Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V48!, The Orange Legion

Mspot
post Dec 7 2010, 12:06 PM

83 posts

Hi, everyone!

Just plunged into the world of DSLR with A33y and hoping to learns lots from this forum here! Such a vast difference from pns!

While I'm happy with the 55-200mm, but the 18-55 seems a tad too grainy in darker places.

I'm considering the prime SAL 50mmF1.8 and the Tamron 17-50mm F2.8. Will the tamron perform as well as the SAL for portrait w/o flash? I kinda dislike flash. If so, i should forget about getting the SAL?
Mspot
post Dec 7 2010, 12:53 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Dec 7 2010, 12:15 PM)
don't dislike flash.. bounce will do good..
maybe u can try high iso with that kit lens..
i don't specifically hate flash, just dun like lugging another bulky item smile.gif. bought the a33 partially due to the smaller size. hehe.

just using the built-in flash now, so the light is quite harsh. and i dunno where to find a diffuser for that. would you happen to know where to get this accessory?

QUOTE(alucard_my @ Dec 7 2010, 12:25 PM)
I have a friend who uses Tamron 1750 2.8. He highly recommended it as it shoot wide and potrait. Unlike the limitation of 50mm where you have a fixed length, 1750 lets you adjust a little. Plus the 2.8 aperture really helps in low light condition. I doubt anyone would use higher aperture than 2.8 in sony 50mm f/1.8. I had this 50mm f/1.8 before and it's always been on aperture 2.8 as it produces better sharpness. Later on, I sold that and bought 50mm 1/4 and the center sharpness is excellent, even at aperture 2.

Whenever I need to use flash, my f58 comes into picture and I'll ditch the 50mm in favour of my 18250.
seems there alot of praises for the tamron. in one of the reviews for the 50mmf1.8, it did say that at f1.8, the sharpness dwindles and f2.8 is the max aperture for good sharpness. i have been wondering if the tamron can completely replace the kit lens plus the 50mmf1.8. thanks for the confidence vote. i think i'll just skip the 50mm and target the tamron.

btw, the kit lens that i have seems to jerks a little (i think at 45mm) when turning the zoom dial. is this a problem? checked with the demo sets at the shops and it seems to have same issue.
Mspot
post Dec 7 2010, 01:32 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(iamKiet @ Dec 7 2010, 01:02 PM)
I have both the tamron 17-50 & 50f1.8,I can say they are on different league,don't think each can be replaced by another. But 50f1.8 is abit too tight in aps-c,if you wanna get a prime,I think it would be better to get the newly announced 35f1.8,which gives you view of around 50mm,I am going to get that too. For tamron 17-50,it is quite a decent lens for aps-c,but I don't think the sharpness at f2.8 is comparable with 50f1.8,the better sharpness for tamron should be above f4  smile.gif Personally I prefer Sony/Minolta colour than Tamron's.  biggrin.gif
what is the street price for the 35mm going for atm? cant seem to find price reference for this. actually if the tamron is only good when above f4, then the kits lens should be good enough? are sony colors warmer compared to tamron?

do you use 3rd party batteries e.g. octopus? or not recommended at all?

thanks for patiently answering all this. i'm a complete newbie.
Mspot
post Dec 7 2010, 04:03 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(iamKiet @ Dec 7 2010, 01:57 PM)
I am not sure about the street price,but it's retail at RM899,hopefully street price gets below 800. Yes,for better sharpness for the tamron,should stopped down to f4,but the sharpness is much better compared to kitlens@f4,I had kitlens before,the sweetspot I would say around 7.1~8,you figure it out  tongue.gif but for beginner,I would recommend you to get flash(f42) instead of changing lens since you still do not understand what kind of photography you prefer. By comparing SAL50f1.8 with tamron 17-50f2.8,the Sony gives me more contrast and vivid colours.  smile.gif  If you are going to shoot for your friend's wedding,definitely a flash would be much appropriate,because most of the time the wedding hall do not give you sufficient lighting even you are shooting at f2.8 all the time,you gonna pump up the iso and get some grainy photos sometimes  smile.gif
I think master albnok mentioned that he prefers the 50f1.8 bokeh too  biggrin.gif
(The 16-35f2.8 would be muuccccccccccch more expensive than my camera body  sweat.gif )
my ideal lens is one that can do every thing, but even a newbie like would know that's not possible smile.gif. But you're right, i'm still not sure of my preference yet. in general i would expect to do more candid shots for indoor events, bright or dark, hence the intention for a good replacement for the kit lens, plus a prime lens or portraits. perhaps a flash as suggested is the best solution. may also have interest in macro, but i think i cheap on that and try the raynox.
Mspot
post Dec 7 2010, 04:07 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Dec 7 2010, 04:05 PM)
for those who still undecided to get flash, i still suggest get the F58
With the WL trigger capability by using the popup, you can try various things

user posted image user posted image
whats the main difference between the f42 and f58?

This post has been edited by Mspot: Dec 7 2010, 04:08 PM
Mspot
post Dec 7 2010, 04:35 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Dec 7 2010, 04:12 PM)
F58 is the most top of the line which rated GN58, can become master to trigger slave flash in WL, articulate body and badass brows.gif
well theres much more of F58 things not available to F42

----
forgot to state the most important thing, you can wireless trigger your F58 with popup flash, which f42 cant if im not wrong
hence the justifying a huge price difference smile.gif. *sigh* camera accessories poisoning are extremely damaging!!
Mspot
post Dec 7 2010, 04:41 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(iamKiet @ Dec 7 2010, 04:33 PM)
In that case,the flash would serve you well enough with your kitlens,kitlens can get decent photos with proper lighting. Get the f58 if possible,for the higher flash power and the swivel head.Hmm...I think Sony going to announce a f42 replacement (perhaps) which comes with swivel head too,I am eyeing it and gonna grab it quickly once it's out,sometimes f58 is just abit too big bringing around.
I think f42 can be triggered by popup flash  smile.gif
thanks for tips! think i'm going to hang back to do more research on the lens while waiting for the new f42. so many options but limited funds, gotta make goods calls to avoid wastage..
Mspot
post Dec 7 2010, 10:02 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 7 2010, 09:14 PM)
nouruddines: Truth is, mirrorless is the future. dSLRs will die first.

mastering89: It was opened and has not been reassembled properly.

Hmmm odd maybe because Live View only shows until a certain shutter speed and does not go slower. Then again, I don't run into such situations often.

Mspot: The 35mm F1.8 DT SAM is superb. Go check it out - it's a lot more easy to use compared to the 50mm focal length on APS-C. Good sharpness too.

Mr.Wang: Mine has a fair bit of duplication wor. Yours is all premium gold!

The light array looks good though you may have to put a magenta (counters the green) or orange (counters the blue) filter on it so it doesn't look cold and blue in most shots.

kysham: The bokeh is, indeed, really pleasant. smile.gif

shootkk: The lens might cost 2 weddings. Not yours LOL.

(Then again, you don't need a wide...)

e-jump: Don't do it unless you have the RM3xxx to spare! I have not compared it to the Sigma 24mm F1.8 but I remember the 24mm F1.8 being good too.

Love your left-side wireless flash shot.

Correction: You can trigger a F42 using the pop-up flash. All Sony flashes can be triggered by Sony Alpha pop-up flashes except the F20.

tanjq87: I guess I'd prefer the full color shot of the Camaro. I see you narrowly escaped poison there!

zstan: Doesn't mean I don't love it too. There are times I wish I could transform my 135mm F1.8 into a 85mm F1.4 temporarily. It is a very useful focal length.

I do have the Opteka 85mm F1.4 but I don't bring it out as much. With A900 v2 though it's gonna be around more. (The DIY chip on it has got some alignment consistency problems, forcing me to use M mode previously with v1.)

linkinstreet: Nice!
Will definitely do. Hearing rave reviews from Sg users in clubsnap forum on 35mm. Too bad not available in KL yet. Or is it already?

Perhaps i have been underestimating the kit lens, and perhaps a f42 flash will make it shine. Will do more research and put the tamron 17-50 in the backburner for now.

OT a bit. Seems like there was some super promotion on the a33 during their SITEX recently. Too bad we don't get that kind of deals here.

0.0456sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:13 AM