YTL Wimax launched?

BigMan123
post Dec 31 2010, 06:10 PM

2,470 posts

How long did u guys take to have it activated ie can browse from the time u first get the hurdle from the shop? 3 hours?
BigMan123
post Dec 31 2010, 08:29 PM

2,470 posts

Strange. The gal told me 3 hours but then when i could not get thru, i called the number and they told me 24 hours min. What the heck

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 31 2010, 07:24 PM)
I think immediately. The sales person asked me if I wanted assistance to set up the Huddle, so I said hey why not. Looked like the connection was live at the store itself (Lot10).

Confirmed that I linked up less than an hour after that.

Added on December 31, 2010, 8:07 pmI've done a side-by-side breakeven analysis with currently available broadband services against YTL Yes, purely on the basis of cost (not looking at quality).

My criteria:

- packages must provide at least 1Mbps. Less than that is a sad excuse for broadband.
- generally no promo considered (DiGi's an exception, because I generally like their service... so sue me)

The results:

Conclusion:

- There is nothing cheaper than YTL Yes if your data volume is less than 2.3GB per month. Above this until 3GB DiGi and Maxis have cheaper packages but only until 3GB at which point they will throttle. So if you use under 2.3 GB most of the time and sometimes exceed 3GB, still want full speed and are willing to pay for it, YTL Yes is still a better deal.

- For the next tier usage (10GB to 20GB) YTL Yes is only cheaper until 3.7GB (at DiGi speeds during promo), 4.7GB (at P1 or Maxis speeds), 5.1GB (at DiGi non-promo speeds) or 7.1 GB (at Unifi 5Mbps speeds). These only throttle at a min of 6GB to 60GB, depending on the service. So IMHO if you don't routinely exceed 5GB per month, then YTL Yes is more cost-effective; however, things can get pretty expensive if you go beyond this limit all the time.

- For the heavy usage tier (Above 10GB) no need to talk lah... as expected YTL Yes is NOT the service for you.
Please flame me lightly where I got it wrong...
BigMan123
post Dec 31 2010, 11:08 PM

2,470 posts

I have waited 11 hours and huddle is still red. Called yes and they said it takes min 24 hours to get it activated. Help!!!!!!
BigMan123
post Jan 2 2011, 12:11 PM

2,470 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Jan 2 2011, 11:55 AM)
Can't find any means to cap usage.... I think YTL wouldn't like the idea .....
Got mine activated finally after resetting the huddle. Speed averages 1.25 mbps. Overall ok if compared to my previous maxis of only max 0.3 mbps. I m not a heavy user, hopefully can save some money as this is payu
BigMan123
post Jan 2 2011, 06:13 PM

2,470 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 2 2011, 05:45 PM)
YES, can be hacked?

OMG, users will lose their credit in no time doh.gif

there are numerous hacking too around too brows.gif
Any idea how we can view usage? Credit seems to be going down quite fast... But i like the huddle or turtle shell. Haha
BigMan123
post Jan 7 2011, 09:25 PM

2,470 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 7 2011, 01:32 PM)
Thanks for the link, although i was hoping something better than it such as setting up guides.
Yes having issues of overdeducting and system is undergoing rectification. Hope it can be rrsolved soon.

0.0164sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:42 PM