6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Nokia N900 V8 (More than 160 owners), All Maemo-ians check in!

jananan
post Nov 21 2010, 10:56 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 21 2010, 09:51 AM)
Btw is Ntdroid now close to a full working OS including all functions or still like 80% to completion? Thanks
few minor fixes and it would be great....

1) a bit more 2D and 3D acceleration. (after OC interface is smoother experience than maemo)
2) not stuck at 500Mhz all the time - getting warm and depleting battery when idle
3) once they tweak the device profiles - marketplace should work just fine

yeah, i have to agree, its almost 70-80% complete for all functions...

once they get a working ofono from meego, voice calls should work too.

since i am using it as a tablet, not as a phone - i would say its 90% complete.

PS : i think i need a new camera button soon....

Added on November 21, 2010, 11:05 amSmartReflex in NITdroid is fine @ 800Mhz (805000)

hard to tell if its working but its not rebooting or crashing.

Added on November 21, 2010, 11:10 amnow... can anyone suggest a good music player for android... with EQ and non-stuttering on N900...

the default player in NITdroid kinda stutters a bit...

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 21 2010, 11:10 AM
jananan
post Nov 21 2010, 11:40 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Nov 21 2010, 11:36 AM)
hey.. anyone using netstory? nid help... i cant run it.. will auto close cry.gif
nah... i never tried netstory
jananan
post Nov 21 2010, 06:50 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 21 2010, 12:20 PM)
How was the movie is it worth watching?
somehow... after 30 minutes watching HP7 i had to re-check my ticket to see if its Twilight...
jananan
post Nov 21 2010, 06:56 PM

Android
1,513 posts

change this in nitdroid power.conf

# DVFS load treshold
up_threshold 95

to this

# DVFS load treshold
up_threshold 75

NITdroid is kinda slow with switching from 500Mhz to 800Mhz so this helps, but be warned, your device will spend more time on 800Mhz than 500Mhz.

(means it will be warmer)

you can also experiment with values such as 85 or 65 or 50, for me 75 is the sweet spot.

NITdroid is kind of butter smooth with up threshold 75 and 800Mhz. thumbup.gif

wait till i get it onto my eMMC.... drool.gif drool.gif

Added on November 21, 2010, 7:00 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 21 2010, 06:55 PM)
hhahahha.. too much romance? I am watching this wednesday
the movie's pace slow down like hell after 30 minutes...

and harry is like 'lost', ron gets 'jealous' and hermione is the only one keeping her cool.

trust, nothing much happens in this movie, all the characters just wander around like blur...

in the actual deathly hallows novel, its supposed to be more glum and serious, but the director made it serious one moment + stupid joke the next.

they should have compressed this whole movie into 30 minutes, and join it with the next one making it a 2hr 30 mins or 3 hrs moive.

just one movie is enough for deathly hallows.

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 21 2010, 07:00 PM
jananan
post Nov 21 2010, 07:12 PM

Android
1,513 posts

my whole computer is full of .sis files and .sisx and then .deb files and now filling up with .apk files...

cry.gif

its a mess.
jananan
post Nov 21 2010, 07:18 PM

Android
1,513 posts

now... can anyone suggest a good FREE music player for android... with EQ
jananan
post Nov 21 2010, 07:33 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Nov 21 2010, 07:31 PM)
just want to ask one question.
it is a bit out of topic.
sry about that.
can i know how much n900 second hand unit worth ?
depends on the condition i guess... and the age of the device.

its really hard to say.
jananan
post Nov 22 2010, 04:38 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 22 2010, 03:17 AM)
jananan posted a way to install webos games to MyDocs (rather then the app ppartition) a few posts back... Or maybe I saw it on TMO, not sure. Anyways, go check.

Hmmm, I now feel like modding a dpad/trackpad on the face of the N810, so much wasted space lor on the front bazel, I wonder if the parts for a dpad/small trackpad can fit in there.

Re-wiring will be a total pain though.

Either that or coming up with a smooth level bazel ala the N900 (the N810 has an edged touchscreen like the 5800). But actually having to fabricate new parts is ugh really.
wasnt me...

haven't been playing any webos games...

Added on November 22, 2010, 4:45 am
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 22 2010, 03:34 AM)
Well, someone should pack up debs for MyDocs install pretty soon, just wait.

Or you can personally ask the other sifus for help to explain. As for me, my N810 and it's puny 400mhz processor even stutters playing videos larger then 480x272 - so even thinking of trying preenv is pure madness lol.
if only N810 can be OCed....

it will breathe new life into it...

even OC to 500Mhz - 600Mhz will make tons of difference....

if N810 can be OCed to 900Mhz/1000Mhz - it will be blazing fast... no other devices could come near...

because everything is optimized for 400Mhz - then suddenly more than double the speed unleashed @ 1000Mhz.... shocking.gif

its like your Core2Duo 2.0Ghz suddenly OC to 4.4 Ghz.... shakehead.gif

cos N800 was 320Mhz and they hiked it up to 400Mhz for N810... doh.gif

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 22 2010, 04:45 AM
jananan
post Nov 22 2010, 07:37 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 22 2010, 07:34 PM)
Automatic OC profile switching via dbus and input from the tempo sensor has been possible since... well, since my N900 was alive lol. I tried it, switched back because it was rendering my system unresponsive to calls.

All the how-tos are on the TMO Overclocking wiki. Don't people read that anymore?

Sigh.
temperature based OC is not 100% accurate on n900... since the temperature sensor is not measuring CPU temperature...
jananan
post Nov 22 2010, 09:50 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Nov 22 2010, 09:09 PM)
Im not sure..
I was wondering, does USB hub works?
A powered usb hub should work for sure.

non-powered is out of the question though...
jananan
post Nov 23 2010, 12:45 AM

Android
1,513 posts

deleting apk files from my system/app now.

wanna make a lean and mean NITdroid installation....

Added on November 23, 2010, 1:02 ammuch much smoother now....

even at 700mhz only...

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 23 2010, 01:02 AM
jananan
post Nov 23 2010, 04:47 AM

Android
1,513 posts

http://www.androidfreeware.net/download-save-the-bird.html

get a load of this...
jananan
post Nov 23 2010, 01:20 PM

Android
1,513 posts

anyone got angry birds installed on nitdroid 0.0.8 ?

install using manager = no go

copying apk into /system/app does not work too ?

does not even appear in the menu....

does it need renaming ?
jananan
post Nov 23 2010, 05:24 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(generalhwh @ Nov 23 2010, 05:20 PM)
hai guys,i plan to repartition d space of my phone...will this affect d phone?
you just wont have so much space in one partition i guess...

the 27GB will become smaller in size... and you will end up with 2 drives or more when connected to a computer, otherwise wont affect the phone itself...

in fact even if you use the entire 27GB for something else, it wont affect the phone, because the system files and swap are in different partitions.

Added on November 23, 2010, 5:25 pmand there's h-e-n 0.3 in the repo now...

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 23 2010, 05:25 PM
jananan
post Nov 23 2010, 05:49 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(one1002 @ Nov 23 2010, 05:36 PM)
duhh..still waiting for uboot to get stable so that i could use power-kernel v46 for maemo and v40 for neopwn................... but, even then, i have no idea how edit the config file..lol..
i am kinda worried about the phone re-flashing kernels everytime i switch between maemo and NITdroid....

flash memory has a limit... u can only flash it so many times....
jananan
post Nov 23 2010, 08:07 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 23 2010, 07:05 PM)
Guys, I've ordered this last few days..
Still waiting for it to arrive. Hm, will this harm my phone? The rubberized thing is the interior or exterior?
Scared it will cause scratches or dents on my phone.

It's from pdair unsure.gif
i got one of those...

not from PDAir

just something cheap, but almost 90% same

it makes sliding the keyboard in and out a bit troublesome...

maybe PDAir has better design... who knows....

and the material on mine is not actually rubberized... some sort of soft plastic... might cause micro-scratches imho...
jananan
post Nov 23 2010, 08:10 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(arsaa @ Nov 23 2010, 07:38 PM)
hi there....

I hope anybody with kernel 4.6 installed could share how to get and install it in your n900....

i know there are some method out there in the net...but I dont know which one is the better way....

hope you guys could help me! thanks...
1) add extras, extras-devel and extras-testing repos

2) use FAPman or the built in application manager

3) install kernel-power from the repo....

4) reboot > you're done.
jananan
post Nov 23 2010, 09:55 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(one1002 @ Nov 23 2010, 09:39 PM)
sifu, uboot doesn't reflash kernels when we switch between OSes/Kernels..it stores the available kernel/OSes on the phone, and boot into it..not flash it

only multiboot reflashes the NAND =)

Added on November 23, 2010, 9:45 pmhmm..i wonder y still get camera operation failed even though i've uninstalled Fcam, rebooted...
yea... i know...

but uboot is not as stable as multiboot yet... its still new...

Added on November 23, 2010, 9:57 pmif only NITdroid supported uboot....

i can always hope... NItdroid 0.0.9.....

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 23 2010, 09:57 PM
jananan
post Nov 23 2010, 10:40 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 23 2010, 10:16 PM)
haha. Doraemon bag more geng got keys, coins, and alot unknown stuff the chance the phone get damage is higher in a handbag lol. Mine N900 casing abit loose loose. I gonna request for casing replacement. The technician guy said no problem just need send it in before april 2011
Hermione's bag in Harry Potter 7 is better than Doraemon's bag.

wait... did i compare harry potter and doraemon.... ??
jananan
post Nov 24 2010, 05:24 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 24 2010, 02:09 AM)
http://www.engadget.com/2010/11/23/acer-re...x480-screen-re/

Begun the retina wars has.

Hopefuly the 1024x600 N9 rumor's true after all.
thats a very elongated screen... unless the pixels are not square...

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0234sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:00 PM