LYN Breastfeeding Support Group, may u b bless wif abundance of supply~!!

kombenasai
post Apr 23 2011, 12:46 AM

48 posts

EnPoiNte, I'm a new mum and at the beginning..it took me n now can easily get 4 oz in less than 30mins ...so..stimulate more and your body will produce more...I'll press while looking at my bb sleeping. It helps for milk letdown
kombenasai
post Aug 10 2011, 07:47 AM

48 posts

Hi Qarezma,

Breastfed baby tend to feel hunger sooner than formula fed baby and they don't sleep as long as FM baby because breastmilk can be digested in lesser time. I'm no expert but I can share a bit of knowledge based on my experience. Usually baby tend to latch on for a very long time sometime can last more than 1 hour per session especially during the first 2 months. It is so bad during confinement period that my MIL said i don't have enough milk la..etc...said to give water ..FM..etc but I said no... after confinement I eat a lot of fruits/vege drink at least 2 glass of milk daily + obimin, and tons of water... in about 2 weeks I can see huge different...baby latch on in lesser time..10-15 minutes per session and next feeding usually in 2-2.5 hours and sometime 3 hours. The breast milk quality is very important and can only get it by eating nutritious food. You can see the difference when you eat properly that when you pump, even the foremilk look almost the same like foremilk and not so watery.
kombenasai
post Mar 22 2012, 01:42 AM

48 posts

1) Is it normal for newborn to feed every 30 minutes?
ANS:Yes... Dun worry, soon ur bb will develop her own nursing pattern...sometime they just want comfort..

2) My wife tried to squeeze her breast but seems like nothing comes out. Is this normal also as we are afraid the baby doesn't get enough (or any at all) milk and become hungry (hence the reason of point no 1 above).
ANS: The first few days after giving birth, the breast secretes colostrum which is essential for bb immune system...it is thick, yellowish color liquid or transparent...sometime cant really c...but continue bf coz bb suck will stimulate milk production. The idea is more demand, more production. Can also massage the breast from below armpit, bring outward towards the nipple.

3) If for some reason we have to resort to giving the baby formula (hopefully not, but who knows..), any recommended brand suitable for newborn?
......stick to BF please...

BB also tend to fall asleep while nursing...u can tickle her feet or touch her cheek..whicever work so that she continue BF. If she already fall in deep sleep n still sucking...can press her chin so that her mouth slightly open so that can pull out the breast. If still tight, insert a finger..and then pull

Hope it helps....Gd luck n congrats to both of u

0.0377sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:02 PM