iPhone Case,BattPack,ScreenProtector etc Thread v4, Recommendation, Discussion, Reviews etc

Eiraku
post Jan 15 2011, 04:26 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

For those interested, I just got myself the Mipow Clone battery case. Might be doing a quick review on it later, but as first impressions go, it's:

1) Plasticky and a tad creaky (at least compared to the Morphie Juice Pack) but it fits very well on the iPhone 4 and feels very compact. It's not too heavy as well.

2) As for protection, it does not really feel like it's gonna survive a hard drop to the floor from head level well. After all, it's built from a lot of thin plastic panels. Also, screen protection is minimal to none, more like the Exogear then anything else.

3) Its main attraction, the replaceable battery, works well enough in practice, with the supplied 1500mAh Nokia BL-4L clone bringing a 36% down iP4 to 77% within reasonable time (didn't accurately measure how long yet though). Plus the fact that I have a LOT of spares at home, this should mean long uninterrupted runtimes with a few simple external battery swaps.

So, is it worth the money (RM220 in this case)? Well, it depends, are you willing to give up durability and toughness for a respectably thin profile and the ability to swap battery cells at will?

If not, you're probably better off with the similarly priced but better built Mili Power Spring 4 or any of the even cheaper chapalang battery cases (which are generally bulky but solid). Or save yourself the trouble and splurge on the tanklike Mophie Juice Pack (Air or Plus, doesn't matter) for even better built and protection.

A better review with pictars will be incoming later.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 17 2011, 01:35 AM
Eiraku
post Jan 19 2011, 02:23 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

@bryanyeo: Also there HAS been reports about the replacement back covers that:

a) They do not have the LED flash diffusers that Apple built into the original covers -> pictures with flash is gonna be even crappier.

b) The inner mounting section (the part that takes the bottom screws and holds the replacement covers in place) is made out of cheap plastic that break easily after a knock/fall.

So it's your call. For me I just cover my Aifie-Tan up with a 3M Carbon fibre sticker, stuff it into a battery case that I tape up with layer upon layer of electrical tape for protection.

It looks like an Otterbox Defender case now lol.

Also, if you don't mind the bulk, a few layers of capdase bodifenders (it's like invisible shield for the back only) should work too, plus you can see the condition of the back glass clearly.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 19 2011, 02:30 PM
Eiraku
post Jan 19 2011, 07:12 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Funny tho, the coolest cases for the IP4 are the ones that doesn't protect much at all lol.

If they make a full body slim alum case with internal silicone/neoprene lining with a slim detachable/exchangeable battery pack plus a full passthrough Apple 30-pin dock connector, then I'll be crazy interested.

For now, I drop my phones waaaay too much (and need the battery support) to be able to live with a simple bumper, batshit cool alum or not lol.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 19 2011, 11:37 PM
Eiraku
post Jan 19 2011, 11:34 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(megabyte @ Jan 19 2011, 11:23 PM)
Because actually, without any case is the coolest! Naked! Haha.
Agreed. Shame the iP4 is more or less a crystal wineglass that makes calls and runs apps heh.

Nice to see
Nice to hold
Once broken
Warranty void lol

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 19 2011, 11:35 PM
Eiraku
post Jan 20 2011, 12:38 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

@Polytech: Juice Pack Plus lifts your your screenies? Haven't heard that one before. Glad my Mipow clone is an Exogear clone (lol) as in it latches to the metal side more then the screen itself.

Also means that I have to improvise my own bumpers from multiple layers of electrical tape just to get some front drop protection lol.

Anyway, anybody here using PowerSupport matte screenies? Are they as good as people say they are though? I'm using a Belkin matte and it's not bad, really, compared to cheapo 20 buck ones I've seen. At least it doesn't scratch much unless you really try (which I just did just now, with scissors lol).

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 20 2011, 01:06 AM
Eiraku
post Jan 20 2011, 04:02 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Jan 20 2011, 03:33 AM)
anybody uses this MiPow Power Tube?

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1682813&hl=mipow

care to give feedback? cant find any on the net
Using the Mipow Clone. Works very well, built quality is ok lah but it's no Mophie. It should be similar with the tube. Mipow used to be a OEM manufacturer for several other brands really, they're trying to market their own brand like HTC IINM.

But really, Mipow? Not the most commercial of names iznit?

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 20 2011, 04:03 AM
Eiraku
post Jan 21 2011, 01:06 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Jan 20 2011, 10:57 PM)
im using the power support anti glare (not sure whether it is also anti-fingerprint, think it shud b). and i gotta say its one of the most clearest anti-glare SP ive used on my iP4. i would say it is the anti-glare SP that effects the least on the phone's retina display. thumbup.gif
Reccomendations on where to buy Ori powersupport anti-glare? Might just get a pack later when my Belkin's all scratched up, it's two pieces for a pack right?
Eiraku
post Jan 21 2011, 03:21 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 21 2011, 03:16 PM)
since many guys here says matte sp reduce the quality of retina display, what if i try matte sp on iphone 3gs? will it make it totally sux?
Well, not reduce per se, things just become a bit fuzzier. But trust me, if you use you iPhone outside a lot, you'll appreciate a matte SP (unless you're one of those narcissistic types who actually like to look at themselves in public lol).

Jk, jk lol.
Eiraku
post Jan 21 2011, 06:27 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Jan 21 2011, 05:40 PM)
Very, very cheap with a dock thrown in for free (as it should be). If this guy's legit, highly recommended as the Mipow Clone (the one he's selling) is currently my top choice iPhone 4 battery pack, because of the replaceable batteries.

For RM184 it's simply a steal really! Sigh, now I regret rushing to get my Clone and missing this guy (I got it for a bit more, with no dock, from somebody else).

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 21 2011, 06:31 PM
Eiraku
post Jan 22 2011, 03:45 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(5uperMan @ Jan 22 2011, 03:01 AM)
hey guys anyone saw this case b4? anyone wanna order it? seems to be same quality with vapor case but price is higher by usd10..seems slimmer tho..check it out..good news is u can choose different colours for the front & back..

Added on January 22, 2011, 3:10 am
dude if we're talking about SP..i wonder how come no one talked about Matte SP with diamond..i've got it since day 2 i got my ip4 & its damn guud..no fingerprint/no scratch/no dust.. front & back i got it for rm40..but most shops are retailing rm90 or rm 70 @ ipoh.. the best thing is the shiny thingy on the sp but once u on the screen it can't be seen tho..onli when its locked/pitch black u can see diamond effect..its a bit hard to show on pics..but u guys can try asking at those kiosk selling sp's
About the el3ctron, try looking at page 48 (or any other page before that for that matter) lol. It's a popular subject here really.

An about the diamond effect SP, just no. I have seen it before, and it's definitely not for me personally.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jan 22 2011, 03:47 AM
Eiraku
post Feb 7 2011, 06:39 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Otterbox defender. Like bulletproof vest for your iPhone. Makes it pretty darned thick and bulky though.

For me I've customised my Mipow Clone with about a few rolls of electrical tape + some double sided foam tape as bumpers + carbon fibre decal on the back.

It's thick and looks downright appalling, but on the upside is my iPhone now can last a couple of days (by changing the replaceable battery) and I've dropped it hard a couple of times with no effects what so ever (for my iPhone lar, at least).
Eiraku
post Feb 7 2011, 11:29 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Feb 7 2011, 07:31 PM)
Show some pics of that abomination smile.gif
Can't. My only decent camera right now IS the abomination, and I really lazy to get the I4 out, too many steps involved lol.

Maybe later when I go back KL or sumthing.
Eiraku
post Feb 14 2011, 12:27 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Online? Brando.com has them and I quite trust them as far as online retailers go.
Eiraku
post Feb 16 2011, 08:09 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 16 2011, 01:51 PM)
i just use a generic rm5 adapter. buy one, n bring it when u want to buy a more expensive adapter. test both see got difference or not

even better, bring a friend, n do a blind test for both adapter
The problem with SOME generic RM5 male to female audio jacks is the fact that they use HUGE jacks on the male end (I wonder...) and thus your headphone jacks won't fit anyway lol.

I got myself RM10 short male to female jacks (Sonic Gear? Forgot...) and they fit fabulously. You can also go to Capdase if you want a touch more branding (or the cekik darah belkin/griffin route), but they prolly use the same freaking copper inside anyway.

What I'm looking for really is a cheap-ish impedance adaptor jack- my IEMs are a tad too sensitive and the "lowest volume" on the iP4 ain't that low really.
Eiraku
post Feb 17 2011, 01:45 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 16 2011, 08:39 PM)
yeah it was quite hard for me to find the correct size. never thought of looking at a sony centre haha, went there actually just to accompany my sister buy camera tongue.gif belkin/griffin ones are super expensive, i think it was rm80 or so. just for the better design n logo +_+

what IEMs are u using?
FA Eterna V2 (replacement for my broken V1s) and my soon to be sold off (if I manage to catch a buyer lah) Triple Fi 10. The Trips give me a headache lol.

Anyways, both IEMs have jacks that fit my iPhone + modded Mipow Clone fine. I needed the extension jacks to connect the phone to other output devices actually, my pc speakers being a prime example lol.

And iPhone not very good sound? Pfft. I've had a Fuze before with an LOD and amps (and have heard the S.flo2 through HO/LO and the gumstick), and the iPhone is just fine unamped for mobile use with IEMs (except for the very "not low" lowest volume setting lol).

Heck, it surprised me too the first time I listened to it really. Hate towards the iPhone as a portable source is unwarranted IMHO.

BUT, source appreciation is highly subjective after all.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 17 2011, 02:00 AM
Eiraku
post Feb 17 2011, 05:40 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 17 2011, 04:53 PM)
niceee. but i never heard of anyone prefer eterna v2 over triplefi10 before tongue.gif u're really one of a kind haha. yea, for mobile stuff i dont care how does anything sounds amped... i dont want amps full stop lol
Well, my brain seems unable to handle the TF10's details very well - it induces nausea for me lol.

So back to the topic, I echo all the recommendations for Power Supply's matte SPs, they're great. A word of caution though, they are not as easy to apply as, say belkin SPs, simply because they're more expensive - an you only get 2 in a pack lol. Not much room for error there.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 17 2011, 05:41 PM
Eiraku
post Feb 26 2011, 11:08 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Feb 26 2011, 10:05 PM)
anyone of you guys use power cases?
the once with an extra bat pack
is it worth it?
Extra battery pack? What do you mean?

The only battery pack with extras that I know of is the Mipow Clone, which I'm personally using right now. With a few extra spare Nokia batteries, I should last about 4-5 days without a power plug lol.

Eiraku
post Feb 26 2011, 11:43 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Feb 26 2011, 11:22 PM)
noo the one with the skin one.
Post a link?
Eiraku
post Feb 28 2011, 08:59 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

I'm still sad that a better protected version of the Mipow Clone with a full apple dock connector at the bottom doesn't exist.

For that matter, why isn't there more battery cases with a full dock connector in the first place? Needing to peel off battery cases to use TV-out (or line-out) is frustrating.

Yeah I know there ARE cases with a full dock connector, but we need more lol.
Eiraku
post Mar 3 2011, 10:39 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 3 2011, 03:43 PM)
How many of u guys here bought battery pack?

And which brand/model u bought?
Which more worthy eg. 1200mah or higher like 2800mah? Higher means can hold more charge/times and faster charging time?

Im thinking to get one, but still undecided which..Also whether between casing based or external pack. (coz i have 1st gen ipod touch can share if external)
A higher mAh rating simply means larger capacity. Like you said, a battery case is much simpler and more convenient to use and keep, while with an external pack, you can share (though there are 1 particular case I know of that allows you to share power with other USB devices).

Also, if you need to use the dock connector a lot (TV-out/line-out/whatever-out) you're better off with an external battery pack.

As for me, I need lots of power, and sadly my choices boil down to getting a replaceable battery powered battery pack. Of which, sadly, only one exist lol.

0.0515sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:05 PM