Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V3, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

happyshirt
post Feb 1 2011, 03:34 PM

412 posts

Hi there Sifus, I'm toying with the idea of migrating from my EOS dlsr to the Olympus e-pl2 mainly due to the compact size and weight. My EOS is pretty heavy since i also si-katek at 5ft+ a bit.
I mainly use the 18-200mm lens and an ultra wide angle and i prefer shooting landscapes.
What would be a recomended combination if i were to make the switch to the e-pl2?

Thanks!
happyshirt
post Feb 1 2011, 03:59 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 1 2011, 03:47 PM)
wah... I suggest you no need migrate. Just buy another set of m43. Then you can use EOS and E-PL2 depending on situation.

http://www.four-thirds.org/en/microft/lense.html

From the link, the only Wide is 7-14 and 9-18mm. 9-18mm is great because its small.

So I believe with 9-18mm and e-pl2 a great landscape combo. 9-18mm after multiply crop factor 2 is 18-36mm .
errrr the thought was to sell off the EOS to finance the m43la. My purse can't take the stress of both systems. blush.gif
if 9-18 for Wide then telephoto zoom 40-150??

Thank you!
happyshirt
post Feb 1 2011, 05:51 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 1 2011, 04:27 PM)
zoom you choose lor... Olympus 14-150mm great walk about lens... can zoom until 300mm (35mm equivalent)!!!
Since E-PL2 is stabilized, all Olympus zoom lens is smaller than Panasonic that come with OIS...but some said OIS is
more effective in stabilizing the lens...

anyway, I'll take Olympus zoom lens because since using Olympus body mah... can save money and weight... since
Olympus zoom lens is cheaper and smaller than pana...
hmmmmm thank you much gogo2. This will be food for thought during the CNY break (if i stop eating long enough to use brain).
happyshirt
post May 13 2011, 09:58 AM

412 posts

Hi there, I tried out the PL2 yesterday and i'm thinking of getting it so thought of getting some inputs from the folks here first. Reason i'm considering the PL2 is to replace my EOS60D which is mighty heavy considering i'm not that big and i use the cameras mainly for travel.
I love the dlsr functions n pics. but the weight is getting to be an issue.
Would the PL2 be a good substitute? When trying it out yesterday i found that the saving time was rather slow. not sure if becuase i ws comparing to the slr or could be because they were using class4 memory card with the demo set.
Auto focus also seemed to be a bit slower. i'm not sure.
As u can tell i'm very undecided. Anyone here has any inputs on whether its a good option?
I'm considering the 2 lens bundle 14-42mm and 40-150mm
Another question is what are the advantages of the PL2 over a high end compact?
I'd really love to hear from people who have hands on experience with the equipment.
Thank you.
happyshirt
post May 13 2011, 10:46 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ May 13 2011, 10:33 AM)
autofocus is definitely going to be slower than DSLR...that's the current limitation for constrast detection AF...shoot in liveview in your DSLR, and you'll get even slower AF..that limitation though, is slowly closed by Panasonic...

under sufficient lighting condition, M4/3s is on par with DSLRs...the disadavantages would only be obvious under low light conditions..
ie, typical DSLR can shoot with iso1600 and produce usable shots with sufficient details...e-pl2 would perform similarly at iso 800...it is generally 1-stop poorer than APS-C...again, new generation of sensors seem to be able to control noise better as seen in GH2 and upcoming G3..

compared to high end compact, m4/3 only loses out in pocketablity if compared to the likes of S95..
advantages: about 9x larger sensor, shallower depth of field, interchangeable lens system..

if you're coming from DSLR, you might miss the shortcut button and dials on a DSLR..but it's not that bad...
however, i don't think E-PL2 would be able to substitute 60D completely if you're into serious photography...but for travel and street photography, E-PL2 is perfect...
wooo!! Thanks for the good infor. yaya i what u mean, it is the low light conditions that i noticed the difference between the Pl2 and my dlsr.

Maybe get the E-PL2 as backup and still keep my dslr (which i lurve to bits just the weight is killing me, i'm only 5ft2in tall).

Any thoughts on lens? i like the 14-150mm but that doesn't come bundled. only the 14-42 with the 40-150. i guess considering the size i could just carry both. Dont want to invest too much since i'm still undecided which way i'm going to go just yet.

What is the resale value of the EPL like? in case i wanna sell off the unit after deciding i'll go with my dlsr? Any one know?
happyshirt
post May 13 2011, 01:34 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ May 13 2011, 11:08 AM)
it is still very capable despite the disadvantage in sensor size...afterall, this sensor is equiped in olympus E series DSLRs..
i plan to move to APS-C DSLR in future..and i intend to keep my e-pl1 as secondary camera...

i guess the resale value for the body is not pretty good...for 1, the system is new and market share still low, and thus the popularity..however m4/3 system is still the market learder in the mirrorless segment and gaining poplularity...the other reason is pana and oly refreshes their lineup pretty fast..i think have 14-42 and 40-150 seperately is not that bad..the lenses are quite small and lightweight compared to dslr lenses..
Thanks Highwind85 very helpful inputs. appreciate it. now to decide.....

0.0356sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:00 PM