126 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Investment M CITY, JALAN AMPANG [OWNERS' THREAD], Mah Sing presents its most iconic

ace77
post Dec 8 2015, 10:24 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(daidzz @ Dec 8 2015, 09:02 PM)
I'm not sure about you but if i were investing in a shop lot, I would certainly have a decent understanding of the access to the location and an understanding of the surrounding area's demographic. I'm sure they would have done their research too.

I'm not sure if you know the area at all as you are wrong about pretty much all your statements in terms of accessibility. Having lived in the area for over 20 years - i can say for sure that either:
a) if you know how to get around or
b) just use Waze like most people who aren't familiar with the area will..
..it's fairly easy.
If it isn't obvious already (I personally think it is), all the developers need to do is to put up a sign before flamingo hotel saying '<--- M City' to direct the ones who missed the first turning to turn into the second, and indeed larger, road.

1.  Those coming from the tesco side of MRR2 would come to the traffic light under the bridge, go across (heading towards flamingo hotel) and may turn left at the first turning - yes this is the small access road you speak of and if it's too difficult to do this [it can be difficult if there are a lot of cars coming from the risda/suzi's corner turning], then there is another big road before flamingo hotel which you can turn into - this leads you right back to either the front or rear entrance of M City. This will be the primary access, I reckon, for MRR2 users.

2.  Those coming from Ulu Kelang side of MRR2 can make a LEGAL U-turn at the traffic light (same junction, from the opposite side) parallel to suzi's corner, and take the major turning before flamingo hotel which again, leads right to M City's front and rear entrances.

3. Those coming from ampang baru would just need to go across from Korea town at the intersection (instead of left towards jalan ampang) and take a left at the end (now heading towards ampang puteri) and take another left and you end up at the legal U-turn as situation number 2.

4. Users from KL can either use
i) jalan ampang to get to m-city, which is absolutely fine during non-peak hours/sundays
ii) use jalan ampang hilir to avoid the jam (and you end up in situation 1, at the intersection heading towards suzi's corner)
or, as I prefer
iii) use the AKLEH from the city centre and take the final exit, make a u-turn and you will end up in situation 3 (heading towards ampang puteri) or the penultimate exit and a couple of turns to end up in situation 2.

In addition, the final exit of the DUKE for those coming from hartamas, ttdi, bandar utama side for whatever reason, comes right out onto jalan ulu kelang and you end up in situation number 2.

So i'm not sure exactly what you mean by poor accessibility. I would probably say the complete opposite.

No, M City's survival is likely not to be based on Village grocer, (although it's a big plus) as all the other retail lots have already been taken... I'm not sure how much more evidence you want in terms of the retail lots - though I have some doubts over the high price of the apartment lots (which, mind you, are ~97% sold), if you know this area of ampang at all, the accessibility is actually incredible. Just don't do something silly like try use jalan ampang at 6pm to get to KLCC. Use the AKLEH instead.
Wow u clearly show who is the one knew the area. Obviously if village grocer investing million here and they do need to the feasibility study. I will be worried if other supermarket operator involved instead village grocer.
Darkknight2010
post Dec 9 2015, 12:19 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(daidzz @ Dec 8 2015, 10:04 PM)
Now you're changing your argument - first you say that accessibility is poor and now you say that that it has no appeal.
Also, no need to study a route - we are in the 21st century - just type M City into waze if you're unfamiliar with the area. Or look for the enormous building - difficult to miss it.

Mind you although I actually agree to a certain extent that the market for retail lots is saturated, having village grocers located at M-City will be a fairly big plus to the residents of Taman TAR, Ukay Heights and to a certain extent, Ampang Hilir, where majority of residents would fall under the upper-middle to upper class income groups. There are very few upscale grocery stores in the area.
Hock Choon and Jaya Grocers are towards the end of the jalan ampang/jalan tun razak intersection, and village grocers would be an alternative to cold storage at GEM.
I don't know why you think I have changed my argument. My argument is still the same, one of the many negative points which is accessibility cause this M city has little or no appeal. The access roads you mentioned are easily missed, especially after the u turn, not for you but others who needs waze, traffic guidelines. You managed to briefly and clearly described how to get to M city doesn't mean it has good accessibility, it means it's accessibility is not good that's why it needs guides, GPS, Waze etc. Because of the accessibility people will compare this M city with other malls and shop nearby.

To draw the crowd from those malls and shops you have to have something unique in M city, something worth the hassles and they don't mind the troubles to reach M city, something worth giving up the conveniency compare to other malls which have better accessibility, variety of shops and services. There are some fail malls and shops which have much better accessibility in a higher or similar population suburb such as cheras sentral, Scott garden which both fronting major traffic roads. M city?

Some may find it easy to access M city like you, and some find it difficult. How many people know about the small access road and the big road before flamingo? Good accessibility means those like GE mall, ampang point, tesco, if you can get what you want from those places why trouble yourself to go to M city?

It remains to be seen whether village grocer will be opened or not, even if it does, how long would it survive? Other shops? Will they ever be opened?

M city is a development where people will pass by, instead of stopping by.

This post has been edited by Darkknight2010: Dec 9 2015, 12:41 AM
Darkknight2010
post Dec 9 2015, 12:37 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(ace77 @ Dec 8 2015, 10:24 PM)
Wow u clearly show who is the one knew the area. Obviously if village grocer investing million here and they do need to the feasibility study. I will be worried if other supermarket operator involved instead village grocer.
I know you are worrying about your investment but if you purchase in 2011 or early 2012 then you are safe. 650-670psf DIBS and you can get LAD from MS ( if they pay la).

If you buy after 2013 then I am sorry dude, you may have to keep service your loan interest for another year maybe.
Princezz
post Dec 9 2015, 07:13 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(Darkknight2010 @ Dec 9 2015, 12:37 AM)
I know you are worrying about your investment but if you purchase in 2011 or early 2012 then you are safe.  650-670psf DIBS and you can get LAD from MS ( if they pay la). 

If you buy after 2013 then I am sorry dude, you may have to keep service your loan interest for another year maybe.
Another year? I thought you earlier said more than a decade (10 years) as MCity is a failed project? You sure made investors of MCity looked like fools. Maybe your assessment is right and all of us are fools. Anyway let's see who has the last laugh. When I bought Mah Sing's Garden Residences in Cyberjaya, someone also commented we were fools as there are petrol tanks in the vicinity. Who will buy? We had the last laugh where our profit was almost 50%. Let's see who has the last laugh for MCity. I agree market is soft thus chance may not be as good but MCity is not the only one affected. Many many are. I heard Johore Iskandat for example is even worse. About accessibility of MCity, which place along Jalan Ampang is so easily assessed? My brother in law operates a outlet in GEM, he too complained about assessibilty. Have a great day, my friend...
ace77
post Dec 9 2015, 07:22 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(Darkknight2010 @ Dec 9 2015, 12:37 AM)
I know you are worrying about your investment but if you purchase in 2011 or early 2012 then you are safe.  650-670psf DIBS and you can get LAD from MS ( if they pay la). 

This issue which purchased a unit after 2013 is common for all other properties which have appreciated.
Thus M City here is not exception.

I had not problems so far with MS on the LAD and at least they do not ask for discount.

This post has been edited by ace77: Dec 9 2015, 07:23 AM
PeriPeri2014
post Dec 9 2015, 07:27 AM

8,226 posts

QUOTE(Princezz @ Dec 9 2015, 07:13 AM)
Another year? I thought you earlier said more than a decade (10 years) as MCity is a failed project? You sure made investors of MCity looked like fools. Maybe your assessment is right and all of us are fools. Anyway let's see who has the last laugh. When I bought Mah Sing's Garden Residences in Cyberjaya, someone also commented we were fools as there are petrol tanks in the vicinity. Who will buy? We had the last laugh where our profit was almost 50%. Let's see who has the last laugh for MCity. I agree market is soft thus chance may not be as good but MCity is not the only one affected. Many many are. I heard Johore Iskandat for example is even worse. About accessibility of MCity, which place along Jalan Ampang is so easily assessed? My brother in law operates a outlet in GEM, he too complained about assessibilty. Have a great day, my friend...
Summer will come.....when winter is over..... smile.gif
daidzz
post Dec 9 2015, 09:15 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(Darkknight2010 @ Dec 9 2015, 12:19 AM)
I don't know why you think I have changed my argument.  My argument is still the same, one of the many negative points which is accessibility cause this M city has little or no appeal.  The access roads you mentioned are easily missed, especially after the u turn, not for you but others who needs waze, traffic guidelines.  You managed to briefly and clearly described how to get to M city doesn't mean it has good accessibility, it means it's accessibility is not good that's why it needs guides, GPS, Waze etc.  Because of the accessibility people will compare this M city with other malls and shop nearby.

To draw the crowd from those malls and shops you have to have something unique in M city, something worth the hassles and they don't mind the troubles to reach M city, something worth giving up the conveniency compare to other malls which have better accessibility, variety of shops and services.  There are some fail malls and shops which have much better accessibility in a higher or similar population suburb such as cheras sentral, Scott garden which both fronting major traffic roads.  M city? 

Some may find it easy to access M city like you, and some find it difficult.  How many people know about the small access road and the big road before flamingo?  Good accessibility means those like GE mall, ampang point, tesco, if you can get what you want from those places why trouble yourself to go to M city? 

It remains to be seen whether village grocer will be opened or not, even if it does, how long would it survive?  Other shops?  Will they ever be opened? 

M city is a development where people will pass by, instead of stopping by.
M City does not have poor accessibility considering it has access from the SAME road as great eastern mall, i.e DIRECTLY on jalan ampang.
If you say that GEM has good accessibility I'm unsure why you feel that M City doesn't if it's on the same road.
Furthermore it has ANOTHER two access roads which you may miss but I doubt others will. Would you prefer a direct highway exit into its car park to satisfy your accessibility needs?

I'm unsure about your market knowledge but tesco and giant do not target the same consumers as cold storage and village grocers.
shakehead.gif

"It remains to be seen whether village grocer will be opened or not?" - what are you even talking about?

ace77
post Dec 9 2015, 09:50 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(daidzz @ Dec 9 2015, 09:15 AM)
M City does not have poor accessibility considering it has access from the SAME road as great eastern mall, i.e DIRECTLY on jalan ampang.
If you say that GEM has good accessibility I'm unsure why you feel that M City doesn't if it's on the same road.
Furthermore it has ANOTHER two access roads which you may miss but I doubt others will. Would you prefer a direct highway exit into its car park to satisfy your accessibility needs?

I'm unsure about your market knowledge but tesco and giant do not target the same consumers as cold storage and village grocers.
shakehead.gif

"It remains to be seen whether village grocer will be opened or not?" - what are you even talking about?
maybe he knew something which we all dont know or the fellow really have a deep tooth with MS. From the map, i really cant see any issues with M City...

image hosting over 10mb
Darkknight2010
post Dec 9 2015, 10:09 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(Princezz @ Dec 9 2015, 07:13 AM)
Read again dude, definition of delay and empty can be found on google online dictionary.

I said its gonna delay for another year but not 10 years. Most shops will be left empty for decade that's how is gonna be.

SPA signed in August 2011 and further delay, MS never fail to surprise us.

This post has been edited by Darkknight2010: Dec 9 2015, 10:15 AM
Darkknight2010
post Dec 9 2015, 10:13 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(daidzz @ Dec 9 2015, 09:15 AM)

shakehead.gif

Dude, in comparison other malls and shops do not need such troublesome traffic guidelines to reach there, like I said before it is easy for you because you know the area well but not everyone know. To continue this argument will only make myself keep repeating the points I raised in earlier posts. I have my pov and you have yours.

I doubt village grocer will really go ahead and open a store in M city. So we have to wait and see. Why is it so hard to understand? even if it really does open, it may not survive, just like jaya grocer in CHERAS sentral.

This post has been edited by Darkknight2010: Dec 9 2015, 10:32 AM
Darkknight2010
post Dec 9 2015, 10:20 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(ace77 @ Dec 9 2015, 09:50 AM)
maybe he knew something which we all dont know or the fellow really have a deep tooth with MS. From the map, i really cant see any issues with M City...

image hosting over 10mb
M city one of the real problems is it is neither here nor there and before people reach M city they already can find what they want and it is not worth the troubles and hassles to get there regardless how hard one try to guide you.

Apart from this there are many more but that's another argument. We may come back before 3016 Christmas and see what happen:)

daidzz
post Dec 9 2015, 11:51 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(Darkknight2010 @ Dec 9 2015, 10:13 AM)
Dude, in comparison other malls and shops do not need such troublesome traffic guidelines to reach there, like I said before it is easy for you because you know the area well but not everyone know.  To continue this argument will only make myself keep repeating the points I raised in earlier posts.  I have my pov and you have yours.

I doubt village grocer will really go ahead and open a store in M city.   So we have to wait and see.  Why is it so hard to understand?  even if it really does open, it may not survive, just like jaya grocer in CHERAS sentral.
There are no 'troublesome traffic guidelines' - I was just correcting your very wrong 'guidelines' that you initially posted (i.e no, you don't have to make an illegal u-turn, etc). The fact that I was able to show that there are many possible and easy methods to get there from all directions is probably a testament to its accessibility.

To be fair the general consensus so far is that the location is accessible, especially because it's on a major road and with accesses from the DUKE and AKLEH but if you know more about the area than we do then please do enlighten us. And no, I don't have to be familiar with the area to know how to get to somewhere, because like I said, it's pretty obvious for most people - maybe not you though - and if not then there is GPS smile.gif

I have no idea whether the concept will be a success but I know for a fact that the location is certainly accessible. In fact it's more accessible than some of the other locations that you mentioned like Great Eastern Mall.
As for whether Village Grocer will open - I am not certain, but if you could provide any evidence that supports your argument, then please do share - do you know something we don't?

My evidence for them opening is:
a) Very accessible Location, on a major commercial road, with links from the MRR2, DUKE and AKLEH
b) Target demographic exists in the area (M-City residents, ukay heights, taman tar, ampang jaya & ampang hilir)
c) ~97% of residential units have been sold
d) 100% of retail lots have been sold
and of course
e) They have already paid a large deposit for a very large lot.

Also, although of course there is a chance that they may not survive, the demographic in ampang and the city centre is more in line with their target demographic than cheras is.

This post has been edited by daidzz: Dec 9 2015, 12:13 PM
daidzz
post Dec 9 2015, 11:52 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(ace77 @ Dec 9 2015, 09:50 AM)

image hosting over 10mb
Yeah I think you're right about that.
It's on a major road, Jalan Ampang, and if you can't actually see it then you're probably fairly blind - it's enormous! tongue.gif
Princezz
post Dec 9 2015, 06:16 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(Darkknight2010 @ Dec 9 2015, 10:09 AM)
Read again dude, definition of delay and empty can be found on google online dictionary.

I said its gonna delay for another year but not 10 years.  Most shops will be left empty for decade that's how is gonna be. 

SPA signed in August 2011 and further delay, MS never fail to surprise us.
You called everybody dude....I don't think many here want to associate to a dude like you who don't quite talk sense. I want to bet with you and everyone would agree with me that the statement u made on that MOST SHOPS WILL BE LEFT EMPTY FOR DECADE for MCity is absurd. Most of the shops will be empty for 10 years!!! You are damned ridiculous!! You literally just want to bash MCity, curse it from every angle. From the response of many here, one can judge that u r not objective at all. Anyway, this is my last response to u as I do not want to waste my time. I believe many here share my feeling.
Darkknight2010
post Dec 9 2015, 07:21 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(Princezz @ Dec 9 2015, 06:16 PM)
You called everybody dude....I don't think many here want to associate to a dude like you who don't quite talk sense. I want to bet with you and everyone would agree with me that the statement u made on that MOST SHOPS WILL BE LEFT EMPTY FOR DECADE for MCity is absurd. Most of the shops will be empty for 10 years!!! You are damned ridiculous!! You literally just want to bash MCity, curse it from every angle. From the response of many here, one can judge that u r not objective at all. Anyway, this is my last response to u as I do not want to waste my time. I believe many here share my feeling.
Sorry if I hurt your feeling but dude, look at plaza AMPANG city, M city will only suffer the same fate. Strata title shops manage by owners won't make it dude. You call me ridiculous but I say I am realistic. The first SPA is signed in May/June 2011 and its is 55 months and counting. Damn shiok!!

Since no negative comments are allow then I am leaving this thread and this is my last response here too. You guys enjoy.

ace77
post Dec 9 2015, 10:12 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(Darkknight2010 @ Dec 9 2015, 07:21 PM)
Sorry if I hurt your feeling but dude, look at plaza AMPANG city, M city will only suffer the same fate.  Strata title shops manage by owners won't make it dude.  You call me ridiculous but I say I am realistic.  The first SPA is signed in May/June 2011 and its is 55 months and counting.  Damn shiok!!

Since no negative comments are allow then I am leaving this thread and this is my last response here too.  You guys enjoy.
Good luck and I believe u will make millions soon with your updated insight and market intelligence.

Princezz
post Dec 9 2015, 10:41 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(Darkknight2010 @ Dec 9 2015, 07:21 PM)
Sorry if I hurt your feeling but dude, look at plaza AMPANG city, M city will only suffer the same fate.  Strata title shops manage by owners won't make it dude.  You call me ridiculous but I say I am realistic.  The first SPA is signed in May/June 2011 and its is 55 months and counting.  Damn shiok!!

Since no negative comments are allow then I am leaving this thread and this is my last response here too.  You guys enjoy.
Bye bye. We are buying Champagne to celebrate. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Jagalat
post Dec 9 2015, 10:51 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

From the Idaman site, most of the MCity's overall units are about 50%-50% by local owners vs foreigner owner(Slightly overall > 50%).
http://idaman2.kpkt.gov.my:8888/idv5/98_eH...proj_Nama=Mcity

On the other hand, nearby properties, eg MSuites and The Element (random pulls) are owned by locals.
http://idaman2.kpkt.gov.my:8888/idv5/98_eH...Nama=M%20suites
http://idaman2.kpkt.gov.my:8888/idv5/98_eH...=THE%20ELEMENTS

Understand some properties along the Embassy row/nearby are mainly owned by foreigners.
http://idaman2.kpkt.gov.my:8888/idv5/98_eH..._Nama=drapport1
http://idaman2.kpkt.gov.my:8888/idv5/98_eH..._Nama=drapport2

(The Idaman site may not reflect the lastest information. Pls no question to me)
I am curious to know the advantages and disadvantages of this situation (ie local-foreigner 50%-50%) towards the rental play and the subsale market.
Any input?? Thanks.
Takuro82
post Dec 9 2015, 11:18 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Dec 9 2015, 09:51 PM)
From the Idaman site, most of the MCity's overall units are about 50%-50% by local owners vs foreigner owner(Slightly overall > 50%).
http://idaman2.kpkt.gov.my:8888/idv5/98_eH...proj_Nama=Mcity

On the other hand, nearby properties, eg MSuites and The Element (random pulls) are owned by locals.
http://idaman2.kpkt.gov.my:8888/idv5/98_eH...Nama=M%20suites
http://idaman2.kpkt.gov.my:8888/idv5/98_eH...=THE%20ELEMENTS

Understand some properties along the Embassy row/nearby are mainly owned by foreigners.
http://idaman2.kpkt.gov.my:8888/idv5/98_eH..._Nama=drapport1
http://idaman2.kpkt.gov.my:8888/idv5/98_eH..._Nama=drapport2

(The Idaman site may not reflect the lastest information. Pls no question to me)
I am curious to know the advantages and disadvantages of this situation (ie local-foreigner 50%-50%) towards the rental play and the subsale market.
Any input?? Thanks.
How to get this report? Is it the report available for certain project only?
Jagalat
post Dec 10 2015, 09:37 AM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(Takuro82 @ Dec 10 2015, 12:18 AM)
How to get this report? Is it the report available for certain project only?
You may refer to the following post about how to construct the link. As long as Idaman had the project data, it will be reported..
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2691655/+538

My intention is not the Idaman, but the pros and cons of local-foreigner ownership trend (50%-50%) towards the rental play and the subsale market.
Need investor's input..
Thx again.

126 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:46 AM