Inspira vs Forte, which one will you go for

protondriver
post Nov 25 2010, 02:12 PM

In fact, both are good cars ! However, it is true also Naza and Proton have almost same quality of service center. Both are not good indeed. For me, I opt for Inspira. I think if any problem and Proton cannot solve it, at least I can find for Mitsubishi SC and I have peace of mind.

For forte, there are too much of electronic stuff, I think Naza (at least for now) still have of good technician to solve it.

For resell value, not one can predict Forte, but, previous resell value of Korean car is terrible bad.
protondriver
post Nov 25 2010, 03:11 PM

QUOTE(alcatrez @ Nov 25 2010, 02:20 PM)
Just find a good service center. I found 1 good eon service center and 1 good proton service center.

Willing to listen, maximum number of times i have to take back is 2 times on 1-2 occasions.
Can you share where it located ?
protondriver
post Jan 23 2011, 05:20 AM

I see so many Korean Warrior, die die protect Forte, here until I tempted to test drive Forte again to day...

I feel the same conclusion: I DIDN'T choose Forte is good option!

1. As Jalan54 say, it is not CVT. Gear and engine is the most frequent item used for driving a car. So, it is very important, not all those gadgets
2. It is too much of gadgets, it can be useful rarely use, but it will contribute to pain when maintain it. Especially, korean electronic item that have not lasting. I wonder how much need to spend to replace it few years down the road.
3. Non of the SA can convince me on the resale value. Only say "You see so many Forte on the road, so resale value will higher". But, I answer "once upon a time ago, I see a lot of Sonata on the road too, but the resale value like hell", then they just smile and keep quiet. Some say second hand value not important, but this will contribute how much you can pay for next car. I don't want next few years when selling the car, I still need to fork out pocket money to pay to bank to clear the loan.
4. PPl always comment Plastic interior, what wrong with the plastic? It is just kind of interior design that you like or don't like it.

protondriver
post Jan 23 2011, 09:34 PM

QUOTE(wb4j @ Jan 23 2011, 04:42 PM)
Resale value for proton is more worrisome. Just look at waja and wira. My friend's 70k waja, year 2003 worth 20k now. The T and the H badge worth 40k+ for the same manufacturing year. The korean make has improved so much. They could sell at a lower price than the japs make. Proton? rebadge a japs car and continue to stumble and cover lotus's loss? Btw, between forte and inspira, i'll buy forte.
Friend,
Just FYI, I sold my Wira 1.3 year 2001 at RM 10.5k. Buy time about RM 42,600. The vehicle sell contract still with me to proof to anyone.

May be you can get any Korean car at that year to compare with me, of cause, need real selling case, not just show advertisement.

Then, we calculate the depreciation.

Or, anyone can go to ask any mechanic, korean car better or proton better or Japan car better.

Inspira, is proton car with over 70% Japan items. Basically, it is CKD of Mitsiubishi Lancer, or CKD of Japan car.

Forte, nobody know the future resale value, however, based on korean car track record, the resale value will be worse.

I know both is good car, but, I will not use my hard earn money throw to buy something that the resale value still uncertain at the day of I buying it, but the track record will shows that it will be very bad. Or, in other word, I will use my hard earn money to "bet" that most probably will lose.

If anyone think that money is so easy to earn and can just use to support vehicle brand, then can just go ahead.. This is your choice !!!.

I am not supporting any vehicle brand, but just my 2cents about buying car.

This post has been edited by protondriver: Jan 23 2011, 09:37 PM
protondriver
post Jan 23 2011, 09:45 PM

QUOTE(dannysee @ Jan 23 2011, 08:51 PM)
I still don't understand why you still support Proton car?! It is the protectionism that cause Msia car much more expensive than our North and South neighbor!  why u want to "help" enrich" the very company who is the MAIN culprit that deprive us of proper valued car? I do not wish to elaborate further on those "NEP", "Uxxx", "tongkat", "u tak suka, u keluar" thingy here as this is car talk, but, think deeper, Proton has everything to do with these "  " thingy. Yes, I used to drive Proton Wira Diesel, 15 yrs ago, it was the time when second hand Proton cost more than NEW Proton, I don't have much choice due to my income bracket at that time and can't afford foreign made like T/H/N. Fast forward to 2010/11, foreign made car has been more affordable now compared with 1995, as such, in this Forte Vs Inspira case,  it should be everyone natural instinct to go for foreign car, then it should be Forte, NOT Proton's "Lancer", u just help enrich Proton! why should/would you? Don't take me as Proton basher, I am not! It is the PROTECTIONISM that I am against, which deprive us, the loyal tax contributor to this beloved Bolehland. If Proton is set up like the way Kia/Hyundai/Honda etc auto company, fighting on level ground, fight on state-of-the-art R&D, then I will be more than happy to buy their car if their VALUE is equal or better than foreign car. Do you know the cheap plasticky cassatte holder (hold 4 pieces only) of my old Wira diesel actually cost RM150.00! It was stated as "accessory" in the check-list when I went to  collect the car, the Salesman said it is "optional", but I must take and pay for it! do I have a choice then, NO! Now I have! And YOU HAVE TOO! Think people, think! FYI, I sold the wira diesel 3 yrs later, switch to Sentra, then Citra, then, now, switch to 03/05 Merz C270 CDI at RM99k, bought 3 weeks ago! Tq
I think Inspira is difference that previous Proton model. It is CKD of Mitsubishi Lancer. It is a quality Japanese CKD car.

I pay tax to our government, government use it to growth of proton. Indirectly, I am contributing to growth of Proton. Now, is time I enjoy the benefits from this... hehe..
protondriver
post Jan 23 2011, 10:42 PM

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Jan 23 2011, 10:32 PM)
It's not a Proton Car, dude.
Get real, it's just the badge.
I know it is just re-badge of Mitsubishi Lancer. That why I say, I wanted to benefit from the tax I paid before. Now, I can avoid tax to get Lancer, why not??

So, why I need to bet to buy Forte that resale value still uncertain with very bad Korean car history record, since that I have very good choice (Inspira) to choose now ??

protondriver
post Jan 23 2011, 10:52 PM

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Jan 23 2011, 10:45 PM)
Sure up to you, but looks like you're on a rampage to tear up Kia Forte with non substantial claims.

Check out Forte 2nd hand value, it's not that bad.
Nobody will know forte resale value, but, for me, I will not use my hard earn money to wait for the day to come....since it has so many bad record.

This is nothing about "non substantial claims". It is about your own choice wanted to bet for this or not. Nothing right or wrong.
protondriver
post Jan 23 2011, 10:57 PM

Mine is 2.0. The price between 1.8 and 2.0 is not much, that's why I choose 2.0.

I agreed with you on SC. If I don't like proton, I can go Mitsubishi,EON etc. At least I got way out.
protondriver
post Jan 23 2011, 11:27 PM

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Jan 23 2011, 11:14 PM)
Doubt u'd be entertain if u go MMM, urs is half breed, need to go back to half breed house biggrin.gif
You are wrong!! EON service Mit Lancer, now service Lancer CKD, Inspira.

You like it or not, the fact of Mit and Proton relationship is : One willing to buy, One willing to sell, end up both earn money and live happily.
protondriver
post Jan 24 2011, 11:07 PM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 24 2011, 07:00 PM)
not to pour cold water, but how do you think of perdana?  yes, it is cheaper than camry by 40k. so....

to me, this inspira will have the same fate like perdana.

how do you think of perdana?
I think among all proton model, Inspira is model like copying machine. Perdana can't compare with it.
So, it couldn't have same fate at all.
protondriver
post Jan 24 2011, 11:25 PM

How many % Perdana copy Eterna ?

Honestly speaking, I buy Inspira because of copying Lancer, include those parts.
protondriver
post Jan 25 2011, 03:16 AM

QUOTE(caesar18 @ Jan 24 2011, 11:35 PM)
my point is no matter how high/low resale value is, at the end of the day depend on ur bank account whether you can afford to buy another car. T/H/N car maybe have good resale value and may give you extra money like 20K maybe, but if i dont like the T/H/N driving experience, extra money for after 3-5 years sell it just won't enough compensate my mentally tortured by T/H/N car IF i don't like.  Buying a car is not investment anyway.
Nowaday, Malaysia ppl getting rich.. probably, can you just borrow me 1k?? Just 1K !! (just kidding)

Friend, If just assume you take max of 9 years loan still 10k remain at time you sell the car, and if your resale value, let say 9k, which lower then your remaining loan to bank, you need to fork out money from bank account to pay bank loan for the remaining of additional 1k. You aware that?? Don't ever think about top up from selling car ..

FYI, I am not brand supporter. But, I am just try not to be enemy to my $$

Added on January 25, 2011, 3:32 am
QUOTE(titarium @ Jan 24 2011, 11:45 PM)
As far as I know at least the engine and gallant platform but what's the % must ask Perdana enthusiat or Proton insider they have a better idea

as for your Inspira I suppose the obvious change is the RIM very likely from JRD ? you can check even it is so call CBU or 95% local content for 1st batch RIMS are most likely changed
IF you do not know, pls don't quote it is same. Copying machine have difference quality also. Previous model is develop model reference from existing Mitsubishi Platform. Now, it is just a re-badge !! Copy from Lancer Engine, Gearbox until RIGID body, even the ECU is not allow to change. If copying is not that identical from Lancer, Mitsubishi will not stop them to export it to certain country.

I just only know one facts from the car with me on hand now: I hardly found any NON MITSUBISHI PART from this car (of cause from the part I can see using my eye) !!! So, I can't see much difference from Mitsubishi Lancer.

If change the RIM, then ??? it is just car accessory. Some lancer also change from stock RIM to others?? so? They are not lancer??? Some change from leather seat to Recaro, so they are not Lancer also ? they are not CBU ?

I mention before, Inspira is CKD of Lancer, NOT CBU (I hope it will be CBU but most likely not)

Added on January 25, 2011, 3:38 am
QUOTE(titan-x @ Jan 25 2011, 12:21 AM)
nice info here... totally agree with your opinion  smile.gif
resell value is not the only factor we should consider when buying a car... there are various things depending on your what you want/expect from a car  icon_rolleyes.gif
some ppl really look into this, but some ppl that thing doesnt matter... hmmm... from what i can see main setback for forte just ppl worried of its resell value which for me no big deal  whistling.gif

as long as you happy with your money spent over your driving experience...   thumbup.gif
Yes !!! If you have money to spend, money never a big deal to buy any "experience". End up is $ sign at your bank account

Added on January 25, 2011, 3:39 am
QUOTE(caesar18 @ Jan 24 2011, 11:46 PM)
yea,resale value is cash. but buying a car for me important is u must like it. If u buy a particular car u dont like but only because of resale value high, then what's the purpose of enjoying life?? only become money servant only.
If I got some product to sell, you will be the first person I look for. You willing to spend, money is your servant

This post has been edited by protondriver: Jan 25 2011, 03:39 AM
protondriver
post Jan 25 2011, 10:55 AM

QUOTE(forter @ Jan 25 2011, 07:13 AM)
If base on vote..forte already won PEOPLE CHOICE AWARD by nst with participate of 30000 votes compare this lyn just only 900 votes!
People vote it, doesn't means that they will buy it. There are a lot of good car in the world, better then forte too. If ask me to vote, I will vote for Golf also. But, for realistic to purchase it, I will not goes for that. Why? I pay for 100k for such small car. As for Forte, yes, it is good car. But, I will not buy it cos of resale value track record of korean car. I will not willing to burn my $$ just like this.

However, this is your choice of how much you willing to spend your $$ for the depreciation of car after few years
protondriver
post Jan 25 2011, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(XionCity @ Jan 25 2011, 10:16 AM)
i agree with ciohbu

for me, car depreciates every year...whether is 'TaHaN', still depreciates right?? unlike property. So, wat 4 getting a car with so called 'resale value' when it depreciates, and u ald waste more money for it to maintain it?? choosing a car is from ur heart. it's for SAFETY(my 1st concern, that's y Forte), comfort and with good FC(Forte 1.6 for me, compare with Inspira 1.8)
So, since i will waste more money than i pay for it, i guess resale value = nothing for me..

Added on January 25, 2011, 10:18 am
i love this titan-x's post....very very very well said and very nice indeed
Actually why a lot of people say forte "safety" ? it is based on paper say so, or any accident happen before they driver suppose to die but not die ?

Bear in mind, Korean product not lasting is common issue, although it is improving. So, you won't know your safety items stated on paper will really function properly when time goes (meaning a few year later). Or, this safety item become one of item that you need to pay to maintain it, which due to high maintenance too. If one airbag cost RM 3k to replace due to maintenance, how much you can save with FC for 3k?

I think there is no any evidence that Inspira with 2 airbag will safe life less compare with 6 airbag. However, 6 airbag, maintenance wise will be higher.

I think safest way in driving, is "Drive more carefully, don't speeding, follow rules & regulation".

Honestly speaking, I don't thing airbag can safe your life when hit with speed of 110. Small accident, I don't need airbag, but with airbag if pop up, I need to pay for the maintenance.
protondriver
post Jan 25 2011, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 25 2011, 11:24 AM)
I think ppl care too much about resale value, and deviated from the purpose they wanna buy a car. They care less about safety, and everything .

1. Resale ( cos they wanna change car even when they cannot really afford that)

Usually only cheaper car have better resale value . Altis and VIos may cost the same after 5 yrs.

And inspira is same like saga and wira, all are lancer. Same resell as perdana. Wait perdana is skd, everything from japan u know
Again, how safety is forte? Based on paper say so or anyone who suppose to "gone" due to accident but not "gone" ?

Inspira (at this pont of time) is difference then other other proton model. It copy from engine, to gearbox until RIGID body which is NCAP 5 star (if not mistaken). If not so much similiar with Lancer, Mitsubishi will not stop proton to export the model to some of country.
protondriver
post Jan 25 2011, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 25 2011, 11:36 AM)
any safety ratings you see online will no longer be applicable to malaysia's models cos all cut cost, remove airbags, this and that...

just take NCAP safety ratings on the net with a pinch of salt cos definitely any car below 100k in malaysia, the safety ratings kantoi-ed one...
Agreed with this. Cannot just get the report online and apply at Malaysia model. It might be difference
protondriver
post Jan 25 2011, 12:36 PM

I got one more example of resale value. My Wira 1.3, year 2001 sell at RM 10,500. Buy time, RM 42xxx. It is real case with sale contract which is not just advertisement. How much depreciate?

Exora difference. It is Malaysia built. Campro reliable or not, is still question mark.

Inspira 2.0 with Mivec and forte 2.0 Theta II is same under Gemma Project. But, just Japan Vs Korea. Then only can compare.

protondriver
post Jan 25 2011, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jan 25 2011, 12:35 PM)
becoz malaysian thinks Airbag is EVERYTHING ... drive 150km/h .. hit the divider .. got airbag .. u can walk out and drive another car away ... tongue.gif
Ya... I believe a lot of forte owner thinking that got 6 airbag = safety car. May be can check the airbag specification, actually, how airbag safe you? is that apply to malaysia driving style and condition?
protondriver
post Jan 25 2011, 01:25 PM

QUOTE(forter @ Jan 25 2011, 12:51 PM)
and u can check anytime now about lancer resale value..how much depreciate?again good luck for your future resale value MADE IN JAPAN mivec !
Lancer depreciate so much cos Inspira come out. If not, Lancer owner will not just angry with inspira.

This post has been edited by protondriver: Jan 25 2011, 01:25 PM
protondriver
post Jan 25 2011, 01:39 PM

QUOTE(XionCity @ Jan 25 2011, 01:18 PM)
juz frankly tell u all, LANCER and INSPIRA in term of RESALE VALUE, is TOTALLY DIFFERENT!!....hear that?? TOTALLY DIFFERENT!!!
bcoz of BRAND which PULL DOWN the RESALE VALUE and the ORIGINAL PRICE of the car. thus, LANCER definitely 100% WILL have BETTER RESALE VALUE than INSPIRA....so, DON'T EVER COMPARE between those 2 models..

From what i see, FORTE definitely have BETTER VALUE than INSPIRA. why?? FORTE is a world recognized car, yet INSPIRA is NOTHING in this world, JUZ A REBADGE. can't u all see?? the price of FORTE is around RM12xk in SG, is SGD 5xxxx....so calculate urself....
the reason of CHEAP, is bcoz NAZA OWNS KIA...same, REBADGE..thus the price drops. in anyway, definitely both of them have lower resale value than others, coz of REBADGE...
Don't forget, FORTE is 2010's SG Top selling model....same goes with Malaysia(If compare to T&H C-Segment cars)
The reason of P1 and P2 forever being no.1 in Malaysia, coz of cheap, and spare parts availability...if WITHOUT these 2, P1 and P2 are NOTHING!!

Added on January 25, 2011, 1:21 pm
Thanks for supporting KIA....xD

Added on January 25, 2011, 1:22 pmFor me, i think the BEST proton cars i've ever rated, is EXORA...coz I love the size of that MPV compare with Livina and Avanza
I agreed with you that Lancer will have higher resale value then Inspira, cos of CBU vs CKD. But, don't forget, Lancer have price about 20-30k more expensive now.

Hyundai Avante x20, hot selling in SG. But, in malaysia, you rarely see it until recently while price drop 16k (98k vs 82k). Again, malaysia market and other country is difference. If Avante going to face out model drop price approx 16k, what do you think about the second hand value ?? Hugh price dropping is normal practice for korea car, don't know why.

0.0544sec    0.45    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:18 AM