Nokia N8 - V12 - [The King of Camera Phones], New N8 Owner, please read the FrontPage!
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(kyokusanagi @ Nov 10 2010, 01:57 PM) Did you use N8? How is your comment?i live at Sarawak, so it was to far to go to KL to test the N8,lol!! Sarawak no ppl selling? =.= im using n8 also.. not bad.. but some ppl are very unhappy because bought defect unit.. dead phone etc...
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 10 2010, 02:00 PM) sure is expensive lar, but USD199 can use for many products...so if u really in need of that, can get, still worth one..but it says 'even if it works as described' means it's fake/only work on some condition...means kthxbye to me not for me.. just share this information XD
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 10 2010, 02:06 PM) lol...satio...i think the other day nicholasbeh show me that time i also facepalm..very laggy... N8 you could say is a polished version of what u have in N73 right now, many things have improved, speed wise it's better most the time. Camera and Video is really best of mobile world, and i am especially impressed with the video's zoom feature. The music experience, i would say the speaker is great, loud and clear, but lacking of a little bass punches. as for the headset, for me it is rather lousy..you might wanna use your own headset if you have any. Movie, very good thanks to the AMOLED, and the range of codec supported. as for internet browsing, right now it's still rather bad since it's the same old browser from S60v5 again... right now it does have quite a number of major/serious bugs, but i think we'll have to depend on firmware to improve that part. take pic is really good. especially the focus time. damn fast!
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 10 2010, 02:10 PM) but for my unit, sometimes it will not focus, need to ketuk a bit on the lens only it can focus one >.<" and focus depends on object also, try focus single colored wall, i think will fail...tried before..haha lol.. need to ketuk meh.. the focus is great.. 0.5 ~ 1 sec the worst. plain white wall?
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 10 2010, 02:13 PM) both have 256mb of RAM. Your RAM depletes over usage. Hence, if you reboot, you free up the RAM. It does the same for Satio. It's not a must or necessity. It's just whether a want or not to clear up your RAM. yeah.. better reboot after a while.. if not sure slow..
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(kyokusanagi @ Nov 10 2010, 02:17 PM) Oh, so kacau. need to restart one. same one ma.. other phones also...
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 10 2010, 02:18 PM) lol...press power button, off, press power button wait 30 seconds...not really that troublesome lar maybe you can mod external ram for her. so she dont need to restart. simply mod it with DDR ram..
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:24 PM
our n8 is upgradable or not? to symbian^4...
think it’s not yet confirmed whether the current N8 and other future Symbian^3 devices can update their self to Symbian^4. We can say that N8’s hardware has somewhat have a few points to support future OS, but basing on the recommended requirements for Symbian OS, it is much clearly showed that ARM Cortex A8 & 128MB of DRAM were the least requirement for high tier devices, and N8 only have an ARM 11 at 680MHz but it has dedicated graphics processing unit and a 256MB RAM. Needless to say, Nokia N8’s upgradeable issue is confusing. All we should do now is wait for someone who could clear these things.
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:27 PM
***Update: Thanks to Mark Wilcox (http://developer.symbian.org) clarifying things on the Nokia N8 upgrade to Symbian^4. His comment can be found below in the comment section or refer to this.
Please note that the table in this article comes from a page marked as “stub” on the Symbian Foundation wiki. Those hardware requirements are just plain wrong!
As for S^3 upgradeability to S^4, it depends on the capability of the hardware to run the new version of the platform and the willingness of the OEM to do the significant amount of work need to port the software.
This is easy for Apple with very few device models. Android is a bit of a mixed bag but you usually get some updates for a device.
Nokia smartphones are often cheaper than the competition because they use the minimum hardware required for a decent experience with the platform – that often means the hardware isn’t capable of running the next version!
The N8 ought to be capable of running S^4, the processor is a little underpowered but it has graphics acceleration and a good amount of RAM. I have no idea whether Nokia will offer an upgrade or not though.
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 10 2010, 02:32 PM) There's no more Symbian^4 people. Nokia is focusing on a single OS for Symbian and it is Symbian^3. They will add new feature in periodically to supported device. Someone posted the source this morning. really? symbian^3 is fine but at least can do more and more! i mean can pawn other platform.. not just standard..
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:40 PM
is there anyway to install meego for n8?
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(kyokusanagi @ Nov 10 2010, 02:41 PM) But my n73 will never hang however i didn't restart it. but lag only.I send bluetooth file to pc , listen music, answer call in same time will not hang. your n73 is 4th batch or last batch?
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 10 2010, 02:44 PM) Older version of Symbian very stable wan-lah...At that point, much stable than the hangkei Windows mobile. Once they introduce the Touch screen symbian..that the starting point of Symbian hangkei LOL.. dont so mean la lol.. not really la.. some is fine.. maybe due to the flashing os problem..
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 10 2010, 02:47 PM) a bit sharing...my first picture post here...others can try compare and see the picture quality. taken using my iPhone 4 with HDR mode just now during lunch time [attachmentid=1877786] okok quality... but still cant win other 5mp nokia phones...
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 10 2010, 02:51 PM) yeap. can't even win N900. sorry to say that. and X6 perform better as well and same goes to N97 too. Sorry  Added on November 10, 2010, 2:52 pmIt's open-source but they are acting very "close-sourced".  My n82 lens cover inside got dust abit  if not i will snap good pic also..
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 02:57 PM
N8 + 2... Attached thumbnail(s)
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 10 2010, 03:01 PM) wow...noise level is totally extreme wey.  got dust ma.. :'(
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 10 2010, 03:11 PM) True photography is created by creativity and compensation. If u need the device to make what you want thats not art because anyone can do it. are you sure? then no one will buy DSLR and better camphone d.. pls take nokia 6630 1.3mp show me your skills
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 10 2010, 03:19 PM) a DSLR is just another camera when you do not possess the skill to utilize it, and a normal camera can have very outstanding pictures when you know how to create effects/take nice angles...if u say DSLR = best, then ask camwhores use DSLR and no need use phone camera lar  no.. what i mean is both parties are needed.. not just skills.. skills also got limitation
SUSSecretPaladin
Nov 10 2010, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(holoman @ Nov 10 2010, 03:23 PM) if u at penang, i cant intro u go a shop, he selling 1490 now