the typical 24'' in market right? Ultra Sharp is market as premium tacts right?

Gosh, hope I'm not asking too many silly questions
Yes Ultrasharp which is using IPS panel is generally better than those TN panels used by non ultrasharp models.

IPS generates FAR more accurate colours and displaying FAR more colours. A good IPS is capable of displaying over a billion of colours as compared to TN which is about 256k or so. moreover IPS has wider viewing angle that u could retain 100% consistent colour/brightness at any angle. Thats why price is a lil bit more expensive

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 9 2011, 02:48 PM)
Ahh ure too fast! Nvm lah next time u should know what to do already, ask for discount or nego.
WSL999
post Aug 9 2011, 03:13 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 9 2011, 03:10 PM)
Yes Ultrasharp which is using IPS panel is generally better than those TN panels used by non ultrasharp models.

IPS generates FAR more accurate colours and displaying FAR more colours. A good IPS is capable of displaying over a billion of colours as compared to TN which is about 256k or so. moreover IPS has wider viewing angle that u could retain 100% consistent colour/brightness at any angle. Thats why price is a lil bit more expensive
Ahh ure too fast! Nvm lah next time u should know what to do already, ask for discount or nego.
You have good knowledge at this stuffs. Which means U2412M model is consider higher end right? Cos the dynamic contrast is 2,000,000:1.
celciuz
post Aug 9 2011, 03:27 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 9 2011, 03:10 PM)

Oh well, lesson learnt. Next time try to nego with Dell before buying tongue.gif. Btw, that means calling them up? Any number as reference so I can use it in future? Or maybe when I purchase second unit tongue.gif
WSL999
post Aug 9 2011, 03:29 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 9 2011, 03:27 PM)
Oh well, lesson learnt. Next time try to nego with Dell before buying tongue.gif. Btw, that means calling them up? Any number as reference so I can use it in future? Or maybe when I purchase second unit tongue.gif
Yes I know, but we gotta do it via PM.
owikh84
post Aug 9 2011, 03:35 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(WSL999 @ Aug 9 2011, 03:13 PM)
You have good knowledge at this stuffs. Which means U2412M model is consider higher end right? Cos the dynamic contrast is 2,000,000:1.
Thanks to mr google.
Ultrasharp is high end class. TN is lower.
Forget about the dynamic contrast as every manufacturer has its own method of measurement n come out with their own ratio. But seriously Dell ultrasharp is good at contrast especially brightness in a dark room.

One issue that any IPS cannot avoid is the backlight bleeding. U will find uneven backlight appeared from one of the edges or corners. My 3008WFP also suffered from this imperfection.
wildwestgoh
post Aug 9 2011, 04:05 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 9 2011, 03:27 PM)
Why not buy from JREnterprise that offer RM899 for 5-years warranty?
Not sure if he can do the 3-years with lower price hmm.gif
Can try PM him too.

Anyway we shall see the review of this model U2412M eventually and we will know if it already can beat the CCFL back-light to poop wink.gif
owikh84
post Aug 9 2011, 04:16 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

So far i found one forum is talking about U2412M

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1615513&page=29

124 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Top