Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V48!, The Orange Legion

nevermine
post Dec 7 2010, 09:40 AM

301 posts

Hi all, im new to DSLR world and i bought A550 to be my 1st camera.
i wonder any1 using 50mm F1.8 lense here? how much is it? by comparing with the F1.4 lense, how can i see the diff? (since the price diff so much, and sry abt the lack knowledge of the Focal... ==) is there any sample photo?
thanks^^
nevermine
post Dec 7 2010, 11:08 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Dec 7 2010, 10:01 AM)

50mm f1.4
-sharp even at aperture f1.4.
-better bokeh (blur blur effect)
-better built (body structure)
-comes with hood
-full frame lens
-

SAL 50mm f1.8 SAM
-not a fullframe lens
-SAM lens (can autofocus with NEX with adapter)
-shorter minimum focusing distance (iinm)
-cheaper
-abit noisy AF
-sharp output at f2.5
the
hi mastering89, thanks for the info rclxms.gif . hmm so i think i will just buy the F1.8 since it is much more cheaper than the F1.4, and F1.8 is ady better than my kit lense
nevermine
post Dec 7 2010, 11:57 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(alucard_my @ Dec 7 2010, 11:12 AM)
If you really have the budget or if you could save up a bit, go all the way to Sony's 50mm f/1.4. Search around and you might find someone selling their unit. It is highly recommended.
hi alucard_my,thanks for the info. thats what annoying me rclxub.gif
whether save 1st or just go for F1.8

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Dec 7 2010, 11:21 AM)
i suggest if u have enuff budget for the SAL50 f1.4, better get a flash (HVL F42) and pair with the 50mm f/1.8. can do more stuff with them  nod.gif . but if don have limitation in budget then get the Sigma 50mm f/1.4  biggrin.gif

get something which u NEED and if have extra $€¥ get the things u WANT. the 50mm f1.8 is more than enuff for me. but last time i didnt consider and just buy, i end up selling it bcoz dont like the range/wideness. play2 wiyh ur kitlens first and only figure out ur desired focal range (24mm/28mm/35mm/50mm/85mm/etc) nod.gif
SAL50 f1.4 = 50mm f/1.8 + HVL F42 (the price)
yea have to think twice or even more smile.gif
btw, i wonder what is the 2nd lense normally people will go after kit lense? is it 50mm?

besides, you mentioned the flash. i wonder what can HVL-F20AM do? is it better than the internal flash?
bcoz im going to help my fren on shooting his wedding dinner, and i've consult a seller about it and the boss told me that at least HVL-F42AM can do sad.gif
so can i just use internal flash?
PS: i've bought my A550 for about 3 months ++ and i rarely use the flash, just play ard the ISO or exposure...

thanks for consutation and sorry if too much questions smile.gif
nevermine
post Dec 10 2010, 03:03 PM

301 posts

hi guys, i got 1 question related to the A550 body and lens, there are 2 AF/MF button, 1 on the body and 1 on the lens rite? whats the different between then? if i set body's A/F and lens' M/F, it is auto focus mode rite?
when what if upsite down?
@@
nevermine
post Dec 10 2010, 03:23 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Dec 10 2010, 03:14 PM)

nevermine : with SAM lenses usually have the AF/MF switch. non-SAM don have (SSM and G have i think  hmm.gif ). the AF/MF switch on lens is to lock the focus ring.. don twist if u ON the AF on lens.

AF body + AF lens = AF
AF body + MF lens = no AF
MF body + AF lens = AF
MF body + AF lens = no AF
oh...thanks all for the info, hmm which means the lens' button would be the main control if there is.
@.@ i did twist it when i first buy my cam @@ curious with the focus ring that time
nevermine
post Dec 10 2010, 05:29 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Dec 10 2010, 05:14 PM)
I thought it never came with any hood, no? Anyway, you can get one of those aftermarket screw on type hoods, i guess....  wink.gif
yea i bought my 1855 a rubble hood (extend-able) @@ ard 30 SGD
nevermine
post Dec 14 2010, 12:02 PM

301 posts

hi guys, i wonder in which condition you will use fish eye lens?
and i found this in the first page>> Sony VCL-ECF1 fisheye adapter
the "adapter" means i can mount it on any lens like the way we put on the lens filter?
if yes, then do we have a wide angle adapter?
thanks^^

nevermine
post Dec 14 2010, 04:50 PM

301 posts

Hi all, sry if my question caused any problem...
but thanks for the infos biggrin.gif
can i know roughly how much for a budget fish eye lens? neglecting about the brand, since i'm new to this world. but i'll appreciate your information and recommendation smile.gif
thanks again
nevermine
post Dec 14 2010, 05:55 PM

301 posts

any1 play with this?
>> http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...2&hl=wide+angle
will it affect the picture quality or worth to buy?
thanks^^
nevermine
post Dec 14 2010, 11:31 PM

301 posts

does any1 have comment about this? a super low end ( i think ) wide angle adapter
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...2&hl=wide+angle
nevermine
post Dec 15 2010, 02:40 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 15 2010, 02:25 PM)
rm180 can get. garage sales got people selling.  laugh.gif
the grip itself?
and we need a Battery Grip 1st then only can attach the vertical grip right?
nevermine
post Dec 15 2010, 02:49 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Dec 15 2010, 02:42 PM)
battery grip is the vertical grip bro... just different name called... smile.gif
oops...hehe
so...this 1 >> http://www.sony.com.my/product/vg-b30am
or this 1 >> http://www.sony.com.sg/product/stp-gb1am ?
sry for my stupidness tongue.gif

i'd like to buy the grip belt but 1 of the shop's boss say need to have the "vertical battery grip" 1st?
or can just buy it and attach it directly?
any of you using the 3rd party one?
nevermine
post Dec 16 2010, 08:36 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Dec 15 2010, 11:08 PM)
saw this from a forum, a850 + 18-70 hmm.gif
hi, is there any tips to capture this kind of photo?
which is the objective is dark but the background is bright, like normally people take photo at lakeside or seaside with this kind of effect
thanks smile.gif
nevermine
post Dec 16 2010, 10:33 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Dec 16 2010, 09:11 AM)
You meter your exposure to the background. Then your subject will become black. This is called a silhouette. Make sure your DRO is switched off for these kind of shots. wink.gif
oh,DRO have to switch off...i think my DRO always in auto mode @@

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 16 2010, 09:30 AM)
and u need a FF camera as well.  laugh.gif
hmm can A550 make a similar effect with kit lens?

thanks for the infos smile.gif
nevermine
post Dec 16 2010, 11:25 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Dec 16 2010, 10:41 AM)
DRO will tend to brighten the dark areas, which is exactly what you don't want in shots like this. You want the dark to remain dark. You don't need a full frame camera to get this shot lah... sweat.gif Your A550 is perfectly capable of achieve the same effect.
yup, i read this last time, but never apply and practice what i read == thanks^^

btw, hmm...what kind of filter is that you all mentioned? is it a normal lens filter?
thanks all for the tips

0.0647sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:05 AM