Inspira vs Forte, which one will you go for

kenji1903
post Jan 23 2011, 10:43 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Jan 23 2011, 09:33 AM)
From my point of view, resale value is greatly depend to market drive. Just like the 2 brand H and T, even the quality dropped by >50% compare to older models, but still got people stupid enough keep on buying them. So as for Kia/Naza Forte, it is a sad case for them, of not much people wants them, despite all the good review from other countries.
Regardless of CVT or not, it is not important. More important is the cost for changing/repairing it. We know that CVT are quite expensive when need to change them. Like the C are a good example, now touch rm27000......
Now car manufacturers build the parts that won't last long. Just only Kia? Suggest go to third party workshops especially air cond. Then you will see what's the most failure rates.... N, T, H is the common brand I can see now after the P1 and P2....
Like my friend's Grandis, he bought it recond from Japan few years back(when MMM not yet bring then in). His orignal battery lasted him for 4 years and he changed it because he worry the battery can fail anytime... After he changed to local brands, it can last him 1 year+....

And, the SA that selling cars, most of the time they don't knows the car's tech specs in details....

Added on January 23, 2011, 9:34 amBut they maybe safer than Inspira.. Power wise, it up to our right leg.... Still want more power, Inspira would be better as it is built for that(in some sense)....
other countries have very different specs that what we get... US and europe are getting 2.0 and 2.4 engines... not 1.6

even the US warranty is more than what we are getting...

kia is a good brand, a good car... but they are not distributed by them... they go via Naza and Naza was never known for their after sales service... buying a car is not a one off thing unless you plan to maintain the car yourself, everything DIY... even parts you need to depend on them...

Added on January 23, 2011, 10:47 am
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 23 2011, 10:39 AM)
buying proton over 60k kinda waste but look on the bright side, this is Lancer, CKD lancer @ attractive price. quality wise more or less same with CKD civic and CKD city made in melaka  laugh.gif
perhaps CKD lancer's quality not as good as CKD Merc or CKD BMW, but all these cars still assemble by Malaysians  biggrin.gif
malaysian CKD quality sucks... regardless what car you buy...

swift CKD - steering rack and alignment problem
City VTEC CKD (i own one) - annoying whistling sound when driving at 120km/h... why? windscreen masuk angin...
C200 Kompressor (relative's car) - driver side passenger side window masuk angin, noticeable at 110km/h, becomes annoying at 140km/h

malaysians car factories don't seem to have the passion in their job... assemble then pakai assemble... didn't check the quality...

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Jan 23 2011, 10:47 AM
kenji1903
post Jan 23 2011, 11:00 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 23 2011, 10:53 AM)
regarding swift CKD, i owned it for the past 2 years. so far dont have the problem as you mentioned yet ..touch wood  tongue.gif

anyway, agree with most of your statement, thats why i reply to that guy, buying CKD lancer inspira still worth and better than buying CKD civic and city  smile.gif
swift is a nice car... still part of my consideration tongue.gif
kenji1903
post Jan 24 2011, 10:33 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(titarium @ Jan 24 2011, 09:29 PM)
Please do let me know which branch you went to and can' book an appointment ...
just Service my car today and got my car out in less than 2 hour, done with alignment,  full service, tyre rotating ....
So if you have thing to post, please post thing with evidence and not a blant  statement without any proof

Just tell us which branch let's make a call to book for service

Added on January 24, 2011, 9:33 pmFor new buyer the 6 speed auto is a great thing to have but more tender care have to be taken... else  history will repeat itself -> City Gear Box issue

Added on January 24, 2011, 9:40 pm
Yah is more of a personal preference, some prefer to take some risk , while some will take in features as consideration, while alot give a passes to local brands and opted for T & H even it is a smaller segment vehicle...

It was quite a good example you have given on Korean cars, as for Proton you will cry if you have purchase Perdana, Waja at time it is one of the cheapest 2.0 car while another Lancer copy.

Added on January 24, 2011, 9:48 pmFORTE - > quite proven around the world, local content is minimal

Inspira -> Lancer is well proven around the world, but with increasing local content how will it perform we have to see.

On service I still see more of tak apa attitude from Proton - It is proton quality la what you exect sound familiar ?, so far Naza had place a good effort thou there's a few bad apples. Proton more branches.

Expertise in solving complex issue, I think both fair quite the same, One need advice from Jap another from Kr.

Spare parts definitely Inspira would have more... but major parts like gear box might need to wait as well, unless recon units

So make your judgement biggrin.gif
City is CVT, forte is conventional 6 speed torque converter doh.gif

also, i have a city VTEC, my mileage is 100k+ km in less than 3 years, no problem with the gearbox...
those who have CVT gearboxes knows how to take care of it
kenji1903
post Jan 25 2011, 08:15 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(caesar18 @ Jan 24 2011, 11:35 PM)
my point is no matter how high/low resale value is, at the end of the day depend on ur bank account whether you can afford to buy another car. T/H/N car maybe have good resale value and may give you extra money like 20K maybe, but if i dont like the T/H/N driving experience, extra money for after 3-5 years sell it just won't enough compensate my mentally tortured by T/H/N car IF i don't like.  Buying a car is not investment anyway.
some people buy cars and use it as a stepping stone... myself the same... i'm planning to get a Vios just because of it's resale... maybe i'll be having nightmares with driving experience for the next 3-5 years but the thought of my next upgrade is a golf GTI... 3-5 years isn't that long... and it's a worthy sacrifice, call me dumb tongue.gif
kenji1903
post Jan 25 2011, 11:29 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 25 2011, 11:24 AM)
I think ppl care too much about resale value, and deviated from the purpose they wanna buy a car. They care less about safety, and everything .

1. Resale ( cos they wanna change car even when they cannot really afford that)

Usually only cheaper car have better resale value . Altis and VIos may cost the same after 5 yrs.

And inspira is same like saga and wira, all are lancer. Same resell as perdana. Wait perdana is skd, everything from japan u know
sure or not? shakehead.gif
kenji1903
post Jan 25 2011, 11:36 AM

3,785 posts

any safety ratings you see online will no longer be applicable to malaysia's models cos all cut cost, remove airbags, this and that...

just take NCAP safety ratings on the net with a pinch of salt cos definitely any car below 100k in malaysia, the safety ratings kantoi-ed one...
kenji1903
post Jan 25 2011, 01:45 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Jan 25 2011, 01:43 PM)
if u said i m foolish, y dun u compare the price urself?? SG and Malaysia....worth of difference..
he's saying about the bolded part lar... naza owns kia malaysia, not kia doh.gif

also, why are you comparing SG and MY car price? some more convert car prices from SGD to MYR... should convert also the salary doh.gif
kenji1903
post Nov 1 2011, 05:39 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(XCInspire @ Nov 1 2011, 05:18 PM)
Buy what your heart desires...

If you come down to practicality, inspira will be the choice.
Comes to gadgets Forte wins.
Driveability/Performance - Inspira.
Resale value - Inspira
Logo/Badge wangi? Naza & Proton also local logo.

To those still living under tempurung, pls be informed inspira = lancer with some localised parts. Nothing near proton and not a pirated copy. Legal rebadged version like how forte is rebadged under Naza from Kia. Get it?
got... proton's QC and suspension/handing smile.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Nov 1 2011, 05:45 PM

0.0684sec    1.02    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:54 AM