Cimb Bank AVP Position

TSboyster
post Oct 30 2010, 07:52 PM, updated 16y ago

21 posts

Hi All or insiders,

Any know what's the salary range for AVP in Cimb Bank?

Also, what's the working conditions in office in Jalan Raja Laut HQ? Good? rolleyes.gif

Bonuses? blush.gif

I got an offer already, thinking about the offer.

Cheers!
boyster
kl_mouse
post Oct 30 2010, 08:49 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(boyster @ Oct 30 2010, 07:52 PM)
Hi All or insiders,

Also, what's the working conditions in office in Jalan Raja Laut HQ? Good?  rolleyes.gif

Bonuses? blush.gif

Cheers!
boyster
how much they offer you?
TSboyster
post Oct 30 2010, 09:10 PM

21 posts

I PM u. not so convenient to announce it here. y?

So u got anything to advice?
cloverfield
post Oct 30 2010, 09:12 PM

234 posts

Assistant vice president?
TSboyster
post Oct 30 2010, 09:25 PM

21 posts

smile.gif Yes... AVP is Assistant Vice President...

I suppose this title is higher ranking than Assistant Manager or Manager rite?
Thrust
post Oct 30 2010, 09:26 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(boyster @ Oct 30 2010, 09:25 PM)

Yes, I believe AVP payscale should starts at RM5,500 onwards until maybe RM8,000-9,000.
cloverfield
post Oct 30 2010, 09:28 PM

234 posts

Don't know about the rank. Sometimes a title is just a glorified way of saying that you're an officer. Just ask any PTD out there, title such as Vice Director doesn't mean anything.

You're a fresh graduate or someone with experience?
TSboyster
post Oct 30 2010, 09:28 PM

21 posts

WOW! 8 to 9k. hmmm.. I didnt get this salary though.
Thrust
post Oct 30 2010, 09:32 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(boyster @ Oct 30 2010, 09:28 PM)
WOW! 8 to 9k. hmmm.. I didnt get this salary though.
That's the maximum pay scale an AVP can achieve... If let say you got no promotion but only increment, your pay will be stuck there forever until they promote you further to VP.

But of course, different bank has different pay scale. I don't exactly know what's the pay scale is like. I am just giving you a rough estimate.
TSboyster
post Oct 30 2010, 09:35 PM

21 posts

I need to renegotiate.

What about working environment? honestly i'm not from bank industry so I'm pretty concern.
Thrust
post Oct 30 2010, 09:38 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(boyster @ Oct 30 2010, 09:35 PM)
I need to renegotiate.

What about working environment? honestly i'm not from bank industry so I'm pretty concern.
How much are they offering you first bro? I am just giving you a rough estimate bro...

It really depends on which department you're assigned to. Banking these days are very specialized. You might be stuck doing the same thing for the rest of your tenure with the bank unless you request for an internal transfer or quit. tongue.gif
TSboyster
post Oct 30 2010, 09:41 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 30 2010, 09:32 PM)
That's the maximum pay scale an AVP can achieve... If let say you got no promotion but only increment, your pay will be stuck there forever until they promote you further to VP.

But of course, different bank has different pay scale. I don't exactly know what's the pay scale is like. I am just giving you a rough estimate.
IC...Ok! Thanks! Banking industry shud be higher than private comp?
seantang
post Oct 30 2010, 09:42 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

RM5K for a AVP?

A bit embarrassing isn't it when they hand out their business cards?

In the bigger global MNCs, some senior secretaries get more than that.
Thrust
post Oct 30 2010, 09:43 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

It really depends on which department. Bro, if you don't mind, PM me what they offered you. I was with a bank for the past 6 years so I roughly know how a bank work. Anyway, I've quit banking already tongue.gif
cloverfield
post Oct 30 2010, 09:53 PM

234 posts

Why don't you guys just discuss it here? At least the others can learn also.
bucharestophere
post Oct 30 2010, 10:02 PM

99 posts

How long does it usually take to climb your way up to AVP?
TSboyster
post Oct 30 2010, 10:03 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 30 2010, 09:43 PM)
It really depends on which department. Bro, if you don't mind, PM me what they offered you. I was with a bank for the past 6 years so I roughly know how a bank work. Anyway, I've quit banking already tongue.gif
Wow...alrite. I PM d. I'll be working on opening branches and rationalisation of existing branches. Y quit?

Added on October 30, 2010, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(cloverfield @ Oct 30 2010, 09:53 PM)
Why don't you guys just discuss it here? At least the others can learn also.
I can't review my salary buddy. Other topics and conversations can be shared. between I already PM u.

This post has been edited by boyster: Oct 30 2010, 10:04 PM
Thrust
post Oct 30 2010, 10:07 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(boyster @ Oct 30 2010, 10:03 PM)
Wow...alrite. I PM d. I'll be working on opening branches and rationalisation of existing branches. Y quit?

Added on October 30, 2010, 10:04 pm

I can't review my salary buddy. Other topics and conversations can be shared. between I already PM u.
So I guess you'll be doing something like a department which is known as 'Branch Support' or whatever they call it. You will have to come up with process & procedures & to streamline the branches operations within the bank right?

I quit because they are taking in newcomers with pay & ranking which is higher than me. From there onwards, I've learned that loyalty will never reward you. cry.gif
TSboyster
post Oct 30 2010, 10:09 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(bucharestophere @ Oct 30 2010, 10:02 PM)
How long does it usually take to climb your way up to AVP?
I'm sure how long it takes... probably few years if you are in the banking line starting from a mid position. I'm not from banking line, but I'm thinking to join it that's why i'm asking the average pay too and the working environment. I'm quite concern.

One thing can i say is once i stepped into the building of CIMB in Jln Raja Laut, I felt good and ppl are relax (not so tense) the floor that i went for interview was quite comfortable with library rclxms.gif

Any insiders can share something here?

Added on October 30, 2010, 10:15 pm
QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 30 2010, 10:07 PM)
So I guess you'll be doing something like a department which is known as 'Branch Support' or whatever they call it. You will have to come up with process & procedures & to streamline the branches operations within the bank right?

I quit because they are taking in newcomers with pay & ranking which is higher than me. From there onwards, I've learned that loyalty will never reward you.  cry.gif
Sort of. I have to do the DNA of the branch so I can do my rationalisation, relocation, renovation and etc.

Yeah, the VP told me that banking is brutal, very performance based. I'm curious to try but I wanna to find out more from you guys. U know any AVP now? ask them man.. brows.gif

Added on October 30, 2010, 10:19 pmWorking environment?

This post has been edited by boyster: Oct 30 2010, 10:19 PM
jlshawn
post Nov 21 2014, 12:38 AM

281 posts

so anyone are IT guy in CIMB? AVP? VP?
D902
post Nov 21 2014, 11:45 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 30 2010, 09:42 PM)
RM5K for a AVP?

A bit embarrassing isn't it when they hand out their business cards?

In the bigger global MNCs, some senior secretaries get more than that.
In banking and insurance industries. AVP title means Assistant Manager... nod.gif
jlshawn
post Nov 21 2014, 08:45 PM

281 posts

so anyone are IT guy in CIMB? AVP? VP?
BRC
post Nov 22 2014, 05:17 AM

555 posts

wow that's enlightening
AVP in other industry is like top management

if i'm an AVP and not even close to top 95 percentile
maybe i'll just keep my business card to myself

This post has been edited by BRC: Nov 22 2014, 05:19 AM
jlshawn
post Nov 22 2014, 10:35 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(BRC @ Nov 22 2014, 05:17 AM)
wow that's enlightening
AVP in other industry is like top management

if i'm an AVP and not even close to top 95 percentile
maybe i'll just keep my business card to myself
AVP in banking industry just consider small potato.
party
post Nov 23 2014, 12:40 AM

813 posts

QUOTE(D902 @ Nov 21 2014, 11:45 AM)
In banking and insurance industries. AVP title means Assistant Manager...  nod.gif
You sure? I am in bank..not branch tho. But AVP(newly promoted) earns min 10k..
Babizz
post Nov 24 2014, 08:06 PM

12,523 posts

In C bank, its sumthing like this.. Exec, senior exec, manager, AVP, VP, director, director, MD.

max_cavalera
post Nov 25 2014, 02:37 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

AVP in CIMB is just supervisor level lah...dont get to syiok with ur title lvl...payscale probably 3-4k...they are struggling n their payscale ian that high...
sendomike
post Nov 25 2014, 03:03 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Nov 25 2014, 03:37 PM)
AVP in CIMB is just supervisor level lah...dont get to syiok with ur title lvl...payscale probably 3-4k...they are struggling n their payscale ian that high...
hmmm, i don't think so..
i am from cimb, exec level, salary >4k.

AVP is 3 levels higher than me..
Babizz
post Dec 31 2014, 12:00 PM

12,523 posts

QUOTE(sendomike @ Nov 25 2014, 01:03 AM)
hmmm, i don't think so..
i am from cimb, exec level, salary >4k.

AVP is 3 levels higher than me..
U in the investment bank or consumer bank?
I know only CB uses the term AVP as AVPs in IB should be Assoc Director...

What do u think an AVP in the consumer side earns?
sendomike
post Dec 31 2014, 02:13 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Dec 31 2014, 01:00 PM)

i am from investment.
director is above avp.
Babizz
post Dec 31 2014, 02:38 PM

12,523 posts

QUOTE(sendomike @ Dec 31 2014, 12:13 AM)
i am from investment.
director is above avp.
Yeah got 2 director levels before MD.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
aurora97
post Aug 19 2017, 07:22 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

I know this topic is a bit old but let me share my experience.

QUOTE(party @ Nov 23 2014, 12:40 AM)
You sure? I am in bank..not branch tho. But AVP(newly promoted) earns min 10k..
I would agree.

QUOTE(Babizz @ Dec 31 2014, 12:00 PM)

Internal Ranking they call it VP or AVP but it is actually equivalent to Director and Associate Director.

AVP rank is higher than Manager. Don't ask me why. I am confused as fish as to what AVP is.

Babizz
post Aug 19 2017, 10:15 PM

12,523 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Aug 19 2017, 05:22 AM)
I know this topic is a bit old but let me share my experience.
I would agree.
Internal Ranking they call it VP or AVP but it is actually equivalent to Director and Associate Director.

AVP rank is higher than Manager. Don't ask me why. I am confused as fish as to what AVP is.
for consumer bank in CIMB its not manager then avp then vp then director then director then MD?
PrincZe
post Aug 20 2017, 12:43 AM

3,050 posts

Avp is nothing but title for sales man
aurora97
post Aug 20 2017, 01:17 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Aug 19 2017, 10:15 PM)
for consumer bank in CIMB its not manager then avp then vp then director then director then MD?
Next is president than Directors...

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Aug 20 2017, 12:43 AM)
Ironically, i am back office n that's what i got.
PrincZe
post Aug 20 2017, 01:25 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Aug 20 2017, 01:17 PM)
Next is president than Directors...
Ironically, i am back office n that's what i got.
oh, meaning what ? flex.gif
aurora97
post Aug 20 2017, 03:31 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Aug 20 2017, 01:25 PM)
oh, meaning what ?  flex.gif
meaning i still don't know what is Avp. It may be closer to the top and the benefits are slightly better with each rank...

I still don't know what the fish is this Avp rank all about.

I was a Manager before this... and then when they offered me the post of Avp and i was like... hmmm? am i settling for something less or better?

Well the salary was definitely more... more salary but less responsibility, bring it. brows.gif

In my opinion... This Avp rank is like... neither here or there. It's between Manager and Head of Department.

Half of the people in this forum can't give a straight answer what it is. Some say lower, some say higher.

SUS1malaysiajib
post Aug 20 2017, 03:40 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(boyster @ Oct 30 2010, 07:52 PM)
Hi All or insiders,

Also, what's the working conditions in office in Jalan Raja Laut HQ? Good?  rolleyes.gif

Bonuses? blush.gif

Cheers!
boyster
I was a former staff of CIMB Investment Bank (KL sentral). You could PM me if you need any advice.

All i could say is that the level of politics is pretty high there
SUS1malaysiajib
post Aug 20 2017, 03:41 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Aug 20 2017, 12:43 AM)
Lol, you must be crazy to think that the tittle AVP is only for Sales People
PrincZe
post Aug 20 2017, 04:58 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(1malaysiajib @ Aug 20 2017, 03:41 PM)
Lol, you must be crazy to think that the tittle AVP is only for Sales People
sorry jib kor. maybe more than it

i think team lead of sales team confused.gif
SUS1malaysiajib
post Aug 20 2017, 04:59 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Aug 20 2017, 04:58 PM)
sorry jib kor. maybe more than it

i think team lead of sales team confused.gif
I can 100% guarantee you that others outside the industry who are not in the Sales Division also have the title AVP
PrincZe
post Aug 20 2017, 05:07 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(1malaysiajib @ Aug 20 2017, 04:59 PM)
I can 100% guarantee you that others outside the industry who are not in the Sales Division also have the title AVP
ok la, i think AVP title is very powerful too. hear also nice name blush.gif

see some of the jobstreet for AVP

https://www.jobstreet.com.my/en/job/senior-...g-3374709?fr=21

https://www.jobstreet.com.my/en/job/assista...n-3362507?fr=21
this avp analyze data, prepare report, monitor

https://www.jobstreet.com.my/en/job/assista...s-3377832?fr=21

this avp is more to client servicing, aka relationship manager?
sendomike
post Aug 20 2017, 05:13 PM

855 posts

I worked in a banking industry for a while and maybe can shed some light on this.

Most international banks has a flatter hierarchy and has below positions:
Professional
Associate (manager & senior manager (AVP))
VP
ED
MD

Others have it as
Executive
Assistant Manager
Manager
AVP
VP
Director
MD

Basically same thing with more layers compared to another.

This post has been edited by sendomike: Aug 20 2017, 05:13 PM
SUS1malaysiajib
post Aug 20 2017, 05:26 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Aug 20 2017, 05:07 PM)
ok la, i think AVP title is very powerful  too. hear also nice name  blush.gif

see some of the jobstreet for AVP

https://www.jobstreet.com.my/en/job/senior-...g-3374709?fr=21

https://www.jobstreet.com.my/en/job/assista...n-3362507?fr=21
this avp analyze data, prepare report, monitor

https://www.jobstreet.com.my/en/job/assista...s-3377832?fr=21

this avp is more to client servicing, aka relationship manager?
Yup, you can't judge a person if their high ranking solely by their title.

For instance, a bank in UK (Not going to mention their name) promotes their candidates who just completed their Graduation Training programme which was only a 1 yr programme directly to a AVP. Hence, one may assume that AVP is an entry level position.

However, the title AVP may be more prestigious in another bank who has a different hierarchy.

In addition, you can't solely judge a person's salary by looking at their title without knowing the industry and the company that they are working with.

Not trying to brag here but when i was promoted to a Senior Analyst (roughly approximately 29months of starting my work as an Analyst), i was making more than the AVP's who were working with the Compliance division of my firm.
aurora97
post Aug 21 2017, 01:54 PM

八方來財
3,789 posts

I guess thus Avp is a mysterious position. It can be highly ranked (equivalent to Snr Manager) or just a whatever position (assistant manager). In case of Cimb, its middle ranking management, it is above manager title but below Vp (which could be a head of department).i hope this will help those who wish to apply to Cimb and when u get offered a position of Avp.
taitianhin
post Aug 21 2017, 01:57 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,521 posts

QUOTE(boyster @ Oct 30 2010, 09:25 PM)

Wat the Offer and JD?
AVP if go higher is VP///then SVP....
tishaban
post Aug 21 2017, 04:50 PM

3,615 posts

I have a friend who was a VP in Maybank, package was probably RM300k or so per year. This VP is closer to a senior manager position.

I know a person who's a VP in a different multinational. Package is probably closer to RM4m per year. There's only one VP in the whole country for this company.

I think titles are a bad way to compare scope and/or packages. biggrin.gif

honesty tan
post Aug 21 2017, 05:28 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(D902 @ Nov 21 2014, 11:45 AM)
In banking and insurance industries. AVP title means Assistant Manager...  nod.gif
My friend worked as AVP (marketing cum product dev for PRS/UT) in CIMB, he told me AVP is same level as Manager.
Bonus is good, but there are cost cutting initiatives for flexible work time (4 days a week) for those who are interested and limited people was offered VSP twice last year.
Babizz
post Aug 21 2017, 10:17 PM

12,523 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Aug 20 2017, 01:31 AM)
meaning i still don't know what is Avp. It may be closer to the top and the benefits are slightly better with each rank...

I still don't know what the fish is this Avp rank all about.

I was a Manager before this... and then when they offered me the post of Avp and i was like... hmmm? am i settling for something less or better?

Well the salary was definitely more... more salary but less responsibility, bring it.  brows.gif

In my opinion... This Avp rank is like... neither here or there. It's between Manager and Head of Department.

Half of the people in this forum can't give a straight answer what it is. Some say lower, some say higher.
fr CIMB its higher than manager lah.

QUOTE(1malaysiajib @ Aug 20 2017, 01:40 AM)
I was a former staff of CIMB Investment Bank (KL sentral). You could PM me if you need any advice.

All i could say is that the level of politics is pretty high there
very high you mean? rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
SUS1malaysiajib
post Aug 21 2017, 11:46 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Aug 21 2017, 10:17 PM)
fr CIMB its higher than manager lah.
very high you mean?  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Nope, depends of the division. Though if you're with Group Finance and you're an AVP, you would only have 2 or 3 people under you. The ranking for the consumer banking follows as beloW;

1. VP
2. AVP
3.Manager
4.Assistant Manager
5. Senior Executive
6.Executive.

Now certain business units are pretty small that theres only 4 people in the team and there may be a HOD who's a Director (If he/she is a senior staffs) or you could find a VP who leads the team followed by him having an AVP and just an additional 2 or 3 people who may carry the tittle ranging from an Executive to a Manager.

Cheers, hope this helps
toshigoh
post Sep 1 2017, 12:29 AM

21 posts

Hey guys, just give you all some insights.

Just joined CIMB Bank as a AVP.

Range is around RM 7 - RM 10k

Job Ranking:

1. Executive
2. Senior Executive
3. Assistant Manager
4. Manager
5. Associate Director

-----------Anything below these are not considered management------------------

6. AVP (middle level management) - Does not mean that there will be people reporting to you
7. Vice President 1- Does not mean that there will be people reporting to you
8 Vice President 2 - Does not mean that there will be people reporting to you
9. Director (Head of a Division - not the entire department) - Definitely will have people reporting to you
10. Senior Director
11. Senior Director 1

----------Anything above this is high level management--------------------

12. The highest ranking people (3 more ranks).

I was looking for this sort of information before i joined, so i hope it helps you guys too.
coolman82
post Sep 1 2017, 06:58 PM

1,518 posts

QUOTE(toshigoh @ Sep 1 2017, 12:29 AM)

Job Ranking:

1. Executive
2. Senior Executive
3. Assistant Manager
4. Manager
5. Associate Director

6. AVP (middle level management) - Does not mean that there will be people reporting to you
9. Director (Head of a Division - not the entire department) - Definitely will have people reporting to you
10. Senior Director
11. Senior Director 1

I was looking for this sort of information before i joined, so i hope it helps you guys too.
I don't think associate director level is below AVP, correct me if am wrong
ArSe-SeNG
post Sep 7 2017, 06:17 PM

101 posts

Job Ranking:

1. Executive
2. Senior Executive
3. Assistant Manager
4. Manager
5. Associate Director

10. Senior Director
11. Senior Director 1

I think you have gotten this wrong smile.gif
aurora97
post Sep 8 2017, 12:07 AM

八方來財
3,789 posts

Funny thing is, it can be more than that... how much more I leave it to your imagination.

What you are saying only reinforce my perception that this AVP rank is sandwiched between heaven and hell.

I wasn't so hesitant to leave my job cause i really didn't know whether i was settling for something that is lower or equal to my rank...

On top of that the benefit sucked. My existing firm is much better.

The only incentive was the big jump.

For the purposes of this discussion, AVP is either equal to Manager or higher than Manager rank.

Side note, there is something called internal / external ranking...

AVP is internal, the equivalent is Associate Director for external designation. If I recall correctly.
demetry
post Sep 8 2017, 03:38 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Nov 25 2014, 02:37 PM)
best way is judge by their salary
sonypshomer
post Sep 10 2017, 10:23 AM

1,594 posts

Najib's brother bank? If his salary 1M per month, the VP should be half and AVP should be quarter
ComingBackSoon
post Sep 10 2017, 11:57 AM

787 posts

Job Ranking:

1. Executive
2. Senior Executive
3. Assistant Manager
4. Manager
5. Associate Director

10. Senior Director
11. Senior Director 1

Not entirely correct.

Associate Director is a title equivalent to AVP and VP level for the wholesale banking division. In some departments, even the title director does not mean there will be people reporting to you.

In addition, pay range vary widely across all departments. In some departments, there are those who are 2 levels below AVP (i.e., senior executives) but make more than RM7k.
DoomCognition
post Feb 10 2018, 12:40 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Sep 8 2017, 12:07 AM)
Funny thing is, it can be more than that... how much more I leave it to your imagination.

What you are saying only reinforce my perception that this AVP rank is sandwiched between heaven and hell.

I wasn't so hesitant to leave my job cause i really didn't know whether i was settling for something that is lower or equal to my rank...

On top of that the benefit sucked. My existing firm is much better.

The only incentive was the big jump.

For the purposes of this discussion, AVP is either equal to Manager or higher than Manager rank.

Side note, there is something called internal / external ranking...

AVP is internal, the equivalent is Associate Director for external designation. If I recall correctly.
How much in terms of % is the jump for the AVP job?
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 20 2024, 07:51 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(1malaysiajib @ Aug 21 2017, 11:46 PM)
Nope, depends of the division. Though if you're with Group Finance and you're an AVP, you would only have 2 or 3 people under you. The ranking for the consumer banking follows as beloW;

1. VP
2. AVP
3.Manager
4.Assistant Manager
5. Senior Executive
6.Executive.

Now certain business units are pretty small that theres only 4 people in the team and there may be a HOD who's a Director (If he/she is a senior staffs) or you could find a VP who leads the team followed by him having an AVP and just an additional 2 or 3 people who may carry the tittle ranging from an Executive to a Manager.
Cheers, hope this helps
Can i still ask you on this?

0.0293sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:21 AM