MSI Gaming Notebook, Check out Post #3! Gathering time!

Dee-san
post Dec 6 2011, 10:37 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Dec 6 2011, 07:45 PM)
Well, I've used MSI product before and i really like it. my old pc back at hometown..already 6/7 years still kicking..mostly from MSI parts oso

and if i didn't take this step, i believe there won't be that much people in Malaysia who owns this laptop yet tongue.gif. I wonder how many people i poison hmm.gif
I would assume the 3 of u got GT780 DXR right?

if yes, i will update the thread later at night, not at home now tongue.gif
And, I'm really glad to see more and more people coming to our "family" tongue.gif
You're right wink.gif
Don't have time to post up pics and short video. Will do this weekend smile.gif
Dee-san
post Sep 6 2012, 01:06 AM

54 posts

Hello guys,
I have problem with my GT780DX. It's been 9 months already. The problem starts last month. My GT780DX hang while playing Diablo 3. Spamming my CCWW Wizard skill. When it hang my GT780DX have the "hang" sound(when you heard you will straight know it is hang already) those sound.

Okay, so i restart it, same things happen after i play 5min-10min. restart again, then same thing happen. I try to find out what happen is it the graphic too stress for GC? I think that is not the case. I touch the exhaust area. Very hot. Okay so this time I on Turbo fan cooling. Then I can play. Without it i can't it will shut down.

Previously when i first bought it i play BF3 high graphic setting(without turbo fan cooling needed) no such thing happened. Why now, while i play Diablo 3 with normal setting? Okay nvm since turbo fan cooling is on it solves the problem.

Then I bought Guild War 3 to play. I can play with high and low setting of graphic either setting will not let me play for 10minute then hang again just like when I play Diablo 3(Even with my turbo fan cooling is on). This is terrible i cant play it at all. So i bought a 8" fan (table fan) and blow my GT780DX. So far so good.

Obviously the fan sound is too loud, and im upset because my GT780DX cannot handle these game. What is my problem here, i installed updated drivers to my system(lastest GC drivers). Is it my hardware problem? How come it gets so hot?

Can anyone help me solve my situation? Or should i send back to MSI as warranty? Sorry for the long story, hope sifu's here can help.
Dee-san
post Sep 6 2012, 08:58 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(lonelywolf90 @ Sep 6 2012, 03:12 PM)
Never tried Kelana Jaya, but Low Yat is the one and only service centre that I went too, the service is great and prompt. But, always contact and make arrangements with MSI-MY or just call up the service centre and specify your problem. That way, things will be faster and more efficient =)
Ain't no sifu, but I'm happy to help =)

Did u try cleaning off the dust of your GPU every 3 months?

Sometimes it could be a problem with dust accumulating in your GPU fan which might cause heat protection to triggle and shut down the laptop. It's a overheat protection feature, I suppose. Or was it a GPU throttle?

I don't understand the parts where u mentioned it hanged, the laptop doesn't respond anymore when it 'hangs' or just the game itself?
Thanks for attending my problem. What I meant by hang is my laptop doesn't respond anymore. only holding the turn off button for force restart.

You mention about cleaning. Do you suggest i should open up and cleaning. I have no experience in this. does it void the warranty?
Dee-san
post Sep 8 2012, 09:01 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(lonelywolf90 @ Sep 7 2012, 01:19 AM)
Sorry I replied late, currently preparing for exam.

Ya, cleaning as in removing the back cover of the laptop and clear off the dust especially at the GPU fan. U should do that once every few months considering the pollution rate in your area.

In KL, I believe it's best to do it once every 2 months or so. Hmm, as far as I know,  it doesn't because I do that often. As long as you don't damage any components during the maintenance then it's ok.

Makesure there's no current while performing maintenance, remove the adapter from the laptop.

Doesn't respond at all and u had to force restart, doesn't seem like a throttle. When it hanged, did the screen change colour or do you see some distorted pixels?
Everything just freezed, sometime blackscreen... now im even getting bluescreen saying about hardware problem.

Oh ya, the other day i wanted to try the cleaning when im prepared with my tools i flipped over my laptop. there is sticker warranty void sticker then i dint continue. The worse thing is the sticker looks likes its opened before. Ya, the sticker koyak sad.gif I dint know. I really dint do anything with it. Just notice it. I hope Im still warranty covered. sad.gif
Dee-san
post Sep 15 2012, 10:09 PM

54 posts

Reply to my post.

I sent my GT780DX for warranty. They helped me to clean the exhaust area and blow away the dust trapped in the GPU fan. The temperature back to normal. When they open my laptop every is clean just the exhaust area is dusty and the dust blocked the fan. After cleaning everything back to normal. The warranty sticker did not void. I remember correctly when i bought the Laptop is a free upgrade of 8gb ram. The tauke help me install it.

Luckily my warranty is not void wink.gif

0.0453sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:38 PM