Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V3, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

sniper on the roof
post Apr 27 2011, 03:26 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(sasa_yuuki @ Apr 27 2011, 03:19 PM)
Erm.... I dont know which is suit with me....
Any recommend of detail tell me what the function for every filter?
MCUV
- Multi coated UV filter. Used as protection for the lens.

CPL
- Circular Polarizing Filter. Used to remove glare. Like sunglasses for your lens and like such, only useful in overly bright days.

ND8
- Neutral Density filter. Used to reduce light going into lens... so can use lower shutter speed in daytime.. like those soft flowing water shots.

Macro filters
- Low cost way to shoot bugs. No point.
sniper on the roof
post May 3 2011, 02:26 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(SSY22 @ May 3 2011, 02:21 PM)
But never try them before. Dont know which one better. laugh.gif

Love GF1 much but hope the ISO performance will be better , maybe in GF3? Hope they dont remove mode dial like they did in GF2
Got... it's called X100 tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post May 3 2011, 05:36 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(snail_yin @ May 3 2011, 04:57 PM)
Actually my other filters (except the 52mm Pro1D MCUV filter) is CitiWide brand .... hehhehe..... so..cheap cheap only...get from a seller at LYN ... 2nd item onward you will get 25% discount.

But...somehow, I reco if you really want UV filter, then get from well-known brand like Hoya or B+W or Steinzeiser .... knw is expensive la..but really got big difference one....hahhaha ..else, if it can satisfy you, then just go ahead and use it or treat it as lense protector.... hahhaha  tongue.gif
Put it this way... UV filter is memang used as lens protector only on digital camera so unless ur getting a decent one, then there's really no point of putting another layer of el crapo filter on top of your lens to ruin the image quality.

sniper on the roof
post May 12 2011, 03:26 PM

23,414 posts

Panasonic announces the G3

16.3Mp Compact System Camera
3.0″ Free Angle Touch Enabled LCD
Micro Four Thirds 14-42mm Zoom Lens
Optical Image Stabilization
Electronic Eye-Level Viewfinder
Multiple Lens Options Including 3D Still
Intelligent Auto Plus

http://www.photographyblog.com/news/panasonic_lumix_g3/

Unboxing http://www.photographyblog.com/news/panasonic_g3_unboxing/

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: May 12 2011, 03:27 PM
sniper on the roof
post May 12 2011, 05:35 PM

23,414 posts

Hmmm.. photographyblog gave the G3 full marks
http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/pan...iew/conclusion/

Though it looks REALLY ugly to me.

sniper on the roof
post May 12 2011, 10:31 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(snail_yin @ May 12 2011, 09:44 PM)
haha....the controls din missing la...just all inside the screen nia..... biggrin.gif  ... u knw, bcz if those review...GF1 price increase...dunno izzit a scandal or not...hahahah
Touch screen is useful for point and shoot style.. I love the implementation on the Cybershots but quick button access is useful for folks to take their shot a little more seriously.

Besides gaining the touch screen and being smaller, GF2 not only gave up the buttons... it also gave up the better lens in the GF1 package in favor of the more cost-down 14-42 and 14mm. There's also no improvements in the image quality.

I forgot where I read but GF1 targets enthuasiast as a second camera but GF2 target point and shoot users.

QUOTE(faidz85 @ May 12 2011, 10:16 PM)
Looking at the images from the G3...it really is not bad at all.
But first have to get over the looks first... the G3 look like a piece of spastic soap shakehead.gif
sniper on the roof
post May 13 2011, 12:52 AM

23,414 posts

There's some size comparison shot here

http://www.photographyblog.com/news/panasonic_g3_rivals/

But damn its ugly.
sniper on the roof
post May 13 2011, 09:35 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(eueu @ May 13 2011, 09:20 AM)
Price  not cheap huh.. USD$750 from dpreview..
Consider veli value for money di... for f1.4 and Leica branding.
sniper on the roof
post May 13 2011, 11:59 AM

23,414 posts

You can also shoot at quite a bit more lower shutter speed with DSLR due to the more stable shoot-with-viewfinder position than a EPL2 unless u get the EVF as well.

Cost wise... m43 more expensive tongue.gif

sumtuckieeeee : Buy Buy Buy... now GF1 in Taiwan much more expensive than GF2 di.

sniper on the roof
post May 13 2011, 01:09 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ykhwee01 @ May 13 2011, 01:07 PM)
Har? So sure Taiwan GF1 price higher then GF2?
Yup.. second hand price also higher than GF2 new.

During stock clearance time, GF1+20mm went as low as NT19,500 (circa RM2K) but now I see second hand also selling between RM2.2K - Rm2.6K

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: May 13 2011, 01:11 PM
sniper on the roof
post May 13 2011, 01:35 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ May 13 2011, 01:28 PM)
quite logical isn't it? when demand outstrips supply..
price for GF-1 drops initially due to stock clearance for the imminent GF-2 launch..
when GF-2 was launched, people who has high hopes was actually quite disappointed with it, given GF-1 was so successful..
so people went back to GF-1...it is still the cheapest bundle to get 20mm....
price difference between 14mm and 20mm is about rm500 buying seperately (rm900 vs rm1400)..
Here we have the Panny 14mm easily available for RM700 and ppl bundling it with E-PL1 stocks (cheap cheap 1.5K niah)... with E-PL2 ... with G2.. with G10.

20mm on the other hand went up in price and hard to find also.

Added on May 13, 2011, 2:20 pmSince I'm in the market for a small camera... just share some findings when browsing dpreview's RAW comparison tool here http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/OlympusXZ1/page11.asp

It looks like the small m43's have a little over 1-stop of noise advantage over the XZ-1 but lens wise.. I think the wide end makes things equal while the XZ-1 should be more usable on the tele end.

But I'm surprised that the GF2 RAW looked worse than its predecessor GF1 shocking.gif shocking.gif

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: May 13 2011, 02:20 PM
sniper on the roof
post May 13 2011, 02:41 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ May 13 2011, 02:36 PM)
Just check the the scene comparison for G3, 600D and GH2. G3 looks close to 600D, slightly better than GH2 wo. brows.gif

I might upgrade to G3 instead, screw the ugliness haha. doh.gif

You are saying GF1 has high 2nd hand value? drool.gif
The current comparison on dpreview for G3 is for jpeg niah... RAW more important.
sniper on the roof
post May 13 2011, 04:41 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ May 13 2011, 02:47 PM)
wow..s90 not enough? tongue.gif
That XZ-1 lens got this really nice clarity look... so poisonous wub.gif

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ May 13 2011, 03:16 PM)
Ya hor ... haha maybe coz I dun shoot RAW
Break-free from the chains of in-camera processing... shoot RAW nod.gif

Or RAW+jpeg

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: May 13 2011, 04:47 PM
sniper on the roof
post May 16 2011, 09:40 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ykhwee01 @ May 16 2011, 03:16 AM)
This is where I spend my Sunday's....
Ulu Yam.

Photo with no edit and cropping have done. Just drop in watermark.  notworthy.gif
*prefer original photo with no editing*
Comment are welcome. Pls do comment for me to do more improvement.  blush.gif
You need a ND filter for the water shot. Blown jor.
sniper on the roof
post May 16 2011, 10:09 AM

23,414 posts

Hmmm.. like that boh pien oledi unless u tweak it in post. The sunlight very harsh
sniper on the roof
post May 17 2011, 07:05 PM

23,414 posts

G3 review out

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/DMCG3/DMCG3A.HTM
sniper on the roof
post May 18 2011, 01:13 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ May 18 2011, 01:10 PM)

@20mm
Wow... nice shot. The bandage and the expression really says it all.
sniper on the roof
post May 20 2011, 01:55 AM

23,414 posts

Woot!!! New GF rumored to be coming in June.

http://www.43rumors.com/ft5-hot-new-panaso...coming-in-june/

If this turns out to be the spiritual successor to the GF1 then I may just wet my pants and get myself a b'day present biggrin.gif
sniper on the roof
post May 25 2011, 05:46 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ May 25 2011, 05:44 PM)
Wow, just got an email from Noktor ....
SLR Magic x Noktor 50mm F0.95 lens for mFT‏  brows.gif

Holy crap .. naik harga?
sniper on the roof
post May 26 2011, 03:21 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(SSY22 @ May 26 2011, 02:58 PM)
=D . i watch the review of it many times d and also go to shop have a look.

think tank restro 10 hard to find nw , so i think will get passport sling instead.
Better still just get one of those inside padding thing like the link below and chuck it into any old school bag/ nike/ addidas man bag that u have.

http://goods.ruten.com.tw/item/show?21007212683787

Passport sling and exchange messenger don't have much padding inside.

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0471sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:58 PM