just some recable done on old headphones, it's holiday, I gotta spend them wisely

TSpower911
post Nov 15 2010, 11:00 PM, updated 16y ago

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

It's school holidays
My school gets an earlier off due to preparations for SPM

since I found these old vintage headphones long time ago, I always wondered how do they sound.
cable snapped though, guess I'll have to recable them

have a look... one of the foam is still fresh looking and the other turned ugly brown
took me quite a while to get this clean from dust,dirt,sweat

driver size

open back headphones???

nope it's not

exactly 32Ω so I guess it should be easy to drive?

got some cheap gold plugs from nearby hardware store and some telephone cable with OFC wire inside XD

I'm gonna use the black one to start with (brown one looks gross)

This post has been edited by power911: Nov 15 2010, 11:10 PM
TSpower911
post Nov 15 2010, 11:04 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

snip off

shred

woots

solder them on

solder to the drivers

assemble the plug

give it a test.

to be honest it is very hard to drive this little guy.
even at max volume on Hippo Gumstick resuts an average listening volume
I guess the magnet used for this headphone are ordinary old ferrite magnets. Can't expect much from vintage headphones

Sound quality wise? It's a waste of time tongue.gif
It sounded flat... ridiculously flat...
bass,mids,treble... just plain flat
adding bass boost and treble definition doesn't do a thing to changing sound
extra bass boost results driver bottoming out creating distortion lol

Anyway... it's a fun project to do. Took me an exact 2 hours to clean and complete the mod.

PS: I believe these headbands from the headphones are similar to what rxy selling just for the KSC75 headband mod
Bro rxy can confirm about this?
and can tell what headphone they are?
I think I may get myself a KSC75 to continue some mods biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by power911: Nov 15 2010, 11:14 PM
ArianneG
post Nov 15 2010, 11:30 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

LOL, OMG, looks exactly like that pair I found in my storeroom from like 20-30 years ago. I remember their sound was crap too.
TSpower911
post Nov 15 2010, 11:38 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(ArianneG @ Nov 15 2010, 11:30 PM)
LOL, OMG, looks exactly like that pair I found in my storeroom from like 20-30 years ago. I remember their sound was crap too.
well... it still make sound, so it's still something XD

don't worry, newbies think it sounded good. I've let them tested it and their first impressions is awesome~~~ till I ask them to try out my MS-1i tongue.gif
rxy
post Nov 15 2010, 11:58 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

I guess they are of similar type.
Err,I can't tell what headphone they are cause I really don't know.
My friend tried the sound and definitely it doesn't sound good.
So,I didn't try it.
TSpower911
post Nov 16 2010, 12:09 AM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Nov 15 2010, 11:58 PM)
I guess they are of similar type.
Err,I can't tell what headphone they are cause I really don't know.
My friend tried the sound and definitely it doesn't sound good.
So,I didn't try it.
hmm... okay then smile.gif
thx for the reply notworthy.gif
ArianneG
post Nov 16 2010, 12:09 AM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

LOL, I tried that thing before I was into audiophilia-- it STILL sounded mostly crappy.
TSpower911
post Nov 16 2010, 12:11 AM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(ArianneG @ Nov 16 2010, 12:09 AM)
LOL, I tried that thing before I was into audiophilia-- it STILL sounded mostly crappy.
lol XD
still can't stand it's crappiness? tongue.gif
chill down laugh.gif
ArianneG
post Nov 16 2010, 02:52 AM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

LOL, not so much cannot stand as in refuse to use them-- hot scratchy and not very good sound-- chucked somewhere and forgot about it already.
ssyycc
post Nov 16 2010, 12:20 PM

Mr.
920 posts

But how does it sound before recable? also flat??
Nice illustration there.
rxy
post Nov 16 2010, 01:51 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

I guess so..
Does it change the sound?
I doubt so.
TSpower911
post Nov 16 2010, 02:58 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(ssyycc @ Nov 16 2010, 12:20 PM)
But how does it sound before recable? also flat??
Nice illustration there.
after recabling it sounded bad... so I guess before recabling it's already bad.

never get to test it though. both 3.5mm jack died when I found them

This post has been edited by power911: Nov 16 2010, 02:59 PM
Sop.qiqi
post Nov 17 2010, 02:14 PM

374 posts

Funny how I also have one exactly the same without the headband, but my driver died out though... I tried implanting my old broken atheq77 driver in but when I'm finished, the driver won't fit! Cilakak... First diy for me hehe
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Nov 17 2010, 02:39 PM

1,254 posts

you want my logitec headpones to recable?
i recabled them and i hate them
FREEEEE
just give me a pm and i'll drop by sri kota rest. beside NTS and give you FEREEEE=)
TSpower911
post Nov 17 2010, 04:05 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Nov 17 2010, 02:39 PM)
you want my logitec headpones to recable?
i recabled them and i hate them
FREEEEE
just give me a pm and i'll drop by sri kota rest. beside NTS and give you FEREEEE=)
lol xD
keep it for yourself laugh.gif
I want 2100 drool.gif
walabies
post Nov 17 2010, 09:54 PM

Jaben Network.. A headphones store with teddy bears...
6,934 posts

Impressive... Want post it at headjam.org?
TSpower911
post Nov 17 2010, 10:23 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Nov 17 2010, 09:54 PM)
Impressive... Want post it at headjam.org?
mmm can oso smile.gif
gimme some time icon_rolleyes.gif

PS: Posted smile.gif

This post has been edited by power911: Nov 17 2010, 10:38 PM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Nov 18 2010, 03:25 PM

1,254 posts

heh sorry, hijack your thread here again =)
yeah i did something during school holeydays too
using the surplus stuff i bought
yeah, detachable for hot swap or mounting mp3 player strapped to it when travelling
hmmn? the other kpla i use bek some sony golden plug cause it smaller
ssyycc
post Nov 18 2010, 03:29 PM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Nov 18 2010, 03:25 PM)
heh sorry, hijack your thread here again =)
yeah i did something during school holeydays too
using the surplus stuff i bought
yeah, detachable for hot swap or mounting mp3 player strapped to it when travelling
hmmn? the other kpla i use bek some sony golden plug cause it smaller
Ah.. I always want to bek some plug like you did. Good job. What headphone is that bro?
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Nov 18 2010, 03:34 PM

1,254 posts

thanks =) umm chepo pihlips sbc hp195 =D
i buy for rm47 at careefour
then inside i hotglued the female i stoel from rosak walkman caus its slim and small

0.0384sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:29 PM