my guess is OTG+h-e-n will take at least another month to be fully stable.. =)
Nokia N900 V8 (More than 160 owners), All Maemo-ians check in!
Nov 12 2010, 04:11 AM
617 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
my guess is OTG+h-e-n will take at least another month to be fully stable.. =)
Nov 12 2010, 04:16 AM
5,105 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: In front of my desktop/laptop/phone |
QUOTE(one1002 @ Nov 12 2010, 04:11 AM) Maybe.But no matter how the h-e-n team try to perfect the OTG it'll never be like N8's OTg.All this is because of the bq24150 chip 200mA limitation. Nokia.... If you ask me even reading flash drive is more than enough for me. After seeing the N900 progress over this 1 year I'm convinced that if only Nokia give this device as much as chance as they give to the symbian devices it could be a real revolutionary device. With slight hardware upgrade(better battery management chip than bq24150,slightly faster CPU,,more RAM) & much more polished OS(better phone functions) N900 can beat the crap outta any iPhone. P/S:It's already better than iPhone in many categories This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Nov 12 2010, 04:25 AM |
Nov 12 2010, 04:18 AM
617 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 12 2010, 04:16 AM) Maybe.But no matter how the h-e-n team try to perfect the OTG it'll never be like N8's OTg. how was the performance and battery usage?All this is because of the bq24150 chip 200mA limitation. Nokia.... If you ask me even reading flash drive is more than enough for me. |
Nov 12 2010, 04:27 AM
QUOTE(one1002 @ Nov 12 2010, 04:18 AM) Reading files are good.Videos play smoothly.PDF files open instantly.Copying files slightly slow. Battery usage is slightly bad while copying files in & out of the drives. Added on November 12, 2010, 4:45 amI was told that Nokia PR's are monitoring LYN's Nokia specific product related topics. I wonder their average joe PR can keep up with N900's full hardcore phone discussion compared N8's "no so into phone" discussion? Also if we keep on discussing stuff that can brick our phone will we ever have chance to become rangers like those in N8's thread? This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Nov 12 2010, 04:45 AM |
Nov 12 2010, 07:13 AM
521 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 12 2010, 04:27 AM) Reading files are good.Videos play smoothly.PDF files open instantly. wah~ master so late still kamikaze on yr baby n900 ??Copying files slightly slow. Battery usage is slightly bad while copying files in & out of the drives. Added on November 12, 2010, 4:45 amI was told that Nokia PR's are monitoring LYN's Nokia specific product related topics. I wonder their average joe PR can keep up with N900's full hardcore phone discussion compared N8's "no so into phone" discussion? Also if we keep on discussing stuff that can brick our phone will we ever have chance to become rangers like those in N8's thread? btw, means the default kernel still much more stable as you mention ???(hopefully im asking the correct question) |
Nov 12 2010, 07:24 AM
1,742 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Selangor |
Everyone sleep so late at night
Nov 12 2010, 08:37 AM
4,475 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: KL |
Everyone here is a tech-enthusiast. That's why don't need to sleep for tech sick
N900 needs more Physical RAM in my personal opinion so the memory swap can be reduced greatly preventing flickery from happening to your running operations. Proc, I'm more than happy to see a Cortex on this device 32gb is awesome,adding the fact that you can have another 32 from the expansion slot. And 1 very important thing. The battery btw, I'm still having issue with Asphalt5 installation. It shuts itself down when loading and desktopgen still shows not executable Added on November 12, 2010, 9:04 amMeiLi, there's still people moving files away from your Dropbox. Your Quick Panorama folder is empty. I uploaded my version. This post has been edited by hengguowei: Nov 12 2010, 09:04 AM |
Nov 12 2010, 09:15 AM
568 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
anyone tried window 7 theme..it's from extra-devel though..maybe not safe..so anyone tried it?
the theme looks temptating. |
Nov 12 2010, 09:26 AM
Nov 12 2010, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(zdentws @ Nov 12 2010, 07:13 AM) wah~ master so late still kamikaze on yr baby n900 ?? Previously OTG have special PR 1.3 modified kernel.btw, means the default kernel still much more stable as you mention ???(hopefully im asking the correct question) I think now MuhammadAG & titan have agreed to use just 1 kernel which is the kernel-power. v45 is pretty stable if you ask me. QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 12 2010, 09:26 AM) @meLi kick this guys out! |
Nov 12 2010, 09:57 AM
446 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Guys..Just check my bills.
At first. i'm heppy cause my MMS is being charged as per pic msg charged (25 cent p/mms) But then, at the bottom, got that "GPRS/EDGE/3G 2,900KB = RM 29.00" Now i'm confused, how they charged for the mms. I didn't surf the intrnet using 3G, unless buy the 1hour pass.. Added on November 12, 2010, 9:57 am Btw Grandmaster, for now is it the v45 supports Uboot? i really2 want to taste the meego experience.. Last resort, i maybe uninstalled the titan's kernel... I tried to read the changelog, but it too technical for me.. Need time to really understand it..huhu Sorry Sifu for asking.. Added on November 12, 2010, 10:00 am QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 12 2010, 09:46 AM) I hope it wasn't me b'coz i oso go into meLi dropbox dis morning b4 go to work..huhuThis post has been edited by DET_D5t: Nov 12 2010, 10:00 AM |
Nov 12 2010, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Nov 12 2010, 09:57 AM) Guys..Just check my bills. fMMS using a different method to deliver MMS.It downloads the image via data servce you'll charged according to data size.Lets say your image was 80KB then you'll be charged RM0.80At first. i'm heppy cause my MMS is being charged as per pic msg charged (25 cent p/mms) But then, at the bottom, got that "GPRS/EDGE/3G 2,900KB = RM 29.00" Now i'm confused, how they charged for the mms. I didn't surf the intrnet using 3G, unless buy the 1hour pass.. Added on November 12, 2010, 9:57 am Btw Grandmaster, for now is it the v45 supports Uboot? i really2 want to taste the meego experience.. Last resort, i maybe uninstalled the titan's kernel... I tried to read the changelog, but it too technical for me.. Need time to really understand it..huhu Sorry Sifu for asking.. Added on November 12, 2010, 10:00 am I hope it wasn't me b'coz i oso go into meLi dropbox dis morning b4 go to work..huhu u-boot was integrated in v44 if I'm not mistaken.Still yet to mess with uboot because I'm concentrating on OTG 1st. |
Nov 12 2010, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(DET_D5t @ Nov 12 2010, 09:57 AM) Guys..Just check my bills. Did you move the files away?At first. i'm heppy cause my MMS is being charged as per pic msg charged (25 cent p/mms) But then, at the bottom, got that "GPRS/EDGE/3G 2,900KB = RM 29.00" Now i'm confused, how they charged for the mms. I didn't surf the intrnet using 3G, unless buy the 1hour pass.. Added on November 12, 2010, 9:57 am Btw Grandmaster, for now is it the v45 supports Uboot? i really2 want to taste the meego experience.. Last resort, i maybe uninstalled the titan's kernel... I tried to read the changelog, but it too technical for me.. Need time to really understand it..huhu Sorry Sifu for asking.. Added on November 12, 2010, 10:00 am I hope it wasn't me b'coz i oso go into meLi dropbox dis morning b4 go to work..huhu Almost everything is gone in the apps folder The FMMS software doesn't charge according to MMS charges. It charges through data charges. The larger your image file size, the more expensive it will be to send through FMMS. Beware of data charges. I believe if you have unlimited data package, it will be cool sending lots of MMS via FMMS This post has been edited by hengguowei: Nov 12 2010, 10:05 AM |
Nov 12 2010, 10:10 AM
180 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
my flashlight cannot use dy... any1 experience this ??
my hp battery drain very fast also leh... >< seldom sms,call, online also..... |
Nov 12 2010, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 12 2010, 10:04 AM) fMMS using a different method to deliver MMS.It downloads the image via data servce you'll charged according to data size.Lets say your image was 80KB then you'll be charged RM0.80 u-boot was integrated in v44 if I'm not mistaken.Still yet to mess with uboot because I'm concentrating on OTG 1st. QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 12 2010, 10:04 AM) Did you move the files away? Almost everything is gone in the apps folder The FMMS software doesn't charge according to MMS charges. It charges through data charges. The larger your image file size, the more expensive it will be to send through FMMS. Beware of data charges. I believe if you have unlimited data package, it will be cool sending lots of MMS via FMMS Nvm, now straightaway purchased the data pakcge..save me alot.. Em..btw, i didn't delete anything in Sifu MeLi folder..I juz copied the oregon trail game..now can play + work..hehe Owh.. So u-boot is integrated ya? Since u said there is pinguin there (i read prev post) but i didn't know what penguin u refer on.. Nvm..i'll think in few a days there will b updated on TMO regarding the u-boot in titan's kernel..(hope so).. |
Nov 12 2010, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(nicholas_oh @ Nov 12 2010, 10:10 AM) my flashlight cannot use dy... any1 experience this ?? Have you tried restarting? I'm not sure if that will help but no harm trying.my hp battery drain very fast also leh... >< seldom sms,call, online also..... Battery life is short on N900. It's normal for everyone. That's why I got this : |
Nov 12 2010, 10:20 AM
I think meLi himself deleted the files.
Nov 12 2010, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 12 2010, 10:14 AM) Have you tried restarting? I'm not sure if that will help but no harm trying. Battery life is short on N900. It's normal for everyone. That's why I got this : If it is okay, then i'll consider to buy it also.. Scared to take the risk using all this stuff since mine was AP set only.. not rich like u, using avaxx/zitron set.. |
Nov 12 2010, 10:25 AM
1,513 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang, Malaysia |
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 12 2010, 03:44 AM) ![]() Kernel Power v45 + h-e-n So far there is 2 issue 1)Mounting via GUI does not work perfectly.Need terminal to execute the mounting command. 2)Hardware such as external HD which requires more power does power up but not detected properly by the kernel. its always sda or sdb or sdc or sdd... the mounting function cannot guess the right one... only some sort of automounter will work... but that will be a different app... nothing to do with h-e-n one example the automounter used in ubuntu.... once h-e-n is complete, i am sure someone will start to work on automounter that sweeps the bus to see any dev usb hw added to /dev and mount it automatically.... until then its manual mounting.... |
Nov 12 2010, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 12 2010, 10:25 AM) mounting will never be perfect... True also.its always sda or sdb or sdc or sdd... the mounting function cannot guess the right one... only some sort of automounter will work... but that will be a different app... nothing to do with h-e-n one example the automounter used in ubuntu.... once h-e-n is complete, i am sure someone will start to work on automounter that sweeps the bus to see any dev usb hw added to /dev and mount it automatically.... until then its manual mounting.... Perhaps the h-e-n team could add for buttons in the program for different mounting? Have you tried connecting external hard disk in N8?Does it work? |
| Change to: | 0.0287sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:11 AM |