8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Will I damage my laptop battery if ...

endG
post Nov 26 2010, 01:49 PM

205 posts

i can almost confirm tht it will spoil ur batt..

my bro's dell batt cannot charge anymore after 2 years of leaving d batt in d laptop charging all the time

my compaq batt is still working fine after 3 years+ although d batt life nt as strong edi..i took out my batt when i m nt using it..
evenz0623
post Nov 26 2010, 02:00 PM

my dell battery oso die bcuz i always pulg in with battery...

may i noe know how much is a dell xps 1530 battery?

which forum should i visit in order to get this battery?

i'm a newbie...plz help...
putochip123
post Nov 26 2010, 02:14 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(endG @ Nov 26 2010, 01:49 PM)

my bro's dell batt cannot charge anymore after 2 years of leaving d batt in d laptop charging all the time

my compaq batt is still working fine after 3 years+ although d batt life nt as strong edi..i took out my batt when i m nt using it..
sad case for u, my 1530 still working fine untill now.
all battery are same manufacture, dell and compaq are using same battery with 6cell and same manufacture, is sell how to take care of it only
cowithgun
post Nov 26 2010, 02:14 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

while your observation is true, i think it is the heat that kill the battery. most new notebook stop charging after it reached 100%. my notebook will not charge if i just use a few % of battery. in battery status i can see "97% not charging" even if i plug in.
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 26 2010, 02:19 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Nov 26 2010, 01:32 PM)
most of the full screen games will not responding, included L4D, Warcraft, Star craft 1 & 2, Need for speed undercover, shift, prostreet. these are the game i tried, all not responding
Thanks for sharing this information. If we standby these problem won't happen right?

QUOTE(evenz0623 @ Nov 26 2010, 02:00 PM)
my dell battery oso die bcuz i always pulg in with battery...

may i noe know how much is a dell xps 1530 battery?

which forum should i visit in order to get this battery?

i'm a newbie...plz help...
For battery, i always take out. So far, my Acer laptop battery works just fine. But my compaq laptop's battery spoiled already.

It really depend on your luck and your action as well. Sometimes, you won't be able to do anything if you are really unlucky.
putochip123
post Nov 26 2010, 02:20 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Nov 26 2010, 02:14 PM)
while your observation is true, i think it is the heat that kill the battery. most new notebook stop charging after it reached 100%. my notebook will not charge if i just use a few % of battery. in battery status i can see "97% not charging" even if i plug in.
+1, heat kill battery, kill electronic component.
As new laptop keep plug in also no problem de, and battery dont finish all the power, even though used 10%, charge back to 100%

endG
post Nov 26 2010, 02:55 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Nov 26 2010, 02:19 PM)
It really depend on your luck and your action as well. Sometimes, you won't be able to do anything if you are really unlucky.
hehe 'it depends on luck'..ur statement wins all doh.gif doh.gif
putochip123
post Nov 26 2010, 06:37 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Nov 26 2010, 02:19 PM)
Thanks for sharing this information. If we standby these problem won't happen right?
For battery, i always take out. So far, my Acer laptop battery works just fine. But my compaq laptop's battery spoiled already.

+1, nowadays all brand using same battery even macbook also the same
Eugene91
post Nov 26 2010, 07:35 PM

6,109 posts

Even power adapter tongue.gif The Alienware Power supply is the same OEM as my Acer power supply haha..
putochip123
post Nov 26 2010, 08:00 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Nov 26 2010, 07:35 PM)
Even power adapter tongue.gif The Alienware  Power supply is the same OEM as my Acer power supply haha..
ya, u are right..... but Malaysian dont know, they say ACER SUCKZ...
BUT i SAY ACER PRO.... ACER GOOD..... All "A" PRODUCT GOOD, APPLE, ALIENWARE, ASUS, ACER,
CAUSE I USED ALL AF "A" BRANDS
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 26 2010, 08:21 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Nov 26 2010, 08:00 PM)
BUT i SAY ACER PRO.... ACER GOOD..... All "A" PRODUCT GOOD, APPLE, ALIENWARE, ASUS, ACER,
For me, i am more concern with the after sales service by the manufacturer.

How long is the laptop warranty period? Does it varies according to the manufacturer?
lee_what2004
post Nov 26 2010, 08:22 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Most is 1 year, Asus is 2 years...
can extend to 3 years..
CANONPIXMA
post Nov 26 2010, 09:10 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2010, 08:22 PM)
can extend to 3 years..
i think acer also comes with extra warranty nowadays? need pay extra if i not mistaken.. hmm.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 26 2010, 10:49 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

can extend to 3 years..
QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Nov 26 2010, 09:10 PM)
i think acer also comes with extra warranty nowadays? need pay extra if i not mistaken.. hmm.gif
Thanks for the reply.

I actually wanted to ask about the laptop battery's warranty. But i forgot to type the "battery" word. doh.gif
Tookia
post Nov 28 2010, 03:57 PM

290 posts

Been using my ASUS A6F A6000 with battery installed while plugged in to mains since I bought it in 2007. Haven't changed my battery yet and I can still use my laptop with the battery only many times. I'm not sure what I did was right but my battery has not failed me .. yet.
edwardng
post Nov 28 2010, 05:15 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Nov 26 2010, 02:14 PM)
nod.gif +1 Heat kills electronic component.

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Nov 26 2010, 08:00 PM)
laugh.gif haha....malaysia culture

can extend to 3 years..
Looks like someone is Asus supporter smile.gif

Tips hmm.gif to stretch battery life:
1. Use ur laptop battery until almost 0%
2. After rechanging ur battery until 100% , u better unplug AC power (A good attitude?)
3. If u want to use for gaming, u better use AC power
4. Avoid heat that could spoil ur laptop battery
5. If you have the choices to use AC or DC, u should always use AC instead of DC
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 28 2010, 11:43 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(edwardng @ Nov 28 2010, 05:15 PM)
Looks like someone is Asus supporter  smile.gif

Tips  hmm.gif  to stretch battery life:
2. After rechanging ur battery until 100% , u better unplug AC power (A good attitude?)
5. If you have the choices to use AC or DC, u should always use AC instead of DC
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Agreed.
2. Agreed.
3. I always use the AC power no matter for what purpose, unless the document i am doing will cost me a lot if there is a spike.
4. Have any suggestion to avoid it? sweat.gif
5. Agreed.

DoubleU
post Nov 28 2010, 11:51 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

QUOTE(edwardng @ Nov 28 2010, 05:15 PM)
Looks like someone is Asus supporter  smile.gif

Tips  hmm.gif  to stretch battery life:
1. huh? aren't you meant not to use it until so low to not stress the battery?
2. why want to switch to using battery? just stick to AC power no?
3. yes
4. yes (@quantum avoid heat like don't put your battery in carboot while parked under the sun, don't plug into laptop if your laptop is running hot...)
5. wait.. AC = wall socket, DC = battery? or AC= alternating current while DC = direct current?
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 29 2010, 12:13 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 28 2010, 11:51 PM)
1. huh? aren't you meant not to use it until so low to not stress the battery?
2. why want to switch to using battery? just stick to AC power no?
3. yes
4. yes (@quantum avoid heat like don't put your battery in carboot while parked under the sun, don't plug into laptop if your laptop is running hot...)
5. wait.. AC = wall socket, DC = battery?  or AC= alternating current while DC = direct current?
That is something that i never ever do to a laptop or handphone battery.

Thanks for the suggestion.
xin
post Nov 29 2010, 02:17 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

cuz batts have charge cycle de ... that is why frequent charge will render the batt unusable when approaching the end of the cycle charge.

Lets say the batt for example has 3000 cycle charge... means each time the batt encounters a charge then it minus 1 cycle charge. So even ur batt is in 100%, and you plug the power cord to ur notebook and that would cost you 1 cycle charge gone. So always advise to remove batt before plug in power.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0246sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:56 PM