post Dec 23 2010, 10:05 AM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

New U41JF user reporting in!
faidz85
post Dec 23 2010, 03:24 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

I just reformatted everything. I'm fussy with bloatwares.

Now installing all my softwares. Haven't got the time to test it thoroughly. But I saw the battery stating "3 Hours left" when I'm on battery and on "High performance" mode.

Never tried the other modes.

The specs are:

i5-460m
Nvidia GT425M

Basically there is only one specs for this model.

I did ask the SA, he told me he never saw any other colour besides dark grey.

This post has been edited by faidz85: Dec 23 2010, 03:50 PM
faidz85
post Dec 26 2010, 03:43 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

@ Najmods

I'm thinking of the same thing. Let me know if you found one.
faidz85
post Dec 26 2010, 05:01 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Thanks for the link.

I removed it since it interferes me. The tapes are distracting.

Another question. I don't know what's wrong with my laptop. I reformatted it using the recovery partition. And from there I installed/uninstalled whatever I need and don't need.

Occasionally I found out that upon rebooting, not all programs are running. e.g my AV usually will have the icon on the taskbar but sometimes the icon isn't there but when I click on the shortcut on the desktop, the program runs as if it is already running. I'm not sure how to put it in words sleep.gif"

And sometimes, some background programs that enables KB shortcut are not running properly. e.g The Asus splendid utility. Normally Fn+C would cycle through the colour profile. And also the dedicated button for power/performance profile.

I suspect it has something to do with Asus fastboot. Any one of you having similar problems?
faidz85
post Dec 26 2010, 07:24 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Now I'm thinking the possibility to go SSD. Haha.

Is it do-able?
faidz85
post Dec 26 2010, 08:10 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

SSD is certainly a good upgrade if cost isn't a factor. Maybe can improve battery life no?

I've been trying to update the latest driver from Nvidia. But it refuses to install with this message "Could not find compatible graphics hardware".

I tried to use the auto scanner from their website but my browser just do not want to run the applet.
faidz85
post Dec 26 2010, 08:59 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Ok another question since my last laptop purchase was from another era.

If I want to install other version of custom windows 64bit HP, can I use the key stated under my lappy without activation issues?
faidz85
post Dec 27 2010, 09:34 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Just found out the existence of Seagate momentus XT. Is it a viable upgrade?

And how to check my HDD brand/model other than unscrewing the bottom of the laptop?
faidz85
post Dec 28 2010, 08:50 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

I cannot tahan Asus' bloatware already. Going to reformat my laptop with my own copy of Windows. At least I will know every single thing that I install.

Just hoping the driver won't be an issue. Also, any one else did this? Any precaution I must take especially regarding the recovery partition? I hope a vanilla windows and a driver/utility disc is sufficient.
faidz85
post Dec 28 2010, 09:19 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

The model is so new that the support sites contains the same drivers as the one from my DVD.

Plus the latest WHQL Driver won't install on my system as described before. I take that you did a clean install with your system?

Any issues with the hotkeys?
faidz85
post Dec 28 2010, 11:07 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

I used the GT425M WHQL.
faidz85
post Dec 29 2010, 08:37 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Wow...thanks for the really helpful guide.
faidz85
post Dec 30 2010, 12:13 AM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Ok...just formatted my laptop with my own copy of Windows.

Most are running fine but I'm missing my Lan adapter driver. Also the matshita DVD ram and my virtual drive appear in the "Safely remove hardware" systray icon list. I'm more concerned about the Matshita...prone to being removed. I tried it and the drive disappears from "Computer". Had to restart to get back the drive.

Any way to fix this?
faidz85
post Dec 30 2010, 01:01 AM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Dec 30 2010, 12:27 AM)
Try downloading drivers from Asus support website?
Tried that. The driver installed and I can view my LAN adapter for a bit before it disappears. Also the fact that my DVD drive still in the safely remove hardware list is annoying sleep.gif"

0.0382sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:35 PM