Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V7, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

Piccolo
post Nov 10 2010, 09:24 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(hxcpride @ Nov 9 2010, 11:40 PM)
ok this is a noob question...official froyo will be here soon. once its updated to froyo from eclair..do you need to do factory reset and wipe everything as well?
Yes.

Read somewhere the reason for that is you don't want any remnants of apps from an older OS in your phone after the upgrade.
Piccolo
post Nov 11 2010, 01:42 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Nov 11 2010, 01:36 PM)
oh man..that's pretty weak..

mine lasted 3 days..

wifi for an hour.. play some games less than an hour.. call.. and heavy
music.. and I would lever the phone on stanby when I sleep..

my screen brightness set to the lowest thought..even when I surf web..
Impossible..tell us how u hacked your batt tongue.gif
Piccolo
post Nov 11 2010, 10:50 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Nov 11 2010, 10:41 PM)
Wah, samsung already come up with A9 cortex. The last time I read motorola was going to have A9 cortex by mid next year with SGX540. Samsung way to go! A step above the rest again.
But their software...ahem... tongue.gif
Piccolo
post Nov 13 2010, 11:59 AM

260 posts

Anyone having the stock browser closing on them when u go www.thestar.com.my? It happens a second or two after the page finishes loading.

That doesnt happen on Opera though...
Piccolo
post Nov 13 2010, 12:23 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(hxcpride @ Nov 13 2010, 12:13 PM)
try settings uncheck enable plug ins.
Hmm that work. Thanks dude. Do i leave it unchecked as default? That wont leave out vital info on sites with plugins right?
Piccolo
post Nov 16 2010, 11:41 PM

260 posts

Guys need help here.

On doc 762 speedmod norfs all ext.

Battery use screen only shows Display, Cell, Wifi and Calls. What happened to the rest and how do i get it to show everything again. Wasnt like before i flashed from stock.
Piccolo
post Nov 18 2010, 12:56 PM

260 posts

1. Anyone else having battery drain issues with Doc Froyo 7.62 no rfs all ext4 like me?
I noticed the process kswapd0 bites a big chunk of the cpu of and on which never did when I was on stock + voodoo.
Switched to RFS - seems fine now (1day on, still testing).

Kswapd0 is the Linux process handling cache memory of kernels.

2. Anyone with similar drain on tilt sensor ON + gallery? I turned mine off and the sensor process is back to normal.

3. ClockWorkMod lagfix edition rox! (yeah time to brag instead of complain) I can walk to my car while converting FS or trying a new firmware! (Make sure batt is alot though tongue.gif )
Is this "fun" customizing only available to SGS? or you can do the same with other devices like HTC?
Piccolo
post Nov 18 2010, 02:10 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Nov 18 2010, 01:57 PM)
im using it since last 2 weeks.all works fine and the battery can stay for 2 days.
Do you use the Email client or K-9? I am suspecting the kwaspd0 process of mine kicked in because of the push function from K-9.

Anyway, it seemed fine now with RFS.. odd.

EDIT: Nothing to do with RFS or ext4 lagfix, it is the Kernel tweak by hardcore.

This post has been edited by Piccolo: Nov 19 2010, 12:08 PM
Piccolo
post Nov 19 2010, 12:12 PM

260 posts

On Doc v8 too. No issues, gallery is fast, easiest ROM upgrade so far rclxms.gif

One problem: My Video Player cannot close with Back button, is that normal?

Doc v8
IO fix
Misc Fix
All ext4
Piccolo
post Nov 19 2010, 12:24 PM

260 posts

Uh oh means mine got prob, can't close with back button. Need to press Home then kill it or leave it

EDIT: Oh there is a button, didnt see that blush.gif . Thanks bro.

This post has been edited by Piccolo: Nov 19 2010, 12:26 PM
Piccolo
post Nov 19 2010, 12:41 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Nov 19 2010, 12:32 PM)
no prob biggrin.gif  wad's IO fix?? they say better dont turn on misc tweak?
System Input/Output tweak.

I've got this and Misc tweak on. Still not seeing anything bad..(hope not shakehead.gif )

But in my experience, the other 2 tweaks for Kernel is bad for me, = kwaspd0 process starts kicking in makan CPU (edit) 20-60% spike.

This post has been edited by Piccolo: Nov 19 2010, 12:45 PM
Piccolo
post Nov 20 2010, 03:06 AM

260 posts

Ppl go sleep....i am sure u will dream of gingerbread..wake up feel good redo upgrade tongue.gif
Piccolo
post Nov 20 2010, 03:21 PM

260 posts

Had to check out this official release, after all its the latest Froyo. (Odin to DXJPA from V8)

Say..where the heck is my froyo keyboard, the one with the numerics from long press?! mad.gif
Piccolo
post Nov 20 2010, 06:28 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Nov 20 2010, 06:22 PM)
bro check the XDA thread about this firmware.......

Added on November 20, 2010, 6:24 pmBased on dahoba and iznogooood's posts, thanks!

downgrade to 2.1 with XXJM8; pit 512 re-partirion checked
    (after reboot and back to Home, screen lock) go to download mode again
    upgrade to DXJG4; use pit 513, re-partirion checked
    (after reboot and back to Home, screen lock) go to download mode again
    now you can upgrade to DXJPA; no pit file required, re-partition unchecked
Can skip the JM8 part. That's what I did no issues.
DXJG4 pit 513 re-partition
DXJPA no pit NO re-partition
Done

I like this official one, feels "clean" and gps seems good.

However, where is that freaking froyo keyboard with numerics long press?
Piccolo
post Nov 20 2010, 06:48 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(janov @ Nov 20 2010, 06:45 PM)
thanks, downloading JG4 now, read XDA forum on this as well, so i can flash from XWJPA (my current ROM) to JG4 (.513 pit Repartition Checked) then to DXJPA (.803 pit Repartition Unchecked)?
Yes except you don't need to put in the 803 at all.

(make sure you've disabled all lag fixes).
Piccolo
post Nov 22 2010, 10:58 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(lestat48 @ Nov 22 2010, 10:44 AM)
Hi Gurus,

Need your help.

Can you flash YA-OK kernel onto a stock DXJPA ?

I read some XDA member managed to install to stock XXJPA.
Xda dev guys have implied that DXJPA seemed different from what they based their kernel builds from.

For e.g. hardcore mentioned that his speedmod kernel IS NOT COMPATIBLE with DXJPA.
However, I think you can give it a try because I have it the speedmod ( K7 200hz) running on my DXJPA. Got lucky maybe cos I did not see his edit before flashing.
So I suppose it may or may not work.

Either way, DO SO AT YOUR OWN RISK!

This post has been edited by Piccolo: Nov 22 2010, 10:59 AM
Piccolo
post Nov 22 2010, 10:32 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Nov 22 2010, 10:05 PM)
Final FroYo? Don't think so, but first official FroYo, maybe.

As for lagginess? Sack the analyst that said to use RFS on Samsung.

Added on November 22, 2010, 10:07 pm
Lag, yes. Problems? None so far. Will keep on updating the thread.

Another thing I noticed. No more double tap on text to size them into the width of screen on the browser. Or maybe those sites that I visited don't support sizing? Anyone can confirm this?
Go to browser settings check Auto-Fit pages
Piccolo
post Nov 23 2010, 01:03 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Nov 23 2010, 12:20 AM)
Applied z4root.1.3.0.apk.

Doesn't seem to properly root the phone. When enter Superuser app, it prompted me to update my su pulak.

Now samba file sharing not running. Trying to do the update.zip for new su.

*cross fingers*

EDIT: oh greatttttt! When I tried to apply update.zip, it says can't find /mnt/internal_sd/update.zip

When I browse my /mnt, there isn't any internal_sd/, but only sdcard/

What's wrong with my FroYo man? Should I revert back to 2e first? Any idea how to execute the update.zip now?
That's cos you are on Froyo's 3e recovery.

Get back 2e recovery to re-start what you were doing. You can get it here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=788108
(second post)

0.0227sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:27 PM