Investment M CITY, JALAN AMPANG [OWNERS' THREAD], Mah Sing presents its most iconic

kochin
post Apr 1 2011, 02:25 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

personally, i think M-city wins.
1. better design
2. more layout options
3. developer branding and image (comparable but i still give TMS the edge)
4. innovations and features
5. commercial aspect and amenities

elements have guaranteed scheme but at 6% might not be attractive enough and not long enough too (2 years only wor).

m-city could be launching days after elements just to find out element real pricing.
kochin
post May 20 2011, 10:20 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

between this and icon city, i think icon city better lah
kochin
post May 21 2011, 07:27 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ May 21 2011, 04:21 AM)
Better in terms of price? location? ease of tenancy?
mind to share?
Icon I also takut-takut...price / sf not cheap also
in terms of products, both are unique but icon city have the luxury of space to play around a bit and space out their buildings/components.
location, both are acceptable and prime area but again icon city have a slight advantage in terms of accesibility and unobstructed view from surroundings.
ease of tenancy. difficult to say. maybe m-city will have more ready tenants.
other factors:
m-city faces a fair bit of competition from surrounding developers. icon city main competition will come from paradigm by wct at kelana jaya?
m-city is much nearer to kl city centre. icon city enjoys federal highway conveniences (or inconveniences depends on how you look at it).

one special note. TMS is vested in m-city, m-suites, the icon @ JTR. they will need to promote all 3 and all 3 might be fighting for the same market share. else icon city, TMS will be marketing it against other developers.
i believe their hq is dated and should be relocated. but the big question is where are they gonna go? logically should be the icon but they sold it enbloc. where they go, it bounds to bring additional associates that work with them to set up offices. and am sure TMS will at least make their own HQ flourishes.
my 2 yen.
kochin
post May 21 2011, 02:30 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(tensai71 @ May 21 2011, 09:28 AM)
Taikor, Mah Sing will stay put in Sungai Besi la due to Feng Sui.

I like both M City and Icon City but my guess is that Icon City will likely be more expensive. What I like about M City is it's proximity to the Ampang expat enclave, international schools  and 8 to 10 min from KLCC via AKLEH. My preference for M City is also SOHOs over studios or serviced residences due to the sheer number of studios and serviced residences from M Suites, Elements etc. No SOHOs around this area save for that cheapo looking Axis in Pandan or something, which is in another area and definitely of a different market segment. SOHOs are more versatile.

Icon City also presents itself as a potentially good product with ready market from Industries in Shah Alam, PJ and Bandar Sunway.

Ironically, both M City and Icon City are situated at the cross-section of major highways and key main roads, ie. Jalan Ampang/MRR2 and Federal Highway/LDP....both also have flyovers right in front.

My verdict is both M City and Icon City are good products and if you wish to enter, be the 1st movers.
don't get me wrong. do think m-city is currently king of the crop in that particular strecth currently.
but between icon city versus m-city, i suspect icon city would have better cap app. yield wise would be a tough call between these two.
with m-city close to city centre, it is at a dillemma. big companies will stay in city center or kl sentral. why would they go out of the golden triangle? so m-city might have some big companies but not a lot. therefore i have a feeling although rent should be higher for m-city but foresee higher turn around for tenants. think longer terms tanants with less problem will be for icon city. that's why when all are factored in, fore see yield should be kinda equal.
icon city wise would be different. it might serve as showpiece gallery for big names. they will be fighting for FH frontage as a lot (and i do mean a lot) of vehicles pass through FH everyday. much much more than akleh or jalan ampang actually. pj is kinda starving for a big corporate project.

kochin
post May 21 2011, 07:58 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

nobody went to see the soho today??
btw, got invite for kl eco city today through email and sms.
the invite is for tmrw.
kochin
post Oct 14 2015, 11:41 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(kyun @ Oct 14 2015, 11:15 AM)
This thread started on 4 Nov 2010.
In another 3 weeks, it will celebrate its 5-year-old birthday. And there are buyers still talking whether to purchase or not... seriously.

And glad (sarcastically) to see that, it started from RM390k+ evolving to RM700k+ (the smallest unit) during the past 5 years.

And it finally had the phase done at 80%+, after 5 years...Wow!

Buyers are now enjoying (or 'suffering') at RM2k+ - RM3k interest paid every month with zero cent deduction to its loan original amount.
A year equals to RM30k-RM40k, paid to banks, with loan amount untouched (even single cent).

Really fascinating. Really mind blowing.
Msia property market really had boomed and gloriously grown in the past few years. No wonder all agents driving luxury benz and bmw.
Very interesting summary.
Original spa, was for how many months completion?
If you could provide an equal summary of elements, that would be great.
Cheers.
kochin
post Oct 22 2015, 12:02 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(kyun @ Oct 22 2015, 11:23 AM)
OK, it's not income tax (Lembaga hasil) but customs who collected the tax, simply slipped out of mouth, lol! (they both look the same to me sometimes)

This applies to both new property and subsales.

So consider this, if you're selling any commercial props, where got buyers wanna pay for 6%?
Those who bought at subsales market and proceeded to SPA signing without knowing (lawyer didn't ask them to pay) this,just wait and see the interesting stuff going to happen.

So it's not a good investment for any residential prop comes with commercial title. Those old buyers are safe, though.

Read this under page 2, clause 7
http://www.customs.gov.my/en/pg/pg_ig/Prop...Mac%202014).pdf

And this
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-ma...aysia-property-

Some proceeded SPA without paying, doesn't mean they're waived, but simply means lawyers 'forgot' to inform, and they still owe to government!

I know many don't know this yet. That's why they kept buying commercial titles and going to hit the wall real hard soon!
GST?
residential under commercial title exempted lah.
kochin
post Mar 17 2016, 09:26 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(Princezz @ Mar 17 2016, 06:15 AM)
Thanks for the advice. I guess we must pay a price for all good things. As you rightly said, paying is one thing but subsequently maintenance (taking down for washing and fixing back) is another big practical problem. hope to hear suggestions from others who hv experience in dealing with such situation.
tint it?

0.0179sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:49 PM