Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V3, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

sniper on the roof
post Jun 14 2011, 01:05 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jun 14 2011, 11:39 AM)
dun haf external flash feature. expect us to use built in flash???  doh.gif
Apparently usability is not a consideration.

Off topic... over the past pages, I've been knocking on why bonzai dslr's like the GH2 and to a certain extent the G3 don't make sense.

It's about the same size as a small dslr anyway!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/45203414@N06/5817509444/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/45203414@N06/5817509686/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/45203414@N06/5816943117/
sniper on the roof
post Jun 14 2011, 05:21 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Jun 14 2011, 04:51 PM)
if they don't cost that much, then yeah...they can compete with DSLR..
the same sensor is in oly four thirds...and that's the 1 that doesn't make much sense to me...
four third fans, don't flame me...
On the high end.. doesn't make sense against dslr.

On the low end... GF3 still same size as NEX-C3 despite removing everything but the kitchen sink

http://www.dpreview.com/previews/panasonicdmcgf3/

GF3 advantage:
- Faster AF
- Touchscreen as some ppl thinks touchscreen by itself = high tech device.
- 20mm f1.7 and 25mm f1.4

NEX advantage:
- BIGGER sensor = More DR = Better ISO performance
- Hinged LCD.. BIG plus in usability... higher resolution too.
- Sweep panorama.... auto HDR
- Peaking function + host of manual lens.... and the 1.5x crop factor.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Jun 14 2011, 05:23 PM
sniper on the roof
post Jun 14 2011, 06:10 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Jun 14 2011, 06:07 PM)
with this trend going on,i think by 3 years time the body will be so small that the whole system looks like just a lens mount on an lcd
Don't think so much and faster get your XZ-1 la!!! tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post Jun 14 2011, 10:16 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Jun 14 2011, 10:00 PM)
Lately realise my white epl1 is a bit too eye catching for street photographer haha. All black is better tongue.gif
I think for second hand value .. black also better.

Streetphotography? Come come post post here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1495045
sniper on the roof
post Jun 15 2011, 11:42 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(SSY22 @ Jun 15 2011, 11:09 AM)
http://www.43rumors.com/ft5-olympus-e-p3-e...d-on-june-30th/

Check this out !! Cannot wait anymore !! wanna grab one d , gatal
Bleh... 6 month model lifecycle?

E-PL2 only launched January and now wanna come out with E-PL3... siao and phailed.

sniper on the roof
post Jun 15 2011, 12:05 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Jun 15 2011, 12:01 PM)
And there are no major differences between the three ... perhaps something on the sensor or menu features side ? hmm.gif
That's why some of the m43 diehards also looking elsewhere to play. This kinda product strategy really piss ppl off.
sniper on the roof
post Jun 15 2011, 02:13 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Jun 15 2011, 12:26 PM)
haha...saving funds for d7000... tongue.gif
e-pl1 + 20mm pancake is great for street and daily lens..no more further investment into this system until futher notice...
I feel like getting a XZ-1 for daily cam.
sniper on the roof
post Jun 15 2011, 02:18 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(SSY22 @ Jun 15 2011, 02:13 PM)
Same same , i just need one 35mm range + compact camera + external viewfinder ..then no more further investment.

Saving money for Leica !  laugh.gif
How come this sound so similiar to X100 wan?
sniper on the roof
post Jun 15 2011, 03:03 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Jun 15 2011, 02:41 PM)
waiting for valentino's feedback? tongue.gif
Ya lo.. I got a feeling I'm going to buy earlier than him oledi. rclxub.gif

Added on June 15, 2011, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(SSY22 @ Jun 15 2011, 02:35 PM)

I dont know should i get it or not ,

What i dont like X100 are
1. Fixed lens , i want to shoot in 50mm as well sometimes. m43 got lecia 25mm and olym17mm.
2. No focus ring with a distance scale even though X100 viewfinder and LCD can view distance scale.
3. The manual focus is  shakehead.gif

Sony Nex can match with manual 24mm lens (1.5 crop =35mm) attract me.
But
1. Noisy shutter.
2. no control dial.
3. no external viewfinder !!!

M43 got lot pancake to choose (17mm , 14mm , 20mm , 25mm)

But
1. the lens tak ada distance scale.
2. if using manual lens from other brand (due to its crop factor x2 , hard to find a manual lens range between 24mm-40mm)

Added on June 15, 2011, 2:39 pm
Why sell? Going to upgrade?
Sony Nex can match with manual 24mm lens (1.5 crop =35mm) attract me.
But
1. Noisy shutter.
2. no control dial.
3. no external viewfinder !!! --> cold shoe adaptor + one of those Voigtlander optical finder lo.
4. Peaking function easier to MF than with just magnification

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Jun 15 2011, 03:05 PM
sniper on the roof
post Jun 15 2011, 04:07 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Jun 15 2011, 04:02 PM)
what's holding you back on the xz-1?
That unavoidable small sensor look in the photos. This one cannot be PP'ed away sad.gif
sniper on the roof
post Jun 15 2011, 07:13 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Jun 15 2011, 04:48 PM)
i guess it'll be better than you expected,here we have bunch of photo from real life user for your reference,prepare to scroll through the pages though,the sample picture is really plentiful
http://www.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=541&t=1984346&p=1

i'm looking to buy with the fl-36r(as now got some nice promotion with olympus product it seems),now waiting for fellow forumers yushin to input me regarding the function of the flash focus illuminator,zoom head and TTL with xz-1,if its work yay!!!
Saw di... its sharp and got glow la but its very obvious that its small sensor picture from the color depth and dynamic range.

QUOTE(SSY22 @ Jun 15 2011, 04:49 PM)
The Jtec cold shoe? Dont know can get it here or not ...seem no one selling

Can this " Sony FDA-SV1 Optical Viewfinder for Nex Digital Cameras " compatible with manual lens?

sniper you dont like peaking function? Why put it at 4.

Zeiss 24mm 1.4+Sony Nex  biggrin.gif

Added on June 15, 2011, 4:53 pmOh ya even with viewfinder , there is no option is sony nex to turn off LCD screen right? I heard people complaint about this
Where got say don't like? unsure.gif Its just not a replacement for the weird priorities on native e-mount lens launch only.
sniper on the roof
post Jun 15 2011, 10:02 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(victorr @ Jun 15 2011, 08:54 PM)
For the money the pay for XZ1, better add on to get atleast a m43 sensor size camera. No compromise  tongue.gif small sensor better pakai eyepon4  cool2.gif
Errr.. like which? I don't like the direction that mirrorless is going at the moment.

E-PL2? End of June rumored come out with E-PL3... by Christmas... perhaps already E-PL4 and by 3 years time, they'll run out of numbers.

That bar of spastic soap called GF3 also not interesting for me.

NEX pulak no lens. doh.gif

Edit:

Mmmm.... maybe if this is true.....

The biggest new feature of the upcoming new PEN cameras is the completely new and almost revolutionary autofocus system! The new AF system focuses almost instantly, it’s faster than the actually very fast Panasonic GH2 focus (which focuses in 0.1 second with the Panasonic 14-140mm). Sources told me that the improvement is huge and you can feel it for REAL (they had the famous “Wow” reaction)! The new AF is even faster than the phase detection autofocus of most of the current Canon DSLR cameras (faster than the Canon 5D for example! Olympus made this possible by combining a new optimized sensor and engine plus the new autofocus system inside the new Micro Four Thirds lenses. I repeat, the AF is incredibly fast only when using the upcoming new Olympus lenses (like the 12mm f/2.0 lens). By the way, the AF is not only fast, it’s also very accurate (according to my sources). Genrally the real good news here is that Olympus remade the whole sensor-processor engine-af workflow. I guess and hope this will also positively affect the image quality! Well done Olympus!!!

That’s a very good news if you do consider that fast autofocus is usually one of the advantages of DSRL cameras over Mirorrless cameras!

P.S.: I will have more news about the sensor and lenses soon. I am still having some troubles about the sensor rumor I received. If you have “rumors” to share feel free to contact me using the anonymous contact form on the right sidebar Thanks!

sauce --> 43rumors.com

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Jun 16 2011, 12:06 AM
sniper on the roof
post Jun 16 2011, 01:07 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Jun 16 2011, 12:58 AM)
bear in mind the picture posted in the forum is automatically compressed to the server size,its much better than that,pay attention to those which attach the picture via flickr or photobucket,there are not as heavily compressed
I do a lot of homework wan... also downloaded RAW files and played with it in Lightroom di.
sniper on the roof
post Jun 16 2011, 10:40 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 16 2011, 10:23 AM)
and the search for the perfect camera continues......
I just had an epiphany!!!!

The solution exist and it's right in front of our very eyes.

Instead of looking for the best small light camera... why not approach street photography like golf.

Hire a caddy!!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

sniper on the roof
post Jun 16 2011, 11:33 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 16 2011, 11:26 AM)
X100 pricing, M mountable, yet with AF/MF
Dream on... tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post Jun 16 2011, 01:35 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(SSY22 @ Jun 16 2011, 01:26 PM)
I need a rangefinder seriously ! =(
Shoot film lo. Cheap cheap.
sniper on the roof
post Jun 17 2011, 12:52 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Jun 16 2011, 11:02 PM)
Hahaha still ok cause I don't think I'm letting go of this cam. If I have nice shots will post.  smile.gif

Guys why my lightroom can't import EPL1 RAW files? Help please. hmm.gif
Update to new version la
sniper on the roof
post Jun 20 2011, 12:10 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(sixtydee123 @ Jun 19 2011, 02:11 PM)
i wan to start funding for rangefinder. can all the sifu here suggest an acceptable rangefinder ?  not all those leica m8 m9 which is super expensive lah
Digital or film?
sniper on the roof
post Jun 20 2011, 03:41 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 20 2011, 03:38 PM)
sniper, based on the budget, if digital, left epson only
the rest all filem
I know lah.. RD-1 also kenot find jor.
sniper on the roof
post Jun 20 2011, 10:18 PM

23,414 posts

First look of the E-PM1... same size as the XZ-1!!

http://www.43rumors.com/ft5-first-short-e-...-e-pl1-buttons/

“The E-PM1 is really very small. The body size is very similar to the XZ-1 (Click here to see it) (similar depth and height, and a little less wide. Autofocus speed is awesome (faster than the E-30/E-5 by any means). And the AF is not only fast, it’s accurate! It has touchscreen, but it also has enough buttons like the E-PL1.) Overall it is a camera you can handle very easy. Looking at the size of the E-PM1 it might will not sue the BLS-1/5 battery, I am not sure about that but I think it could use the Li-70B battery from the XZ-1?
All three new PEN cameras do have touchscreen and a new circuitry that reduces power consumption and increases the battery autonomy."

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Jun 20 2011, 10:19 PM

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0490sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:16 AM