Nokia N8 - V12 - [The King of Camera Phones], New N8 Owner, please read the FrontPage!

WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 12:59 AM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Nov 10 2010, 12:53 AM)
for a phone that just came out for 2 months? HTC legend came out in March 2010 and only now has its first major update.. ?
Less than 2 months actually.
WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 10:23 AM

1,617 posts

Good news from SEE 2010:

50+ enhancements coming to S^3. Portrait QWERTY, new browser, split screen input and more. Arrives early 2011. Fr new and existing devices

But 2011 is too long to wait.
WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 10:28 AM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 10 2010, 10:26 AM)
I want more manual controls (AV & Tv modes) in the camera in addition to those..  sad.gif
Give your thoughts at Nokia forums la. I doubt they will bother this kopitiam thread.
WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 10:33 AM

1,617 posts

Not very clear shots from SEE 2010 but you can see they mention about 50+ enhance and QWERT portrait:

The image even showed the N8 with portrait.

This post has been edited by WhatMan: Nov 10 2010, 10:34 AM
WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 10:45 AM

1,617 posts

SOS: http://twitter.com/aas

# Qt is an issue here. Few accessibility features. But would be relaxtively easy to implement. (Me: wonder if enough push for this to happen) about 11 hours ago via web

# Demo of TALKS in action on touch. But trying to catch up w new developments (e.g. custom controls). Need accessibility framework. #SEE2010 about 11 hours ago via web

# TALKS software made Nokia / Symbian software of choice for accessible of choice. But touch caused issues. Catching up now. #SEE2010 about 11 hours ago via web

# 314 million visually impaired worldwide. 45 million are blind. Opportunity and challenge. How can we make Symbian better for these? #SEE about 11 hours ago via web

# Get this together = truly accessibe mobile. The next 'text-phone'. A significant potential market. #SEE2010 about 11 hours ago via web

# Symbian has SIP built in. Needed APIs for text and video phones. Build in billing mechanism to bring operators on board. about 11 hours ago via web

# Reach 112 project. EU funded.Total Communication (text, video, audio). On top of SIP. This will make a difference. More open. Good 4 mobile. about 11 hours ago via web

# Switched tracks. Now listening to The Market Opportunity for Accessible Mobiles. Talking about imp. of access for deaf, blind etc. #SEE10 about 11 hours ago via web

# More Qt cross platform demo. YR.no weather app on N8, N97, N900 (recompile only), Windows Vista (rec), Mac (rec). Android too. #SEE10 about 11 hours ago via web

# QtWebkit + HTML 5. Hybrid of native (Qt) + web technologies. Good: Standard, Cross-platform, Designer-friendly. Bad: Mem, CPU, Immature. about 11 hours ago via web

# "It's fine to install Qt 4.7 developer version on your phone. I did and it didn't explode... and my Qt 4.6 app worked fine". #SEE2010 about 11 hours ago via web

# http://twitpic.com/35c7tv - Qt programming tips. Presentation will be online later. #SEE2010 about 11 hours ago via Gravity

# Demo of same Qt app running on N97, N8, N900 - dev by cutehacks.com Yr.no weather & airport app. Tried these earlier
WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 10:48 AM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(RiuK3n @ Nov 10 2010, 10:45 AM)
1) A way to upload pics direct to sites such as fb and flickr
That one can be done from photo album lah.
WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 10:55 AM

1,617 posts

Direct Wi-Fi thingy

Upload direct to Imageshack (or Imageshack widget)
WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 11:14 AM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(RiuK3n @ Nov 10 2010, 10:57 AM)
I'm saying fb and flickr. Not imageshack cause I don't use it.
That was not meant for you la. I will upload pics on what I meant by upload from album.
WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 11:29 AM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(RiuK3n @ Nov 10 2010, 11:17 AM)
Lol, sorry my mistake  blush.gif
See that little "<" icon? Click to that:

Which brings you to this screen, and for me, I upload only to facebook. I don't have flickr so don't know if can work for that or not.

WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 11:56 AM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 10 2010, 11:51 AM)
I'm not a N8 user whistling.gif
Plus this thread moves too fast,no way I can keep up with all the post.
Too many off topics. whistling.gif
WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 12:50 PM

1,617 posts

More news about the QWERTY portrait for N8:

NEWS

The first updates to current Symbian phones will appear in the first half of next year, Nokia said on Tuesday.

At the Symbian Exchange & Exposition (SEE2010) in Amsterdam, the handset manufacturer — which said on Monday that it was bringing development of Symbian back in-house — said the first updates would include the addition of split-screen text entry, a Qwerty keyboard that works when the phone is in portrait mode, integrated Swype input and a new browser.

New Nokia chief executive Stephen Elop revealed in October that there would no longer be a sharp break between Symbian^3 — the version found in handsets including the N8 and C7 — and what was to be the upcoming Symbian^4. Instead, Symbian^4 has been scrapped and features that were due to be released in that version will be gradually added to the current handset range, so as to improve the user experience.

"In early 2011, there will be things like split-screen text entry, portrait Qwerty and Swype integrated into the UI, as well as a new browser and a new browsing experience that is much more modern," Nokia smartphone chief Jo Harlow told ZDNet UK on Tuesday. "The updates will come in the first half of 2011."

"The difference is that typically when we've introduced a new range of Nokia devices, maybe they got one or two updates. Now, for the whole lifetime of the devices, there will be updates. It's an opportunity for us to bring new content and further improvements to the user interface," added Harlow.

The announcement on Monday ended a period of just over two years in which Symbian was being open-sourced under the purview of the Symbian Foundation, which was set up by Nokia and others after the Finnish company bought out the whole Symbian platform. Partly because of Sony Ericsson and Samsung's decision to stop making new Symbian phones, the foundation decided to scale back to being a licensing organisation with Nokia taking the reins of the platform's development.

Although Nokia has yet to detail the approach it will take to Symbian's open-source licensing, Symbian Foundation head Tim Holbrow sought to reassure SEE2010 delegates that the shift "doesnt mean we're changing any of these licences or changing to a proprietary model or starting to charge for the Symbian platform".

On Tuesday at the Amsterdam show, the Japanese operator NTT DoCoMo unveiled 12 new Symbian devices made by Fujitsu and Sharp — the only manufacturers other than Nokia that are still using the platform. However, these handsets run on the now-aged and not fully open-source Symbian^2.

Source : http://www.zdnet.co.uk/news/mobile-it/2010...-2011-40090806/

WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 01:51 PM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 10 2010, 01:42 PM)
Everyone is spamming as and when they like. haih. less than 50% content about N8. doh.gif
Becoming more like health/beauty/fashion/kopitiam thread.
WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 07:00 PM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Nov 10 2010, 06:20 PM)
u r very pro in this kinda thing....

Added on November 10, 2010, 6:25 pm
i will write a long list of pros and cons,user experience,recommendations.....lol.but do Nokia really take action?i want ARM A8...i think most of the N8 user oso want it...y still ARM11?i asked on the event but the answer is disappointed....btw,as a multimedia phone,N8 perform very well.hope Nokia really consider and think twice for the hardware and software of next flagship device due to customer demand....
What you want Nokia won't listen, unless you happen to be working with Nokia. Radiance will simply gather user experience with the N8. While you wish Nokia should have picked ARM A8, I am sure plenty of others wished that Nokia should have dumped symbian, use android, add more memory, increase proc, use snapdragon, hummingbird, this and that.

WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 07:35 PM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Nov 10 2010, 07:03 PM)
It sounds like u know Nokia more than others. I did have some conversation with Nokia people itself, and they know exactly the problem of Nokia phone, mostly about the UI / Symbian. Yeah, under-power hardware is also among of it. They listen, but response to it abit "late".

read this: http://www.engadget.com/2010/11/10/nokia-s...mbian/#comments

They know, but doing it slow. Even senior VP also frustrated of being slow. lol
This is typical of big companies. Frontliners knows the flaw of their product, and despite giving constructive feedback to their superior but in the end they can still screw up. Its likely some sort of office politics is involved that clouded their judgment.

I mean, look at Apple's iPhone 4 debacle with the Antenna gate, they knew about the issue for months, engineers were well aware of it, but someone at the top made the decision, and the rest is history.

We can only hope the top people at Nokia REALLY pay attention to the market trend and hope that they will make sound decision on their next flagship phone.

WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 07:51 PM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(RiuK3n @ Nov 10 2010, 07:50 PM)
I wish Nokia would solve the backlight issue where it won't dim or turn off after lock.
It happen again to me at 5pm and still won't off after I restarted more than 10x and even left it off for 30 minutes
I suffer that issue too and in the end I did a factory reset. Good thing I made backups.
WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 08:02 PM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Nov 10 2010, 08:00 PM)
what stuff you got to lose other than your own stuff.......original stuff will still be there.

some software that we install might cause problems like back light issues or other stuff, hard reset is the onli way to solve this issues.
The software that cause my screensaver to screw up was SBP Mobile Shell.
WhatMan
post Nov 10 2010, 10:30 PM

1,617 posts

Wah, N900 spamming again.
WhatMan
post Nov 11 2010, 09:49 AM

1,617 posts

I wonder if Radiance will listen to non-Ranger.
WhatMan
post Nov 11 2010, 09:59 AM

1,617 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 11 2010, 09:53 AM)
you can just post your feedback/review here, she is reading this thread also geh, i bet she will also take note on your opinion
are u connection with PC Suite mode? if so, there's no need for safety remove geh, just unplug can d
I don't know. Thread moving so fast due to kopitiam like talk I think she won't bother to go through every page to find some constructive feedback.

Maybe can personally send her the comments her if we knew her email. brows.gif
WhatMan
post Nov 11 2010, 10:37 AM

1,617 posts

Nokia N8

Hardware
- Speaker design at the bottom is a huge mistake as it muffles the sound when phone is placed on a soft surface. It should have been made on the side just like the N82.
- Crack HDMI cover. While mine have not yet crack, I can see very fine line that indicates potential break.
- I can see some burn-in on the screen, not really a big deal, but should look into it.
- Also, I can see sometime artifacts when leaving the phone idle (can see it in the dark).

Software
- QWERTY portrait. Please! Even Opera Mobile have one.
- When using virtual keyboard, don't make the screen go away from the main view.
- When you want to use your service operator service (Digi's *128#) how the hell I select some of the option when the dialer is not active? I only see "REPLY" and "EXIT" option.
- No "Smart Dialing" fuction in the final product, despite the fact that it was featured in the manual (Page 37)!
- Sometimes certain application cannot be killed by the task manager. You really have to shut down the N8 just to kill it. Give more power to task manager to kill.
- Allow customize icons/shortcuts.
- Allow add name to icons/shortcuts.
- When using "Share" features (the "<" in photo album) to upload pics to social apps like facebook, allow adding comments too.
- When I want to disconnect USB, I cannot find "safe to disconnect" button. Please add that.
- OVI Suite is awful, PC Suite has more feature.
- Bring back manual scrolling for facebook widget!

Ovi Store
- Every apps should have version number in the description.
- Allow other methods of payment (paypal, reload coupons).
- Highlight whether software in Ovi Store are touchscreen/S^3/N8 compatible.

That's all for now..

0.0215sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:19 AM