WTA> RMVB media players., PennyPinching-AsCheapAsPossible

TSYuki Ijuin
post Nov 7 2010, 10:52 PM, updated 16y ago

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

I'm looking for RMVB players. The closest thing I can find regarding the things I need is the M102 from Kworld. The purpose is mostly to watch Cantonese dramas @ 720x404 resolution as well as some BDrips (yes, RMVB format) @ 1280x528/1280x720/1024x576 resolution. I don't really need an internal HDD, although the option to add one would be nice. All I need is for it to support a 4-16gb thumbdrive.

I have a LG32"LCDTV and I have 1x Component slot free, as well as 1x VGA and 1x HDMI slot available. The resolution is the usual extended 720p at 1366x768(Or something similar, I don't remember).

Perhaps a budget of below 200 ringgit if possible? This is a media player for my parents to watch things they clicked and downloaded on QVOD easier. XD

If possible I would top up another 100-150 for .mkv (h.264 vid codec and usually MP3/ogg audio codec), but of course, if possible. Because I'm kind of greedy and want to watch anime (either 720p or 1080p, usually 720p) on my TV too. XD

Updated: The reason why I'm asking you guys is this. The KWorld M102 only supports up to 1024x576. Which means some of the movies they've downloaded won't work on it.

-Video decoding technology: 1024x576 for RMVB and 720x576 for other formats < On Kworld M102's feature page. D:

This post has been edited by Yuki Ijuin: Nov 7 2010, 11:01 PM
minimize
post Nov 7 2010, 11:41 PM

1,543 posts

Get DViCO. It support a lot of video format include rmvb
TSYuki Ijuin
post Nov 7 2010, 11:45 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

So uh, you're recommending me a Media Player that starts at 1.45k Ringgit Malaysia for the cheapest model?

How many letters did you read into my post before hitting the quick reply? 7 Letters?

This post has been edited by Yuki Ijuin: Nov 7 2010, 11:47 PM
cooldrive
post Nov 7 2010, 11:53 PM

40 posts

How about this one
http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/AAG/...4178-705047.pdf WD TV Mini

or
http://www.playonhd.com/en/#info Playon!HD Mini

This post has been edited by cooldrive: Nov 7 2010, 11:58 PM
yangxi
post Nov 7 2010, 11:58 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

KWorld M102 use amlogic 8613 chipset. (outdate).

Now new amlogic 8626L chipset can support all 1280x720 format.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1558299
most valuable.^^.

TSYuki Ijuin
post Nov 8 2010, 12:28 AM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

WDTV mini unfortunately doesn't support up to 720p for RMVB, which is my main headache actually.

Play!On is very attractive, but about a hundred bucks out of my budget, as I'm a student and I'm trying to get this for my parents as some sort of a gift, I can't really top up too much from the 200 my brother is sponsoring.

Perhaps the WDTV HD though, at 289 from C-zone, I might be able to afford it.

Yangxi: Wow, those players seems almost too good to be true. O.o" I'll try finding out more over at your selling thread? I'm kind of worried about the warranties and the replacement cause you're based in Malacca though.

Thanks a lot of the suggestions, any others?
calvin_ng
post Nov 8 2010, 09:43 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

I'll sell you mine for RM50 smile.gif china made

have HDMI 1.2 can play all format

but the frame drop when play 1080p but 720p is all OK

look at this thread

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1627841&hl=
bsl555
post Nov 8 2010, 02:46 PM

8,046 posts

Seagate Home Theatre+ ?? RM239?? Cheap, cheerful and actually NOT bad. Not for fussy and expect most ideal specs or every conceivable features in a plastic box. Cheep and cheerful, very useable..but upgrade firmware to latest first, sit back and enjoy! Can even go wireless streaming.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Nov 8 2010, 02:47 PM
yangxi
post Nov 8 2010, 03:13 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 8 2010, 09:43 AM)
I'll sell you mine for RM50 smile.gif china made

have HDMI 1.2 can play all format

but the frame drop when play 1080p but 720p is all OK

look at this thread

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1627841&hl=
if 2nd hand sell RM50. worth.~

hope u mention correct model. Mbox700 (amlogic 8626H)
http://www.beareyes.com.cn/2/lib/201006/22/20100622184_2.htm

neb
post Nov 8 2010, 03:14 PM

2,234 posts

hook up your computer to HDTV, you don't have to spend any penny to buy media player, unless of cause you don't qwn any computer

This post has been edited by neb: Nov 8 2010, 03:15 PM
TSYuki Ijuin
post Nov 8 2010, 03:26 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Nov 8 2010, 03:13 PM)

hope u mention correct model.  Mbox700 (amlogic 8626H)
Well, it looks like it's the correct model, same buttons on the player and all. Just white in colour instead of Black, I checked with Taobao sellers for the pictures. Already contacted him. If I'm too late, I'll seriously consider the YangXi. It sounds almost too good to be true. XD

Neb: Ease of use is a major problem even when I connect the PC to the TV. My mom who's computer illiterate knows how to press play on a remote, but if you ask her to browse to a folder on a computer to play a movie. It's not really viable.
neb
post Nov 8 2010, 03:55 PM

2,234 posts

for media player you will still have to browse for folders and files to watch movie, unless you are connecting to external usb DVD drive

calvin_ng
post Nov 8 2010, 04:43 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Nov 8 2010, 03:13 PM)

hope u mention correct model.  Mbox700 (amlogic 8626H)
Well it depends, yes it is the same model except mine is white...
and the remote a little different... (maybe the black 1 v2 kekeke)

so... your choice... (yes still available)

This post has been edited by calvin_ng: Nov 8 2010, 05:03 PM
yangxi
post Nov 8 2010, 06:11 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

Amlogic 8626H (got lan) , 8613 chipset . performance huge different.

8626H all 1080p should can play

TSYuki Ijuin
post Nov 8 2010, 06:45 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Nov 8 2010, 03:55 PM)
for media player you will still have to browse for folders and files to watch movie, unless you are connecting to external usb DVD drive
Yeah, but I'll be running it from a USB drive which my dad will handle for her. I can prolly put a whole cantonese series in there so all she needs to do is just press play and skip episodes till the last one she watched.

While on the computer, you need to look for the folder, double click, full screen, volume, etc etc. For us who are familiar with computers it's like 2nd nature, but for someone who's computer illiterate it's really different.

0.0205sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:42 AM