Mavik
post Nov 18 2010, 10:51 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ Nov 18 2010, 10:41 AM)
Forte handling sucks. 4 speed gearbox no fun to drive.

Driven Forte 2.0 / Civic 2.0 / Altis 2.0 / Mazda 3 2.0

Still thinks forte handling sucks. Those are facts.

Its up to the buyer, you want to say your car is the best. Thats fine.

I personally love the civic, I bought it, it got stolen 2 months ago.

So you may think I am biased against the civic, but honestly.

If price wasnt a factor, there are many cars you can choose but for 90k the forte is 2.0 none the less.
Personally I have to agree a little bit. Sucks wouldn't be the right word to classify it, just that the suspension is a little wobbly as compared to the Civic (yes I have driven both cars before). Upside to that, the Forte is a lot more comfortable to drive and I love the gadgets on it while the Civic is lacking in a lot of gadgets. But after my friend brought his Forte to get it done with Autofoam, the handling improved and the drive improved in terms of comfort and quietness. Totally awesome!
Mavik
post Nov 18 2010, 01:37 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(NiCkY @ Nov 18 2010, 12:14 PM)
city sales were around 1.5-2K per month...

vios sales were around 2.5-3.0K per month...

both are not actual figure...

booking and deliver is 2 different story...
Here are some figures to help you smile.gif

September 2010 figures, a little old but still quite relevant.

Top 10 national vehicles

1. Proton Saga 5,582
2. Perodua Myvi 5,413
3. Perodua Viva 4,703
4. Proton Persona 3,181
5. Perodua Alza 2,343
6. Proton Exora 2,095
7. Proton Satria Neo 301
8. Proton Waja 239
9. Proton Gen2 147
10. Proton Savvy 46
Top 10 non-national vehicles

1. Toyota Vios 2,573
2. Toyota Hilux 1,275
3. Honda City 1,112
4. Nissan Grand Livina 1,133
5. Toyota Camry 803
6. Toyota Avanza 802
7. Mitsubishi Triton 641
8. Honda Civic 513
9. Honda Accord 506
10. Honda CR-V 503

*Statistics from Malaysian Automotive Association
Mavik
post Nov 18 2010, 03:31 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Nov 18 2010, 03:28 PM)
no, many ppl tot CVT causes underpower, its just the mitsubishi didnt do it right. Look at the CVT in the old City/Jazz and the Audi's. Those are brilliant CVT which are efficient with minimal powerloss. Somehow i dunno why the CVT has more powerloss on the lancer. Maybe because of the torque converter instead of clutch in the old City/Jazz.
I thought Audi cars uses DSG gearboxes?
Mavik
post Nov 21 2010, 01:16 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Best way is to bring the Forte straight to Autofoam and get the full ultimate package. After that, you will definitely love the Forte ride biggrin.gif
Mavik
post Nov 22 2010, 01:25 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Current vote seems to be 313 for Inspira and 211 for Forte, seems like more people would go for the Inspira
Mavik
post Nov 23 2010, 05:01 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 23 2010, 04:59 PM)
Yes ure damn right about Honda. I dont understand that rubbish 5K interval even with Fully Synthetic engine oil. Their quality standards are also dropping. My sister in law's 4 yr old City is already giving her so much of trouble that she's planning to dump it (and Honda) next year.
Yeah totally agree with that, I just sold off my Civic after it gave me sooooo many problems...
Mavik
post Jan 2 2011, 01:26 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Jan 2 2011, 01:22 AM)
resale value means, there's still a high value for that car after 10-15 yrs....
not determine by which 1 is higher, juz say forte resale value = 2k, inspira = 5k, also means both got no resale value....that's y i said, only T&H&N got only
Frankly even the THN brands have a higher depreciation rate these days. Heck I lost 10k on my Civic after one year sad.gif

Mavik
post Jan 2 2011, 01:42 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

A Forte with autofoam (ultimate package) is just amazing. Sat in one, the drive and soundproofing made a world of difference.
Mavik
post Jan 4 2011, 02:22 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jan 4 2011, 10:30 AM)
They might share the GEMA stuff but mounting can be different. I like CVT more than dual-clutches.
But I feel with the CVT there isn't the thrill of driving especially during the shifting phases as well as the lack of engine braking as well. Feels weird driving a CVT the other day. It felt as if there is only 1 gear for the car.
Mavik
post Jan 6 2011, 11:00 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Buy Inspira and stir up our economy!
Mavik
post Jan 25 2011, 02:48 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kaizou @ Jan 25 2011, 01:53 PM)
Do anybody here in LY forum actually stays in Singapore? my frens told me, just to buy cars. u need to apply/get permit. its gonna cos u around 15k - 30k (Sg dolar). i cant remember exact figures. thats just for the PERMIT.... dont even dream on getting the cars yet.

can somebody verify?  rclxub.gif
Yes its called COE. Basically in Singapore. since its a small island the government has decided to limit the number of cars on the road. So you rules such as cars older than 10 years old needs to be scrapped (with exceptions of course) and to ensure there is a controlled number of cars on the road, they release COE's based on the availability of it. If there are a lot of cars on the road, you can end up paying around 50k-60k for the COE or even more. The cheapest recorded COE was SGD$0.50 if I am not mistaken. So depends on when you want to buy your car.
Mavik
post Jan 25 2011, 07:30 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kaizou @ Jan 25 2011, 03:27 PM)
still, the mechanism acts like "human" controlled. who know, maybe the 50 cents COE are given by officials to his relatives. at least malaysian excise duty already fixed as %. heard that, the fees just for the processing. even if u pay, doesnt mean u gonna get that COE.

Xioncity, maybe u can propose COE for malaysia. whenever G short on money, just sells COE for RM 50k per piece. dun matter if wanna buy kancil/viva.  whistling.gif  . doesnt mean a thing even forte/inspira cos a mere RM 20k.
The mechanism for COE is via auction. So mainly the car dealerships are the ones who are auctioning for these COE because they can't sell cars without a COE unless you are getting a weekend car.

Are you also that blur here in Malaysia? Or version of COE is called AP

Mavik
post Feb 7 2011, 11:54 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Feb 7 2011, 10:42 AM)
From Das Auto ??  hmm.gif
Isn't that pretty obvious? LOL
Mavik
post Feb 7 2011, 12:04 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 7 2011, 12:02 PM)
VW Sirocco 1.4Twin Turbo...right?
Only two possibilities, a Roc 1.4 or a Golf 1.4. So its either or. Unless if I am not mistaken, since he said German made, then it would be the Golf since the Golfs brought in to Malaysia are from the Wolfsburg plant while the Rocs are brought in from Portugal.

This post has been edited by Mavik: Feb 7 2011, 12:06 PM
Mavik
post Feb 7 2011, 12:07 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 7 2011, 12:06 PM)
lol...i love sirocco....damn nice design...but for price tag...i wun go...rather add few ks for PRIUS
Heh a 2.0 Scirocco can get you TWO PRIUS but frankly if you are spending that kind of cash already, might as well get a BMW 320d and get an average of 800km per full tank.
Mavik
post Feb 7 2011, 12:14 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 7 2011, 12:08 PM)
agree...PRIUS 1 full tank can go at minimum 1k mileage...
that's y i love it, yet NVH is damn damn good....
Yup, so thats the key difference between the PRIUS and the 320d. PRIUS gives you a great mileage but the BMW would give you relatively great mileage (if the government allows for EURO 4M diesel then its affective range would be 1,000km as well) but with the added fun and of course BMW's superb handling. Downside is that when you hear the BMW, sure it would remind you of a taxi only haha tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Mavik: Feb 7 2011, 12:14 PM
Mavik
post Feb 9 2011, 02:54 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 8 2011, 12:26 PM)
1.6 can use 17'' rims, but had 2 use less weight 17'' rims...
Unfortunately those rims are also very expensive sad.gif
Mavik
post Feb 10 2011, 11:29 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 10 2011, 10:47 AM)
i tot bigger  tyre less body roll? important to me is body roll and also less noisy
It doesn't prevent the body roll until a point where you can really feel the difference. I have done that when I swapped from 16" to 17" and the difference is sooooo minimal. Best to reduce body roll is to get the anti-roll bars. Those make a huge difference but at the sacrifice of comfort.
Mavik
post Feb 22 2011, 11:24 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 22 2011, 01:55 AM)
haha, i dun really likes to do research alot...i can juz ask for opinion here.... xD
JFGI

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual_clutch_transmission

Function wise, DCT, DSG, S-Tronic is the same just different naming conventions.
Mavik
post Apr 18 2011, 10:34 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(judgeironfist @ Apr 17 2011, 05:55 PM)
Seeking for professional advice regarding cars
i'm stuck between polo and forte
prices are almost the same
which car is more reliable and value for money?
co-operation is highly appreciated.
Personally if I were looking for an everyday car to use and something practical, I will choose the Forte because of it's size and larger boot (heck I need the boot space for my golf clubs anyway tongue.gif). Definitely the Forte will be more value for money because you will be getting a lot more practicalities as well as gadgets if that is how you perceive value.

Having said that, different people have different judgement on value. To some, the true value of a car is the sheer brilliance of the driving experience, the accelerating feel and being able to take on those corners with the confidence that your car will be stable. To others, value comes in the form of how the car will be able to serve their needs as well as the needs of the family members. So how do you perceive value?

In terms of reliability, I think its too early to say anything for the Polo because having just launched last year, there aren't enough cars on the road to give a good statistic. But VW offers a 5-year warranty program with the Polo so you can be rest assured there.

0.0804sec    0.51    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:09 PM