Implementation Of A Maximum LTV of 70%, for 3rd properties and beyond only...

maxforce
post Dec 12 2010, 06:28 PM

242 posts

The significance of this move is that it effectively gave a ceiling to the prices. Subject to market forces, it the price cannot go up, then naturally it ll come down
maxforce
post Dec 12 2010, 07:24 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 12 2010, 06:41 PM)
RPGT is a very effective tool.

Seller can add RPGT into selling price, but buyer willing to pay for it or not, is another question.

Don't assume buyer is desperate all the time.
A lot of buyer during properties boom time, is not the "real property owner", they are merely want to make profit from it

So with RPGT introduced, the profit margin for flipping properties become lower, it become less incentive for people to flip properties.

Just like a restaurant, that current charge you 10% service day, one day, the service tax being hiked to 20%, you as consumer surely may think, don't want to go to the restaurant anymore.
No everyone willing to pay the 20%.
Properties market is not like seller put what price, buyer must buy.

Added on December 12, 2010, 6:44 pm
Not necessary, it may hold and consolidate for sometimes.

Not up, not necessary must down, price can stay at hold pattern one, partly could due to inflation that holding up the properties price.

Local properties market, loan is not too higher leveraged, desperate to sell is not as great as what happened in US RE bubble burst time, especially for middle range properties.

High end properties, yes, could fall, but low to mid range/cost one, don't think will drop.
Very good points you have there for RPGT.
Now to elaborate a little on the ceiling - using your classification
1) High end condos
For this purpose of discussion, we shall simply define it as property above 350K.
Ceiling is set via LTV - should we agree on this then the issue much simpler.
Assume also LTV remains in force into perpetuity - though in real life may not be, just for discussion's sake.

Now imagine the force, ie momentum to go up is blocked by the ceiling.
Either it breaches the ceiling - but in this case, we assume it cannot be breached.
So it can consolidate for a while assuming there is still "force" to hold it there.
Then again, assuming the "force" dries up... then it ll come down.
The force here is money or to be exact, cheap and easy supply of credit.
With the impending BLR increase, soon it will not be cheap anymore.
Furthermore the gomen is bent on reducing subsidies - general prices for basic necessities will go up.
It puzzles me when my banker tells me that people who earns 6k per month are buying property worth 800K with minimum downpayment. This was before the introduction of the 40 yr loan.
Assume 30 yr loan, with interest rate of 4%, a loan of 800K (due to the 90+10 package), the monthly instalment will come to RM3820. I cannot see how it can be done with an income of 6k actually.

2) Low/medium end property
Ceiling is the 50% stamp duty waiver for property below 350K
However this is only in force for 2 yrs beginning 2011.
So yes, agree that low/medium end property may not fall much. Likely to consolidate here. Enough incentive including the 40 yr loan to sustain the market.

Another assumption into the points above is that the mentality of those who purchase high end property vs the low/medium end property - ie, one group dislike 40 yr loan, while the other will take advantage of it.
maxforce
post Dec 12 2010, 10:19 PM

242 posts

Well, its difficult to segregate high end - say
500K = high end?
800K?
1m?
2m?
So just for the heck of it, since the gomen did something about 350K, so I just use it as a basis.

Yeap, some banks offered up to 80% of salary - question is how to survive nia.
maxforce
post Dec 12 2010, 10:54 PM

242 posts

I dont see the gomen as having tough times... only us... the non ultra rich...

Speaking of the ultra-rich, there are many ways to generate income, I do not think they d be interested in the property which you and I are interested in.

Rates for the general public looked like will stay stagnant though ppl in the finance line knows this will happen - at least 25 bps.

EDIT: "Money" in my previous refers to the money which you and I have, not the money supply as oftenly used in the statistics - those money supply got nothing much to do with you and me

This post has been edited by maxforce: Dec 12 2010, 10:57 PM
maxforce
post Dec 13 2010, 12:38 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 13 2010, 12:26 AM)
Both of your posts highlight another issue on the properties.

Actually, the economy and RE market do not scare the ultra-rich to own 10 properties or speculator the properties using their own money.
If ultra-rich can buy 100 houses with cash, then let be it. It won't cause any systemic catastrophere effect even property market plunge.

The RE and economy most fear is people using leverage to "play" the properties market, which buyers do not have those kind of money in the first place, or not able to sustain from their own financial situation.
The ultimate evil is the leverage + speculative.

Speculative alone won't cause too much problem afterwards even market collapse.
It is the leverage part that can kill.

2008 financial crisis resulted from RE bubble bursting is all about leverage.

Ultra-rich can hold for years on those vacant house for years, it doesn't matter for them.
Why fire-sales the properties that bought 1 mil and sell it for 500k?
Might as well keep it like into freeze, after all, they are ultra-rich, doesn't urgent need the 500K, what if hold 10 years later on, it become 2 mil, by then only sell also not too late.
Well said! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
maxforce
post Dec 13 2010, 11:51 PM

242 posts

For stock market and currency, I do agree on the syndicates/speculators but property?
Then again, guessed it is possible, though really not much sign of them in the subsale. Now if, you re talking about the new launches, then yeah... know they re there though they re not labelled as syndicates (as of now)

0.0231sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:40 PM