Have we had a decent 'keeper since Khairul Azman?
National Team Malaysian Football, AFF Suzuki Cup next!
Dec 9 2008, 10:11 AM
82 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Have we had a decent 'keeper since Khairul Azman?
Jul 15 2009, 01:37 PM
Isn't it great how we were so multi-racial back then?
Race has got nothing to do with football, but yet it makes me proud as a Malaysian to see a team that is made up of so many ethnic backgrounds. And to top it off, we were actually really good! |
Aug 4 2010, 12:06 PM
I agree 100% on everything Duke said about Titus and Akmal and the other who had overseas stints.
I can remember around 10-12 years ago that there was this 15/26 year old Selangor lad (Fadzli Shaari or something like that) who was sent to a German lower league club, SV Wehen. Within a month or two, he was making noises about the food, the weather and every other damn thing. I remember very clearly reading in a BM newspaper that the reason he wanted to come back was "lagi pun, saya tidak ada sesiapa di sini". WTF? You think African players who went to Europe had their parents with them? Here's a guy who's been given a golden opportunity to carve a decent living in Europe playing a sport that he loved and yet he was willing to throw it away due to what?... Gulai daging salai? I'm really not sure what the wage structure is, but I would think a 3rd Division team in Europe would pay better than our local league, taking into account the conversion rates, etc. Heck, some of our local teams don't even pay their players! (Although Barca is an exception...) And if we're making noise about Duke Red not giving credit to our U-23 side, I think some of us should be rapped for not giving credit to Titus James as well. This is a young man who is determined to make it as a footballer in Europe. He learned the freaking language for heaven's sake, and trust me French is one of the most difficult to master. Sure he's in Ligue 3, but even if he made it to Ligue 2 it would still be a fantastic achievement not just for a footballer, but as a young man trying to make a living by himself in a foreign land. =================================== p/s: I do think Duke Red should still give a bit of credit to the U-23 team for beating Korea, but its his right to or not to. |
Aug 6 2010, 10:49 AM
Except for that no.16 kid, our boys seem to be physically on par with the mat sallehs.
Must be the raging hormones kick in around aged 15-16 for them! I guess that's the difference between Nasi Lemak and Pasta... |
| Change to: | 0.0371sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:54 AM |