354 posts

ya ... in person he MIGHT less a little for u .. hehehehe
but no heli buying for me .. enuff already
keeping my 4g6s and 450pro only ...
daddoo
post Jun 17 2011, 10:51 AM

39 posts

Qiw, ask you something.
If the prop of the plane is long would it be a problem for a belly landing?

My Cessna's nose wheel always break one so thinking of removing all the wheel and use hand launch and belly landing. But the prop is quite long that it will hit the ground if just laying on the floor.
Areas Elysian
post Jun 17 2011, 10:55 AM

1,132 posts

Curious QiW, what do you have as your main heli set-up?
TSQiW
post Jun 17 2011, 10:58 AM

354 posts

ok ... cessna hand launch and belly land no problem ... its quite a floater
if u plan to belly ... set your ESC brakes ON ... cover the bottom of your fuselage with some fiber tape to withstand abrasion .. thats all u need to do

long blades are not a problem .. as long as they almost stop or stop spinning when u land ... blade breaks mostly from the rotating impact coz brakes are OFF ..

my EX-PYLONs (3 planes .. 2 given away after crash another i threw away) had blades than goes at 1-2 inch below the lowest part of the fuselage ... no problem
my funjet used to have blades damaged quite easily when i left brakes OFF ... after putting brakes ON .. little to no damage

Added on June 17, 2011, 12:46 pmdont understand what u mean by MAIN HELI SETUP

i fly futaba 8fg .. my 450pro uses r617fs receiver .. electronics are stock standard from align (so far only changed tail servo to futaba 9257 and added an external BEC coz stock tail servo died from EOL)
the thing with heli is setting it up ... setting it up properly will make it much easier to fly .. if u do a chin chai job with your setup then u will have a hard time ... hehehe

This post has been edited by QiW: Jun 17 2011, 12:46 PM
daddoo
post Jun 17 2011, 01:53 PM

39 posts

that futaba 9257 ok ar compare to your previous align 420? or 520?
cpmboy
post Jun 17 2011, 03:03 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jun 17 2011, 10:58 AM)
ok ... cessna hand launch and belly land no problem ... its quite a floater
if u plan to belly ... set your ESC brakes ON ... cover the bottom of your fuselage with some fiber tape to withstand abrasion .. thats all u need to do

long blades are not a problem .. as long as they almost stop or stop spinning when u land ... blade breaks mostly from the rotating impact coz brakes are OFF ..

my EX-PYLONs (3 planes .. 2 given away after crash another i threw away) had blades than goes at 1-2 inch below the lowest part of the fuselage ... no problem
my funjet used to have blades damaged quite easily when i left brakes OFF ... after putting brakes ON .. little to no damage

Added on June 17, 2011, 12:46 pmdont understand what u mean by MAIN HELI SETUP

i fly futaba 8fg .. my 450pro uses r617fs receiver .. electronics are stock standard from align (so far only changed tail servo to futaba 9257 and added an external BEC coz stock tail servo died from EOL)
the thing with heli is setting it up ... setting it up properly will make it much easier to fly .. if u do a chin chai job with your setup then u will have a hard time ... hehehe
another 1.5 cents Q.....how to know which aircraft model support your radio (apart from the channel)..?
TSQiW
post Jun 17 2011, 05:54 PM

354 posts

feels almost the same as the 520 .. maybe 9257 a little bit faster
size is the same ... except it will burn up very quick if u run it more than 5v .. 4.8v is the preferred voltage for the 9257

most if not all radios support 2 ailerons + normal/V tails nowadays in airplane mode ... flaps normally for those with 7 channels or more
in glider mode .. too many functions to even start with .. and multiple flight mode as well
heli modes ... nothing to shout about .. 6 channel ccpm or 4 channel straight servo ...thats about it ... governer will require an extra channel

the difference between radios are the extra features .. additional throttle and pitch curve points maybe .. more mixing options .. etc etc
then the end story is almost always the FEEL with the radio ... this one is very important as comfort is different with everyone's hands
Areas Elysian
post Jun 17 2011, 06:50 PM

1,132 posts

I said main just incase you have other R/C helicopters. Wanted to know what setup are you using as you 'pride and joy'. smile.gif

What I might end up doing is skipping the smaller setups, play with the simulator first and then jump to a good setup..

Of course being me, this plan will happen a year from now, and most likely changed plans about a few times. LoL
cpmboy
post Jun 17 2011, 06:52 PM

143 posts

thx sifu QiW....yup2...my 6ex + phoenix...on d way.

This post has been edited by cpmboy: Jun 17 2011, 06:53 PM
kzac
post Jun 17 2011, 06:56 PM

41 posts

wow i never knew this thread is here.. anyone interested in my Spektrum DX7? retired edy. pls pm if interested.
TSQiW
post Jun 17 2011, 07:53 PM

354 posts

pls dont call me sifoo .. this is an open forum
there are some ppl reading that might get the wrong idea ... hahahaha
i am just sharing my experience and what i have learned ..

there is no preference for me .. the 450PRO is my main heli that i take out to fly but i mainly fly planes nowadays
my list of helis from the beginning ..
>> ESKY COAXIAL DAUPHIN (up on the roof somewhere)
>> walkera 4g3 (sold)
>> trex 450pro (still flying it)
>> compy 300 (traded/bartered)
>> guruZ FP 300 (sold)
>> ESKY KING 2 (sold)
>> walkera 4g6s (mainly used for indoors flying at home)

planes ?? too many to even list ... hahahahahahahaa
cpmboy
post Jun 17 2011, 08:13 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jun 17 2011, 07:53 PM)
pls dont call me sifoo .. this is an open forum
there are some ppl reading that might get the wrong idea ... hahahaha
i am just sharing my experience and what i have learned ..

there is no preference for me .. the 450PRO is my main heli that i take out to fly but i mainly fly planes nowadays
my list of helis from the beginning ..
>> ESKY COAXIAL DAUPHIN (up on the roof somewhere)
>> walkera 4g3 (sold)
>> trex 450pro (still flying it)
>> compy 300 (traded/bartered)
>> guruZ FP 300 (sold)
>> ESKY KING 2 (sold)
>> walkera 4g6s (mainly used for indoors flying at home)

planes ?? too many to even list ... hahahahahahahaa
no worries mate....just being humble among vet pilots
Areas Elysian
post Jun 17 2011, 08:17 PM

1,132 posts

When I do start I might look at the t-rex 500 clone at Hobbyking.
daddoo
post Jun 17 2011, 09:29 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jun 17 2011, 05:54 PM)
feels almost the same as the 520 .. maybe 9257 a little bit faster
size is the same ... except it will burn up very quick if u run it more than 5v .. 4.8v is the preferred voltage for the 9257

most if not all radios support 2 ailerons + normal/V tails nowadays in airplane mode ... flaps normally for those with 7 channels or more
in glider mode .. too many functions to even start with .. and multiple flight mode as well
heli modes ... nothing to shout about .. 6 channel ccpm or 4 channel straight servo ...thats about it ... governer will require an extra channel

the difference between radios are the extra features .. additional throttle and pitch curve points maybe .. more mixing options .. etc etc
then the end story is almost always the FEEL with the radio ... this one is very important as comfort is different with everyone's hands
But ur BEC really just 5V nice for your S9257? Or you have a 5.1V step down?

Added on June 17, 2011, 9:29 pm
QUOTE(cpmboy @ Jun 17 2011, 06:52 PM)
thx sifu QiW....yup2...my 6ex + phoenix...on d way.
Care to tell mana you order?

This post has been edited by daddoo: Jun 17 2011, 09:29 PM
cpmboy
post Jun 17 2011, 10:15 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(daddoo @ Jun 17 2011, 09:29 PM)
But ur BEC really just 5V nice for your S9257? Or you have a 5.1V step down?

Added on June 17, 2011, 9:29 pm

Care to tell mana you order?
rcsmart...
daddoo
post Jun 17 2011, 10:40 PM

39 posts

RcSmart? HEhehehehe, then your phoenix sim must be o-li-jin-na one loh ..... good good ..... tongue.gif

Added on June 17, 2011, 10:41 pm
Since so many people talking about heli now .... take a look at this video for your reference.

A beginner start with X5 and another one start with ESky heli

This post has been edited by daddoo: Jun 17 2011, 10:44 PM
TSQiW
post Jun 17 2011, 10:48 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(daddoo @ Jun 17 2011, 10:40 PM)
RcSmart? HEhehehehe, then your phoenix sim must be o-li-jin-na one loh ..... good good ..... tongue.gif

Added on June 17, 2011, 10:41 pm
Since so many people talking about heli now .... take a look at this video for your reference.

A beginner start with X5 and another one start with ESky heli

aaaaaaahhhh ????
the video starts with big ESKY words .. promotion video ah ??

This post has been edited by QiW: Jun 17 2011, 10:49 PM
daddoo
post Jun 17 2011, 10:54 PM

39 posts

I think so, you go to the end of the video you will know .......

That ESky heli in the video can fly mild 3D like very easy .... hehehhehe, please don't be so excited first ah with this ESky heli ...... tongue.gif

TSQiW
post Jun 17 2011, 11:06 PM

354 posts

hhmmm .. that guy went into shop bought X5 + 10C + accesories
then went home program radio it becomes 8FG
when he go fly it becomes an ESKY radio ...

WTF ????????? hahahahahahaaaa

Added on June 17, 2011, 11:07 pmbut good funny video la ... hahahaha

This post has been edited by QiW: Jun 17 2011, 11:07 PM
daddoo
post Jun 17 2011, 11:18 PM

39 posts

Huahahahhahahaha, I noticed that also ......
It's a entertaining video but do tell us some facts tongue.gif

129 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:48 PM