Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V48!, The Orange Legion

iamKiet
post Nov 26 2010, 06:15 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Nov 26 2010, 05:27 PM)
so 55-200 not recommended issit? bcos too slow?
was thinking to bring 55-200, bcos lazy to get up from seat to get up close & personal tongue.gif

but dinner also got belly dancing... 50/1.8 gonna give me some great portrait shot also...

haiz...
Just bring all three smile.gif

Added on November 26, 2010, 6:17 pm
QUOTE(ataris @ Nov 26 2010, 05:56 PM)
guys, for my lens, it collected dust inside, just on top of the lens...

im unable to clean it since its inside, can sony centre clean/service this lens ???

how much would it cost? anyone got experience?
most of the time,tiny dust in lens doesn't affect the image quality,don't bother it,just shoot tongue.gif

This post has been edited by iamKiet: Nov 26 2010, 06:17 PM
iamKiet
post Nov 26 2010, 07:11 PM

381 posts

Photos of London:

iamKiet
post Nov 26 2010, 08:34 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 26 2010, 07:30 PM)
2nd december the firmware will be out. biggrin.gif
So you wanna upgrade? brows.gif
iamKiet
post Nov 26 2010, 10:45 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 26 2010, 10:20 PM)
finally got my a580 smile.gif
RM2650 body+kit lens+8GB hx memory stick+bag
RM19 KEEP uv filter
RM176 for extra 2 years warranty
total damage: RM2845 cry.gif
Congratz bro,remember to share some photos here,and don't forgot the review of A580 thumbup.gif
iamKiet
post Nov 27 2010, 02:25 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(eddybeh @ Nov 27 2010, 01:58 PM)
wa....... y so many overseas 1 ha?? study over there or working over there? Are there many photographers over there too? i don see much during my 1 month in brisbane few years bak.
travelling brows.gif
iamKiet
post Nov 28 2010, 09:45 AM

381 posts

#1. tongue.gif

iamKiet
post Nov 28 2010, 10:34 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 28 2010, 10:29 AM)
should i change anything with the vivid mode?

@joejoe
yup, it was standard mode with no change to saturation, contrast n sharpness
probably i should start changing them, any personal preference on setting that i can start with?
I think you start with vivid mode then you are good to go,the more you shoot,the more you understand & know your own preferences biggrin.gif
iamKiet
post Nov 28 2010, 10:36 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Nov 28 2010, 10:34 AM)
If you are hardworking by spending less than 3 mins efforts more, you can turn it into this

Haha...so true...thanks viking for the lesson thumbup.gif
iamKiet
post Nov 29 2010, 12:35 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Nov 29 2010, 02:35 AM)
iamKiet: Would prefer #2 straight on and #3 without the right-side crop. Also in #5 like bad feng shui lah you made the sign crash into Big Ben.
Thanks albnok,will keep that in mind biggrin.gif But the #5 I quite like it,don't mind about the fengshui tongue.gif

Added on November 29, 2010, 12:36 pm
QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 29 2010, 12:31 PM)
according to albnok's post at alphanatics,

35mm f1.8 is selling at RM899 retail!!

oh mannn... need readjust my whole budget liao.. maybe go singapore buy cheaper.. unsure.gif
So street price would be around RM7xx?

This post has been edited by iamKiet: Nov 29 2010, 12:36 PM
iamKiet
post Nov 29 2010, 11:28 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 29 2010, 11:13 PM)
yes about there la.  laugh.gif
apalah..kereta cantik tak ada model cantik tongue.gif
Itulah model kereta yg cantik tongue.gif

Go KLIMS 2010 lor drool.gif
iamKiet
post Dec 3 2010, 11:32 AM

381 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=38234323

Should we? brows.gif
iamKiet
post Dec 3 2010, 01:18 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Dec 3 2010, 11:43 AM)
iamKiet : Don't bother with those 'fanboys' lar... Talk about ISO noise lar and what lar but never see many pics from them also.

They talk photo-gear-phy. I would like to talk more on photography.
I never bother,cause none of my business,I still love my camera,flash,lenses,the colour reproduction of Sony tongue.gif and most importantly the humble Sony Alpha crowds rclxms.gif

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Dec 3 2010, 11:49 AM)
hmm... the exmor sensor sony is better at noise handling, isn't it?
Hmm...I not sure,but recently latest models that Sony offering seems promising in handling high ISO,reference link as below
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonyslta55/page16.asp
So I do see improvements in Sony

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Dec 3 2010, 11:59 AM)
they whacking sony!!  vmad.gif

go show them cz lenses. brows.gif
Don't be so pissed off,enjoy your world of photography,appreciate what you have currently biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lwliam @ Dec 3 2010, 12:05 PM)
why bother? we all know that the certain someone is all talk and no substance.. no point la...
Never bother it at all tongue.gif
iamKiet
post Dec 4 2010, 03:36 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Dec 4 2010, 03:33 PM)
Forum will be down from Sunday 3:00AM - 9:00AM to find a bunny lost in our servers. shocking.gif
lol...I saw that too,funny thumbup.gif
iamKiet
post Dec 7 2010, 01:02 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Mspot @ Dec 7 2010, 12:53 PM)
i don't specifically hate flash, just dun like lugging another bulky item smile.gif. bought the a33 partially due to the smaller size. hehe.

just using the built-in flash now, so the light is quite harsh. and i dunno where to find a diffuser for that. would you happen to know where to get this accessory?
seems there alot of praises for the tamron. in one of the reviews for the 50mmf1.8, it did say that at f1.8, the sharpness dwindles and f2.8 is the max aperture for good sharpness.  i have been wondering if the tamron can completely replace the kit lens plus the 50mmf1.8. thanks for the confidence vote. i think i'll just skip the 50mm and target the tamron.

btw, the kit lens that i have seems to jerks a little (i think at 45mm) when turning the zoom dial. is this a problem? checked with the demo sets at the shops and it seems to have same issue.
I have both the tamron 17-50 & 50f1.8,I can say they are on different league,don't think each can be replaced by another. But 50f1.8 is abit too tight in aps-c,if you wanna get a prime,I think it would be better to get the newly announced 35f1.8,which gives you view of around 50mm,I am going to get that too. For tamron 17-50,it is quite a decent lens for aps-c,but I don't think the sharpness at f2.8 is comparable with 50f1.8,the better sharpness for tamron should be above f4 smile.gif Personally I prefer Sony/Minolta colour than Tamron's. biggrin.gif
iamKiet
post Dec 7 2010, 01:57 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Mspot @ Dec 7 2010, 01:32 PM)
what is the street price for the 35mm going for atm? cant seem to find price reference for this. actually if the tamron is only good when above f4, then the kits lens should be good enough? are sony colors warmer compared to tamron?

do you use 3rd party batteries e.g. octopus? or not recommended at all?

thanks for patiently answering all this. i'm a complete newbie.
I am not sure about the street price,but it's retail at RM899,hopefully street price gets below 800. Yes,for better sharpness for the tamron,should stopped down to f4,but the sharpness is much better compared to kitlens@f4,I had kitlens before,the sweetspot I would say around 7.1~8,you figure it out tongue.gif but for beginner,I would recommend you to get flash(f42) instead of changing lens since you still do not understand what kind of photography you prefer. By comparing SAL50f1.8 with tamron 17-50f2.8,the Sony gives me more contrast and vivid colours. smile.gif If you are going to shoot for your friend's wedding,definitely a flash would be much appropriate,because most of the time the wedding hall do not give you sufficient lighting even you are shooting at f2.8 all the time,you gonna pump up the iso and get some grainy photos sometimes smile.gif

QUOTE(shootkk @ Dec 7 2010, 01:45 PM)
Actually I like the bokeh on the 50mm f1.8 better. Those of you not planning to go FF and does not need to go low light without flash ALL THE TIME can opt for the 50mm f1.8
albnok : Thanks!
Wah! Zeiss poisoning!!! I am already so smitten with the 24mm f2 Zeiss already!!! When my wife saw the picture of the lens the first thing she asked is : How much is it? When she found out the price, she said : Don't you dare buy it!  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
For you guys wanting to know what kit lens replacement is really good apart from the Tamron 17-50mm there is one premium choice that is second to none! That's the Zeiss 16-35mm!! Covers the 24m to 50m range on APS-C and you get a UWA when you upgrade to FF!!  whistling.gif
I think master albnok mentioned that he prefers the 50f1.8 bokeh too biggrin.gif
(The 16-35f2.8 would be muuccccccccccch more expensive than my camera body sweat.gif )
iamKiet
post Dec 7 2010, 04:33 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Mspot @ Dec 7 2010, 04:03 PM)
my ideal lens is one that can do every thing, but even a newbie like would know that's not possible smile.gif. But you're right, i'm still not sure of my preference yet.  in general i would expect to do more candid shots for indoor events, bright or dark, hence the intention for a good replacement for the kit lens, plus a prime lens or portraits. perhaps a flash as suggested is the best solution. may also have interest in macro, but i think i cheap on that and try the raynox.
In that case,the flash would serve you well enough with your kitlens,kitlens can get decent photos with proper lighting. Get the f58 if possible,for the higher flash power and the swivel head.Hmm...I think Sony going to announce a f42 replacement (perhaps) which comes with swivel head too,I am eyeing it and gonna grab it quickly once it's out,sometimes f58 is just abit too big bringing around.

QUOTE(e-jump @ Dec 7 2010, 04:12 PM)
F58 is the most top of the line which rated GN58, can become master to trigger slave flash in WL, articulate body and badass brows.gif
well theres much more of F58 things not available to F42

----
forgot to state the most important thing, you can wireless trigger your F58 with popup flash, which f42 cant if im not wrong
I think f42 can be triggered by popup flash smile.gif
iamKiet
post Dec 8 2010, 12:02 AM

381 posts

another form of poison =.="
iamKiet
post Dec 10 2010, 01:12 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 10 2010, 12:39 PM)
Canon ROCKs la. Sony like ROCK got la. tongue.gif

*runs awaaaaaaaaaaaaaay*
You mean Sony built like rock? rclxms.gif
iamKiet
post Dec 10 2010, 03:20 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Dec 10 2010, 03:18 PM)
i think the len's AF/MF overrides the bodies AF/MF.
+1
iamKiet
post Dec 10 2010, 04:07 PM

381 posts

This is really......speechless......

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=38404911

0.0559sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled