Folding@Malaysia needs your help!, Fellow hardware gurus, please read !

kmarc
post Dec 26 2010, 07:21 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(wined @ Dec 26 2010, 05:15 PM)
hi,

i have just join the folding, have a few question though..  blink.gif

1. For the folding process, do i need the internet connection ?
2. How to know how much processing power my pc is using for the folding process?
Glad to hear that. thumbup.gif

1) Yes, you need internet connection to download and upload your WU (work units)
2) It is up to you. We normally set to 100% but you can set to whatever percentage you want

Head on to our folding community where most folders hang out wink.gif : http://forum.lowyat.net/Folding@Malaysia
kmarc
post Jan 4 2011, 01:28 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(specopsmarines @ Jan 3 2011, 10:50 PM)
Hello there.. i read the 1st post, and i still dont completely understand how this works. So what happens when i install the software.. im contributing my pc's idle time right, for what exactly? What would my pc's idle time be used for?
Errmmm... I think the first post is quite clear leh. However, I think you can get a more clearer picture here : http://folding.stanford.edu/
kmarc
post Jan 5 2011, 01:49 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(FauxHawk @ Jan 5 2011, 01:18 PM)
Seems like it's following london time but off by minutes...stanford in us rite?
Don't worry about the time, it is probably following their local time. IINM, Stanford university is in California, U.S.A. smile.gif
kmarc
post Jan 30 2011, 02:17 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jan 30 2011, 11:44 AM)
First of all, I would like to apologize for the profanities and harsh words in the following message.

We have a very heavy rain today. Floods are everywhere.
My heart fills with rage. I am so f-cking furious.
I am so sad to see the damage you people have done to our environment without knowing the consequences.

There are millions f-cking f@ld-tard people and even billions of f@ld-tard CPUs and GPUs.
Assuming each and every f@ld-tard CPU and GPU generate 60c of heat, do you know how much heat you people have generated in the past 10 years?
Do you f@lding-tard people know how much damage you people have done to our environment?

Why do you so f-cking care protein folding while the floods flush out all your properties including your f@ld-tard PCs?
Why do you so f-cking care protein folding while most of you do not know what the f-ck is protein folding about?

So f@ldtard will tell you f@lding can be eco-friendly. They generate the power from solar, wind, farts, whatever...
What about the f-cking heat you have generated? Are you going to keep the heat that generated from f@ld-tard machine in your room?

Refer to the message#1, you only care about your f-cking ranking @ No.66?
You f-ck up people are really pathetic and so irresponsible.
Why so f-ck care about the ranking?
Do you know we're running short of food due to climate change? Look at the damage done in the recent floods in Brisbane? Extreme temperature like -60c in Snag & +50c at In Salah? Vicious cycle of global warming?
Waste of resources while the resources are scarce.

Stop f@lding, for God sake (if you are a God-believer).
Stop f@lding, for f-ck sake (if you believe in yourself).

P/S I pray in the name of God that those f@ld-tard that so care about the "ranking" should be burnt in hell.
Let me ask you a question. If everybody stops folding, would all the above problems go away? No, not in a million years. Why? That's because there are OTHER major contributors of pollution and climate changes that needs to be addressed. Understand the last sentence first before reading on. wink.gif

Yes, folding do contribute somewhat to the problem and stopping folding would definitely lessen the impact. However, the reason we fold is for science, in a hope that this "folding" project might bear fruit that will benefit everyone. If you think this is ridiculous, then I guess all scientific studies (e.g. climate modelling) using supercomputers should stop immediately as they also contribute to pollution.

What about driving? How many cars does your family have? How many cars are there on the road? Don't you think the pollution from cars is worse? Do you know that when you drive, there are fuel being ignited and EXPLODING in your engine? And not once or twice a second but thousands of times EVERY second!!!! Which do you think is worse? Driving or running a computer?

What about industries all over the world? Factories and industries that churn out tons and tons of carbon dioxide everyday. What about them?

Yes, we all should do our part to lessen pollution and save the world. Everybody knows that. However, knowing and doing it is 2 different thing. Among other things, you can start by not driving and use the bicycle in addition to throwing away your aircon and use the hand fan. ALSO, throw out your fridge as it is running 24/7. Why need a fridge? So that you can drink cold water and eat ice cream? If you say you want to keep food fresh, then a small fridge is definitely enough. No need to keep water, ice or whatever unimportant things inside. wink.gif

Also, search the net on how to "Save the environment" cause you'll find 1001 ways to do it. Now, would you do it to save the environment? Here's a few examples :
http://www.seql.org/100ways.cfm
http://www.wikihow.com/Help-Save-the-Environment
http://library.thinkquest.org/26026/Specia...nvironment.html

BTW, I FOLD for SCIENCE and not for anything else and IMO, there's no such thing as "eco-friendly" when you run your computer at load 24/7. wink.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 30 2011, 02:29 PM
kmarc
post Jan 30 2011, 02:42 PM

14,576 posts

Just to add to my points:

kmarc
post Jan 30 2011, 03:54 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jan 30 2011, 03:28 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1622047/+620

What has the carbon dioxide emission got to do with the heat you release in our atmosphere?
I'm asking you to stop releasing heat.
Haizzz.... I'm not going to explain to you regarding this. Read up on carbon dioxide and green-house effect that leads to global warming and global effects. You talk about climate changes and you don't know the relevance of carbon dioxide? rclxub.gif
kmarc
post Jan 30 2011, 04:54 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jan 30 2011, 04:01 PM)
I don't deny the fact that carbon dioxide causes the problem in our atmosphere.
We have got enough problem like carbon dioxide emission.

I'm now talking about the atmosphere you people release from f@lding.
Let's stop releasing unnecessary heat to our atmosphere.

I just hope we do our part for ourselves, our family, our loved ones and our future.
Think. Be responsible.
As in the other thread, here's my answer + the response to your reply

The answer is simple but let me be more clear. Humans as a species needs to progress and one of the most important aspects is science. Without the advancement of science, we are not where we are today. Folding is a branch of science that deals with human diseases. The researchers at Stanford found that using distributed computing generates far more computing power compared to an expensive supercomputer. That's why they try to "recruit" whoever has a computer to do the folding.

Now, as for the answer, we fold for science as humans NEED to progress as a species. Who are you to say that this branch of science is bullcrap and what we do have more disadvantages rather than advantages?

Do I need folding in my daily life? No, I don't. However, I look at the bigger picture in terms of advancement of science. I fold because science need me to. wink.gif

P.S. At least our cause is more reasonable compared to other distributed computing like SETI and mersenne prime. smile.gif

Your quote "I just hope we do our part for ourselves, our family, our loved ones and our future", which is why we fold in the first place!!!! wink.gif

When I started folding years ago, I did remember saying that I don't expect my folding contribution to help us in this lifetime.... only hopeful that it will help our future generations....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 30 2011, 05:11 PM

0.0268sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:32 AM