139 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V3, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

Wuahaha
post Nov 23 2010, 08:06 PM

哇哈哈 :D
1,528 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 23 2010, 06:51 PM)
You can try to simulate the experience by going out jalan jalan in good light, bad light, no light ... snap some photos with manual focus only.
I've tried MF on the 20mm it's different I think. I had to turn the ring a few cycles before I can get in focus. Maybe it's the focus by wire thing on the pancake hmm.gif

I think the manual focus lenses are easier right, not more than 360 degrees since it's mechanical MF ring? Correct me if I'm wrong sweat.gif
raptor_cZn
post Nov 23 2010, 09:11 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Nov 23 2010, 08:06 PM)
I've tried MF on the 20mm it's different I think. I had to turn the ring a few cycles before I can get in focus. Maybe it's the focus by wire thing on the pancake hmm.gif

I think the manual focus lenses are easier right, not more than 360 degrees since it's mechanical MF ring? Correct me if I'm wrong sweat.gif
The feel is different with fly by wire focus..

Of course older MF only lenses are more "accurate" in getting the focus you want since they have a longer travel from infinity to MFD and they are meant to be manually focused after all =p.
Comparing to the likes of AF lenses now, the focus travel can be really short like my tamron 17-50VC(not for m4/3 btw).

But the fly by wire focusing does change focus faster the faster you turn the ring though to a certain limit as to how fast it can go.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 23 2010, 10:09 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Nov 23 2010, 08:06 PM)

What I meant is the feel of focussing with LCD and the other hand working on focussing the lens while trying to keep hand steady with magnified view... without being on the tripod.

dixonjasa
post Nov 24 2010, 12:47 AM

85 posts

Just bought my E-PL1 last week. This is my first M3/4 as I only had compact cameras previously. This may sound like a nob question, I don't know (and can't find out from the user manual) how to create new folder for my camera. Last time when I used my compact camera, I could create folders for photos taken at diff interval. I find it difficult to keep to track all photos under one folder in my E-PL1.

Hope all the sifu can help! Thanks!

ShenWoo
post Nov 24 2010, 01:40 AM

Sir Shen Knight The 2nd
842 posts

So far i know it creates diff folder at different days and if not taken too long, another folder will be created. But i don't think i mess with anything in my camera.
Wuahaha
post Nov 24 2010, 09:54 AM

哇哈哈 :D
1,528 posts

QUOTE(raptor_cZn @ Nov 23 2010, 09:11 PM)
The feel is different with fly by wire focus..

Of course older MF only lenses are more "accurate" in getting the focus you want since they have a longer travel from infinity to MFD and they are meant to be manually focused after all =p.
Comparing to the likes of AF lenses now, the focus travel can be really short like my tamron 17-50VC(not for m4/3 btw).

But the fly by wire focusing does change focus faster the faster you turn the ring though to a certain limit as to how fast it can go.
You say focus travel is longer, meaning it can focus faster right with less turn? Ya I feel that's better. smile.gif

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 23 2010, 10:09 PM)
What I meant is the feel of focussing with LCD and the other hand working on focussing the lens while trying to keep hand steady with magnified view... without being on the tripod.
Ya man I know how it feels with the LCD and with/without magnified view, of coz if got EVF better la, but I'm not getting the EVF for GF1. laugh.gif
I'm ok with LCD just I feel the focus-by-wire MF takes too long to focus, thus NOT practical. wink.gif
kongloong11
post Nov 24 2010, 10:34 AM

26 posts

London Eye

By kongloong11 at 2010-11-23

GF1 + 20mm
dixonjasa
post Nov 24 2010, 12:27 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(ShenWoo @ Nov 24 2010, 01:40 AM)
So far i know it creates diff folder at different days and if not taken too long, another folder will be created. But i don't think i mess with anything in my camera.
It creates diff folders on diff days happens when you use the ib software to import photos. Right? But when you take up your SD card and slot it into your laptop, there is still only 1 folder keeping all your photos.
idoblu
post Nov 24 2010, 06:23 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

talking about folders - if i am using a LX3 and GF1 and importing new photos from them with PhotoFun Studio, will they have the same folder name?

actually i really hate the way they name the folders for example - 24112010 is the usual folder name for date 24/11/2010 and Win 7 will place it next to folders name 23112009 or around those dates meaning in Win 7 directory - the year will mix around instead of 2009 in one group and 2010 in another grouping. any suggestions?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 24 2010, 06:24 PM
faidz85
post Nov 24 2010, 11:28 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Sort the folders by date?
ShenWoo
post Nov 24 2010, 11:45 PM

Sir Shen Knight The 2nd
842 posts

I'm not talking about different folders when imported. I'm talking about the in camera folder itself.

But then again, maybe I'm confuse with my LX3 since I interchange the memory card often.
h9s9h
post Nov 25 2010, 03:06 PM

43 posts

anyone know lumix g2 use cpl or pl filter??
also, looking for brand new 45-200mm lens. anyone selling it please offer me. thx.
ShenWoo
post Nov 25 2010, 07:47 PM

Sir Shen Knight The 2nd
842 posts

CPL works on most DIGITAL camera if you want to use the autofocus feature. Using PL will confuse the autofocus mechanism in digital cameras, so you would have to manual focus it.

Don't ask me the science of it, you can wiki it yourself.
ben3003
post Nov 26 2010, 11:33 AM

10,859 posts

With gf2 coming out, should I consider gf1 still?
idoblu
post Nov 27 2010, 07:15 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 26 2010, 11:33 AM)
With gf2 coming out, should I consider gf1 still?
People quickly go buy GF1 when they heard about GF2 sweat.gif
ben3003
post Nov 27 2010, 09:46 AM

10,859 posts

why le? lolz... are they the same thing, only gf2 is more of a simplified version of gf1 without major changes in technology?
kevafk
post Nov 27 2010, 03:10 PM

209 posts

finally got my 20mm panny! will share some picture soonish when i get to take some smile.gif..

GF2 nothing major changes, so GF1 will drop price thats why everyone go grab it.. GF1 with 20mm somewhat barely over 2k only
matrism
post Nov 27 2010, 04:06 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kevafk @ Nov 27 2010, 03:10 PM)
finally got my 20mm panny! will share some picture soonish when i get to take some smile.gif..

GF2 nothing major changes, so GF1 will drop price thats why everyone go grab it.. GF1 with 20mm somewhat barely over 2k only
mind asking where did you get yours? interested to own a gf1 oso...
faidz85
post Nov 30 2010, 07:26 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Went on a trip to Sarawak last weekend. Snapped a lot of photos with my E-PL1. Sharing a couple of photos =)

Taken with E-PL1 + 14-42mm:

And another one but with the 20mm pancake:

jonralf
post Dec 1 2010, 12:15 AM

Hikki
804 posts

new gf1 with 20mm pancake user here. biggrin.gif
many things to explore

139 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top