QUOTE(Takashi1978 @ Jan 3 2011, 10:42 PM)
New Year Fiesta over already !!!!No more !!!!
Taken out !!!!
Channel CLOSED !!!
Astro B.yond V7.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT
Jan 3 2011, 10:57 PM
292 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Petaling Jaya |
Jan 4 2011, 12:11 AM
633 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(sws @ Jan 3 2011, 11:45 AM) 1080i is the broadcast standard.From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia The frame rate can be implied by the context, while the field rate is generally specified after the letter i, such as "1080i60". In this case 1080i60 refers to 60 fields per second or 30 frames per second. The European Broadcasting Union (EBU), prefers to use the resolution and frame rate (not field rate) separated by a slash, as in 1080i/30 and 1080i/25, likewise 480i/30 and 576i/25.[1] Resolutions of 1080i60 or 1080i50 often refers to 1080i/30 or 1080i/25 in EBU notation. 1080i is directly compatible with CRT-based HDTV sets and is displayed natively in interlaced form, but must be deinterlaced and often scaled for display on modern progressive-scan LCD and plasma TV sets. Depending on the television's video processor the resulting video quality may vary. All UK HD channels on satellite and terrestrial platforms including BBC HD and ITV1 HD broadcast in this format. In the United States, 1080i is the preferred format for CBS, NBC and The CW, though some affiliates (especially those that broadcast two digital subchannels in HD) do broadcast in 720p. Fox and ABC/ESPN broadcast in 720p. |
Jan 4 2011, 12:15 AM
2,234 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(victorwan @ Jan 3 2011, 10:57 PM) New Year Fiesta over already !!!! chinese new year fiesta may be coming your way |
Jan 4 2011, 12:41 AM
4,522 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mordor, Middle Earth. |
Tbh, I have noidea why they decided to stop gap @ 720p/1080i, the bandwidth issue can be solve overtime as they get cheaper, but having to transit from 720p/1080i again to 1080p in the future probably cost more money. The eventually final transition will still gonna be 1080p anyway. Most of the TV nowadays are 1080p, infact those partially HD LCD TV(only 720p/1080i) are only available in the market for just a few years during the transition period. After that everything is FULL HD, why broadcast 720p/1080i when customer is on 1080p display mostly. I am particular especially that 720p since it is lower resolution. I guess I have to wait a while to see what those broadcaster do first b4 jumping in & since the HD channels in Astro are still fairly limited now.
This post has been edited by billytong: Jan 4 2011, 01:03 AM |
Jan 4 2011, 06:14 AM
3,147 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(victorwan @ Jan 3 2011, 10:26 PM) Like that, it will be bad for the FANS. This is Malaysia always grant monopoly to one provider ! as I hv said Astro will rule Malaysia, watch closely first bowling now ML next ? RTM can b... b... and concentrate on how to potray Malaysia to the international world and make them believe as though such things exsists here ! Not all are having ASSTHROW subscriptions. Unless RTM get free broadcast from ASSTHROW since they are getting Government support and vice versa. |
Jan 4 2011, 07:52 AM
1,241 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Kl, Putrajaya |
but it is good effort to make sports in our country better...got pro and cons...but we still didn't hear anything official about the issue rite...just wait and see....
Jan 4 2011, 12:08 PM
19 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
any info when new additional HD channels to be added ??
Jan 4 2011, 01:01 PM
6,103 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Marang, Terengganu |
Jan 4 2011, 03:13 PM
647 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Klang |
QUOTE(choccy36 @ Dec 30 2010, 03:04 PM) anyone in the forum using external HDD for PVR recording. Occassionally, when i try to playback recorded shows, i will have some shows without picture/sound and i can see the timing keeps skiping x seconds. And for some shows, when fastforward, the show cannot go back to normal speed....it just keeps on skipping. 2 weeks ago, astro technician did swap my decoder. But still the same thing happen. Now my next try is to swap the externall HDD as still under warranty. Anyone face the same problem? any fixes or known cause? I also had this problem. I notice that this problem happen when you're not watching LIVE channel or not in standby mode while your decoder is recording. But I don't have this problem during early time with external HDD. Only when HDD is half-full, this problem start to happen. So, when you're recording while watching don't do anything else (rewind, pause, watching recorded program) or you'll miss anything from the moment you're not watching live program until you catch live program again. I had a few disappointing moment & most recently I miss 15 min from Shinjuku Incident which I'm pause while recording. So, if you want to pause while recording make sure you stop recording first, then pause. But make sure you press record again before your buffer run out (default is 30min), & don't forget to catch live program before record. @lapaq I believe you know someone from Astro or you're one of them. Please tell them this is a bug & need to be fix. You can try it yourself first, I believe you have byond with externall HDD too. I also believe you need to re-initialize (format) HDD or buy new HDD in order to fix this problem. But then, it will happen again in the future. |
Jan 4 2011, 03:36 PM
1,241 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Kl, Putrajaya |
lapaq a.k.a technical man..hehe....dun fire me....i think this is one of the bug that should astro care about!anyway, thanks emks bring this matter up in the forum!
Jan 4 2011, 04:08 PM
255 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(eMKs @ Jan 4 2011, 03:13 PM) I also had this problem. I notice that this problem happen when you're not watching LIVE channel or not in standby mode while your decoder is recording. But I don't have this problem during early time with external HDD. Only when HDD is half-full, this problem start to happen. eMKs,So, when you're recording while watching don't do anything else (rewind, pause, watching recorded program) or you'll miss anything from the moment you're not watching live program until you catch live program again. I had a few disappointing moment & most recently I miss 15 min from Shinjuku Incident which I'm pause while recording. So, if you want to pause while recording make sure you stop recording first, then pause. But make sure you press record again before your buffer run out (default is 30min), & don't forget to catch live program before record. @lapaq I believe you know someone from Astro or you're one of them. Please tell them this is a bug & need to be fix. You can try it yourself first, I believe you have byond with externall HDD too. I also believe you need to re-initialize (format) HDD or buy new HDD in order to fix this problem. But then, it will happen again in the future. Perhaps you can also give some details on you current Box software version, how many record-able hours you have left in your eHDD. Happends to HD channels only or SD as well? Pls correct me if I'm wrong. You're watching Konsert RTM If you do pause it or rewind it a bit. you are then about 5 mins behind live view. After the program finished recording, when you go into your planner, will you see a full green circle icon (full recording) or a green pie icon (partial recording)? You also said don't forget to catch live program before record...I don't get what you mean here. QUOTE(apexg2 @ Jan 4 2011, 03:36 PM) lapaq a.k.a technical man..hehe....dun fire me....i think this is one of the bug that should astro care about!anyway, thanks emks bring this matter up in the forum! Nah, why would I fire anyone.I'm just a 'pecacai tua angkat najis' not some big shot who can fire someone. I'll try to help another fellow forumer as much as I can as long as the other party on the other side of the "fence" are willing to "layan" me lah.Anyway, Apexg2, Just asking if you can have a list of bugs that is plaguing our community. Pls confine this to bugs and not functionality we are asking Astro to includes (like channel zapping to the newest available number if we pressed the wrong channel number...like the old boxes). You can wither have it on the first page or on your blog. Of course, we need to ensure that the bugs are confirmed on the latest software version. It's also important to note other details that may be important like channel number, duration of program recorded, happens to all recording or only specific ones...etc etc. This post has been edited by lapaq: Jan 4 2011, 04:59 PM |
Jan 4 2011, 04:34 PM
1,376 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Still no news regarding new hd channel, heard before malay channel will be hd early 2011
Jan 4 2011, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(lapaq @ Jan 4 2011, 04:08 PM) Perhaps you can also give some details on you current Box software version, how many record-able hours you have left in your eHDD. Happends to HD channels only or SD as well? I'm sure my box has latest software version, can't remember the version but if you really want it I will confirm tonight. I have 30+ hours available now but I realize this problem happen when I have 50+ hours left (not sure if it was happen before that as I'm not aware but certainly not happen when I have 100+ hours) It happen for both SD & HD channels. I remember, I miss first 3 min MAS vs INA 2nd leg (I had scheduled it to record) because I'm watching recorded program during that time & most recently Shinjuku Incident while I'm paused it for 15 min QUOTE(lapaq @ Jan 4 2011, 04:08 PM) Pls correct me if I'm wrong. You're watching Konsert RTM I know it will record in the buffer as well but what I mean is, during recording if I pause it eg. for 1 min. After 1min, I press play but I will only get freeze picture & sound. Sometime subtitle appear randomly. Normally it will play in faster mode (you can notice it with the timer). Recording didn't stop, but it won't record anything from the moment I pause or rewind until I press fast fwd to catch live program. But if the box not recording, pause rewind & fwd is fine. If I watch it after recording finished, I will get blank picture & sound for that interval. QUOTE(lapaq @ Jan 4 2011, 04:08 PM) If you do pause it or rewind it a bit. you are then about 5 mins behind live view. After the program finished recording, when you go into your planner, will you see a full green circle icon (full recording) or a green pie icon (partial recording)? You also said don't forget to catch live program before record...I don't get what you mean here. It will show full green circle. If I pause or rewind but did not fwd it to catch live view after that, it will stuck from that moment until finished although it will show full green circle. But it will back to normal after I catch live view. |
Jan 4 2011, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(eMKs @ Jan 4 2011, 04:59 PM) It will show full green circle. If I pause or rewind but did not fwd it to catch live view after that, it will stuck from that moment until finished although it will show full green circle. But it will back to normal after I catch live view. Pls get back on you software version. Also, you mentioned that you will get a full green circle even if it stuck. Say, it stuck and you get a full circle. If you watch it again some other time, are you able to watch it fine or with problems? |
Jan 4 2011, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(lapaq @ Jan 4 2011, 05:03 PM) Pls get back on you software version. Also, you mentioned that you will get a full green circle even if it stuck. Say, it stuck and you get a full circle. If you watch it again some other time, are you able to watch it fine or with problems? It will still have a blank picture & sound in that interval. Doesn't matter how many times I watch it again. I will confirm on software version tonight. |
Jan 4 2011, 05:45 PM
546 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: kota bharu |
QUOTE(lapaq @ Jan 4 2011, 04:08 PM) Nah, why would I fire anyone.I'm just a 'pecacai tua angkat najis' not some big shot who can fire someone. I'll try to help another fellow forumer as much as I can as long as the other party on the other side of the "fence" are willing to "layan" me lah. tak kisah bro ...pencacai pun ....really greatfull for ur help ....tQ This post has been edited by melnikor: Jan 4 2011, 05:45 PM |
Jan 4 2011, 06:09 PM
1,549 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: ugly kingdom |
Other things that need to improve for Byond is when we access the channel guide. Do you notice that when we want to find the channel guide let's say on HBO (channel 411), at that time, I was on channel 104 (Astro Ria).., I need to browse all of channels available from 104 to 411 to check the program guide for HBO. It's really irritating sometimes. Like old decoder.., even Astro MAX itself, I can access the channel guide easily. I just press the 411 on remote, and preview screen still stay at 104, only program guide changed. I really hope that Astro can do something on this....
Thank God that I don't encounter any problem regarding PVR functions.. everything seems fine for me... This post has been edited by AjkR06: Jan 4 2011, 06:11 PM |
Jan 4 2011, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(eMKs @ Jan 4 2011, 05:19 PM) It will still have a blank picture & sound in that interval. Doesn't matter how many times I watch it again. Yup, got it. Now I understand. Neway, will test it and if I'm able to reproduce it. I'll try sending this over the "fence". Not sure what will happen but don't expect this will change very soon lah. You all know who we're dealing with here right?I will confirm on software version tonight. |
Jan 4 2011, 07:21 PM
112 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jan 4 2011, 06:09 PM) ...Do you notice that when we want to find the channel guide let's say on HBO (channel 411), at that time, I was on channel 104 (Astro Ria).., I need to browse all of channels available from 104 to 411 to check the program guide for HBO. ... I do agree pressing the Ch. no. is more straight forward. |
Jan 4 2011, 07:43 PM
3,147 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Besides the above wat irritates me is why the decorder cannot go to the nearest channel,say if we press 843 it should go to at least any of 800 then to show channel not availiable!! At present we hv to memorise all channel numbers and this is very silly indeed !
This post has been edited by smileguy: Jan 4 2011, 07:54 PM |
| Change to: | 0.5360sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:30 AM |