Nokia N8 - V10 - [The King of Camera Phones], New N8 Owner, please read the FrontPage!

SUSLawdRetep
post Nov 2 2010, 12:46 PM

298 posts

Tried the N8 screen test yesterday night.

All I can say is, bricks were shat.
SUSLawdRetep
post Nov 3 2010, 12:38 PM

298 posts

Have any of you guys noticed that whenever you receive a new text message, while your screen looks as though its off, when you go into a dark room the screen actually has distinct patches of black on grey on it?

Like the screen is not COMPLETELY turned off. But when you unlock and lock your phone again with the notification still there the patches are gone. Anyone can check?
SUSLawdRetep
post Nov 3 2010, 12:51 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Nov 3 2010, 12:40 PM)
just a small patch or the entire screen?
Throughout the whole screen, patches of black on gray here and there.
SUSLawdRetep
post Nov 3 2010, 02:54 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Nov 3 2010, 02:29 PM)
perhaps u can show us a photo... sweat.gif sound weird...
Kk tonight I show you people.

It's really really obvious if you're in a dark room. No need to squint your eyes or anything, that's why I see liao can cry.
SUSLawdRetep
post Nov 3 2010, 07:09 PM

298 posts

Okay guys here's my screen problem that I was ranting over just now.

I noticed this whenever I receive a new text message (not sure about miss calls and other notifications), the problem goes away when I unlock and lock the phone again.

After pumping up the exposure to make it more visible to you guys in case you can't see it from the first photo. But in reality its already obvious enough.

Btw when you receive a new text message, does your display turn on or is there only your message tone?
SUSLawdRetep
post Nov 3 2010, 07:16 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Nov 3 2010, 07:12 PM)
Obviously , yours does have some problem with the screen.
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 3 2010, 07:14 PM)
I agree i think your phone have some problem.
Guh. So do I send it back to maxis since I got my phone from there?

Or go to NCC?

Added on November 3, 2010, 7:17 pm
QUOTE(apecx92 @ Nov 3 2010, 07:16 PM)
just test it..omg i have it also.. sad.gif
Woohoo a buddy! tongue.gif Lol kidding xD

Can you guys check? I wanna know whether the problem is limited to a hand few of the N8's or whether it applies to EVERY N8.

This post has been edited by LawdRetep: Nov 3 2010, 07:17 PM
SUSLawdRetep
post Nov 3 2010, 07:23 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 3 2010, 07:18 PM)
do u turn off your time screensaver?

Mine with screensaver it didnt appear like yours
Err ya it was off actually. The big clock screensaver is 24/7 there right? There's no certain amount of time then it'll disappear or something.

So i turned the screensaver on and no problems. Aihh guess have to avoid the problem instead of solving it then lol. tongue.gif
SUSLawdRetep
post Nov 3 2010, 07:28 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Nov 3 2010, 07:22 PM)
i turn off screen saver,increase the brightness and lock,then send empty message using my sister phone,then i can see the stain..very dirty amoled shakehead.gif

although i already know the dirty amoled problem tongue.gif
Haha now I firsthand experience la. Cannot do anything kan? sad.gif
SUSLawdRetep
post Nov 4 2010, 12:27 AM

298 posts

Another N8 bug: Messages sent are still saved even though i've change the setting to NOT save them.
SUSLawdRetep
post Nov 4 2010, 10:05 AM

298 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 4 2010, 10:00 AM)
U try set 10 sms u also will know the result to the 999. The last one will be deleted lor
Do you have the problem where the phone saves your messages even though you've set it to NOT save them? =.=
SUSLawdRetep
post Nov 4 2010, 10:19 AM

298 posts

[quote=aspire2oo6,Nov 4 2010, 10:09 AM]
facing same problem with u too say dont save but still save

Ahh okay guess we need to wait for a desperate firmware release then.

0.0582sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:21 AM